April 27, 2024, 06:25:01 PM

Author Topic: What made the game between T&T and Sweeden so special?  (Read 4400 times)

Offline firebun

What made the game between T&T and Sweeden so special?
« on: June 12, 2006, 06:10:10 AM »
Smallest country ever in the World Cup

we are considered the Under Dogs

Nobody took us seriously

Excellent fighting spirit, excellent defence

We played a top-of-the- line team

We prevented them from scoring

We are not in last place in our group (Paraguay is)

We are even with Sweeden in 2nd place

it only took 10 men

Nuff said

See you here on Thursday when we slaughter England

« Last Edit: June 12, 2006, 06:11:56 AM by firebun »

Offline lunz

Re: What made the game between T&T and Sweeden so special?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2006, 06:23:35 AM »
T& Tare consider under dogs but now they are Bull dogs.. :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2006, 06:36:36 AM »
But what make it extra special is that sweden didnt roll over and play lazy

The play HARD. The intensity pick up as they start to get more and more frustrated

When ah really take stock of wha happen dey:

On average, we are one of the oldest teams in de cup.
 Is man from 2nd, 3rd and 4th division (If yuh could qualify Jabloteh and Galaxy as 4th) BATTLE against one of the top teams in the tournament

Moreover, they currently have 2, 3 of the most poisonous stikers on the planet firing against our 'second string' keeper and de same replacement keeper is past his prime (even de keeper admit to that)

The power of the mind...the WILL to win overcome all

Trinbago Über Alles

Now that I see this mind thing work on a global stage...I TELLIN yuh, I goin and check and get troo wit Halle Berry
I go pull dat dred...who doubtin mih go get ah case ah ketchup
Allyuh go see de headline on Entertainment tonight "Halles new caribbean man"...doh hate..jus capitulate

Yes mih wife go object , but ah go use mih newly found mind powers to overcome she objections too.  :afro:

Offline marcel

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2006, 07:41:07 AM »

be carefull 
the world IS taking t&t serious now

« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2006, 07:49:52 AM »

we are not here to make up numbers but to compete. :beermug:

Offline Soca Taliban

• Trini 2 D Bone!!
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2006, 08:06:42 AM »
I must say that TnT make meh flickin proud!! Dem determine in dey mind dat come hell or high water dem not givin up!

Offline marcel

« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2006, 08:28:37 AM »

everything nice and well,but there will be no underestimation
anymore now
even england will not.
maybe the england supporters do,but they might have a bit too much erdinger weisbier.

i predict t&t have to work even harder from now on!

but everything is possible
underestimation is no excuse anymore

« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2006, 12:04:58 PM »
What make it special?
It was we first time...how many of us here could say our first time was really all we hoped it would be? Well now we can...  :devil:

Offline Crissy D

« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2006, 02:22:53 PM »
What Made it Sooooooooooooooo Special? They played thier best game EVER on the perfect day, and at the perfect damn time. Don't U Agree?
If yuh have it..........flaunt it!

« Reply #9 on: June 12, 2006, 02:25:28 PM »
yeah crissy yuh hit de nail on de head dere

Offline kappy

• Tantie whey yuh dey !!!
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2006, 04:28:19 PM »
But what make it extra special is that sweden didnt roll over and play lazy

The play HARD. The intensity pick up as they start to get more and more frustrated

When ah really take stock of wha happen dey:

On average, we are one of the oldest teams in de cup.
 Is man from 2nd, 3rd and 4th division (If yuh could qualify Jabloteh and Galaxy as 4th) BATTLE against one of the top teams in the tournament

Moreover, they currently have 2, 3 of the most poisonous stikers on the planet firing against our 'second string' keeper and de same replacement keeper is past his prime (even de keeper admit to that)

The power of the mind...the WILL to win overcome all

Trinbago Über Alles

Now that I see this mind thing work on a global stage...I TELLIN yuh, I goin and check and get troo wit Halle Berry
I go pull dat dred...who doubtin mih go get ah case ah ketchup
Allyuh go see de headline on Entertainment tonight "Halles new caribbean man"...doh hate..jus capitulate

Yes mih wife go object , but ah go use mih newly found mind powers to overcome she objections too.  :afro:

Dutty ...what a man percieves he can achieve ... if u feel yuh cud buss a check on Halle Berry do it yes ... cuz i try an she blank meh ... so ah backin yuh all de way pardna
Snake in de balliser

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #11 on: June 12, 2006, 04:53:44 PM »
I have read posts where guys mentioned that nobody taking us seriously. Who are they referring to -  other WC teams or other WC teams supporters? Because I cannot imagine professional 'ballers/coaches not taking opponents seriously especially at this level and at this event.

Sweden out played us in the first half, it wasn't until Avery got red carded that our players stepped up, that event was what inspired the Warriors.  GO T&T !!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: June 12, 2006, 10:48:55 PM »
I have to say that we held up well with 10 men. After Avery get send off i thought we were screwed

Offline Ira

« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2006, 05:16:21 AM »
Dear "Socawarriors"!

Since your forum staff suggested I should post this here, why not .. :)

I'm a German lady from near Frankfurt/Germany who doesn't care too much about soccer anymore (to phrase it carefully) and who reaaalllly doesn't like the arrogancy and money-driven attitude of a lot of (also national) pro-players nowadays (to phrase it less carefully).
The World Championship now taking place here in Germany has not increased my general interest in this sport either- and if anything, I was planning on maybe watching the final game a bit, just to be somewhat "informed" the next day.
Well, that was the plan anyway. Little did I know I would by chance
happen to watch you guys play against Sweden... and who could have imagined I would actually have the time of my life doing so! I had so much fun watching you , it was pathetic! I know you've been considered "just a
team among others" with very little chances compared to the "famous" , more experienced teams at this event. But I have watched a game or two in my life - and seldom have I ever seen anyone having AS much heart and dedication out there on the field as YOU have! Both at the arena as well as at home in front of the TV: people could literally feel the energy,courage and heart you guys put into your game..and one couldn't help but get "caught" by what you were doing out there (especially when you were "one guy short" out there). I don't think anyone was "against" Sweden, they've always been a respected team over here. But from what I've heard from average people and also "experienced fans" everywhere -at the shops, on the bus etc.- : everyone seemed to be highly impressed and full of respect for your game...and even more so for your natural, easy-going friendliness and frame of mind, on and off the field.

Regardless of fans maybe having other "favourite teams" at this event:
people instinctively know a "fighter with heart" when they see one...and
YOU guys are fighters alright! You have gained so very much respect
already and true appreciation for "a really good game" against Sweden that was just fun to watch..and we have kept our fingers crossed for you until the very last moment, including myself.

Me, I really don't care who's gonna "win" in the end - you guys have
already made this championship worth watching and (in my opinion at least) you have brought the original idea and meaning of the game back to the field.. and a lot of stuck-up pro-players who have lost contact with
reality a bit can really learn a thing or two from you- what a great
reminder you guys are!;)
I  have met a lot of people during the past days who -just like me-weren't
interested in the championship at all anymore, but will now watch YOUR games and"support" you whole-heartedly. For whatever it's worth: you'll be seeing a lot of us with Trini-shirts and flags from now on..and on their behalf let me wish you all the very best for the coming-up games. I'm looking forward to seeing more of you here! Keep up your good spirit and attitude, and don't forget to also sit back and enjoy your time here in Germany, which hopefully will be a good one to remember. You have already won a lot of peoples' hearts - so why not go for winning the championship as well..??! Go get 'em, guys!!  ;)

Wishing you all the very best and GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ira

« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2006, 05:21:13 AM »
thanks so much ira...even here in amsterdam pple only pulling us aside and wishing the warriors bess of luck and backing us against england...i leaving here this afternoon to head to nuremburg....

Offline essexgirl22

« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2006, 06:53:34 AM »
Thr Mighty Sweden and all the doubting thomases could not beat us :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline marcel

« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2006, 07:13:14 AM »

for me it was that i saw t&t play european style ,fast ,disciplined,hard.
for me it was the first time i saw T&t play such a good game
what a difference compared to tha bahrain match!
and how fast did the players picked it up,great.
if t&t keep growing in this pace,they can become GOOD
just keep in mind that a good coach makes all the difference
so IF The Mean Been leaves..........

« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2006, 07:28:54 AM »
Ira my heartfelt thanks for your sentiments. Yes after Saturday I kept getting calls from all the people I worked with who follow the game and they all say that our game was the most exciting one for the weekend. We wish Germany all the best as well, I think that you all have a fantastic squad this year and you should do well.

BUT IN THE MEANTIME LEARN THESE WORDS "I AM A SSOOOOOCCAA WARRIOR!!!" ;D ;D

Offline sprog

« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2006, 07:53:54 AM »
real warriors the spirit was tremendous

« Reply #19 on: June 13, 2006, 08:09:14 AM »
Thanks Ira.  Trinis (people from Trinidad and Tobago) are grateful for your support.  Now, please learn to sing with us:  "I am a Soca Warrior"

http://www.thewarriornation.com/index.php?
option=com_docman&task=cat_view&Itemid=&gid=17&orderby=dmdate_published&ascdesc=DESC