April 27, 2024, 05:38:10 AM

Author Topic: Scary Memories of 1989  (Read 3784 times)

Scary Memories of 1989
« on: June 07, 2006, 07:54:49 PM »
Ah don't mean to be negative but this remind me of Nov.19th 1989...Take a look
The long bus ride, the crowd of fans outside the stadium. The cult hero status that the team had. Could we have a repeat.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DgJIVUsg9Ds&search=trinidad%20pauli

Re: Scary Memories of 1989
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2006, 08:05:56 PM »
Rastaman I know you dont' mean to be negative but I tryin to figure out how that could remind you of 1989

That video make me well up with pride and love for meh country breds

that support LARGE

the Germans even have the Fighter chant down pat  ;D

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2006, 08:21:15 PM »
Rastaman I know you dont' mean to be negative but I tryin to figure out how that could remind you of 1989

that support LARGE

Yes it is but it was the same back then. I remember I was in the stadium.

Remember no body had any problems with the overwellming support then but then that was used by a lot of people as part of the reason for the loss.

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2006, 08:24:06 PM »

that support LARGE

the Germans even have the Fighter chant down pat ;D
Ah have to agree with Grande man, ah watch this video over and over...Ah really wish i could be there....

VIBES IT UP WARRIORS!!!!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2006, 08:24:57 PM »

that support LARGE

Yes it is but it was the same back then. I remember I was in the stadium.

Remember no body had any problems with the overwellming support then but then that was used by a lot of people as part of the reason for the loss.

I wasn't at the stadium (too young) but I can imagine de pain you felt

but this is different man....we REACH

All this support, being on the world stage after so many years...that is enough for most ppl...dat is the CAKE

Good results will be the icing  :beermug:

Offline ZURITRESS

« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2006, 08:35:23 PM »
the differance is bcak in 89 it happen hours before the game this is almost a week before we play. and that scence is one of the most special scenes i will ever see as a trinidadian in my life

« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2006, 09:30:33 PM »
One differences Rastaman.....In 89 we were expected to win by everyone.  This time we need to surprise them.  Last time them surprise we.

« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2006, 09:44:15 PM »
and allyuh say dem germans eh ahve no timin..dey handle dey stories even see fraulein buss ah small wine dey. ;D
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2006, 10:34:34 PM »
In this case the crowd is not pissed because they can't get into an oversold stadium before the game. In this case they are genuinely celebrating the Warriors being in Germany after the game.

Offline teddy bear

« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2006, 02:01:11 AM »
watchin da clip jus give me goose bumps, look like de people jus appreciatin de boys, no scene. If dis was to happen on de way to de stadia, den we might need to worry.

« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2006, 06:31:44 AM »
ah sure if latas/dwight/brow read dis post dey go say to ah man dat, dis experience in no way compares to the shyte dey went thru on dat fateful day in '89, different vibes all around....more(most) importantly. different leader at the helm(ah couldn't resist adding dat)

« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2006, 07:18:46 AM »
Watch nah is bacchanal in thee place alyuh…oh gosh excitement…I know all ah them people ent no Trinidadian and look how they gehing on dread...is thee tempo have them moving towards we team! Is madness on Saturday. That could never bring back negatives fibes or scary memories but only fire in we heart with tha support they showing we. You should switch tha subject to GET ON THEE BUS!! Soldiers them singing thee song better that them Indian and them…. on time! LOL

I is ah soca… worrier…. and just remember… I’m fighter. I feeling thee sweetness! Alyuh Weh it is??

« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2006, 08:56:05 AM »
I was there in 89 fighting up with the crowd to get in the stadium all 11:00 am and the match starting 3pm it was the worse, meh pardner girl nearly get crush.

This time around we have so many differences, the main one is that we actually did qualify, so them scenes yuh seeing is one of accomplishment and joy.

Second thing that ain't no Maxi Taxi. We have a state of the art massive Bus airconditioned. That drive yuh talking about is just for training not game day.

The team will be in Dortmund Tomorrow and not going to on match day. So yes there are many differences this time around, we have a higher power looking over us, so have faith we will prevail

« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2006, 09:11:08 AM »
The long bus ride, the crowd of fans outside the stadium. The cult hero status that the team had. Could we have a repeat.

That have nothing to do with 1989. Anyways, I almost start jumping up when I hear the music.

Offline UK_Soca_warrior

« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2006, 10:09:37 AM »
Dat made me so happy to see. hmmmm 1989??  ??? Yuh sure?

Yuh see Germans jump up to we music? We have nothing to loose. It great to see we have such neutral support.

« Reply #15 on: June 08, 2006, 12:23:08 PM »

soca warriors,  triniad people, positive vybes

« Reply #16 on: June 08, 2006, 06:51:47 PM »
I dont mean to be funny

Something missing

I aint hear Jack name mentioned in a couple days now

He flying low...... ;D ;D ;D

MickeyRat

« Reply #17 on: June 08, 2006, 06:55:53 PM »
I dont mean to be funny

Something missing

You have a valid point there man.  No one have seen or heard from Jack since last week .  Like Sepp have him under some serious manners.

Offline kappy

• Tantie whey yuh dey !!!
« Reply #18 on: June 08, 2006, 07:35:43 PM »
I dont mean to be funny

Something missing

that is truth ...
Snake in de balliser

Offline kappy

• Tantie whey yuh dey !!!
« Reply #19 on: June 08, 2006, 07:38:03 PM »

Rastaman ... do dig no horros nah man ... smoke some peng an relax ... i was dey in 89 ...ah de vibes from dis crew so positive boy it does give meh chills when ah tink bout it ... but ah undersatnd yuh concern ... we so close tuh making history ... yuh doh wah mess it up ... hear dis ... things cool with dis crew riding in germany ... watch an see saturday ... 89 go be long forgotten
Snake in de balliser