April 19, 2024, 10:05:13 PM

After Whatching the slovinia Game who is your #1 Keeper?

Hislop
13 (44.8%)
Jack
15 (51.7%)
Ince
1 (3.4%)

Total Members Voted: 29

Author Topic: BEST GOALKEEPER  (Read 12040 times)

Offline morgz

Re: BEST GOALKEEPER
« Reply #30 on: June 02, 2006, 04:41:43 PM »
Now fellas leweh en play the if game

it seems like every time one ah these topics come up men does say if
this one had a chance to play here or was born 10yrs later...whatever

Look leh we jus talk about men who have been tested at the highest levels of club/international football because I doh believe none ah we here is God to determine who would or would not have made due to pressure to play, injuries etc.

However talking from keepers who I have seen Ilker Cassilas is a boss, Givens is a decent young player too and ah rate Buffon as well

if a play the if game ah go ha to go wid the man that start the thread

« Reply #31 on: June 02, 2006, 04:58:30 PM »

My top two Victor Valdez
& Lens Lehman

I know Barca is u team eh, but Valdez is NOT A world class keeper.

let da man know nuh........he cyar even make he own national team..............being fair to him, dats a very hard spanish keeping lineup to break..........

I would say he IS a world-class 'keeper. I would put him on the Spanish team ahead of Canizares.  We cyah always use making the National team as a standard for determining whether a man is one of the best in his position or not.  Politics does play a role in a man's inclusion in a team sometimes, not true?

I rate 1st and 2nd place keepers, 3rd string I don't even consider. You tink anyone know who is Clayton Ince ? And ok, national teams aside, put Valdes on another team, say Real with their aging Defence and if he's able to hold his own like Casillas, i'll take back what i've said.  ::)
« Last Edit: June 02, 2006, 05:01:38 PM by FLi ! »

« Reply #32 on: June 02, 2006, 05:03:47 PM »
i doh kno who fool alya
valdes rel gud  yuh cud hole yuh mudda c**t

« Reply #33 on: June 02, 2006, 11:38:04 PM »

My top two Victor Valdez
& Lens Lehman

I know Barca is u team eh, but Valdez is NOT A world class keeper.

let da man know nuh........he cyar even make he own national team..............being fair to him, dats a very hard spanish keeping lineup to break..........

I would say he IS a world-class 'keeper. I would put him on the Spanish team ahead of Canizares.  We cyah always use making the National team as a standard for determining whether a man is one of the best in his position or not.  Politics does play a role in a man's inclusion in a team sometimes, not true?

I rate 1st and 2nd place keepers, 3rd string I don't even consider. You tink anyone know who is Clayton Ince ? And ok, national teams aside, put Valdes on another team, say Real with their aging Defence and if he's able to hold his own like Casillas, i'll take back what i've said.  ::)

Ah find yuh being a little harsh on my boy, Valdes there, Padna.  How could you not rate third string keepers on an International level when most third stringers are better than any of our first-stringers?.  Valdes is the first string 'keeper for the top club in Europe and arguably one of the top clubs in the world, and he erned that position by displacing Turkey's "first string" international.  He is one of the top 4 or 5 Keepers in Spain, doesn't that make him world class?.........I also think it is a bit unfair to use the notion that he couldn't do the same job with Real Madrid's defence that Casillas has done.  There aren't too many goalkeepers in the world that can, Casillas is probably in the top three in the world.  In an earlier post, you agreed with someone that rated Lehmann as "one of the best" keepers.  Do you seriously think that Lehmann's psycho ass, could perform behind Real Madrid's defence at the level that Casillas has?!? If you believe dat, you smokin something.

« Reply #34 on: June 02, 2006, 11:43:32 PM »
LEV YASHIN

« Reply #35 on: June 03, 2006, 09:17:10 AM »
Here's my list fellas:

Buffon, Casillas, Cech, Van der Sar (showed his class at Man U), Reina (yes; two Spaniards), Coupet, Keller, Friedel, Given, Lehman (finally back to his Dortmond days)

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #36 on: June 03, 2006, 10:07:34 AM »
Shay Given of newcastle is v.v.v.good
2 Bad he play for Ireland

« Reply #37 on: June 03, 2006, 01:20:09 PM »
Here's my list fellas:

Buffon, Casillas, Cech, Van der Sar (showed his class at Man U), Reina (yes; two Spaniards), Coupet, Keller, Friedel, Given, Lehman (finally back to his Dortmond days)

The only man on dat list I could say I have a problem with is (again) Lehmann, Padna.  Ah really think that he spends way too much time allowing himself to get caught up in unnecessary drama with opponents and he can be very easily distracted from his and the team's objectives and he sometimes makes some very poor fundamental errors that he should NOT be making for a man of his experience.  Smart players would be wise to start capitalizing on that (his mental flaws, that is).  I see yuh is a Liverpool fan and even though ah cyah stand yuh team or yuh coach, I have to admit that Reina is definitely one of the most talented GK's I have seen in a while.  He has made some ENORMOUS saves for Liverpool.
  Is Barthez really still playing at a level to displace Coupet from the first team shirt?  Somebody answer dat one fuh meh nuh.

« Reply #38 on: June 03, 2006, 01:59:38 PM »
My list is Schmeicel, Zenga, Seaman, Canizares and Antii Niemi

Offline believer

« Reply #39 on: June 03, 2006, 02:17:02 PM »
schmichel

« Reply #40 on: June 03, 2006, 02:20:03 PM »
Yashin and Banks

« Reply #41 on: June 03, 2006, 02:20:25 PM »
Grande MAn.....either one u old...or 2..u jus goin on wha ya hear...cause they doh have much clips of Yashin out....

ya mus benever see him...
but no doubt he was one of the bestbut ya never see him jed...

but morgz call a keeper that doh get enuff pips----shay given...tink he got the best keeper vote in england this yr. he should ride from newcastle....

« Reply #42 on: July 22, 2008, 06:10:55 PM »
Rene Higuita... The self acclaimed best goalkeeper in the world in his time.

I wouldn't say he was the best omar, rather flambuoyant and unorthodox

He's back ... AGAIN! De man even make ah highlights reel for flubbing a free kick this weekend ... ah clean fuhget buh de Merlene Ottey refusing to retire thing reminded me ...

He's playing with Deportivo Pereira in the Dimayor (Colombia's top flight) ... a team coached by Luis Fernando Suarez, Ecuador's World Cup coach.

To be fair to him, the team he played with previously in the Primera B did well - and, his presence with Dep. Pereira was by special request. He still wants in on the national team! Who knows??
« Last Edit: July 23, 2008, 09:37:51 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #43 on: July 22, 2008, 06:39:28 PM »
Zoff, Teffarel, Spiderman, Van Der Sar (did not need to go to United to show his class, always been there) Petr not Kasper, Buffon.

Offline look at ting now!

« Reply #44 on: July 22, 2008, 07:03:43 PM »
Yashin...by miles and den yuh hah to turn a corner to reach him

« Reply #45 on: July 22, 2008, 08:58:37 PM »
Right now the best goalkeepers Buffon, Cech and Casillas. Overall I will go with these two Yashin and Banks from the watching clips and reading about them.

Offline gothic

« Reply #46 on: July 22, 2008, 09:24:55 PM »
I would have to say Casillas based on current form, well... if you consider six excellent seasons current, since 01-02 he has been outstanding

« Reply #47 on: July 22, 2008, 09:55:30 PM »
1. Buffon (Mr. Consistent; even with a poot Italy)
2. Casillas (right behind, but something bout Buffon; seems to be harder to score on, in my opinion)
3. Van Der Sar (aging like wine)
4. Cech (has not been quite the same since the injury, but still better than the rest)

Offline dtool

« Reply #48 on: July 23, 2008, 09:45:28 AM »

YASHIN ...... then Gorden Banks ..... straight 1-2 (don't reverse)

« Reply #49 on: July 23, 2008, 09:47:02 AM »
Allyuh ever see Yashin play to make that assessment?

Put Casillas and Buffon back in Yashin days and they would have been the most legendary goalkeepers of all time.

« Reply #50 on: July 23, 2008, 09:50:19 AM »

YASHIN ...... then Gorden Banks ..... straight 1-2 (don't reverse)
yuh ratin best Saves or best Goalie

Offline dtool

« Reply #51 on: July 23, 2008, 09:51:06 AM »

Just going by the facts .....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lev_Yashin

« Reply #52 on: July 23, 2008, 10:21:48 AM »
The facts can't seem to find Earl 'Spiderman' Carter, so ah guess he wasn't good at all, cause IFFHS never even hear bout him, farless award him. Yet, he was prbably one ah the best and entertaining goalie I see....no facts to back it up doh....so maybe the facts might just be relative and/or opinionated -someone else's

« Reply #53 on: July 23, 2008, 10:40:20 AM »
Iker Casillas....no contest- If he played for a more romanticized team aka Barcelona/Brazil, no one would argue it for a second....

Buffon is also great. He's more polished and possibly technically better than Casillas but yuh Casillas' reflexes are out of this world.....Casillas is the kinda keeper that will keep you in a lop sided game, and be responsible for a team winning games they should have lost- true definition of the last line of defence.

Cech kinda gone through in my opinion- since the head injury he just hasn't been the same. 

« Reply #54 on: July 23, 2008, 11:23:59 AM »
Iker Casillas....no contest- If he played for a more romanticized team aka Barcelona/Brazil, no one would argue it for a second....

Buffon is also great. He's more polished and possibly technically better than Casillas but yuh Casillas' reflexes are out of this world.....Casillas is the kinda keeper that will keep you in a lop sided game, and be responsible for a team winning games they should have lost- true definition of the last line of defence.

Cech kinda gone through in my opinion- since the head injury he just hasn't been the same. 

I eh know boy kicker....Casillas gets more props than any keeper that has ever played for Barca or Brazil by just about every segment of the press. Few teams on the planet are as romanticized as Real Madrid. They could be bankrupt and fighting off relegation..big players would still want to go there.

Men who picking their best off a highlights hadda be joking. A highlight reel could make Paulo Di Canio look better than Maradona  :devil:.
But in all honesty, everyone entitled to their opinion no matter how they form it :beermug:

To me the best keepers in the world are Casillas, Buffon, Friedel...in that order. cech made way too many mistakes this past season. Real high profile errors. If Dida play like Cech last season he woulda get lambasted. Cech reputation and sympathy for his head injury earn him a bligh..

« Reply #55 on: July 23, 2008, 11:36:19 AM »

I eh know boy kicker....Casillas gets more props than any keeper that has ever played for Barca or Brazil by just about every segment of the press. Few teams on the planet are as romanticized as Real Madrid. They could be bankrupt and fighting off relegation..big players would still want to go there.

I was just talking about props in this thread.....I know he's widely considered the best (or one of) in the footballing world....just chookin' some fire in the thread  ;D

Madrid is a big prestigious institution- almost every European player's dream, but it appears that they are still commonly perceived as the big bad wolf.....unlike Barcelona who probably aren't that much different as an organization but are painted in a totally different public light (or so it seems)... That's what I mean't by the romanticism comment.

« Reply #56 on: July 23, 2008, 11:39:09 AM »
Pat Jennings.

Talk done
Ron La forest go like dis..as he once scored a hattrick against him .

« Reply #57 on: July 23, 2008, 11:50:07 AM »
two men virtually carried argentina to a WC final in 1990 ...one was Maradona the other was the goalkeeper Sergio Goycochea ...the penalty shot stopper. ...( it was just get us to the penalty shootout and we win ) man even get the german specialist penalty kicker to doubt himself and give the task to another in ah World cup final ... such was the fear he instilled in seasoned professionals at the highest level of the geme...however I believe is not a best performance we looking for but a sustained one ...in that case Gordon banks gets my vote.

Offline look at ting now!

« Reply #58 on: July 23, 2008, 04:31:10 PM »
...and after Yashin is Banks den ah placing 'De Black Panther", All yuh know who dat is. juss in case you in de dark dais big Lincoln Phillips.
Oh lard oww Lincoln dah man uses to leap from one end ah de goal to the next b4 you blink Carter? Ha!HA! Loooooouuuuudddd HA HA HA !!!

« Reply #59 on: July 23, 2008, 07:43:29 PM »
And now, my legendary picks:

1. Yashin
2. Jean Marie Paff  (real big time 'keeper)
3. Peter Shilton
4. Pat Jennings
5. Dasayev
6. Shumacher