April 28, 2024, 12:35:47 PM

Author Topic: Why is no one applauding Yorke?  (Read 8520 times)

Offline jaffa

Why is no one applauding Yorke?
« on: June 10, 2006, 07:05:26 PM »
Take nothing away from Shaka - he was the man of the match.  But Yorke was a madman out there - he won plenty of tackles and no one - press or on this board - seem to be singing his praises.
They watch the same game I did - he was a Warrior - doing what it takes to stay alive.

Offline Coach

Re: Why is no one applauding Yorke?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2006, 07:10:57 PM »
I think that we all expect this kind of performance from Yorke, but the man was huge today!!

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2006, 07:11:28 PM »
Yorke get FIFA player of the match i think that good for the man... Shaka didnt get it and we respect the way he paly that's why we biggin him up so much... he saved us from defeat... besides we aint mentioning one man... look carefully and u'll notice everyone getting recognised and talked abt... it was a team effort and everyone should be praised... i wouldnt fully give one man all the credit

Offline jaffa

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2006, 07:13:27 PM »
I agree that Shaka was man of the match and all deserve credit - no doubt - I am just surprised, I am in the US - that the press hasn't give Yorke more - becuase in my eyes he was a close #2 man of the match.  That man playe dhis heart out and left it all on the field - but so did the rest of the crew - so I see how it hard to praise one man - it just a different role for him then the international soccer world is used to.

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2006, 07:14:43 PM »
Yorke deserve ah medal fuh dat performance,simply magnificent................

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2006, 07:18:48 PM »
no offense but i dont take on the US press when it comes to football especially with anything dealing with t&t... they make to many mistakes and like to express their own opinions over what is factual  ;D

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2006, 07:22:16 PM »
Budweiser Man of the Match: Dwight Yorke (TRI)

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/060610/1/7bjx.html

Offline jaffa

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2006, 07:22:41 PM »
No offense taken - and I agree.  But I watch game w/ US press and have been on interent and still don't see the warranted props fro Mr. Yorke.

Offline jaffa

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2006, 07:28:32 PM »
Budweiser Man of the Match: Dwight Yorke (TRI)

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/060610/1/7bjx.html

I sit corrected - glad to see it -he is deserving.

Offline ZURITRESS

yorke's play may convince bennie to play latas with him
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2006, 07:28:55 PM »
i think with yorke showing that he can command the middle and hold his own defensively might convice bennie that he and latas can co exist without in balance

Offline Trininho

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2006, 10:27:51 PM »
I just watched the game again, and Yorke must be applauded for his decision to block the Swedish player from taking a quick free kick.  The ball was in a dangerous position and the player was poised to take the kick quickly, but Yorke stepped in to delay the player.  It cost Yorkie a yellow card, but it gave the defense time to reset.  Good job Yorke.  Superb team effort overall.

Offline Behbehman

« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2006, 10:34:02 PM »
Take nothing away from Shaka - he was the man of the match.  But Yorke was a madman out there - he won plenty of tackles and no one - press or on this board - seem to be singing his praises.
They watch the same game I did - he was a Warrior - doing what it takes to stay alive.

Yes breds...Yorke was playing like ten men almost in every position on the field.

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
yorke wallpaper on fifa site
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2006, 10:45:50 PM »

Offline bratachdubh

« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2006, 12:17:57 AM »
From a complete outsider's point of view Yorke was probably second only to Hislop - but Sancha was pretty close too.  To me, the Man of the Match should have gone to the whole team, who stuck together in the second half after Avery's dismissal, and did what they had to do defensively whilst still hitting on the break.

The last ten minutes were nail-biting stuff.

All the best in the next two games, I'll be watching and hoping...

« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2006, 01:01:51 AM »
besides de obvious shaka and yorke
i think edwards was amazing today offensively and defensively
i can't put in to words how vital he was to our win today

« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2006, 01:07:49 AM »
Carlos Edwards & Shaka......MVP's

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2006, 01:45:11 AM »
After Shaka, Carlos Edwards then Yorke....

« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2006, 01:57:45 AM »

Jaffa, i think others see what you see too.Yorke play like a madman. Any set play, any break through Yorke was marking de "hot man" wether it was Lunjberg or Larsson Yorke was with them toe for toe step for step. Big up to Dwight Yorke for de best game he ever play for TnT.

THere were so many outstanding performances Yorke and others got swept under Shaka's rug but Carlos Edwards played Herculean as well as Cyd Gray who was "formerly known as shit gray" but will no longer where that banner.  Me Mum was a boss today too as well as Samuel had a good start.  But Shaka were de crown.  Man of de next 3 matches...

« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2006, 02:01:27 AM »
Ah forget Sancho also played big man football.

Offline thane

« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2006, 03:19:23 AM »
the whole team....i was honestly suprised....and overflowing with pride....anybody at that stage could pass a ball...and control a ball....but wat we showed here is a defiance of the trini/caribbean mentality...and we showed HEART!!!

Offline jose

« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2006, 04:56:52 AM »
yorke is a boss and will always be,great leadership

Offline jose

Re: yorke wallpaper on fifa site
« Reply #21 on: June 11, 2006, 05:11:52 AM »
de boss

« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2006, 05:21:44 AM »
The Independent this morning compared him to Beckenbauer!!! What a performance!  :beermug:

Offline shivadee

• There is only ONE number 7. And its worn in Trini
« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2006, 05:25:34 AM »
I dont think people were not applauding him spitefully or anything. For the match we were so busy watching our defence just build a wall for sweeden i think thats where the focus was.

Offline fivers

Re: yorke wallpaper on fifa site
« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2006, 05:40:22 AM »
thanks boss

« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2006, 07:59:28 AM »

nothing new for yorke thats his game

just shaka was superb and to me sancho was the best man out there

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2006, 08:38:17 AM »
Yorke's contributions were critical.

If anything it was Shaka who did his job. Yorke was a real calming influence on the team. Evrytime we got choked up in the middle and started to look troubled, Yorke glided in and calmed things down and played us out of trouble.

It was clear that off all the players we had on the pitch he was the one with the experience to direct our play. And his work off the ball in positioning himself to get involed in so many plays on defense was magnificant.

That being said, everybod was a giant yesterday. Special mantion to Cyd Gray, Carlos, Sancho, Birchall, Lawrence, Whitley (when he was runnig - I believe he is carrying an injury). Theobald was a little out of his depth. Samule and Stern were not bad. Samuel needs to make a run after he passes the ball and not stand up. Stern's trap and screen game was impressive but you wish he would chase lost causes a little more because it is easy for him to look lazy.

Offline essexgirl22

« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2006, 09:00:40 AM »
Come on    we are applauding Dwight and all the other warriors :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2006, 09:54:20 AM »
I AM!

and we all must remember that Yorke was once an out-and-out striker. his performance yesterday  just testifies to the fitness, versatility, talent, and overall greatness of our #19.

but also big ups to (of course) Shaka, Sancho, Edwards, Lawrence, Glen, and Grey for playing to their full potential.

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2006, 04:17:11 PM »
yeah man yorke was ah big oe fr we on that day.....i find that he playin a real crucial role for we since th beginning of thecampaign in that midfield role......he seems to be really dependable dis rounds.
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him