April 19, 2024, 08:39:08 PM

Author Topic: Mexico refuse to release players before U.S. qualifier  (Read 3053 times)

Mexico refuse to release players before U.S. qualifier
« on: March 16, 2005, 12:23:48 PM »
Mexico refuse to release players before U.S. qualifier

MEXICO CITY, March 16 (Reuters) - Mexico say they will not release any players for club commitments in the week before this month's World Cup qualifier at home to the United States and have already turned down a request from Guadalajara.

Guadalajara, who field only Mexican players, are almost certain to have several players in the squad announced on Thursday and have already asked for them to be released to face Argentina's San Lorenzo in a Libertadores Cup tie on March 23.

However, the Mexican Football Federation's (FMF) national team director Guillermo Cantu has said training for the U.S. fixture starts next Monday and that nobody will be excused.

"This match against the United States is the most important in the qualifying competition and it is followed by a key game against Panama," he told the FMF's official website.

"There will be no concessions for any team, we are in no condition to give presents to anyone, we need to be concentrated on our short-term goal which is to qualify for Germany in 2006.

"This does not just apply to the players of Guadalajara but to all the teams. We must not give concessions because these will be used by our opponents."

The match at the Azteca stadium on March 27 is seen as an ideal chance to avenge Mexico's humiliating 2-0 defeat against their neighbours in the second round of the 2002 World Cup.

Both sides made a winning start to the final stage of the CONCACAF qualifiers last month when Mexico won in Costa Rica and the U.S. beat Trinidad & Tobago in Port of Spain.

The FMF has often became involved in a tug-of-war with its own clubs over the release of players for international games.

Cantu also said Barcelona defender Rafael Marquez was expected to join the camp on Tuesday.

"We need him, he's an important player," added Cantu, who criticised Barcelona when they released him only two days before last month's game in Costa Rica.

Re: Mexico refuse to release players before U.S. qualifier
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 03:53:39 PM »
When would we see the TTFF making that sort of stance?! Its easy to tell which countries are serious about grabbing their opportunity to qualify for the World Cup!

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2005, 04:10:21 PM »
Its all about poor planning and organization. these dates should have been set in advance. You ever here a Chamions League game set at the same time as an International quaification in Europe. CONCACAF have to get there act together, its not a dificult thing to do. Still yuh right the Mexican Federation is right plus they dealing with Mexican teams.

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2005, 04:55:05 PM »
Still yuh right the Mexican Federation is right plus they dealing with Mexican teams.

Barcelona is a Mexican team???

« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2005, 01:33:31 PM »
Still yuh right the Mexican Federation is right plus they dealing with Mexican teams.

Barcelona is a Mexican team???

While you always seem to wish to argue with me, you should read the article first.

MEXICO CITY, March 16 (Reuters) - Mexico say they will not release any players for club commitments in the week before this month's World Cup qualifier at home to the United States and have already turned down a request from Guadalajara.

Guadalajara, who field only Mexican players, are almost certain to have several players in the squad announced on Thursday and have already asked for them to be released to face Argentina's San Lorenzo in a Libertadores Cup tie on March 23.
However, the Mexican Football Federation's (FMF) national team director Guillermo Cantu has said training for the U.S. fixture starts next Monday and that nobody will be excused.

Offline mcaw

« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2005, 07:19:12 PM »
I like the mexican stance here

« Reply #6 on: March 20, 2005, 07:42:24 PM »

Nuttin special about what they doing.

They exercising their power over their own league and that real easy.

You didn't see Barca didn't release their player till two days before the last Costa Rica game so they in the same position as everybody else outside Mexico.  Lucky for them they could use majority mexican league players and still rip.

I actually think our relationships with the UK clubs are going much better than it has in the past.  Dem nasty you know....they used to victimize our players and use dirty tactics to dissuade them from returning.  Don't hear about it much now so hopefully it not as prevalent.

« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2005, 09:07:57 AM »

Nuttin special about what they doing.

They exercising their power over their own league and that real easy.

You didn't see Barca didn't release their player till two days before the last Costa Rica game so they in the same position as everybody else outside Mexico.  Lucky for them they could use majority mexican league players and still rip.

I actually think our relationships with the UK clubs are going much better than it has in the past.  Dem nasty you know....they used to victimize our players and use dirty tactics to dissuade them from returning.  Don't hear about it much now so hopefully it not as prevalent.

I believe part of the problem has to be CONCACAF and its organization. I mean they announced the June dates for the qualification in March. That is 3 months away. If you look at the other Confederations you can find all the dates up to the end of the year. It cannot be that hard to organize some dates. Presently what they do is work around the so called Unified Calander, but that only works with Top league teams not 2nd division etc.
This is one reason why T&T as an example do not have exhibition games scheduled, they do not have a schedule to plan around (not to mention $$$). Because of this they also send late request for player release, to play in exhibition etc.