April 29, 2024, 09:53:16 AM

Author Topic: bar in london to watch saturdays game  (Read 2188 times)

Offline sandra

bar in london to watch saturdays game
« on: June 05, 2006, 08:49:03 AM »
hi all
can anyone recommend a bar in london with good atmosphere to watch saturdays game against england

thanks
sandra

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
Re: bar in london to watch saturdays game
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2006, 08:57:23 AM »
Hi Sandra

There a number of options, depending on where in London you are. At the moment, I am aware of

The Masque Bar and Lounge and the Base Bar

There are two branches of the Masque Bar - one at 24 York Way Kings Cross and the other at 1-5 Long Lane, Barbican. Both bars will be showing the match, but there's a big trini party planned at the Barbican after the game. I'm going to be at the Barbican because it's close to home and I know the DJs there pretty well - promises to be a very decent lime.

If you're in South london you might want to check out the Base Bar. Here's a snippet from their World Cup promo:

Base Bar, 33 Camberwell Road SE5 which was featured recently (Wednesday 17th May) on ITV1's 'Sure Fans United' look out for T&T vs Sweden game live on Saturday 10th June & T&T vs England game live on Thursday 15th June both at the Base Bar direct from Germany when both ITV & BBC plan to be in attendance to capture the exciting atmosphere of us Soca Warrior fans watching the game live! There should be half-time interviews etc.going out live during the game from various venues including the Base Bar. After the game we will be celebrating in true Warrior Nation style with DJs Soca P, Bliss, Princess G, Redboy, Ninjaman Lloyd, etc. Plus Live PA's and Steelpan soloists will be on hand to add to the expected Carnival atmosphere after the games. There will be Carib in the bar and Roti/BBQ in the kitchen courtsey of a qualified Trini chef. What more could you ask for... okay, there will be Caribbean Rum in the bar too for those who prefer rum, allyuh happy now

Further east, the game will be showing on a big screen at the Stratford Rex
« Last Edit: June 05, 2006, 09:10:25 AM by sin »
-be the change you wish to see-

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2006, 09:02:31 AM »
What about that bar on Lower Clapton Road, I swear thats owned by Trinis.
Anyways say SIN said it depends where you are.

Offline dutchman

« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2006, 11:21:57 AM »
Don't forget it is w.e.e.kend

if you don't need to work and live close to stansted you fly for 220 pounds to dusseldorf on the 10th and return on the 11th!
Check Ryan AIR. ( it is close to dortmund)
or you take a flight to eindhoven.. is just 160 pounds return, train won't be that expensive from eindhoven- dortmund either
No excuse to stay in London when it is all happening in Germany.
just a thought, perhaps you can even find better flights.
enjoy wherever your watching.

btw: the train from london is perhaps a bit more relaxing and you might have no need of for a hotel
« Last Edit: June 06, 2006, 11:27:59 AM by dutchman »
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2006, 11:27:18 AM »
No excuse? No visa darlin  :(
-be the change you wish to see-

Offline dutchman

« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2006, 11:35:46 AM »
No excuse? No visa darlin  :(

I feel sorry to hear that, I know that is real shit.
Always a fight for me to get Trini's to visit me aswell.
Damn Holland & Germany.

Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

Offline trickadadian

• I am ah warrior
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2006, 12:04:00 PM »
hi all
can anyone recommend a bar in london with good atmosphere to watch saturdays game against england

thanks
sandra

Saturdady's game is against Sweden(the 10th)....the following Thursday is against England (the 15th)