March 29, 2024, 02:06:53 AM

Author Topic: KOLLER SCORES TWICE FOR CZECHS IN WIN  (Read 1925 times)

KOLLER SCORES TWICE FOR CZECHS IN WIN
« on: June 03, 2006, 01:22:21 PM »
Koller scores twice for Czechs in win

Associated Press
Posted: 26 minutes ago

PRAGUE, Czech Republic (AP) - Jan Koller scored two goals and set up another Saturday to lead the Czech Republic over Trinidad and Tobago 3-0 in their final warmup match before the World Cup.

Koller, the Czech Republic's all-time leading scorer, scored his 41st and 42nd goals for his country, both in the first half.

In the sixth minute, he headed in Karel Poborsky's cross from close range.

Koller, who returned to the national team in a friendly against Costa Rica on Tuesday after he missed almost entire season due to a knee injury, last scored for the national team in a friendly against Sweden on Aug. 17, 2005.

In the 22nd minute, Koller collected the ball from Milan Baros with his back to goal inside the area and sent a precise pass to Pavel Nedved, who volleyed past diving goalkeeper Kelvin Jack.

Koller added his second five minutes from halftime. Nedved started the action in the middle, sending a through pass to Poborsky, who fed Koller with a low cross. The tall striker's low shot from close range found the back of the net.

Koller, who scored nine goals in World Cup qualifying, was applauded by 15,910 fans at the Sparta Prague's Letna stadium when he was replaced by Vratislav Lokvenc in the 61st.

"I was very satisfied with Jan Koller," Czech Republic coach Karel Bruckner said. "His play is exactly what we need. I feel very good about him."

It was the third defeat in a row for 47th-ranked Trinidad and Tobago, which lost to Wales 2-1 and to Slovenia 3-1. The Czech Republic beat Saudi Arabia 2-0 and Costa Rica 1-0 in its warmups.

Despite the loss, Trinidad and Tobago coach Leo Beenhakker said he was happy with the game.

"My players are not used to this way of football, to football they especially play here in Europe. It's much more faster and much more physical than they're normally used in their clubs," Beenhakker said. "I prefer to have the problems now ... I prefer that (my players) are surprised now instead of next week after the Sweden match."

Under pressure throughout the game, the visitors came close on a counterattack in the 14th minute when Stern John managed to beat the Czech defense and forced Czech Republic goalkeeper Petr Cech to make a blocking save.

"They scored the goals and we prepared the goals," Beenhakker said, adding his team still has a chance to improve. "I can assure you we've learned a lot. If it's enough, we will see."

Koller's return to form was a good news for Bruckner, who still had injury worries and was again not able to field his favorite starting lineup.

Czech Republic playmaker Tomas Rosicky again sat out with a thigh injury. Bruckner rested Rosicky to make sure he will be fit for the World Cup opener against the United States on June 12.

The 25-year-old Rosicky, who moved to Arsenal from Borussia Dortmund earlier this month, last played in the team's friendly against Saudi Arabia last week. He was then replaced after being tackled several times.

Also, Czech Republic captain Tomas Galasek didn't play Saturday. That means the 33-year-old defensive midfielder missed all three warmup games due to a knee injury. He was expected to be ready for the World Cup.

Jaroslav Plasil and Jan Polak took their posts Saturday.

Earlier this week, the Czechs lost midfielder Vladimir Smicer of Bordeaux. He was ruled out due to a hamstring injury and was replaced by Libor Sionko of Rangers.

Trinidad and Tobago, the smallest nation appearing in the World Cup, opens against Sweden on June 10, then faces England and Paraguay in Group B.

The Soca Warriors, who will make their World Cup debut, leave for Rotenburg, Germany, on Sunday and will play FC St. Pauli the next day.

After their World Cup opener, the Czechs will be playing Ghana and Italy in Group E. The Czechs, also ahead of their first World Cup, are scheduled to leave for Germany on Wednesday.

---

Lineups:

Czech Republic: Petr Cech, Zdenek Grygera, David Rozehnal, Tomas Ujfalusi, Marek Jankulovski (Pavel Mares, 79), Karel Poborsky (Jiri Stajner, 61), Jan Polak (Marek Heinz, 61), Jaroslav Plasil, Pavel Nedved (Martin Jiranek, 82), Milan Baros (Libor Sionko, 46), Jan Koller (Vratislav Lokvenc, 61).

Trinidad and Tobago: Kelvin Jack, Avery John (Atiba Charles, 46), Marvin Andrews, Dennis Lawrence, Chris Birchall (Aurtis Whitley, 46), Cyd Gray, Carlos Edwards (Kenwyne Jones, 69), Collin Samuel, Stern John, Densill Theobald (Anthony Wolfe, 77), Dwight Yorke.

« Last Edit: June 03, 2006, 02:08:08 PM by Jayerson »

Re: Koller scores twice for Czechs in win
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2006, 01:31:47 PM »
Koller at the double

Czech Republic limbered up for tougher tasks ahead with a comfortable win over fellow World Cup finalists Trinidad & Tobago on Saturday.

Both sides are putting the finishing touches to their World Cup preparations and it was Karel Bruckner's Czechs who came out on top.

Giant striker Jan Koller is feeling his way back to fitness following a serious knee injury and he laid down a marker when opening the scoring just six minutes in, heading home Karel Poborsky's cross.

Midfield star Pavel Nedved added a second on 22 minutes with a long-range drive and with the Caribbean nation having no answers, Koller netted a third shortly before the break.

Libor Sionko has been called in to the squad as replacement for Vladimir Smicer and he had a shot saved by Kelvin Jack.

Bruckner's men took their foot off the gas after the interval and can now head to Germany on a high.

With Group E games against USA, Ghana and Italy ahead, Bruckner will be keen to ensure complacency does not creep in.

T&T coach Leo Beenhaker must now raise his troops for what are sure to be tough games against Sweden, England and Paraguay in Group B

Re: Koller scores twice for Czechs in win
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2006, 01:37:50 PM »
Koller scores brace as Czechs beat T&T

Reuters

PRAGUE, June 3 (Reuters) - Striker Jan Koller notched a pair of goals and Pavel Nedved added another as the Czech Republic beat Trinidad and Tobago 3-0 on Saturday in their final tune-up ahead of the World Cup finals.

Koller looked to have regained his form after missing several months following knee surgery, a welcome sign for a Czech team depleted by injury.

The towering Borussia Dortmund striker headed home Karel Poborsky's cross from the left side just six minutes into the match.

Midfielder Nedved made it 2-0 in the 22nd minute with his long drive before helping set up Koller to make it 3-0 five minutes before halftime.

The Czechs have been hit by injuries in recent weeks, with Vladimir Smicer ruled out of the World Cup finals due to a nagging leg injury, while Koller, striker Vratislav Lokvenc, defender Zdenek Grygera are all coming off lengthy layoffs.

Rangers's midfielder Libor Sionko, called up to replace Smicer, had one good scoring chance but his shot was stopped by goalie Kelvin Jack.

The Czechs open their group E games on June 12 against the United States. Italy and Ghana are in the same group.

Trinidad and Tobago are making their first appearance in the World Cup finals and play England, Paraguay and Sweden in the opening group stage.

Stadium: Toyota arena
Attendance: 15,910
Match Time: 16:30 UK
Referee: Lars Johansson

Re: KOLLER SCORES TWICE FOR CZECHS IN WIN
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2006, 02:26:14 PM »
STRONG CZECHS GET FINAL WIN OVER T&T

www.socawarriorstt.com

A strong Czech Republic team got the better Trinidad & Tobago in their final warm-up match before the World Cup finals.

Two goals from Jan Koller and a Pavel Nedved strike eased the Czechs to a 3-0 victory at the Toyota Arena on Saturday evening.

T&T head coach Leo Beenhakker fielded what appeared to be his starting team for the World Cup while Czech coach Karel Bruckner wanted to field his ideal starting 11 for this game, but injuries to Tomas Galasek and Tomas Rosicky forced a reshuffle.

Imposing striker Koller had the first chance in the second minute when he lobbed Kelvin Jack and the ball looked to be on its way into the net before Marvin Andrews cleared off the line.

But neither Andrews nor Jack could do anything four minutes later when Koller made amends for that miss to open the scoring.

Karel Poborsky began the attack with a run into the area from the left, he tried to pass to Nedved, but the ball hit a defender and rebounded to Poborsky, who sent in a precise cross which Koller powered in with a diving header.

The next chance fell to Coventry striker Stern John, who weaved his way through the Czech defence but saw his effort go straight to goalie Petr Cech.

And the visitors were made to pay for spurning that chance in the 22nd minute as Koller turned provider with a pass to Nedved which the skipper finished with a precision shot inside the post.

Trinidad keeper Jack kept the scoreline respectable with two good saves to deny Poborsky and Milan Baros but could do nothing about Koller's second and the Czech Republic's third five minutes from half-time.

With a beautiful, sweeping counter-attack, Nedved sent a through pass to Poborsky, who touched it on to Koller and the Borussia Dortmund striker directed the ball to the net.

There was no respite for the visiting Caribbean side in the second half as wave after wave of Czech attacks came at them and they were lucky to keep the score at 3-0.

Their own best effort fell to substitute striker Densill Theobald, who hit a decent shot just over the crossbar.

Bruckner made three changes an hour into the match, and the new line-up took some time to gel, with several passes going astray.

But the Czechs still had the game under control, and after Andrews almost netted an own goal when he diverted Nedved's cross over the bar, sub Vratislav Lokvenc went close with a header from a corner.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2006, 02:29:32 PM by Jayerson »

SOCA WARRIORS HEADS UP FOR OFFICIAL ARRIVAL IN GERMANY
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2006, 02:36:37 PM »
SOCA WARRIORS HEADS UP FOR OFFICIAL ARRIVAL IN GERMANY

www.socawarriorstt.com

Trinidad and Tobago’s Soca Warriors will keep their heads up and enter Germany with pride and big ambitions a day after its 3-0 defeat to Czech Republic.

This was the message coming from captain Dwight Yorke after his team conceded three first half goals at the Toyota Arena in their final warm up international before its opening 2006 World Cup fixture against Sweden.

The “Soca Warriors” will depart Prague early Sunday morning and will fly through Frankfurt on the way to making an official arrival as a World Cup team in Bremen at around 10am (4am TT time). The team will then journey by luxury  bus and escorted by Rotenburg Mayor Detlef Eichinger for about 40 minutes to Rotenburg.

Mayor Detlef Eichinger for about 40 minutes to Rotenburg.

A massive welcome is expected for the team in Rotenburg which will check in at the Landhaus Wachtelhof  hotel around 11:30 am

With Rotenburg virtually transferred to a “Little T&T”, the Mayor will then host an official welcome reception later in the evening at around 6:30pm (12:30 pm) at the City Square.

Looking back at what was a third consecutive defeat for his team, Yorke said it was only obvious to be disappointed but once again the felt the team had no cause for major alarms.

“Obviously it was a disappointing result for us but this is not going to take away too much from us because we have three bigger matches to play in Germany and we will go there tomorrow with all the ambition,” Yorke told TTFF Media shortly after the match in Prague.

“We are still optimistic but we know it’s going to be extremely hard and we know it was always going to be extremely hard. We are not taking that for granted. The one good thing about this result is that it does not count and next Saturday is when it really starts and that’s when it matters.”

When asked whether he felt this was a worthwhile encounter a week before his team faces Sweden, Yorke replied: “I think that is right., The manager said he was the one that prepared the games and this is one he wanted us to have. This is exactly it and one thing we can take from this is that first half we were taught a footballing lesson.”

And should the “Soca Warriors” feel as though England and Sweden might as well start counting their goals:

“I don’t think so. If we think for a moment that England and Germany are going to beat us 5-0 then we might as well not turn up. What we have to ensure is when we go to play in June 10th, 15th and 20th is that we can give a good account of ourselves,” Yorke added.

In spite of the loss, Beenhakker was not disturbed.

“I was very happy with the game and I will explain why. My players are not used to this  way of football, this way in Europe. It’s much more faster and physical. So it was my choice to have very tough games foe them versus Slovenia and Czech - one of the best teams in the world actually. So we knew it would be very difficult but I prefer to have the problems on now and at least they have the experience as to what they can expect in the World Cup and I prefer they are surprised now instead of next week after the Sweden match,” he said.

As to how he assessed the match, Beenhakker added  “In football it’s all about mistakes and a good team make probably two mistakes in 90 minutes and a weaker team make probably about 25 mistakes. Simply look for the goals, they score it and we prepared the goals. First goal was free kick for us, ball  left to right in our own half and we lost the ball, Second goal, lesson  number one never as a defender never make short passing in the middle, we did it and 2-0 and.  Lesson number two, as a defender never let a guy escape you in the back.

“The problem is not how good the opponent is. The problem is how good we are and how many mistakes we make and that is the big battle with this team. The question is whether we are good enough to go with the opponents on this level and I can assure you we have learnt enough. Whether it’s good enough well we will find out.”

He doesn’t think today’s scoreline should mean that T&T should forget all about causing an upset or two at the Finals.

“We always have a chance. You never know who to put your money on. Football always has surprises and that’s the beautiful thing about it

And finally, when asked whether he heard about the England 6-0 win over Jamaica, Beenhakker added: “Oh! But come on. This is Jamaica we are talking about against England. England are preparing for the big stage and that result is not in any relation to us and how we will prepare for our matches and how we will play in the World Cup.”

Following the 3-0 loss, there were no major injury worry with midfielder Densill Theobald nursing a knock to the ankle but he will be able to train as early as next week while Cyd Gray suffered slight damage to a finger tissue. (Shaun Fuentes in Prague, June 3, 2006)
« Last Edit: June 03, 2006, 02:40:11 PM by Jayerson »

Re: KOLLER SCORES TWICE FOR CZECHS IN WIN
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2006, 08:47:47 PM »
"Beenhakker added: “Oh! But come on. This is Jamaica we are talking about against England. England are preparing for the big stage and that result is not in any relation to us and how we will prepare for our matches and how we will play in the World Cup.”  :applause:

DE man still optimistic..and I still optimistic..with mih head high

Touches tell mih he like he he crow stewed wit provisions...any odder requests??  or ah could jus go hed and make ah BIG pot