March 28, 2024, 03:10:42 PM

Author Topic: Universities in US wit Trinis  (Read 8204 times)

Offline killadrilla

• King Thierry
Universities in US wit Trinis
« on: June 10, 2006, 05:01:49 PM »
anybody have any ideas of universities in the US (or Canada) which has a large trini population??

tanks

Offline Bob

Re: Universities in US wit Trinis
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2006, 10:57:42 PM »
Howard and Morgan State......in NYC check de CUNY system they have a large island population especially Brooklyn College.....Stony Brook, LIU (Brooklyn), basically most schools in de city and on LI yuh bound tuh find alotta trinis....Florida International and some others down Florida too but I kno Int'l have ah massive side too......

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2006, 11:47:07 PM »
anybody have any ideas of universities in the US (or Canada) which has a large trini population??

tanks

Western University in London
Waterloo University in Waterloo
Cambridge University - yes you guessed it, in Cambridge

datz all i know
oh yeah all ah dem in Canada  :beermug:

Offline killadrilla

• King Thierry
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2006, 03:52:32 AM »
Howard and Morgan State......in NYC check de CUNY system they have a large island population especially Brooklyn College.....Stony Brook, LIU (Brooklyn), basically most schools in de city and on LI yuh bound tuh find alotta trinis....Florida International and some others down Florida too but I kno Int'l have ah massive side too......

Howard...that in DC?

Offline killadrilla

• King Thierry
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2006, 05:34:34 AM »
Actually I thinkin about the big names, such as MIT, Goergetown, Stanford, etc. Just curious about that, and i hear florida have a few as well.

« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2006, 10:13:21 AM »

tanks

datz all i know

Cana, i never heard of a university in cambridge, ontario, canada. cambridge as far as i know is not a university town - that is why the housing prices are 10K+ lower than other towns like guelph.

« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2006, 11:47:03 AM »
University of Maryland, College Park

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2006, 11:59:19 AM »

tanks

datz all i know

Cana, i never heard of a university in cambridge, ontario, canada. cambridge as far as i know is not a university town - that is why the housing prices are 10K+ lower than other towns like guelph.

Yes sweetness there is one. Up to last night that was ah discussion bout UNIs in and around London.
Unless I was real drunk no ass and that ah was hearing things.

Now you have me doubting meh damn self
Look I going and call meh toy and find out if he was talking shit or sense.....

Ah coming back

Ribbit if ya make meh waste ah call to TO is me and you eh  >:(

« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2006, 12:03:09 PM »
st francis college  brooklyn NYC
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2006, 12:06:00 PM »
steupssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Well I feeling like ah ass and ah half with three quarter in meh mouth

Yes there is ah Univeristy in Cambridge but dey blasted place in LONDON ENGLAND.

Well thanks ribbit fur clearing out dey Cana beeswax.  Here's ah carrot  ;)

Dey morale of this story....When ya drinking never discuss NOTHING serious  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2006, 12:33:53 PM »

;D - i wanted a carib but i go take the carrot. Tanks!

university of toronto has a trini student population as well.

« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2006, 04:48:52 PM »

;D - i wanted a carib but i go take the carrot. Tanks!

university of toronto has a trini student population as well.

Datz ah promise....ah Carib fur dey ribbit  :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2006, 09:19:10 PM »
Actually I thinkin about the big names, such as MIT, Goergetown, Stanford, etc. Just curious about that, and i hear florida have a few as well.

Shaka went Howard.

Danielle Jones

Miss T&T Universe 2004 went Howard.

David Manning, the Prime minsiter son, going or is associated with Howard. (He there a while now though. Apparently he like it so much he on his 7/8th year.)

Howard is a very good stepping stone to bigger colleges.
I can put you in contact with Caribbean people who went or are going MIT, Stanford, Georgia Tech, Cornell, Columbia, Virginia Tech, UF  etc, etc, etc for grad studies.

I can also put you in contact with Trinis who went Howard and work for Microsoft, IBM, Nasa on Wall Street etc, etc, etc.

Adjusting to American life is kinda hard if you not accustomed. Winter is no joke! The lack of Trini food is no joke. When you get that home sickness it nice to be some where in the States where it have Caribbean people. Cause Caucasian America can be unaccomodating weird and in the unfortunate cases racist.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2006, 09:26:22 PM by rippin »

« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2006, 10:35:36 PM »

Yes there is ah Univeristy in Cambridge but dey blasted place in LONDON ENGLAND.

Well thanks ribbit fur clearing out dey Cana beeswax.  Here's ah carrot  ;)

Dey morale of this story....When ya drinking never discuss NOTHING serious  :beermug: :beermug:
hahah@cana gyul is ok doh feel like ah bake. but dais oen ah de most famous uni is de world.hel alot of tirni do cambridge exams....o level and a's..lol u still sweet  but hahahahaha  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
at u  :P:rotfl: :rotfl:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2006, 12:10:40 AM »

Well thanks ribbit fur clearing out dey Cana beeswax.  Here's ah carrot  ;)

Dey morale of this story....When ya drinking never discuss NOTHING serious  :beermug: :beermug:
hahah@cana gyul is ok doh feel like ah bake. but dais oen ah de most famous uni is de world.hel alot of tirni do cambridge exams....o level and a's..lol u still sweet  but hahahahaha  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
at u  :P:rotfl: :rotfl:

<stares at Organic>
wait is laugh you laughin at me -steups  ya damn right yes...ah only now reading meh damn post and is shame ah shame here

See what alochol does do to ya...have ya thinking and talking shit and in ya mind it making sense and ya feeling intelligent....

Well until Thursday nah...
Ah feel like Friday go be kinda of "hangover/serious headache/pissy/doh fu*king talk to me nah" kinda day
Now ah cyah wait  :beermug: :beermug:

Trus' in dey Lawd and pass dey drinks.  :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: June 12, 2006, 07:07:05 AM »
I was now goin an drive rong cambridge to see how I miss this  WHOLE university
Yuh boy toy does put babash in he beers or wha?

Look whole ah last week I must be de ONLY man have ah Trini flag on he car in cambridge...nobody eh studyin mih,,,and de ones with all kinda other country flag squinchin up dey face

After saturday..EVERYBODY blowin horn when ah pass

But ah does give dem de finger...........  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: June 17, 2006, 07:57:04 AM »
Nobody mention University of Toronto?

Wen I was there, dey had a few ah we. 

We and a club called TWISA - third world and international students association
but it was dominated by a whole bunch of JA and Trinis .. den we start to fight
ow lawd ... yuh bringin back bad memories with the infighting nonsense wen we should have been uniting

I remember one fete we put on ... dey Trini complanin too much reggae and the Jamaincan complain not enuf.

Buh dat was a long time ago .. hopefully tings better today.  Look ah went an date meh self.

« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2006, 08:29:47 PM »
David Manning, the Prime minsiter son, going or is associated with Howard. (He there a while now though. Apparently he like it so much he on his 7/8th year.)

allyuh men not easy...allyuh could write for the tnt mirror or the enquirer.

« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2006, 04:04:43 AM »
TuFF MuFF cause mih profits tuh drop by 50%

umm Mr Duttiness, ah sorry but ah didn't know you were not of east indian orgin.   :'(

i go make it up to ya...promise

« Reply #19 on: June 19, 2006, 05:31:02 AM »

MIT usually have an inflow about 3-6 trinis a year(or so i heard)....so de trini lime there small....but they real close and it's a good community of people....my best friend and his padnas just graduate from there....

Howard hands down has the most trinis I know coming in each year in North America...they should change that university name to UWI.....

in canada: waterloo, toronto and western(london) have a decent size caribbean population.... :beermug:

Offline sinned

« Reply #20 on: June 21, 2006, 08:18:58 AM »

MIT usually have an inflow about 3-6 trinis a year(or so i heard)....so de trini lime there small....but they real close and it's a good community of people....my best friend and his padnas just graduate from there....

Howard hands down has the most trinis I know coming in each year in North America...they should change that university name to UWI.....

in canada: waterloo, toronto and western(london) have a decent size caribbean population.... :beermug:

I in MIT right now..smallish trini population but the lime does be good with ppl from Harvard and Northeastern and them other nearby schools. We does also go down good with the other Caribbean people. Who's yuh best friend killadrilla?

« Reply #21 on: June 28, 2006, 12:30:57 PM »
FIU in miami. nuff yardies too.

and any school in brooklyn or queens.

« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2006, 12:39:38 PM »
Morehouse is practically a trini university

« Reply #23 on: June 30, 2006, 08:58:50 PM »
Morehouse is practically a trini university

Not again. 

Offline davyjenny

« Reply #24 on: July 12, 2006, 09:29:31 PM »
FIU: Florida

USF:Florida

NOVA STATE:FLORIDA

ATLANTIC:FLORIDA

And some at:UCLA, USC, CAL STATE L.A, CAL POLLY, STANFORD, 
BERKELY, U.C IRVINE and  SAN DIEGO STATE  All in California.

« Last Edit: July 12, 2006, 09:37:27 PM by davyjenny »
the impossible lies in a person determination

« Reply #25 on: July 13, 2006, 12:06:48 PM »
south carolina state in Orangeburg SC.  nuff trini students (i was one) pass thru and still passing thru.  it have a professor here from bago, 2 trinis teaching computer science and myself, the spanish instructor.   also next door is claflin university, nuff trinis there too (that school stale tho, the lime used to be on our side of the gate :D)

it have trinis up in cornell??  meh lil brudda just started there

« Reply #26 on: July 14, 2006, 09:17:00 AM »

get tie up dat man hear donkey years and doh wah go nowhere, immigration looking for he tail, when dey reach he does just wave diplomatic passport for dem and keep running. Run David run.

« Reply #27 on: July 14, 2006, 10:30:37 AM »

get tie up dat man hear donkey years and doh wah go nowhere, immigration looking for he tail, when dey reach he does just wave diplomatic passport for dem and keep running. Run David run.

lol...allyuh men is real kicks...when i saw him last summer (2005) he told me he finishing next year (2006) but mih other pardna said he has been hearing that for several years now.  I have known David since form 1 so I eh go catch kicks on de man..i hope he graduates sometime soon.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #28 on: July 14, 2006, 02:30:38 PM »
I was now goin an drive rong cambridge to see how I miss this  WHOLE university
Yuh boy toy does put babash in he beers or wha?

Look whole ah last week I must be de ONLY man have ah Trini flag on he car in cambridge...nobody eh studyin mih,,,and de ones with all kinda other country flag squinchin up dey face

After saturday..EVERYBODY blowin horn when ah pass

But ah does give dem de finger...........  :devil:

Ah thought was only me still flying ah Trini flag.  Seem like all de part-time Trini and dem take it orf dey car. Ah doh understand dat.  When Italy win de match Sunday, me an me other Trini fren drive dong in de Italian village and join in de parade ah cars in de street.  De lone Trini flag in ah see ah Italy colours!! Blast meh soca in de car and shout "Soca Warriors" every time ah slow dong!! 
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline killadrilla

• King Thierry
« Reply #29 on: October 01, 2006, 06:07:48 PM »
hello everyone, just reopening this thread...trying to find out more. I living in Houston, TX, and right now the 1st choice in university of texas in austin, because in-state much cheaper. It lookin rell cool, but de only problem is I thinking it go be a lack of trinis. Others I lookin at is Stanford, UC Berkely, MIT, johns hopkins, miami, USC, north carolina, maryland...tanks