March 29, 2024, 12:10:06 AM

Author Topic: Hislop to start in goal again for Trinidad  (Read 5350 times)

Hislop to start in goal again for Trinidad
« on: June 13, 2006, 12:05:39 PM »
Hislop to start in goal again for Trinidad

By JOSH DUBOW, AP Sports Writer
June 13, 2006

ROTENBURG, Germany (AP) -- Shaka Hislop will start in goal again for Trinidad and Tobago against England after blanking Sweden in the team's World Cup opener.

Hislop was a last-minute replacement on Saturday against Sweden, when expected starter Kelvin Jack re-injured his calf during warmups. Hislop was up to the challenge, making several key saves in the surprising 0-0 draw.

With Jack still bothered by the calf injury, coach Leo Beenhakker said Hislop would remain as the No. 1 goalkeeper for Thursday's matchup against England.

"Shaka will definitely start against England and is in great form," Beenhakker said. "He is totally fit physically and you can imagine that after his performance last time against Sweden, also in his mind he is fit."

England leads Group B with three points after beating Paraguay 1-0 in the opener. Trinidad and Sweden are tied for second with one point each.

Hislop is one of six Trinidad starters based in England but the only one who currently plays in the Premier League. The West Ham goalie was born in London but moved to Trinidad at the age of 2.

He played once for England's under-21 team but made his debut for Trinidad's national team in 1998.

Trinidad will be without two defenders Thursday. Left back Avery John will serve a one-game ban after being ejected for receiving two yellow cards against Sweden and central defender Marvin Andrews is still sidelined with an injured left knee.

Brent Sancho will likely start in Andrews' place again and Beenhakker said he was considering a few options to replace John, with Atiba Charles and Evans Wise the most likely alternates.

Re: Hislop to start in goal again for Trinidad
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2006, 12:07:24 PM »
Brent Sancho will likely start in Andrews' place again and Beenhakker said he was considering a few options to replace John, with Atiba Charles and Evans Wise the most likely alternates.

I hope it is Wise..Atiba looking real shaky since the USA game in Connecticut.  Plus Wise can do some attacking to keep England busy.

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2006, 12:15:32 PM »
Most likely then he would remain with the back 4 of the 2nd half against sweden.

Carlos .......... Sancho.......Lawrence........Gray.

If he playes Atiba i think he'll play him infront the defense ....He's play him there with much success already .... Atiba even scoring a goal from that position albeit against a weak Grenadian team. If he plays Wise ..... then definitely infront Gray ...and we can see a slightly more attacking T&T team against England.

My opinion

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2006, 12:19:10 PM »
Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise Wise wise

« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2006, 01:51:31 PM »
hislop in goal again is no big surprise,he deserve it.

« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2006, 03:47:12 PM »
cowen if u can .....how did charles look in that game at the mannie ramjohn

i was thinkin that  placing chareles on top of the defence may leave yorke with a more central attacking role in htis game

any one have any view on chalres when he played against st pauli??? i know he got the red card but when he played at home for the qualifying though on the right he was composed and sure just ask the costa ricanss

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2006, 03:54:32 PM »
if not hislop then who !lol he is the best goalkeeper in the cup thus far
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2006, 04:06:40 PM »
I love wise but puttin him in d back will cause real heart attacks
Imagine if he in d back by himself and decide to drop some spanner  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2006, 04:21:12 PM »
I am tempted to say leave Atiba Charles out but then again I wasn't happy with Sancho starting either but he proved me and a lot of other people wrong.

Hope Bennie make the right call...he has so far.

« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2006, 04:28:58 PM »
IAnyway i hope we pull of an upset on thursday. I would go with charles because he is a defender but with wise and sammy on the left dey  could give england plenty trouble .

« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2006, 05:27:54 PM »
Shotta ....he didn't look to bad when he came on ... like i said he even scored a goal. He played a defensive midfield position and distributed the ball fairly well.......... however given the strength on the opposition it would be hard to really assess his true worth.

I love wise but puttin him in d back will cause real heart attacks
Imagine if he in d back by himself and decide to drop some spanner :rotfl: :rotfl:

Idon't think the thought is even to put Wise in defense. Wise woudl fit in the middle if Beenie decides to use Carlos in the right back position....then Wise would fit in on the left .....and possibly Theobald or Whitley playing out in front Carlos on the right.

I'm guessing the middle would be

Theobald/Samuel/Whitley ..Birchall..Yorke ..Whitley/Samuel ..Wise/samuel

Samuel could still figure in the starting lineup.

Just my opinion if he uses Carlos at right back ie

Offline real-warrior

« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2006, 05:34:17 PM »
hislop in goal again is no big surprise,he deserve it.
damn rite!!

« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2006, 05:54:55 PM »
You guy seen more of Shaka"s games than me ,so tell me how does he respond after a fantastis outing.
Does he go on hot streaks,or does he come back down to earth.Lets hope his experience kicks in and he
does not over think this,he did good when he was surprised with the call.What allyah think I a little
nervious.

« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2006, 06:20:00 PM »
Shaka..yuh owe Gerrad a lil someting, someting for d flikin FA cup...Ah still vex...Nuthen for He on thursday. Hear I ?

« Reply #14 on: June 13, 2006, 06:23:11 PM »
Shaka probably on a high although he trying to play down his performance.  In the past couple of years he streaky, hopefully he stay on this hot streak for a few more weeks.

« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2006, 06:30:26 PM »
shaka u deserve it man!!  :beermug:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2006, 06:33:29 PM »
Well after what I saw on saturday,and how they surprised me going into a zone i didn"t expect they even knew exsisted.Shaka will probaly look at my post and think mere mortal fool  ;D

Offline trini_chris

« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2006, 06:34:28 PM »
big up 2 shaka. i really hope he has a great game against england. i have faith in you shaka!!!!
d original WARRIOR PRINCESS. win or lose i am a FIGHTER.

Offline jose

« Reply #18 on: June 14, 2006, 04:39:08 AM »
well deserved

« Reply #19 on: June 14, 2006, 06:10:44 AM »
SHAKA............shaka......SHAKA. and I think Beenie go make a WISE decision  :beermug: I have a cold CARIB on that..he should start WHITLEY too ;D

One more frigging dayyyyyyyyyyyy

Offline lunz

« Reply #20 on: June 14, 2006, 06:29:05 AM »
T&T will win over england,just keep up the good form and T&T will win the world cup...

to yorke,shaka and co I wish you all good luck and take my breath away...

« Reply #21 on: June 14, 2006, 07:32:00 AM »
me aint' surprise nah

Beenie know he cyah take chances with Jack and he mash up foot/ankle/groin umm whatever

so Shaka all the best sar...ya did us proud

just remember if we 0-0, 1-0, 2-1 over England, ya have permission to give somebody ya jerzzy.
Just take it off and show dem what ya got :beermug: Lawdddddd

Offline sprog

« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2006, 07:36:03 AM »
Even if jack was 200% percent fit i would say Shaka, never change something that's working.

« Reply #23 on: June 14, 2006, 07:55:03 AM »
i figure gray Left back  sancho tallest in center and edwards right back

« Reply #24 on: June 14, 2006, 08:00:59 AM »
After such a solid performance against one of the best teams in Europe (Sweden), who else did we expect to start in goal. It would have been brutal for Bennie to put Shaka on the bench. Plus, he practice his trade in the EPL against the english players and would have a better idea of their styles, mentality etc. Good luck Hislop!  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: June 14, 2006, 09:43:42 AM »

hisplop is a must tomorrow

Offline Latent

« Reply #26 on: June 14, 2006, 10:29:15 AM »
Yeah, I knew Beenie would start with Hislop given his performance against Sweden. Sorry Kelvin Jack :'( :'( :'(

As for the replacement for Avery John, I believe they should go with a specialist defender and not put anybody in a position they do not usally play though Carlos Edwards might dispute this (look at how well he played defense in the second half against Sweden).

As for the replacement, I would go with Ian Cox. He is a specialist defender and his experience having played in England would be a good things in the game versus England(though, I cannot forget how he get turn up by the Costa Rica forwards on the right during our World Cup Qualifier against them in Costa Rica). ::)

« Reply #27 on: June 14, 2006, 11:19:07 AM »
 Withley for Avery and Jones for Samuels .
Carlos moves to right back Gray to left ....remember yuh hear it here first .