March 29, 2024, 12:04:57 AM

Author Topic: More bacchanal: Cultural entourage for Germany...  (Read 1097 times)

More bacchanal: Cultural entourage for Germany...
« on: June 03, 2006, 08:49:35 AM »
I get this in my email this morning.  lorddd...trinis does make bacchanal out of evrything...

Amid reports of artistes who can't behave ... Sparrow blanked for
Germany
  By CECILY ASSON
TnT Mirror News

Reputed Calypso King of the World Mighty Sparrow (Slinger Francisco)
got the blank from Ministry of Culture to be part of the cultural
contingent which leaves TnT next Monday (June 5) for the World Cup
Finals in Germany.

Sparrow's name was reportedly among the many cultural ambassadors put
forward to represent TnT when the action gets going.

An estimated 9,000 local fans are expected in Germany to see the Soca
Warriors make history in the World Cup appearance.

Insiders told TnT Mirror several factors, including his stage appeal
and material in this era of new-wave soca, worked against the
legendary calypsonian.

The source asked: "When you have to choose between a Kees
(Diffenthaller) and a Sparrow, tell me who has more appeal in these
times on a stage?

"Who has the energy; who shows the discipline on the stage?

"To watch Kees wine and Sparrow wine, who would you really choose?"

He went on: "Do we want to entertain the thousands with Congo Man? Of
course, that's not the message we want to send to the world.

"It may sound harsh but Sparrow no longer has that appeal, especially
for what we want to push in Germany."

KEES DIFFENTHALLER
... in the group bound
for Germany.

SPARROW ... stage
appeal and material
worked against him.

RIKKI JAI ... makes
good representation.

Sources told Mirror organisers opted for 2006 National Calypso
Monarch Luta, Stalin, and Skatie to represent calypso.

"Stalin is good and still has that appeal," Mirror was told.

"Luta has so much clarity and he represents real kaiso."

Mirror was told that Rose, the vaunted Calypso Queen of the World,
almost didn't make it.

"It's only because of the Tobago politics that she got through," the
source declared.

"When government is choosing, they have to be careful and include
everyone and, so, be politically correct.

"People ask why Kees Diffenthaller but the truth is the young man
also represents the face of TnT."

He defended Rikki Jai's selection over 2006 Chutney Monarch Ramdeen
"Falco" Maharaj and entertainer/businessman Iwer George.

"Rikki Jai has been out there toiling for years.

"He has always represented TnT culturally and makes good
representation."

The recently-crowned chutney champ has gone public over his exclusion
from the trip.

"Falco has only just won a title and there was no way he could have
been considered over Rikki Jai."

"As for Iwer George, his presence on a stage is overwhelming, you
can't stop him and that's what we want energy, the passion."

He said when World Cup is over, Trinidad and Tobago should be
remembered.

"We want real representation in Germany, we don't want artistes who
don't know how to behave, who don't know when to come off stage, who
when you tell them they have 15 minutes to perform they take an hour."

He refused to identify artistes who lack discipline.

"Let's just say reports of greed for booze, food and all-round bad
behaviour is what kayoed a lot of top-notch artistes who otherwise
might have made the cut," the source ended.

Others scheduled to leave TnT for Germany on June 5 are Eagle Boys
Tassa Group, Soca Monarch Shurwayne Winchester, National Panorama
winners Phase 11 Pan Groove, Defence Force Steel Orchestra and
African and East Indian drummers and dancers.

There will also be Carnival costumes and traditional ole mas
characters on display.