April 27, 2024, 03:19:19 AM

Author Topic: Swedish coach worried that Yorke is playing defensive midfield!  (Read 6260 times)

Swedish head coach, Lars Lagerbäck, is very concern that Trinidad and Tobago skipper (Dwight Yorke) is playing a defensive midfield position. Lars believes that Yorke is very effective in the defensive midfield position and his experience can surge the Trinidad and Tobago team to positive and deadly attacks (this comes to light after seeing yorke hold down the position against all three europeans opponents.

http://www.aftonbladet.se/vss/sport/story/0,2789,836403,00.html

Sweden have more concerns as their starting goalkeeper Andreas Isaksson had to leave practice today because of severe back problems. The goalkeeper had been getting severe back pains for quite some time but has been taking pills to reduce the pain. The back up goalkeeper, John Alvbage, is huge but lacks experience. He is only 23 years of age and carries 2 international caps for sweden. He earned his first cap on January 4th, 2006 when Jordan played Sweden. There other goalkeeper, Rami
Shaaban is older but also lacks international caps. He carries only 1 cap (earned early this year against Finland).

http://expressen.se/expressen/jsp/polopoly.jsp?a=602928

Zlatan and Ljungberg are not the best of friends. In fact, after the game against Chile (in which they drew 1-1) the two had a verbal confrontation.  Zlatan is easily annoyed type of player when he does not get the services he so desires and carries a minor leg injury.

http://expressen.se/expressen/jsp/polopoly.jsp?a=603044

The sweds strongest attribute to the team is their midfield. The carry a very experienced midfield. All their midfielders have earned 30 or more international playing caps. In addition, they are all european bound players.

The last time Sweden played T & T in November 1983, Sweden won 3-0. Mats Jingblad, head coach of IFK Norrköping, (Swedish first division team) scored 3 headers goals against T &T. June 10th the 2 teams meet again.....what would be the outcome? Only time would tell.

In other news, David Beckham missed England's final training session on home soil before the World Cup squad left for Germany. The England captain picked up an ankle injury during Saturday's 6-0 warm-up win over Jamaica and took no part in Monday morning's session.

ps:  e-man, I could not get the page translated but was assisted by a Swedish national to read the pages. See what you could do for me.

« Last Edit: June 05, 2006, 09:25:01 AM by kingman »

Re: Swedish coach worried that Yorke is playing defensive midfield!
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2006, 09:22:58 AM »
I don't know how Yorke end up playin dey in that last game nah

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2006, 09:25:32 AM »
Don't believe none of that news...It's all stupid talk to give opposing teams the wrong impression.  Go TNT

« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2006, 09:28:49 AM »
Dat is pure mind games. he talking dat shit so Beenie would play Yorke in that position, taking away from the attack. Anybody in football who say Yorke more effective in a defensive role talking pure assry

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2006, 09:30:46 AM »
Yorke better get his ass uo in front of Birchall and Theobald/Whitley instead of behind them cause he may be a plus taking the ball out of the defense but he is a liability in front of the defence. He not shielding them properly and I hold him responsible for 2 of the 3 goals conceded against the czech. 1 he gave away our freekick tp the opposition for the 1st goal and for the 3rd goal he was not in a position for Andrews thus he(andrews) was forced to brign the ball out for the bad pass that led to us losing the ball. The whole world knows of Andrews weak passing and that was Yorke's job in that position, for us not have to worry about that.

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2006, 09:32:46 AM »
I don't know how Yorke end up playin dey in that last game nah

Me too. Maybe he was experimenting himself in that position

« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2006, 09:38:15 AM »
Dat is pure mind games. he talking dat shit so Beenie would play Yorke in that position, taking away from the attack. Anybody in football who say Yorke more effective in a defensive role talking pure assry

Ent? them think we juss reach?

« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2006, 09:38:49 AM »
      Aye boss you take the words out of my mouth,from the time i saw this headline those were my exact thoughts,this is a Coach at work trying to syke out other Coaches,inexperience guys will fall for that,remember Coaches play games too.

« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2006, 10:38:58 AM »
we got it right guys and I know Beenie and Yorke got it too.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2006, 10:44:35 AM »
      Aye boss you take the words out of my mouth,from the time i saw this headline those were my exact thoughts,this is a Coach at work trying to syke out other Coaches,inexperience guys will fall for that,remember Coaches play games too.

The Sweden game is probably your biggest in terms of proceeding to the next round. They are the ones who every tips to be second (I'm not suggesting for a minute that England are certain to go through, just what people are expecting) so if TnT are to get to the next stage, then they are the guys to beat and I guess they know it too, hence the mind games.

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2006, 01:40:45 PM »
Come Saturday all will be known GO TNT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2006, 02:12:21 PM »
Yorke, should not be playing defensive midfield..end of story! In fact if he is going to play there, he might as well not play at all.

« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2006, 02:20:23 PM »
Swedish head coach, Lars Lagerbäck, is very concern that Trinidad and Tobago skipper (Dwight Yorke) is playing a defensive midfield position. Lars believes that Yorke is very effective in the defensive midfield position and his experience can surge the Trinidad and Tobago team to positive and deadly attacks (this comes to light after seeing yorke hold down the position against all three europeans opponents.

« Reply #13 on: June 05, 2006, 02:32:27 PM »
The last time Sweden played T & T in November 1983, Sweden won 3-0.

Actually, we lost 5-0. Clint Marcelle made his senior debut in dat game.

« Reply #14 on: June 05, 2006, 02:37:40 PM »

SERIOUSLY,,, how do you know these things?

Photographic memory?

You is de worlds fastest googler?

You livin wit ah seer woman?

How is it possible to have that much TT football trivia stored in one human...dais why yuh does wear de giant hat ent,,all de knowledge trap up in dey?

Yuh ever try out fuh Jeopardy?

« Reply #15 on: June 05, 2006, 02:42:44 PM »

Does Yesenia Gonzalez ring ah bell?  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: June 05, 2006, 02:49:19 PM »

Does Yesenia Gonzalez ring ah bell?  :devil:

:salute: righto...nuff said  :afro:

Offline kappy

• Tantie whey yuh dey !!!
« Reply #17 on: June 05, 2006, 03:22:43 PM »

pure and total swedish tata !!! deez fellas really think we chupid ...anyways come saturady evening we go be  laughin at them
Snake in de balliser

« Reply #18 on: June 05, 2006, 06:49:09 PM »

Thanks talliest for the corrections  :thumbsup:......

This football business aint bet it have tactics. Sweden really feel we falling for it?

e-man....thanks bro....it giving some problems though. A lot of people using it right now but thanks!!  :beermug:

kingman

« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2006, 06:57:26 PM »
u knwo what hoenstly de man might have genuine fears. cause he is a professional coach and he must be seeing y beenie was going dat. at any rate time go tell.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline dutchman

« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2006, 02:55:05 AM »
I think it is just talk for the homecrowd
He knows the biggest fear is that zlatan & others won't be really well concentrated.
The coach is quite smart and knows the worst thing that can happen against TnT is to underestimate TnT. go TnT, do like the aussies play HARD that is KEY.
Take shots from distance too, but please play hard but watch out with that the first 10 min.
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

Offline P3 (from Sweden)

Watch OUT !!! Swedens last training did look real good.
« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2006, 05:28:13 AM »
SO on saturday we will meat. Then the ball is round.  Swedens last training did look real good. A lot of speed. ;D

So i hope we gonna have a lot of sun etc and a good game and a good Party !!

Respect   !!!!!!

-P3

Offline jose

Re: Watch OUT !!! Swedens last training did look real good.
« Reply #22 on: June 07, 2006, 05:36:53 AM »
man i eh worried, once de boys go out and play good football i will be satisfied

Offline P3 (from Sweden)

« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2006, 05:49:12 AM »
man i eh worried, once de boys go out and play good football i will be satisfied

ME 2......    :devil:

« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2006, 06:25:58 AM »
and make sure and bring the swedish girls so we could score off the field  ;D

« Reply #25 on: June 07, 2006, 06:34:37 AM »
SO on saturday we will meat. Then the ball is round.  Swedens last training did look real good. A lot of speed. ;D

Respect   !!!!!!

-P3

Good luck to you too. Regardless of what happens, we will always remember Sweden as our opponents in our first ever game in the WC. You are officially part of T&T history :) :)

You may not know this but Jonas Thern...ex Swedish captain in WC 1994 has family in T&T. One of my friends has a Swedish mother who is cousins with Thern's mother....not kidding you.

So respect.....and watch out for Superoli

Offline thane

« Reply #26 on: June 07, 2006, 06:38:08 AM »
oli...foootball....focus on football...

Offline sprog

« Reply #27 on: June 07, 2006, 10:23:09 AM »
Big up to you and your peeps p3, lets have some fun on Saturday :beermug: :cheers:

« Reply #28 on: June 07, 2006, 10:24:10 AM »

AND?

Just to help out a bit.....it's meet not meat. Cheers!

kingman

« Reply #29 on: June 07, 2006, 10:30:47 AM »
SO on saturday we will meat. Then the ball is round.  Swedens last training did look real good[/b]. A lot of speed. ;D

Respect   !!!!!!

-P3

ah like how P3 trying out a trini accent...