March 28, 2024, 11:17:38 AM

Author Topic: Shaka out against Paraguay?  (Read 15118 times)

Shaka out against Paraguay?
« on: June 18, 2006, 02:05:50 PM »
Source: Soccernet.com

Beenhakker set to drop in-form Hislop

ROTENBURG, Germany, June 18 (Reuters) - Kelvin Jack looks set to start in goal for Trinidad & Tobago against Paraguay on Tuesday, with Shaka Hislop dropping to the bench, sources within the camp said on Sunday.

Jack was picked ahead of Hislop for his country's opening Group B game against Sweden, but injured himself in the warm-up and was replaced by the West Ham keeper.

A man-of-the-match performance by Hislop in the scoreless draw against the Swedes meant he kept his place between the posts for the 2-0 defeat to England. But Trinidad coach, Leo Beenhakker is set to return to his original number one.

'Leo likes Kelvin a lot and would probably like to give him a run out in the tournament,' a source told Reuters.

Victory for the Caribbean country over Paraguay combined with a win for England over Sweden, could earn Trinidad a place in the second round at their first ever finals, but only if their goal difference is better than the Scandinavians.

'The problem is that nobody outside has seen what form Kelvin is in, only Leo knows that. But if he is sharp, then he will probably play,' another source said.

Offline Verteidiger

Re: Shaka out against Paraguay?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2006, 02:13:18 PM »
Aye...
I would much prefer if you leave Shaka alone...

Kelvin don't have to get a sweat...
But then again..Shaka will save against Ecuador  ;D

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2006, 02:18:25 PM »
Aye...

But then again..Shaka will save against EcuadorĀ  ;D

Beenie been playin psyhcological games whole tournament. 

Offline jose

« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2006, 02:28:19 PM »
i hope so cause to bench shaka will be a mistake

Offline UK_Soca_warrior

« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2006, 02:33:09 PM »
wow, bench Shaka?? I can understand given jack a sweat for de tournament, but maybe if we 3-0 up with 15 mins left.     :-\

Offline killadrilla

• King Thierry
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2006, 03:14:02 PM »
nah, 5-0 up with 5 minutes

« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2006, 03:23:59 PM »
Why now ??

Ah know all dey games important, but this one is REAL important. Why put Jack (meh boy eh) dey when Shaka doing he stuff already ?

Ah getting ah headache thinking bout Tuesday already....

Somebody say put Jack in for a little sweat in dey 89th minute...I AGREE

« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2006, 03:27:45 PM »
only beenhakker knows wat he is doin,have faith in de man,1 draw and 2 nil loss(to de mighty english).not too bad.

« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2006, 04:52:02 PM »
i rather jack dan clayton

any other words on the line up??

« Reply #9 on: June 18, 2006, 04:58:25 PM »
Aye...

But then again..Shaka will save against Ecuador  ;D

Beenie been playin psyhcological games whole tournament. 
lol i like how u post this thread and then say beenie been playing psycological games whole tournament. are you ah willing conduit?
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #10 on: June 18, 2006, 05:28:53 PM »
lol i like how u post this thread and then say beenie been playing psycological games whole tournament. are you ah willing conduit?

I eh know wha dat mean...but I is simply palos. A trinbagonian.

« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2006, 05:32:32 PM »

I eh know wha dat mean...but I is simply palos. A trinbagonian.
yeah boss  :beermug:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2006, 06:52:42 PM »
Shaka have to save unless injured.Beenie balls ain't so big.Shaka get over de nerves after two big games.

Offline Rymizx

• It's a small world ! - No Really...
« Reply #13 on: June 18, 2006, 06:56:16 PM »

Spoken like a man who see plenty shit shot beat Jack..

« Reply #14 on: June 18, 2006, 07:07:08 PM »
All you all come on you know Shaka has not much spring in his legs like younger Jack. You all have short term memory and forgot which goalie got us to the world cup in the first place.

Offline real-warrior

« Reply #15 on: June 18, 2006, 07:11:53 PM »
Aye...

But then again..Shaka will save against EcuadorĀ  ;D
u mean Germany

« Reply #16 on: June 18, 2006, 07:54:06 PM »
I think if Jack was in goal he would have stop both shots from Crouch and Gerard. but in all honesty he would have let in some other stuff.  I would take my chances with Shaka any day.  The way the team playing now. If something not break don't fix it. Jack lost he spot....that's the game.

« Reply #17 on: June 18, 2006, 07:55:08 PM »
we doh know what Jack wouldah do...cause he eh play

« Reply #18 on: June 18, 2006, 08:00:19 PM »
I can't believe that is a reliable story but you have to keep Shaka unless he lose form or get injured and neither has yet occurred.

« Reply #19 on: June 18, 2006, 08:31:29 PM »
palos always bring reliable sources

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #20 on: June 19, 2006, 04:28:53 AM »
Well, the old saying is true. If it ain't broke, don't fix it! We need to stay the course, but attack more.

Offline Marky NYC

« Reply #21 on: June 19, 2006, 04:32:40 AM »
I have to say I dont agree with this one, with Shaka doing as good as he did you just dont sub him thats just stupid.

Shaka is in the top 4 for the most saves as well: http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/stats/index.html

Goalkeeper -                   Individual Saves
 Player SV
 KINGSON Richard (GHA)   14
 BOBADILLA Aldo (PAR)     13
 HISLOP Shaka (TRI)         12
 JOAO RICARDO (ANG)      11

Offline Trini Simply Better

« Reply #22 on: June 19, 2006, 06:03:46 AM »
I've studied him.  Although he is a great goalkeeper, Hislop has one weakness which is lethal. 

When shots are fired towards him from within or out of the area, to keep the ball out, he usually (many many times) punches the ball inwards towards the attacking players, giving them a chance of winning an attacking rebound.  This might be the reason Beenehaker wants to make such a change at such a time to mix up Paraguays cards.  I think he knows what he's doing.

Offline WarriorGoal

« Reply #23 on: June 19, 2006, 06:16:15 AM »
While that may be true TSB .Jack is coming off being injured and he may not be strong enough to repel any goals from a determined Paraguay side. Shaka has really shone in this tournament and has proved himself a strong goalie. Does Beenhaaker think this will be our last game in the tournament and thinks by playing jack he will at least have a game in this WC campaign? If he wanted to win i'm sure he would have just pick Hislop.

Anyhow we go see if Jack can go beyond what Shaka done in this WC.
Soca Warriors only score Warrior goals!

Offline Trini Simply Better

« Reply #24 on: June 19, 2006, 06:21:30 AM »
I agree with you.  Shaka did a great job in the last 2 games.  Lets wait and see what happens.  I wasn't suggesting that Jack is better. I don't believe he is.

Offline trini_chris

« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2006, 06:30:57 AM »
Shaka should start man, i hope they stick with him.
d original WARRIOR PRINCESS. win or lose i am a FIGHTER.

« Reply #26 on: June 19, 2006, 07:20:00 AM »

Allyuh goo oui :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline jose

« Reply #27 on: June 19, 2006, 07:38:07 AM »
i ahve studied jack and he is weak on corners, and other set plays,he does not set his wall properly against free kicks either,suspect on one on one break aways as well,what he has is good shoot stopping ability

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #28 on: June 19, 2006, 07:46:06 AM »
I have to say I dont agree with this one, with Shaka doing as good as he did you just dont sub him thats just stupid.

Shaka is in the top 4 for the most saves as well: http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/stats/index.html

Goalkeeper -                   Individual Saves
 Player SV
 KINGSON Richard (GHA)   14
 BOBADILLA Aldo (PAR)     13
 HISLOP Shaka (TRI)         12
 JOAO RICARDO (ANG)      11

I see the same FIFA source has Dwight as the top tackler: http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/player/60183_YORKE_Dwight.html

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #29 on: June 19, 2006, 07:49:02 AM »
punches the ball inwards towards the attacking players, giving them a chance of winning an attacking rebound

Interesting. That's a vintage Kelvin Jack weakness. Just look at the last two away qualification games against Mexico and the USA. In those games, all goals scored against Kelvin Jack were due to rebound opportunities that he created.