April 26, 2024, 02:38:09 AM

Author Topic: Corneal backs U-17s for W/Cup qualifiers.  (Read 2680 times)

Corneal backs U-17s for W/Cup qualifiers.
« on: April 11, 2012, 04:17:13 AM »
Corneal backs U-17s for W/Cup qualifiers.
By Renaldo Matadeen (Newsday).

TRINIDAD AND Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) Technical Director, Anton Corneal, is confident that the Under-17 Women’s team will shine at the forthcoming CONCACAF qualifiers for the 2012 FIFA Under-17 Women’s World Cup in Azerbaijan this September.

He admitted that the opposition will be tough in the group stage but the task is not impossible.

TT will face Mexico on May 3 with USA (May 5) and Bahamas (May 7) to follow in the qualifiers, hosted by Guatemala.

Corneal believes that the young women must remain undaunted in their task. “Mexico and the USA are two of the top women’s teams at this level. We are training well and the team showed promise in recent preparations. We face sturdy opposition who may seem physically stronger and faster, but we can pull off some upsets. It’s not improbable,” he revealed.

Corneal also professed that the current training scheme is a beneficial one for the Under-17s.

Even Pellerud’s charges lost two friendlies to Canada’s Under-17 team last week in Tobago by 3-0 margins and will be training in Costa Rica and Florida in April to gear for the May qualifiers.

Players who will be looked at for garnering success include Khadidra and Kadisha Debesette, Shenelle Warwick, Victoria Swift and skipper, Anique Walker.

He indicated that emphasis is being placed on youth development for both the Men’s and Women’s teams. Corneal relayed that the Trinidad and Tobago Under-20 Women’s unit will be closely tied to the ‘senior’ Women’s team as the Under-20s will comprise the core of the team that will be eyeing 2016 Olympic qualification.

The youngsters lost to Puerto Rico and Cuba but defeated Guyana as their U-20 World Cup campaign ended last January but Corneal emphasised that the future remains bright.

“Our Under-20 players have the talent to make the senior team. Our recent senior performances have been decent and both the Under-20s and seniors will be playing the College of Charleston Women’s Team,” he shared.

The Charleston contingent will be on local soil for a 10-day visit in May and Corneal confessed that such foreign teams, particularly Division One teams from USA, would prove strong competition to improve the national teams.

Re: Corneal backs U-17s for W/Cup qualifiers.
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 06:09:55 AM »
How is it that other teams play faster. Why do we have to play this slow , long ball football.
 It is time we wake up and smell the coffee.

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 06:14:49 AM »
We keep playing North American teams to prepare for Central American teams.

That makes real sense Corneal.

And then when Honduras, Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama and Gutaemala play us we collecting 10 goals....

These  Central American teams we need to collect points from when it comes to women football because USA and Canada cannot be touched.

« Last Edit: April 11, 2012, 06:16:46 AM by Sam »

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2012, 06:48:33 AM »
Sam, I think you getting the genders wrong. The men does colletc the 7, etc from Mex. The women does collet the 7 from the US. The Central American women ahead in terms of technique. What keeps TT in games with them(no big scores) is the fitness and defensive tactics of this present coach. This present men's team appears to be outclass in tactics and technique when they oppose the non-Caribbean Concacaf. Of course JA has had the better of us for the past couple of years. My advice to TTFF. Seeing that most of our WC journey goes to Central Amer. Hire a good Mexican coach. We see them play all the time and in a few exceptions have not been able to figure them out. They always appear to have 22 men when we play against them. Maybe they can teach us something. Plz don't bring up language or ethnicity in this proposal.

Offline kaiser

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2012, 07:27:18 AM »
 Corneal backing equal "fredo i know it was you" kiss of death

Offline madness

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2012, 09:21:25 AM »
i hope these girls play a good football. no set of boom kicking the ball and wasting there energy.

« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2012, 09:41:39 AM »
I want to see Corneal back himself into enjoying a full retirement from TNT football.

« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2012, 10:01:31 AM »
I want to see Corneal back himself into enjoying a full retirement from TNT football.

Yuh have a better chance of getting struck by lightning twice on your way back from claiming a lottery grand prize. 

« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2012, 10:45:17 AM »
I want to know what they doing to encourage female coaches back home to develop in the game?

« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2012, 12:53:13 AM »
How is it that other teams play faster. Why do we have to play this slow , long ball football.

Adding to dat list of what we are infamous for: poor fitness, late at picking up our marks (too much ball watching), slow at recovery runs, poor at trapping and winning goal kicks or punts...nearly every punt or goal kick ends up with de opposition in a short space of time, crossing not great, communication = 50% Buff, corners and free kicks against us seems like de world going and end, midfield possession and service poor, switching de ball to the other side is frequently an air ball cause we eh good enough to get it there on de ground.

Slow? We eh slow athletically at all. We could beat all of dem in a race. Everybody done know dat. Slow at reading de game...yes. Slow at being in de right grass...yes. Holding on to de ball too long...yes...dis is where these slower players athletically from Central America does buss we arse. Dem men does jes move de ball quickly around de field with skill. The fastest way to move is to pass but it doh always have to be forward like is a blasted 100m race. We lack the ability to hold possession, probe for and penetrate weaknesses in the other team's shape. 

Where we slow is at de grass roots level right up. Doh talk bout de Pro League. Cyah say dat Whim was too far off in his estimation.

Corneal could back de U-17 gyuls all he want but is licks in dey bamsee....real bad...bull pistle style.

« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2012, 07:06:02 AM »

Adding to dat list of what we are infamous for: poor fitness, late at picking up our marks (too much ball watching), slow at recovery runs, poor at trapping and winning goal kicks or punts...nearly every punt or goal kick ends up with de opposition in a short space of time, crossing not great, communication = 50% Buff, corners and free kicks against us seems like de world going and end, midfield possession and service poor, switching de ball to the other side is frequently an air ball cause we eh good enough to get it there on de ground.

Slow? We eh slow athletically at all. We could beat all of dem in a race. Everybody done know dat. Slow at reading de game...yes. Slow at being in de right grass...yes. Holding on to de ball too long...yes...dis is where these slower players athletically from Central America does buss we arse. Dem men does jes move de ball quickly around de field with skill. The fastest way to move is to pass but it doh always have to be forward like is a blasted 100m race. We lack the ability to hold possession, probe for and penetrate weaknesses in the other team's shape. 

Where we slow is at de grass roots level right up. Doh talk bout de Pro League. Cyah say dat Whim was too far off in his estimation.

Corneal could back de U-17 gyuls all he want but is licks in dey bamsee....real bad...bull pistle style.
I often hear opposing coaches in pre-match statements laud our speed and strength and wonder what the hell they talking about. But that is precisely what they mean. Its almost a joke that so many of their stadiums have running tracks around them. Our players have natural gifts that they don't but they are not harnessed well. Our fitness levels are consistently deplorable as well. All the technical and tactical deficiencies you listed are a result of our lack of professionalism and commitment to doing the things that are required of competitive athletes and teams.

Its not just in football either. We are a hero society waiting for one hero after another. Yorke , Lara are Boldon are anomalies . Men whose success were driven more by great amounts of natural ability and their own work ethic than any great technical support structure or developmental programme. Hence men can't trap , pass, dribble or shoot.  We're still asking where's the next genius like Latapy but won't do simple things like develop players who can cross a ball consistently.

« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2012, 07:33:06 AM »
Another tournament?  :o Please let the beatings stop!  :'( I don't know how much more of this I can take.  :-[

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2012, 06:34:46 PM »
You guys kill me , talking about Latapy as if this is the mens thread. It's the big picture people. It's about developing players to make the senior team. There is only two teams that matter as far as football goes in Trinidad & that is first the mens senior team & second the womens.

Lets face it as far as thw womens program goes we are fourth best in Concacaf. The Princesses have made leaps and bounds strides in the past four years and will continue to do so with addittions from the 20's & 17's over the next few years. Most of the 17's & 20's that are currently involved in the program will never see the senior pitch however they are their to help and push the rest of their team-mates. We have a good strong nucleus from the likes of Mollen, Cordner, Attin-Johson, King just to name a few. This sqaud was getting clocked 6 to 8 nil 4 years ago and not winning a game in qualifying. Now they are tying games losing by one or two & even winning so their is much to be optimistic about for the next major qualifiers.

Many of you talk about no game sense, no game speed or tactics. How many of you have played the game at the elitest levels. Played mid-field in 110 degree heat in the shade. Played central defender on a sqaud that deploys the high flat four offisde trap. That glass is half full or is it half empty. How many of you still coach in the youth leagues to give back to the game. How many of you take your children and or youth teams to watch the 17's , 20's & or senior women & men practise. Wait don't answer that because the prooof is in the pudding. So please stop your whinning about what is wrong and get out their and affect change for the positive.
Support the youngster with-in the program on both the mens & womens sides to give them the morale support and encouragement they so much crave & desire & deserve.

Sermon over.

19 out
« Last Edit: April 12, 2012, 06:37:12 PM by Soccer 19 »

« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2012, 09:41:39 AM »
well said 19

« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2012, 12:13:13 PM »
You guys kill me , talking about Latapy as if this is the mens thread. It's the big picture people. It's about developing players to make the senior team. There is only two teams that matter as far as football goes in Trinidad & that is first the mens senior team & second the womens.

Lets face it as far as thw womens program goes we are fourth best in Concacaf. The Princesses have made leaps and bounds strides in the past four years and will continue to do so with addittions from the 20's & 17's over the next few years. Most of the 17's & 20's that are currently involved in the program will never see the senior pitch however they are their to help and push the rest of their team-mates. We have a good strong nucleus from the likes of Mollen, Cordner, Attin-Johson, King just to name a few. This sqaud was getting clocked 6 to 8 nil 4 years ago and not winning a game in qualifying. Now they are tying games losing by one or two & even winning so their is much to be optimistic about for the next major qualifiers.

Many of you talk about no game sense, no game speed or tactics. How many of you have played the game at the elitest levels. Played mid-field in 110 degree heat in the shade. Played central defender on a sqaud that deploys the high flat four offisde trap. That glass is half full or is it half empty. How many of you still coach in the youth leagues to give back to the game. How many of you take your children and or youth teams to watch the 17's , 20's & or senior women & men practise. Wait don't answer that because the prooof is in the pudding. So please stop your whinning about what is wrong and get out their and affect change for the positive.
Support the youngster with-in the program on both the mens & womens sides to give them the morale support and encouragement they so much crave & desire & deserve.

Sermon over.

19 out

Again with this, we were always behind the US and Canada and then it would be a toss up with us, Mexico and Jamaica. So is not that we "improve" but we, just like the men's team back and forth in performance. I don't know how long you have been following T&T football, but you should look a lil further back. Then only difference now is that more girls playing and the teams are given more exposure. But nothing really changed.

« Reply #15 on: April 13, 2012, 07:14:19 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/524WOS59VhU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/524WOS59VhU</a>

Offline Soccer 19

« Reply #16 on: April 13, 2012, 07:46:44 PM »

Sermon over.

19 out

Again with this, we were always behind the US and Canada and then it would be a toss up with us, Mexico and Jamaica. So is not that we "improve" but we, just like the men's team back and forth in performance. I don't know how long you have been following T&T football, but you should look a lil further back. Then only difference now is that more girls playing and the teams are given more exposure. But nothing really changed.

More exposure is a good thing is it not? Heck teams scout team over the internet now a days. Following for about a dozen years closely involved with the program for five. Jamaica's seniors have been disbanded for more than two years and are now easily 4 years behind us. We tied Mexico recently in the Pan Am's as you all are aware. We only lost 2 nil in Gold Cup qualifying in Mexico's packed house. I was there and the atmosphere was electric. Pellerud has recently taken over the Senior team as coach and am sure he will get the most out of his key players & the rest will understand their roles to ensure suppport is there for the squad as a whole. As we know the chain is only as trong as it's weakest link.
Let's see where this team is in the next WWQ cycle as like I indicated in a previous post we have some very good up and coming 20's & even 17's. Let's hope the structure that Pellerud has implemented will remain a hallmark for years to come. I hope he re-news his contract for another 4 years.

« Reply #17 on: April 13, 2012, 11:48:30 PM »

« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2012, 04:58:06 AM »
Plans by the Trinidad and Tobago Under-17 women football team to travel to Costa Rica and Panama, for a series of practice matches, have been put on hold due to the lack of funding. The team were supposed to leave on Saturday but the trip have been cancelled.