April 27, 2024, 04:30:31 PM

Author Topic: Fellas ah just here this  (Read 6464 times)

Fellas ah just here this
« on: June 18, 2006, 11:32:05 PM »
I recently heard that the ref in our England game get sent home on account of the bad call.  Could this be confirmed?  I heard it from someone close to a team sponsor.

Moderators it have 2 France v Korera threads on the board...how come nobody ent get brace?

Offline CarenageBoy

Re: Fellas ah just here this
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2006, 04:25:25 AM »
I hope this is true. Can anyone confirm this?

Offline WarriorGoal

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2006, 05:05:51 AM »
This rumour has been going around a  day after the game ended and i still eh see no official announcement from Fifa concerning this.
Soca Warriors only score Warrior goals!

Offline Pompey

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2006, 05:34:26 AM »
if they are sending him hoime for a bad performance, then judging by the standards set so far, there would be no one left to ref the final.

OK he missed the Crouch incident, but overall his performance was a lot better than most so far.

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2006, 05:40:07 AM »
We got yellow cards that wasn't deserved in that England game also, maybe one or two, but 5 yellow cards.... come on.. if Crouch hadn't score T&T might have had a point.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2006, 05:41:11 AM by Flex »

Offline WarriorGoal

« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2006, 05:47:24 AM »
Sando speaks true,that ref was handing too many yelow cards to TnT while letting england get away with more serious fouls. If he could yellow card the Soca Warriors for breathing he would have.

I'm content that the moral victory is on the side of the warriors.
Soca Warriors only score Warrior goals!

Offline Pompey

« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2006, 07:03:19 AM »
The number of yellow cards handed out has been a consistant theme of this world cup.

FIFA have given the refs very precise details on what they think constitutes a yellow, most of which would not get a booking in the EPL. I think FIFA are more to blame than the refs.

« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2006, 07:08:29 AM »
The number of yellow cards handed out has been a consistant theme of this world cup.

FIFA have given the refs very precise details on what they think constitutes a yellow, most of which would not get a booking in the EPL. I think FIFA are more to blame than the refs.

I'm sure there are stats that can be poured over to prove this year the cards have been exorbitant

FIFA might make the rule..,.but the ref ultimately makes the call, so if they are unsure as to what constitutes a 'lunge' under these new rules....then dont hand them out like flyers to a porn shop

seems to me a lot of the refs are inexperienced at this level....I say,,.bring back the alien head italian fellah...marios brother

Offline jose

« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2006, 07:11:34 AM »
yeah boy dem refs really over doing it with them cards

« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2006, 07:36:03 AM »

the game lasted 7 minutes too long

7 mins? For what nobody ent get hurt like that.   scheeeuupsss >:(

Offline Pompey

« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2006, 07:48:01 AM »

the game lasted 7 minutes too long

7 mins? For what nobody ent get hurt like that.   scheeeuupsss >:(

I think the "& minutes too long" referred to the fact Crouch scored 7 minutes from time. From Englands point of view, it went on 6 minutes too long ;D

Offline Latent

« Reply #11 on: June 19, 2006, 08:05:44 AM »
I would say that FIFA is trying to stamp out bad habits that have been allowed to develop in the game for far too long. This is why they ordered the referees to be strict and give yellow cards where necessary.

Things like diving, deliberate tackles, protesting with the referee ect have been allowed to go on far too long and now we the fans have been accustomed to seeing players getting away with this. Now this is why we feel there are too many yellow cards.

I am glad FIFA has finally decided to do something about this. Hopefully, they will maintain this standard after the World Cup in other tournaments.

Offline Verteidiger

« Reply #12 on: June 19, 2006, 08:10:44 AM »
I doh mean to be bad..

but you "here" it or "hear" it??

« Reply #13 on: June 19, 2006, 08:14:54 AM »
I recently heard that the ref in our England game get sent home on account of the bad call.  Could this be confirmed?  I heard it from someone close to a team sponsor.

Moderators it have 2 France v Korera threads on the board...how come nobody ent get brace?

DOES NOT MATTER ANYMORE. WE FACE PARAGUAY AND WE MUST WIN. FORGET THAT ENGLAND GAME

Offline marcel

« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2006, 08:22:58 AM »
i think the problem is that there are referees from all over the world
allso from parts of the world were the level is not very high
its not very strange that they get problems on higher levels
this is a problem every worldcup
(remember 4 years ago?)

i would like to see a international school for referees.

there is no balance,one referee gives a red card for a tackle from behind,the other gives nothing.
the players dont know what to do,and dont know what the consequenses are.

i think thats a very strange thing for the biggest sport of the world.

« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2006, 08:38:59 AM »
i think the problem is that there are referees from all over the world
allso from parts of the world were the level is not very high
its not very strange that they get problems on higher levels
this is a problem every worldcup
(remember 4 years ago?)

i would like to see a international school for referees.

there is no balance,one referee gives a red card for a tackle from behind,the other gives nothing.
the players dont know what to do,and dont know what the consequenses are.

i think thats a very strange thing for the biggest sport of the world.

That would be a step in the right direction.  I think its all based on cultural norms vis a vis football. Like Pompey said many of the so called infractions would not be called in the EPL or other places.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2006, 09:42:47 AM »
I have to agree with most that the number of yellows this World Cup is on the high side, but ofcourse it is as a result of FIFA instuctions to referees to clamp down on things. That being said, the referee really has to use his judgement to make calls that are not to the detriment of the flow of the game.

I have found on several occasions that the refs have flung out that yellow card like a trigger happy soldier.
Cases in point, in the Sweden game when Shaka was taking a little long with the goal kicks, the ref went up to him and gave him a warning on what he viewed as time wasting but no card. In the game against England, the ref produced a card in one shot, no warning.
 Argentina vs. the Serbs, the ref gave Crespo a yellow card for carrying on  play after the whistle had gone for an off-side. Crespo claimed he did not hear the whistle. Ok so judgement call here, would a warning not have sufficed?
Lastly in another game (can't remember which) Team A got a freekick and a member from Team B was trotting back. Freekick was taken and it so happen to hit the player from Team B as he was moving back, bram, he get a card for delay of game

What I do agree with though is the cards for tackles, but again with judgement. While there has been embellishment by players on the receiving end (Sweden man vs. Avery)  I have seen that players have been very clumsy with tackles and fully deserved a booking.
well yes

« Reply #17 on: June 19, 2006, 09:51:56 AM »
In the official's defence....EVERY TEAM is briefed by the officials PRIOR TO THE TOURNAMENT about rule changes, what will and won't be called.

IF all the referee's are doing are following the instructions they have been mandated and those instructions were CLEARLY spelt out to each team beforehand, then the teams have no real cause for complaint.

At the end of the day, 90% of coaches complain about refereeing calls in the hopes that in the matches to come, their complaints can have some positive influence on the officials.  It's a risky tactic as it may backfire but it doesn't stop them.   Case in point....Jose Mourinho & Alex Ferguson.  Dem forever complainin about referees decisions....heaven help the officials when those teams lose.

The funniest is Bruce Arena complaining about officials when the USA in CONCACAF is the major beneficiary of dubious refereeing calls.  He set out a deliberate strategy to get "physical" against the Italians.  He did a hack a Shaq european style in that game but want to complain when his team get carded for said "physical play".  He is a joke.

« Reply #18 on: June 19, 2006, 10:16:08 AM »
Ah hear dat same thing from me fadda in Trini.  Not sure where that info came from but I also hear that Crotch my get ban for a year from international ball.  Can't confirm this but can anyone??   ???

Offline Pompey

« Reply #19 on: June 19, 2006, 10:25:24 AM »
Ah hear dat same thing from me fadda in Trini.  Not sure where that info came from but I also hear that Crotch my get ban for a year from international ball.  Can't confirm this but can anyone??   ???

it would be the first time ever. And lets face it, this type of thing will happen at least a dozen more times during the world cup.

it really is time to move on. ::)

« Reply #20 on: June 19, 2006, 10:33:57 AM »

They would, as well,  have to send home at least 6 other referees who've made other blunders... The thingh we need to keep in mind is that unlike the tv viewing audience, the Referees and linesmen dont get to see instant replay...

Yesterday France was denied a crucial victory because of what I will assume to be the refreee and linesmen not seeing that the ball had in fact crossed the line...

If anything, that referee that did teh USA vs Italy game should go home too.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2006, 10:50:06 AM by Reggaefan »

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #21 on: June 19, 2006, 10:53:23 AM »

They would, as well,  have to send home at least 6 other referees who've made other blunders... The thingh we need to keep in mind is that unlike the tv viewing audience, the Referees and linesmen dont get to see instant replay...

Yesterday France was denied a crucial victory because of what I will assume to be the refreee and linesmen not seeing that the ball had in fact crossed the line...

My understanding is that after every game, the referees' and assistants' performances are evaluated by FIFA and from there they pick the officials that will go on to officiate the knock-out phase. This is what I heard from the panel at the end of one of the games I was watching.
well yes

« Reply #22 on: June 19, 2006, 10:55:33 AM »

I disagree with the sending home of the ref in the USA / italy game.. i thought that game was well officiated.. all cards given were very correct in my view.. Why you think they should send him home ?

Offline shivadee

• There is only ONE number 7. And its worn in Trini
« Reply #23 on: June 19, 2006, 11:02:10 AM »
If you see the US comentators up here on ESPN2 talk bout that. WHOOOOOLE day......EVERY thing happen they chooking that thing in. Ukraine score......"And remember that foul on MCBRIDE...." stewps. OKAY...we GET IT...they send home the ref........and alyuh STILL goin an loose thursday.

Offline Trini in FL

• Small Country BIG Passion!!!!!
« Reply #24 on: June 19, 2006, 08:55:04 PM »
If you see the US comentators up here on ESPN2 talk bout that. WHOOOOOLE day......EVERY thing happen they chooking that thing in. Ukraine score......"And remember that foul on MCBRIDE...." stewps. OKAY...we GET IT...they send home the ref........and alyuh STILL goin an loose thursday.
u know i was thinking that same thing about them commentators ....everything is about the US even when they doing other games ::)

« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2006, 09:20:09 PM »
« Reply #12 on: Today at 10:05:44 AM »   

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I would say that FIFA is trying to stamp out bad habits that have been allowed to develop in the game for far too long. This is why they ordered the referees to be strict and give yellow cards where necessary.

Things like diving, deliberate tackles, protesting with the referee ect have been allowed to go on far too long and now we the fans have been accustomed to seeing players getting away with this. Now this is why we feel there are too many yellow cards.

I am glad FIFA has finally decided to do something about this. Hopefully, they will maintain this standard after the World Cup in other tournaments.

How many cards have been issued for diving? All have been on the underdog teams which just happens to play more physical. But they have done nothing about the acting from the favorite teams.
So I cannot agree that they have been consistent or fair too all teams. Look at the Togo game againt the swiss this morning there is no way the ref could not have seen that the defender tripped the Togo player. But the minute a Togo player breathes on the Swiss it's a foul.
I maintain the refs have soiled the WC, but we have to blame FIFA. If you have 2 African teams and a Caribbean team in the 1/4 finals the stadiums won't get filled. That's why I am prayin that TOgo beats France and I know Trinidad and Tobago will beat Paraguay and those wannabe football players will beat sweden.

« Reply #26 on: June 19, 2006, 09:48:28 PM »
the referees are doing a poor job, true all referees will miss stuff, it is not possible to spot everything.  However, i find it strange when they miss stuff, the underdog team suffer most of the times, when make a very bad call, the underdog team suffers most of the time.  The only big team that could say they were on the end of a very bad call is France...then again France is not a big team... ;D

« Reply #27 on: June 19, 2006, 09:56:39 PM »
Dis is de worst ah see in ah while ...seems like we always geh ah bad ref in ah big big game remember Haiti ...leh we just hope we eh have dah kinda af ref 2morrow ....GO SOCA WARRIORS NUTTIN EH STOPPIN WE !!!!

Offline sprog

« Reply #28 on: June 20, 2006, 10:31:03 AM »
They real over doing it its the worst officiating i've seen in a while

Offline Trini Babe

« Reply #29 on: June 20, 2006, 12:18:32 PM »
They real over doing it its the worst officiating i've seen in a while

I second that.
I hope Fifa gives the refs a serious review after this.

The Impossible becomes the possible.
If you can dream it you can live it!