April 27, 2024, 01:21:19 AM

Author Topic: Kelvin in the firing line  (Read 3792 times)

Kelvin in the firing line
« on: June 08, 2006, 07:06:29 PM »
Dundee goalkeeper Kelvin Jack has been pinpointed as a weak link in the Trinidad and Tobago line up by opening World Cup opponents Sweden (writes Tom Duthie).
The pair, who are in England’s group, clash in Dortmund in Saturday’s tea-time kick-off and, with training now focusing specifically on the game, veteran Swedish coach Lars Lagerback has altered shooting practice.
He has instructed a strikeforce that includes ex-Celt Henrik Larsson, Arsenal’s Freddie Ljungberg and Juventus ace Zlatan Ibrahimovic to concentrate on hitting low efforts just inside the near posts.

The move is apparently based on the belief that Jack, as he often has been since Dutchman Leo Beenhakker took over as T&T coach, will be preferred to the more experienced West Ham goalkeeper Shaka Hislop.

“Yesterday, training was interrupted and the strikers were told to fire the ball in low. We believe Jack has a weakness with those type of shots and it is something that can be exploited,” said an insider from the Swedes’ training camp.

“We are surprised that Hilsop will not play, but our understanding is that Beenhakker has faith in Jack and will go with him — that might be good news for Sweden.”

The Scandinavians have been doing their homework and their predicted Trinidad line-up also includes Dundee United striker Collin Samuel being used wide on the left — no big surprise as it is the position in which he has been used most by Beenhakker.

St Johnstone’s Jason Scotland and former Dundee man Brent Sancho are expected to be on the bench.

Re: Kelvin in the firing line
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2006, 07:15:11 PM »
Doh worry! They worried!  lET THEM MAKE THERE PLANS.

Offline kappy

• Tantie whey yuh dey !!!
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2006, 07:33:03 PM »
Yuh see ... iz now dem teams starting tuh worry bout we ... becasue they know that we are the perfect team to exploit their weaknesses and dey don't want to get embrassed ... so dey start tuh spew verbal diaareah at the press in the hopes of distracting the boys an dem ... but doh fear ... we going brave and strong ... Sweden hull yuh arse
Snake in de balliser

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2006, 07:35:41 PM »
Well if this make the news obviously Beenie has seen or heard it too so he already making counter plans

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2006, 08:21:28 PM »
they practicing for jack when shaka might keep... lol... well even if jack keeping i sure after than news he'll fix up he business with them shots

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2006, 08:55:06 PM »
Thats how they injured their own keeper taking low shots at him :rotfl:

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2006, 08:56:10 PM »
lol... well if it was then he get injured jack already start the pain that going to be inflicted on swweden

« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2006, 09:22:01 PM »
If their keeper get injured like that, then that mean they have similiar weakness. They just trying to play mind games we eh worried. Nothing To Lose.

« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2006, 10:30:04 PM »
That really sounding like some chain up talk... Brej, which site did you get that zeppo from ?

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2006, 02:58:56 AM »

Forget all that talk. Nonetheless, we really NEED a healthy Kelvin Jack.  Jack's last save n Bahrain is unquestionably the moment of the campaign.  If one can glimpse into the future, then the pain that would have resulted from missing that save  would have been greater than any other missed save.  Keep it together K. JacK, T&T needs you!

« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2006, 08:11:33 AM »
 :rotfl:  :rotfl: What they don't know is Jack is our # 1 keeper. I would put him infront of Shaka anyday. If they say Jack suspect in the air then I would second that. Otherwise, the man is a quality keeper.

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2006, 08:50:26 AM »
The palace guards who protect a king are the last line of defense in any given kingdom. Likewise, the goalkeeper is the last line of defense in any football team. The quality of our goalkeeping is descent. Still, the quality of our goal keeping doesn’t compare to Costa Rica, Mexico or even the USA.

Jack is our most agile and most responsive keeper we have. However, he’s still polishing his act and is not yet consistent. Shaka (who was once a great keeper) is showing signs of aging and is losing agility and quick reflexes. Ince has the reputation of coming out of the goalie box far too often and leaving himself stranded. Additionally, Ince hasn’t been getting too much play time recently. Warner (who’s only played once for the team) has great potential, but is lacking in experience and in regular playtime.

So, the Swedes are right when they imply that goalkeeping can be a potential weak link for us. However, both Beenie and Jack are aware of this and are working on it. They will be ready to face the challenge when the time comes for it.

Additionally, the Swedes won’t determine who our goalkeeper will be. That is Beenie man’s job.

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2006, 09:06:45 AM »
to me it sounds like de swede dem wud rather face shaka dan jack in goal
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2006, 03:13:55 PM »
i just curious but isnt low shots just inside your post every keepers weakness

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2006, 03:20:05 PM »
i just curious but isnt low shots just inside your post every keepers weakness

The truth is, low shots is an area in which Shaka is the stronger GK. Still, agility and reflexes gives Jack the edge.

Offline jose

« Reply #15 on: June 09, 2006, 06:46:09 PM »
SHAKA BETTER WITH SET PLAYS AND STUFF AND HE  BETTER WITH THE BALL AT HIS FEET,BUT JACK IS THE BETTER SHOT STOPPER

Offline croc

« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2006, 07:40:52 PM »
I said it before and ah saying it again..Jack is the better KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!

Offline Jay10

« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2006, 09:03:41 PM »
I said it before and ah saying it again..Jack is the better KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!

ummmm..........Jack is not a goalkeeper

he is merely a shot blocker

how can yu be classified as a goalkeeper if you not good  with your feet and poor on cross balls?

how many corners or crosses have you seen Jack come out and claim convincingly??

Offline croc

« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2006, 09:55:20 PM »
lets see who Beenie uses first.

Offline ffreturns

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2006, 05:35:03 AM »
Putting K Jack in goal would be suicidal playing against teams like Sweden&England who are both good at free kicks,corners and set plays which is all K Jack weak points is a disaster waiting to happen but then again i should not be surprised this is just 1 of many dumb moves Beenhacher has made since taking charge of T&T football.

Offline Perth Warriors

• Jason is a hero
« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2006, 05:43:10 AM »
Kelvin should do well if he's in for the Sweden game. He's played a whole season at Dundee with a defence line that struggled badly. Look who he's gonna have in front of him today , much better than he's used to having. The man is a great shot blocker and as long as the boys at the back stay tight he should do well. We hope he does because a few of us here would like to see him sign for Saint next year and link up with Jason in the push for the SPL.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2006, 05:56:20 AM by Perth Warriors »

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2006, 08:57:28 AM »
I have faith in Jack. He needs to settle down and remain consistent. But, this discussion about who is better is going no where. If you want to know who is the better overall goalkeeper, that award would easily go to Shaka. However, Shaka is a bit aged and slower now. This makes Jack a better choice.

The point has already been mentioned about Jack's failure to make early interceptions of corner kicks and cross balls. I trust this is something he has been working on. I know he'll do just fine.

Looking towards the future, we need to start grooming such men as Warner and also looking towards our younger up and coming GKs. We should also consider using Shaka as a GK coach.