April 30, 2024, 03:40:25 PM

Author Topic: Porterfield makes India Shortlist  (Read 4173 times)

Porterfield makes India Shortlist
« on: May 08, 2006, 05:55:01 AM »
India Shortlist Eleven Coaches  The All India Football Federation have 'narrowed down' their coach selection process to eleven candidates, a list which includes former Ireland coach Brian Kerr.

The AIFF has decided to forward 11 names to it's Technical Committee for their consideration.

The Committee is expected to further narrrow down the list, following which the candidates will be interviewed.

The interview will be conducted by the members of Committee themselves, with the Chairman and Vice-Chairman being called upon to make a final decision.

The entire process is to be completed by the end of May, or before the start of the World Cup, at the very latest.

The names of the probables are given below:

Name (Nationality, Age)
  Brief history

1.  Bobby 'Bob' Houghton (England, 58)
       Former China & Uzbekistan national coach
2.  Brian Kerr (Republic of Ireland, 53)
       Former Republic of Ireland national coach
3.  Milos Hrstic (Croatia, 50)
       Former Yugoslav international
4.  'TITA' Milton Queiroz da Paixao (Brazil, 55)
       Former Brazilian international and Bayer Leverkusen player
5.  Roy Maicol Barreto (Portugal, 50)
       Former Zimbabwe national coach
6.  Colwyn Rowe (England, 50)
       Technical Director for all National Youth Teams in England
7.  Ian Porterfield (Scotland, 60)
       Former Zambia, Saudi, Zimbabwe, Oman, Trinidad & Tobago, Bolton coach.
8.  Predrag Juka (Croatia, 45)
       Former Croatia International.
9.  Amir Alagic (Bosnia, 46)
       Former Brunei national coach
10. Jorge Mario Olguín (Argentina, 54)
       Former Argentine international
11. Clemence Westerhof (Netherlands, 63)
       Former Nigeria, PSV Eindhoven & Ajax coach

goal.com

Re: Porterfield makes India Shortlist
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2006, 06:15:10 AM »
He likes managing in former British Colonies dont he.

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2006, 07:25:04 AM »
Poor India, ah hope dey doh get stuck with dat man nah.

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2006, 07:29:59 AM »
i didn't know india even had a football team. i thought they was strictly cricket and field hockey people.

i run into some real good english footballers here in atlanta of indian and paki extraction (big english expat community here). they should pull an angola and recruit them sorts. i doh think it have any in the premiership though.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2006, 07:32:53 AM by Andre »

« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2006, 01:57:45 PM »
i didn't know india even had a football team. i thought they was strictly cricket and field hockey people.

i run into some real good english footballers here in atlanta of indian and paki extraction (big english expat community here). they should pull an angola and recruit them sorts. i doh think it have any in the premiership though.

Their level of play is not very high, from what I see on Football Asia.  They have some ways to go.  What is surprising is the caliber of coaches that have applied for the position.  Of all the teams, they want to manage India?  I guess there are a lot of coaches competing for a limited supply of jobs, so they going anywhere to coach.

Offline shredhead

« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2006, 02:52:21 PM »

2 tings:
1 English 'people of pakistani extraction' don't like being called 'paki'. Still too many racists call dem dat (I know - I married an English woman of PE). She can called me 'gora' but I cyan call her the P word.
2 Zesh Rehman (on Fulham's books but on loan at Norwich this season) was the 1st player of 'sub-continental' extraction to play in the Premiership. He represented England at U17, U18, U19  and U20 level, but elected to play full international for Pakistan (sounds a bit like the unsuccessful Bobby Zamora attempt to play for T+T). He played in a friendly against ummmm...Bahrain to raise dosh for the Pakistan Earthquake appeal.
I'd rather be surfing

« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2006, 02:55:36 PM »
Even more shocking is that they are fully sponsored by nike

« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2006, 04:28:28 PM »
INDIA...FOOTBALL???

They might as well bring somebody to coach T and T BASEBALL team....

« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2006, 05:05:48 PM »
India has been playing international football for decades.

Qualified for the WC back in the 1950s...playing barefoot to boot. However, were not allowed to participate becz they refused to wear shoes.

Wondered why theirr football has suffered like this,and found this article

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_football/3937015.stm

« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2006, 06:38:57 PM »
wey allyuh think sey Indian cya kick ball oh wah??  ;D ;D wait till a ketch sum of allyuh  (it have to be a serious game though because war head bad anytime yu talk bout fete match.. mi head bad )  Mi nuh deal wid  spanner ..mi have a new talk .. is wrench A passin ..

Anyway I  Hear Portefield  wife up a Indian ting from Trinidad so de man mussi tun Indian now... Also Indian qualified long time for world cup football . doh mek  de dhal  belly fool allyuh fellas india balling for a while now..  ;D ;D ;D.

« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2006, 07:23:50 PM »
shredhead,

my apologies. i didn't know "paki" was offensive to some including your old lady. what is a "gora"?

warmonga,

porterfield wife is a trini chinee looking chic. trinis being trinis mean she could be anything. she name glenda lalai. i eh sure if that is indian or chinee name but is definitely a trini name.

« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2006, 07:51:46 PM »
PLEEESE.....Men here doh know India already tour the Caribbean back in de late '80's and cut we backside.

Who here remember dat game?

« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2006, 11:13:22 PM »
I mean with their population it not hard to fathom that somebody could play football. The question is how serious men there does be taking it.

« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2006, 05:28:09 AM »
Football was actually as big if not bigger than cricket in the earlies. Even today the biggest clubs attract crowds of over 100,000 spectators. The game today however is but a shadow of its former self. History would show that the oldest domestic cup competition outside of the English FA Cup was from India. That country has over 1.1 billion people, imagine if football caught on in 5 largest cities. They would give the world some good players. FIFA needs to look seriously at India and China for development of the game.

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2006, 06:21:44 AM »
PLEEESE.....Men here doh know India already tour the Caribbean back in de late '80's and cut we backside.

wtf!!!u serious???i probably wasnt born then so i wouldnt know... but to me that would be kinda embarassing

« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2006, 07:24:40 AM »
i eh see nothing like that in the fifa.com archives (http://www.fifa.com/en/mens/results/resultsdetails.html). only things similar were:

India (IND) 0:0  Jamaica (JAM) 
Friendly 2002  WOLVERHAMPTON ENGLAND - 01.09.2002 

India (IND) 3:0 (1:0)  Jamaica (JAM) 
Friendly 2002  WATFORD ENGLAND - 29.08.2002 

Noteworthy -
Cameroon (CMR) 2:2 (2:0)  India (IND) 
Nehru Gold Cup 1993  MADRAS INDIA - 30.01.1993

« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2006, 04:57:35 PM »
Fu^% the archives.

I remember well.

They toured the Caribbean, played three games vs. TT and also visited Guyana and Suriname.

Game one...they were VERY lucky  to beat us 3-1 in the first game.

They then toured Guyana and Suriname and lost their games there. In one encounter they were beatedn smthng like 6-0 (the defintely ate six goals, jut can't remember if they scored any in reply).

They then came back to TT played two more games and lost both, something like 3-0 margins.

« Last Edit: May 09, 2006, 07:04:52 PM by vb »

« Reply #17 on: May 09, 2006, 05:35:21 PM »
shredhead,

my apologies. i didn't know "paki" was offensive to some including your old lady. what is a "gora"?

warmonga,

porterfield wife is a trini chinee looking chic. trinis being trinis mean she could be anything. she name glenda lalai. i eh sure if that is indian or chinee name but is definitely a trini name.

Indian Trini..chineese trini..dugla Trini.. African trini..  spanish Trini  it  nuh mater it jes look like sey de man  have a  Curry tabanca.........
war..

« Reply #18 on: May 09, 2006, 05:43:49 PM »

I remember that...although I didn't see the match I heard about it. There is a part in India that was a former Portugese territory, GOA, on the West Coast of India. The people there are football crazy, they don't want to hear nuttin bout cricket. Many of them have Portugese last names etc. I ran into a few of them when I lived in the D.C metro area. Rell football peongs.

« Reply #19 on: May 09, 2006, 06:06:59 PM »
Fu^% the archives.

I remember well.

They toured the Caribbean, played three games vs. TT and also visited Guyana and Haiti.

Game one...they were VERY lucky  to beat us 3-1 in the first game.

They then toured Guyana and Suriname and lost their games there. In one encounter they were beatedn smthng like 6-0 (the defintely ate six goals, jut can't remember if they scored any in reply).

They then came back to TT played two more games and lost both, something like 3-0 margins.

Yep....ef de archives..I was at both games...only remember 2...and the first game when they win I remember they had a midfielder that score one of the best goals I see in de Stadium. A bullet straight from India. 3-1 in we backside. The second game we were a little more serious and return the favour 3-1. It look like they was afraid of Brian Williams and the locks in that game. They was just getting out of the way. Can't remember another game.

« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2006, 06:12:01 PM »

I remember that...although I didn't see the match I heard about it. There is a part in India that was a former Portugese territory, GOA, on the West Coast of India. The people there are football crazy, they don't want to hear nuttin bout cricket. Many of them have Portugese last names etc. I ran into a few of them when I lived in the D.C metro area. Rell football peongs.
It have a few South African Indian Migrants too that play serious ball.

« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2006, 07:06:02 PM »
There are also Indians in TT and Suriname that play good ftbl.

You remember Wynter the Surinamese who played for Holland and in the Seria A.

« Reply #22 on: May 09, 2006, 08:37:55 PM »
India should go for Westerhof

They have de talent, they just need an experienced coach

the only Indian player I ever heard of was Baichung Bhutia...not sure if he still playing in England

and of course Vikash Dhorasoo (AC Milan and then Lyon) who is on the France WC squad so he doh count

Offline marcel

« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2006, 02:17:44 AM »
india with a lot of inhabitans should have a great football team
what has gone wrong?

« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2006, 08:29:30 AM »
large population doh equate to football prowess. look at China.

conversely, look at holland, croatia, and we with small populations but is football giants.

Offline shredhead

« Reply #25 on: June 06, 2006, 02:54:14 PM »
'my apologies. i didn't know "paki" was offensive to some including your old lady. what is a "gora"?'
Warmonga - nah worry.
'Gora' is urdu for 'whiteboy'
I'd rather be surfing