March 28, 2024, 01:25:57 PM

After Whatching the slovinia Game who is your #1 Keeper?

Hislop
13 (44.8%)
Jack
15 (51.7%)
Ince
1 (3.4%)

Total Members Voted: 29

Author Topic: BEST GOALKEEPER  (Read 11970 times)

Offline jose

BEST GOALKEEPER
« on: June 02, 2006, 04:56:10 AM »
who do you think is the best goal keeper and i mean all round,not jus shot stopper,free kicks, corners,confident

Re: BEST GOALKEEPER
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2006, 05:04:05 AM »
Gordon Banks.

there will never be another keeper with his allround solidarity.

he practicallly carriede Englands hopes to keep them in the World Cup a few times.

Offline jose

« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2006, 05:15:48 AM »
if we speaking about currently, i wil say peter cech,he has all the right attributes,right height yet he gets down pretty fast,best for me

Offline Pompey

« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2006, 05:30:11 AM »
Peter Cech probably followed by Cudicini.

I hate Chelsea ;)

« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2006, 05:38:11 AM »
Jose, you're asking a very hard question of people here as there are currently a "whole 'eap" of world class goalkeepers in the world today that can seriosly challenge for the top spot: Kameni, Buffon, Cassillas, Reina, Van der Saar, etc.  But I will have to agree with both of you that Petr Cech currently MY No.1, while Gordon Banks may arguably be the best of all time.........with Peter Schmeichel laying a serios challenge to that crown.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2006, 06:00:27 AM »
Buffon, peter Chec, Coupet & in present form Lehman

« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2006, 06:03:24 AM »

ANC2 has the line up there self with 2 crucial additions,; Iker Casillas (don't get tie up by Real's Ish Defence)  followed by an in present form Jose Reina

« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2006, 08:24:53 AM »

I just wouln't include Jens Lehmann in that small fraternity.  He and Kahn shouldn't even be on this World Cup squad, I eh know WHAT Klinsmann and Kopke lookin' at.

« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2006, 08:42:42 AM »
Gordon Banks.

he practicallly carriede Englands hopes to keep them in the World Cup a few times.

couldnt agree more

« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2006, 09:38:09 AM »
I like the old guys, Bruce Grobbelaar and Neville Southall (de man didn't look good but he got the job done)

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2006, 09:43:20 AM »
Iker Casillas is the best. Peter Chec dont get test enough
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #11 on: June 02, 2006, 10:24:14 AM »
Gordon Banks.

allyuh not easy...horse u probably see some highlight clips or some videos of the 1966 world cup just like me, but u weren't even born at that time.

talk about men you see on ah regular...not about men you hear about.

« Reply #12 on: June 02, 2006, 10:27:14 AM »
how nobody ent call schmeichel, zenga, preudhomme, nkono??

« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2006, 10:33:12 AM »
Pat Jennings.

Talk done

« Reply #14 on: June 02, 2006, 10:36:08 AM »
Rene Higuita... The self acclaimed best goalkeeper in the world in his time.

« Reply #15 on: June 02, 2006, 11:06:52 AM »
Rene Higuita... The self acclaimed best goalkeeper in the world in his time.

I wouldn't say he was the best omar, rather flambuoyant and unorthodox

« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2006, 11:14:15 AM »
JOey Gonzales, Lincoln Phillips- Clive Burnett.
 It is a pity they did not make it to the big stage- Born a generation too early.
 Had Ince been given a break with a Premiership side , he would have been right there with the best, when he was voted MVP at the shell cup .

Offline Jay10

« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2006, 11:18:18 AM »
currently..the best all round goalkeeper is Edwin Van Dar Saar

he's excellent with both feet, sweeps very well, great shot stopper, very experienced, and good on crosses.........the best presently

second is Cech, den Cassias, Coupet dey also..........

« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2006, 11:24:49 AM »
michael 'Brow' maurice.....udder dan de lob, aka 'de sun was in meh eye' incident in '89, he was not half bad..... :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: June 02, 2006, 12:10:33 PM »
Right now all them names aint mean nothing to me!  The only name of significance is Kelvin Jack.  Ask me again after July 9.  To hell with everybody else.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #20 on: June 02, 2006, 12:13:52 PM »
My top two Victor Valdez
& Lens Lehman
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #21 on: June 02, 2006, 12:35:48 PM »
Gordon Banks.

allyuh not easy...horse u probably see some highlight clips or some videos of the 1966 world cup just like me, but u weren't even born at that time.

talk about men you see on ah regular...not about men you hear about.
[/quote cousin]

my step cousin is his nephew and he had videos of him playing in all kinda matches... i saw them the last time i went to london which was a while back... but i spent plenty vacant days soaking up the images of him saving numerous balls and the man was clear cut the most solid overall keeper ever... he was good at judging the flight of the ball, the player himself, crossed balls, low high however they came... if he didnt hold the ball it was only becuase it was a near impossible save and he always parried the ball away from the goal line and the popposing strikers.

the man was simply the best.

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #22 on: June 02, 2006, 12:50:01 PM »
Lehman gets my vote he not only a goalkeeper but he ah badman
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #23 on: June 02, 2006, 01:19:58 PM »
On current form I go say Casillas, the man save Real from getting about a million goals. Doh study the 3 or 4 goals he get, study the 8 or 9 he save after men jes rip Real defense to shreds.

Last year I would ah say Buffon though the man is one of the best shot stoppers I see. He eh really play to much this season due to injury.

« Reply #24 on: June 02, 2006, 01:25:50 PM »

lehmen...

« Reply #25 on: June 02, 2006, 01:45:35 PM »

My top two Victor Valdez
& Lens Lehman

I know Barca is u team eh, but Valdez is NOT A world class keeper.

Offline Jay10

« Reply #26 on: June 02, 2006, 03:00:27 PM »

My top two Victor Valdez
& Lens Lehman

let da man know nuh........he cyar even make he own national team..............being fair to him, dats a very hard spanish keeping lineup to break..........

« Reply #27 on: June 02, 2006, 04:16:52 PM »

My top two Victor Valdez
& Lens Lehman

let da man know nuh........he cyar even make he own national team..............being fair to him, dats a very hard spanish keeping lineup to break..........

I would say he IS a world-class 'keeper. I would put him on the Spanish team ahead of Canizares.  We cyah always use making the National team as a standard for determining whether a man is one of the best in his position or not.  Politics does play a role in a man's inclusion in a team sometimes, not true?

« Reply #28 on: June 02, 2006, 04:19:09 PM »
Interesting Thread & Interesting Responses

« Reply #29 on: June 02, 2006, 04:25:02 PM »
Desayev from the Soviet Union in the 80s was a serious ass Keeper.

Had he come around 10 years later, he woulld have made some serious money.