March 29, 2024, 01:25:22 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Sweden Game (10-June-2006).  (Read 90451 times)

Offline kevinAckin

Re: Fan of the match goes to a Trini (lol)
« Reply #420 on: June 10, 2006, 08:51:49 PM »

Name: Dean Ackin
Team Supporting: Trinidad and Tobago Colourful first-timers Trinidad have brought an adoring carnival of vibrant supporters with them to the 18th FIFA World Cup finals in Germany. Perhaps none better represent the dual-island nation’s enthusiasm and charisma than one Dean Ackin of Port of Spain, who travelled ten hours with a proper gang of mates to cheers his side on to to glory.

Performing member of The Tribe – the largest Carnival band in Trinidad and Tobago –Ackin, 33, is thrilled to be in Germany to roar on his long shot Soca Warriors. And he and his mates are totally unfazed by the fact that they are massive underdogs in their first match with Sweden at the FIFA World Cup Stadium Dortmund.

“Sweden? No problem man,” he shouted with a dismissive wave of the hand as his friends and band-mates chanted pro-Caribbean slogans in the background. “We’ll beat them 2-0, no trouble at all. They think we’re underdogs and Sweden will thrash us. But they’re all wrong man.”

A life-long Manchester United fan, one would think Dean’s favourite player in the current side would be former Red Dwight Yorke, but it’s stylish, 37-year-old playmaker Russell Latapy that tickles his fancy.

”They don’t call him the Little Magician for nothing,” Dean added. “He’s pure class on the ball and no one can run with it like ol’ Russell can. He’s gonna’ get right at ‘em”

When asked what Trinidad and Tobago bring to the global party here in Germany, Dean was quick and smiling in his response. “We bring the fun, we bring the colour and the excitement. Trinidad isn’t only bringing cool Caribbean football but we’re bringing the party too!”

If Trinidad’s enthusiasm on the pitch resembles anything like their fans’ passion and flavour, Sweden better keep their heads up. Dean and his Tribe’s closing number attests rather aptly to the team’s determination and fighting spirit.

“We are the Soca Warriors,” their sing-songy voices filled the air outside the ground attracting jealous looks from even the most boisterous Swedish fans. “Win or lose, we are fighters.”

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/hfc/fom_d.html?id=810020

thaz muh brudda dere 8) :beermug:

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Sweden Game.
« Reply #421 on: June 10, 2006, 09:24:33 PM »
golf commentators referring to result as a SHOCKING TIE  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

God bless TNT.............   :chilling:

Who cares what they say!  We only care about the result!  I am a Soca Warrior!

« Reply #422 on: June 10, 2006, 09:54:02 PM »
yo..i reading some forums ont he game and other ppls comments...

it now hit me reading this stuff bout ppls commenting on my own country in the WC...it is surreal...
i still hype up yes!

i cah believe this still...hoping to ketch a replay...
sancho play like he was possessed!

Offline benedicts bwoy

« Reply #423 on: June 10, 2006, 11:07:34 PM »
Ah cyar sleep...........fus ah still excited and still drunk from today.
De Warriors played like ah team on ah mission today...........they have earned the RESPECT of the world !! :applause: :applause:

I hereby pay my respect to de one and only SOCA WARRIORS!!
 :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy: :notworthy:

Offline davyjenny

Re: it's official the starters are
« Reply #424 on: June 10, 2006, 11:56:31 PM »
Davyjenny is not at the top of my list ...in terms of accurate sources  :devil:

never underestimate me again.you can't get more accurate than that.
Jack was ruled out at the very last moment due to injury ::)
i guess you were shock huh... and plus your list is of no concern to me or anybody what soever.

« Last Edit: June 11, 2006, 12:12:24 AM by davyjenny »
the impossible lies in a person determination

« Reply #425 on: June 11, 2006, 01:17:29 AM »
aye I was there he make niose
Will try to post pics later

« Reply #426 on: June 11, 2006, 04:34:00 AM »
some moments that really stand out from d game 4 me

shaka saves (especially d 1st 1 cause i was thinking that would set d trend and it did)well done west ham and roy carrol your injury help get shaka in form by giving him nuff 1st team time.

the 1st freekick sweden get when yorke foul ah man just outside d 18. i n go lie i thought was a penalty at 1st that is what u call good fouling we hav 2 b careful against england though

yorkie dive in and block sombody shot vital

edwards was relaxed and lose d ball in our 18 then had to recover to make d tackle of d game i really have no prob with him starting at right back

glen hitting b post . or gorm almost

whittely belting ah man on d line. ah n go lie i prefer whittley to theobald

sancho tucking a ball  for a corner with a swedish play on his left and 1 on his  right i swear that cross would a pick out 1 ah them

cyd running an sliding out ah ball jus b4 itcoulda reach a swedish playa
 the tnt suporters in d stadium was making real noise
ah see tallman in d stands bout ah we representing in we warrior nation t shirts though we in 2 different continents

my team left nothing in d dressing room ah proud ah that
what vex me was d commentator in the earlys saying everything we doing was unorthodox but when he realise we had sweden on lock down he change he tune.

england if u dont score against us in d 1st 10 mins b afraid b very afraid

Offline Verteidiger

« Reply #427 on: June 11, 2006, 08:09:32 AM »
Congrats to the team..EVERYBODY played superb..I don't thin I can say it any different to everbody else..

My comment gone be on the faggit Wilhelmsson..or wha eva who was acting and basically lying to the ref throughout that whole match. He dive and get on and carry on like a jackass when Avery "foul" him..like he foot get break..then "miraculously" get up after Avery get send offf..Definitely Definitely in poor taste...but doesn't say much for the mighty swedes who had to resort to all them antics to beat the "minnows" of Trinidad and Tobago. THEM BOYS  MAKE ME PROUD TO CRY...real fight..real character..ON TO ENGLAND...STAY FOCUSSED FELLAS...We WILL PREVAIL..

Oh Yeah..the ref give some trouble too..ah fine nuttin went our way..and he was particularly harsh..but then again..Sweden..especially that asssss Wilhelmsson..gaave command performances. How the ref someow manage not to see that level elbow Zlatan throw at Carlos..he alone know.

« Reply #428 on: June 11, 2006, 09:17:37 AM »
Congrats to the whole squad. They were immense and we earned so much respect. We were already one of d most popular teams in Germany, but now dat people see we ent jus dere to make up d numbers, our popularity gone sky high over dere (our kit and flags sell out everywhere in Germany - I went to buy a flag for a friend of mine - d man in d store just laugh at me).

Dem Germans were partyin wid us all night. And d Swedes, whose fans are truly fantastic, and really gracious, even though they were disappointed - I backing dem to beat England and Paraguay cuz dere fans are champions.  :beermug:

Thursday will be another big day in our history - good luck everyone  :beermug:

Offline spiritus

Re: Sorrry TT but Sweden will winn
« Reply #429 on: June 11, 2006, 11:25:51 AM »
Wy are u so happy? u only got a draw!

It was closer to 3-0 to Sweden then 1-0 to TT in this game 8)

Good defence but let´s face it TT will not make a singel goal in this tournament

Shaka and the voodogods helpt TT this time, if Sweden played against TT 10 times Sweden would winn 9

Over and Out..... /the Swedish man :-*

Offline football prof

« Reply #430 on: June 11, 2006, 11:53:32 AM »
Step off Swede. It is a draw on paper, but it is a 2-0 result for Trinidad in the Swedish psyche. And a 30 nothing result for Trini pride.

Offline football prof

« Reply #431 on: June 11, 2006, 11:53:48 AM »
Step off Swede. It is a draw on paper, but it is a 2-0 result for Trinidad in the Swedish psyche. And a 3-0 nothing result for Trini pride.

Offline spiritus

« Reply #432 on: June 11, 2006, 12:01:38 PM »
Step off Swede. It is a draw on paper, but it is a 2-0 result for Trinidad in the Swedish psyche. And a 3-0 nothing result for Trini pride.

I know I know I´m just teasing  ;)

Re: AVERY JOHN.....MY MAN OF THE MATCH
« Reply #433 on: June 11, 2006, 12:36:25 PM »
He set himself up for that red card
His second tackle was clean he got the ball first but he already had a first caution,that tackle was brutal even though it was clean
doh let me morph into truetrini
ya talkin WORLD CLASS shit
after the game they showed the tackle PLAY over and over again and it CLEARLY showed Avery getting to the BALL first. Dat swede should be given an Oscar.
If you watch the Ref was behind Avery, so he could NEVER have seen that.

FIFA has givena directive to stamp out two footed lunges. Weel-timed or not it was a yellow card offence. The fact that the ref cannot always  see contact is more reason to be more controlled in tackling. When your body is thrown forward feet first your control is limited. What if the player shifted the ball and Avery missed it and hit him instead? Wouldn't it have been a vicious foul?

That is why FIFA is trying to stop it just like the tackle form behind before it, which can be executed successfully but is still dangerous.

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #434 on: June 11, 2006, 02:37:17 PM »
He set himself up for that red card
His second tackle was clean he got the ball first but he already had a first caution,that tackle was brutal even though it was clean
doh let me morph into truetrini
ya talkin WORLD CLASS shit
after the game they showed the tackle PLAY over and over again and it CLEARLY showed Avery getting to the BALL first. Dat swede should be given an Oscar.
If you watch the Ref was behind Avery, so he could NEVER have seen that.

FIFA has givena directive to stamp out two footed lunges. Weel-timed or not it was a yellow card offence. The fact that the ref cannot always see contact is more reason to be more controlled in tackling. When your body is thrown forward feet first your control is limited. What if the player shifted the ball and Avery missed it and hit him instead? Wouldn't it have been a vicious foul?

That is why FIFA is trying to stop it just like the tackle form behind before it, which can be executed successfully but is still dangerous.

Kool thanks for clearing that up for us.

There are alot of new rules that they implemeted for the tournament and it is really sad that Avery will miss the England game.  :(

Offline royalian

3 years later...Can the spirit of Dortmund reappear?
« Reply #435 on: June 10, 2009, 07:48:45 AM »
June 10, 2006: Dortmund, Germany - TRI 0 v SWE 0

June 10, 2009: Mexico City, Mexico - Can the Soca Warriors once again lift our spirits?
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 08:22:06 AM by royalian »

Re: 3 years later...Can the spirit of Dortmund reappear?
« Reply #436 on: June 10, 2009, 08:15:31 AM »
Iz possible I guess.
Can some of our players step up and shock the T&T fans and stun the Mexicans?
Who is going to get us a big lift as we worry about the loss or absence of Avery, Lawrence, Stern, Glenn, Scotland, Whitley, Gray.

Well,
1. watch out for Samuel, an extremely powerful and deadly striker, yes striker used as an attacking midfielder by T&T.
2. Watch for Baptiste who is an extremely hungry and very fit right winger who scores so heavily in the local league that he was shockingly converted to a striker by Joe Public and is actually making that ploy work
3. Watch for Tinto. Dazzling ball skills, a true #10 who may be holding on to de juzzy which has been cheaply passing around looking for a true deserving candidiate.
4. Watch Carlos who is fit fit fit and has the hardest long range shot that I have ever seen by a T&T player, seems to be surpassing the rockets by Elliot-Allen and Chinapoo and Birchall. He can release from 35 yards coolo breezo.
5. Watch Noel for guts
6. Watch Spann who has regained confidence and is an excellent shooter too.
7. Watch KJ to be vicious this time.

Fellas iz possible. Big Mag I think is on to someting with his mantra.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 06:23:27 PM by dreamer »

« Reply #437 on: June 10, 2009, 08:21:04 AM »
June 10, 2006: Dortmund, Germany - TRI 1 v SWE 1

June 10, 2009: Mexico City, Mexico - Can the Soca Warriors once again lift our spirits?

Didn't know we tie Sweden 1-1

Offline royalian

« Reply #438 on: June 10, 2009, 08:25:10 AM »
June 10, 2006: Dortmund, Germany - TRI 1 v SWE 1

Didn't know we tie Sweden 1-1

Guess I was predicting tonight's score.

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Sweden Game (10-June-2006).
« Reply #439 on: June 10, 2009, 09:06:20 AM »
i see rel people n this thread who aint active in years.

« Reply #440 on: June 10, 2009, 09:18:17 AM »
Happy Anniversary!!

« Last Edit: June 10, 2009, 09:22:19 AM by acb »

Happy Anniversary
« Reply #441 on: June 10, 2009, 04:42:07 PM »
June 10 2006  :beermug:

Re: Happy Anniversary
« Reply #442 on: June 10, 2009, 04:44:24 PM »
June 10 2006  :beermug:
If we could pull off one ah dem again, only wid better results.

Offline naparima

• <Insert Interesting Comment Here>
    • Rishi Travelogue
« Reply #443 on: June 10, 2009, 06:15:01 PM »
whey boy!!!!!!
I still have the tears from that day in a bottle of Swedish vodka.. :D
<Blurb> Insert Text
</Blurb>

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #444 on: June 10, 2009, 06:29:53 PM »

Haven't posted any of my pics since 06.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #445 on: June 10, 2009, 06:32:06 PM »
One of the GREATEST day in TT history. Better than republic day!

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #446 on: June 10, 2009, 07:08:55 PM »
One of the GREATEST day in TT history. Better than republic day!

Cosign

Re: Happy Anniversary
« Reply #447 on: June 18, 2009, 02:53:38 PM »

Re: T&T vs Sweden 2006 (Full Match)
« Reply #449 on: May 04, 2012, 01:13:21 PM »
Thanks!