March 29, 2024, 12:40:45 AM

Author Topic: T&T vs Slovenia (R).  (Read 2935 times)

T&T vs Slovenia (R).
« on: May 31, 2006, 02:59:08 PM »
Novakovic punishes promising T&T.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

On a chilly Wednesday evening in Celje, Trinidad and Tobago’s World Cup squad got a few more valuable lessons about themselves as they went under to a rugged Slovenia outfit 3-1 at the Arena Petrol. A Chris Birchall long range strike in the 25th minute was all the “Soca Warriors” had to show for their efforts as some sloppy work at the back saw them fall behind to two early goals through Milijove Novakovic who eventually went on to grab a hattrick for the 2002 World Cup participants.
Following Saturday’s 2-1 loss to Wales in Graz, Leo Beenhakker’s men were hoping to get a better outcome this time around but that was not to be. Despite the uninspiring result though, there were some good points for Dwight Yorke and his men as they played some enterprising football during the first half before Novakovic capitalized on a fumble by Shaka Hislop in the 76th minute to put the match out of their reach.
The Slovenians had a more aggressive approach to the game and held nothing back in their tackling of the Soca Warriors who are preparing for a historic appearance at the 2006 World Cup.
Yorke’s role shift to a sweeper’s position raised some eyebrows and things didn’t get any better when Novakovic shot home from close ranger after the T&T defense failed to deal properly with a cross in the 4th minute.
Then again, the swift moving Slovenians struck a second time when Hislop did well to pull off a reflex block but Novakovic was on spot to hit the rebound past the hapless West Ham custodian.
Moments before that Yorke slipped a through pass to Stern John but he failed in his attempt to chip goalkeeper Barut Mavric.
T&T were by no means out of it as they settled into playing a neat passing game and they hit back when Birchall made his mind up and had a crack from 20 yards out and the ball headed down the left corner past Mavric for his third international goal. Soon after Yorke started a promising move in T&T’s half and Avery John swung one over from the left which just missed Stern John’s head.
T&T still had some tidying to do at the back after some easy loss of possession.
Then Yorke made a run forward and slipped it through to John again and as he got away from his man he managed only to drag his effort wide of the upright.
The Coventry City striker persisted and thought he had pulled T&T level minutes from the break but he was called for an infringement on the goalie. Scotland and Edwards had some good moves on the right but Beenhakker pulled off the latter at the start of the second half, replacing him with centre half Brent Sancho.
T&T didn’t allow the hosts to pull away much further as the match progressed but there play was not as fluent as the first half. Evans Wise made an appearance in the 69th minute and he left his man for dead when he dragged the ball past him on an inside left position towards goal but the play was eventually broken down as the minutes ticked away. And then when Novakovic struck a third time, it took the sting out of T&T’s play to leave the scores 3-1 at the final whistle.

TEAMS:[/b]

Trinidad & Tobago.

1-Shaka Hislop, 3-Avery John, 6-Dennis Lawrence, 8-Cyd Gray, 9-Aurtis Whitley (16-Evans Wise 69th), 7-Christopher Birchall, 19-Dwight Yorke (capt), 11-Carlos Edwards (5-Brent Sancho 46th), 18-Densill Theobald, 20-Jason Scotland, 14-Stern John.

Subs Not Used:

Kelvin Jack, Ian Cox, Marvin Andrews, Russell Latapy, Collin Samuel, Cornell Glen, Atiba Charles, Anthony Wolfe.

Not in squad were:

Clayton Ince, Kenwyne Jones and Silvio Spann.

Slovenia:

Mavrič Borut, Čeh Nastja (Jokić Bojan 84th), Lavrič Klemen (Ačimovič Milenko 52nd), Koren Robert, Mavrič Matej, Kokot Aleš, Komac Andrej (Semler 55th), Ilič Branko, Zavrl Janez (Birsa Valter 70th), Žlogar Anton (Šukalo Goran 82nd), Novakovič Milivoje (Brečko Mišo 89th).

Subs Not Used:

Handanovič Samir, Rodič Aleksandar, Cipot Fabijan.

Att:

Final Score:

Slovenia 2 (Milivoje Novakovic 4th, 15th, 77th) v Trinidad & Tobago 1 (Christopher Birchall 25th).

Media.

See the goals.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2006, 06:26:06 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T vs Slovenia (R).
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2006, 03:00:34 PM »
well said flex

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2006, 03:01:46 PM »
We keepin the faith man, we go still rip in Germany...

JUMP HIGH..JUMP LOW - WE BEHIND WE BOYZ
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

Who is this man ........Milivoje Novakovic
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2006, 03:05:49 PM »
The man just drop 3 in we rasss look at trouble

Trinidad aint play we does make Stars nah, Before today this man was a nobody now he is a Hattrick man.

Next week the man go get a Big Contract in Man U or something Trust me

Trinidad famous for making Stars

Where would Paul Caliguri Be without Trinidad
Luis Hernandez from Mexico a next Star we make.

In Short if you want to be a star, organise a game against Trinidad.
The same man buss the net 3 times that is real worries

Cause with Nedved and them up next we ass real dark.

Come on Soca Warriors win the Chec match casue to go into a world cup 0-3 go damping we confidence.

TnT we want a Goal!

Offline triniboots

look, pass, run, look, pass, run
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2006, 06:25:08 PM »
I dunno if meh post about 1-touch football got posted a few days ago as I did not see it. All teams in training practice one touch football. Yuh look for your partner, yuh partners look for yuh and yuh pass the ball to the best one and move forward. Ever see a one-two in play, it does tire opposition when you pass the ball around and dey just chassin yuh. Men need to run, run, run none stop, to look, pass, and run, look, pass and run, but let the ball work for yuh, not have to work for de ball.

Re: look, pass, run, look, pass, run
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2006, 06:26:28 PM »
we need to make our possesion count

Firstlyu we do it too slow... as you said collect pass run into space

« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2006, 06:30:04 PM »
This was the first real test for T&T, keep your heads up T&T. No Andrews, Latapy, Samuel, Jones and Jack all first team members. The Czech game will do us some good, win or lose I am still supporting T&T, the big game is in Germany, lets not get to worried fellas.

Jack
Gray, Andrews, Lawrence, Avery
Edwards, Birchall, Yorke, Whitley
John, Jones

Wise for Whitley
Latapy for Edwards
Sancho for Gray
Samuel for Jones
Scotland for John

OR

Jack
Gray, Andrews, Lawrence, Avery
Birchall, Yorke, Whitley, Wise
John, Scotland

Samuel for Wise
Latapy for Whitley
Sancho for Gray
Jones for Scotland

Call in Tony Warner. Whats the deal with Charles, Cox and Wolfe, this game would have been ideal, because from our next game we will have to play our first team that will play in the WC.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2006, 06:41:53 PM by Flex »

« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2006, 06:41:21 PM »
This was the first real test for T&T, keep your heads up T&T. No Andrews, Latapy, Samuel, Jones and Jack all first team members. The Czech game will do us some good, win or lose I am still supporting T&T, the big game is in Germany, lets not get to worried fellas.

Sando, ah with you all the way!  Leh we keep we head up and fight as hard as we could.  We get beat so what!

« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2006, 07:16:27 PM »
Flex sah wah ah go tell yuh.....We have ah bunch ah faint hearted men in here dey only in it for de glory.

The joy is not in the end result, but in the road traveled. The end result is jes ah ah reward for the hard work.

« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2006, 07:32:23 PM »
dat is minors man..3-1 i sad but minor story.. de big worries is what de hell is dwight doing so deep in de defence?  iz dwight a defender now?..
  and what a gwan wid slowvenia last goal dey.. shaka cya hold dat shot?

« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2006, 06:41:57 AM »
Beenie say he using the friendlies to concentrate on different areas.
He basically play with 2 CB and Yorke as the defence. So that is a 2 and a half defenders, and in fact between Yorke and Cyd Gray we could say that is 2 halves, not even a whole. So if we playing with 2 defenders, you would think he was focusing on attacking..not so. Unless it was Theobold job to be playmaker, cause he tried but he just can't cross, can't dribble and does not have the 'kille'r pass'' that Latas say  he was helping him to work on. So in other words, he have nothing going forward except maybe ideas. The most I could say is we were focusing on Avery and Carlos learnign to attack down the wings and hit the ball inside and hope for the best. That was the most I could see us concentrating on...

So...despite the ta-ta yesterday, I confident that Beenie not mad enough to do that in a real game...I mean it was basically a 2-3-2-2-1 (Theobald and Scotland were looking like att mid playing off either side of Stern...not that you could really tell )

---------------------------------------------------Shaka----------------------------------------------
---------------------------Cyd------------------------------------Lawrence--------------------------------
Carlos-----------------------------------Yorke---------------------------------------------Avery-----------------
-----------------Birchalll-----------------------------------------Whitley------------------------------------------
----------Scotland-------------------------------------------------------Theobald-----------------------------
--------------------------------------------Stern--------------------------------------------------------------

« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2006, 07:12:17 AM »
Beenie say he using the friendlies to concentrate on different areas.
He basically play with 2 CB and Yorke as the defence. So that is a 2 and a half defenders, and in fact between Yorke and Cyd Gray we could say that is 2 halves, not even a whole. So if we playing with 2 defenders, you would think he was focusing on attacking..not so. Unless it was Theobold job to be playmaker, cause he tried but he just can't cross, can't dribble and does not have the 'kille'r pass'' that Latas say  he was helping him to work on. So in other words, he have nothing going forward except maybe ideas. The most I could say is we were focusing on Avery and Carlos learnign to attack down the wings and hit the ball inside and hope for the best. That was the most I could see us concentrating on...

So...despite the ta-ta yesterday, I confident that Beenie not mad enough to do that in a real game...I mean it was basically a 2-3-2-2-1 (Theobald and Scotland were looking like att mid playing off either side of Stern...not that you could really tell )

---------------------------------------------------Shaka----------------------------------------------
---------------------------Cyd------------------------------------Lawrence--------------------------------
Carlos-----------------------------------Yorke---------------------------------------------Avery-----------------
-----------------Birchalll-----------------------------------------Whitley------------------------------------------
----------Scotland-------------------------------------------------------Theobald-----------------------------
--------------------------------------------Stern--------------------------------------------------------------
Spidey I would put Wise on the left or samuel, Theo doh have much speed or skill to play that left side