April 29, 2024, 04:15:51 AM

Author Topic: Science discovers perfect penalty  (Read 2436 times)

Science discovers perfect penalty
« on: June 23, 2006, 08:18:50 AM »
Science discovers perfect penalty
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/merseyside/5105802.stm

England's bid for World Cup glory could be boosted by scientists who claim to have discovered the formula for the perfect penalty.

Experts at Liverpool John Moores University have sent their findings to England boss Sven-Goran Eriksson.

Factors involved in their calculations include the number of steps in run-up, time taken to kick the ball, velocity of shot and position of striking foot.

The formula to remember in a shoot-out is (((X+Y+S)/2)x((T+I+2B)/4))+(V/2)-1.

This was calculated after analysing England's penalties at major tournaments since 1962.

The scientists found their perfect penalty was Alan Shearer's spot-kick against Argentina in the second round of the World Cup in 1998 - a match England lost on penalties.

THE PERFECT PENALTY
(((X+Y+S)/2)x((T+I+2B)/4))+(V/2)-1

V Velocity of ball once struck
T Time between placing ball on spot and striking ball
S Number of steps in run-up
I Time ball is struck after goalkeeper initiatives dive
Y Vertical placement of ball from ground
X Horizontal placement of ball from centre
B Striking position of foot

Dr David Lewis, a mathematician who developed the formula, said: "Until now penalty taking has been described as a lottery - one that England have bought a ticket to but lost when it mattered.

"We would advise lots of practice for the England squad using these guidelines, and maybe we can lift the curse."

The scientists found the ideal velocity for the ball to be 25-29 metres per second and the ideal number of steps in a run-up to be four to six - but a long run-up of 10m is the least successful.

The ideal time to take the penalty is three seconds or less and while waiting for the goalkeeper to move before striking the ball helps the chances of success, if a player waits more than 0.41 milliseconds, chances of scoring are halved.

The study was commissioned by bookmakers Ladbrokes which is offering odds of 3/1 that England are defeated on penalties during the World Cup.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2006, 08:54:21 AM by Bitter »

Offline dutchman

Re: Science discovers perfect penalty
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2006, 08:52:09 AM »
great post
I still miss the walking from the mid circle to the penalty spot as part of the formula.
How many steps is that ?
How fast you need to walk that ?
Should you look at the spectators ?
Should you look at the keeper ?
Hiddink had the South Korean's 4 years ago always start their walk from the center field when training penalties. So when they had to do it at WC they were all well use to do that long walk.
I think that was quite smart as well.
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2006, 09:01:51 AM »
What about the material the ball is made with?
How much air is in the ball?
The type of cleats the player is wearing?
The players ability to execute proper technique?
Is the pitch and/or ball wet or dry?
Is the player tired or not?

The fact of the matter is there is no perfect penalty. There are many variables which affect the taking of a penalty, to many to control for actually. Most penalty missed can be attributed not to technique, but to a lack of concentration.

I am by no means a mathematician.

Offline PortValeChris

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2006, 12:20:11 PM »
They should also take into account when the penalty is being taken, first half, second half and penalty shoot out, and if the penalty take is doing so against his will and whether a nice girl in the crowd has lifted her shirt to expose her breasts.
PortValeChris  AKA The Former TVV from onevalefan. 

Port Vale  We want ah goal!!

To market, to market, with my uncle Jim
Somebody threw a tomato at him
Now, Tomatoes don't hurt with their soft juicy skin
But this one it knackered, 'cause it come in a tin

Offline goodfootball171267

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2006, 12:58:54 PM »
LOL!

Offline goodfootball171267

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2006, 01:03:56 PM »
The perfect penalty is one that scores!

« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2006, 01:10:06 PM »
other factors to consider,

Should the nuts be squeezed to place in the ideal position before the run up
Should you skip and then run
Feint and then shoot

PLEASE ADD
« Last Edit: June 23, 2006, 02:32:31 PM by grskywalker »

« Reply #7 on: June 23, 2006, 03:08:32 PM »
if de man taking de penalty know de keeper could rell dive he could do ah easy tap in and fake him out

if yuh just get foul and bruse up this calculation goes out the window

striking a ball the same way twice iz like lightning striking twice

them shoulda spend that money looking to cure diesease instead ah this shyt

« Reply #8 on: June 23, 2006, 03:11:40 PM »
Dis just goes to show how some aspects of Sciene are dumb
All dis calculations!!!!!
when it always comes down to the Keeper!.

Offline Rymizx

• It's a small world ! - No Really...
« Reply #9 on: June 23, 2006, 03:34:53 PM »
Sven have to teach them boys some real %$#( maths to score them penalties.

I ent see no wind or grass frictional factors in this equation....

What about if the ref buss a fart before he blow for the kick?? :devil:

Offline dutchman

« Reply #10 on: June 24, 2006, 03:35:26 AM »
Just remember (((X+Y+S)/2)x((T+I+2B)/4))+(V/2)-1.
now go Beckham ! :rotfl:

just kidding.
I've heard that the quality of your penalty comes from repetition, they say you have to start at the age of 6, I think that the Germans, Argentines & Brazil do it that way & perhaps France too.
In Holland we used to be the worlds worst but now the new kids ( under 25 ) are a lot better.
All cause of training that starts at early age.
But for penalty shoot out, watch Hiddink's team, he trains them well including the long walk from center field, otherwise the unlucky player at WC has a total new thing to do before the penalty.
Further he keeps his cool, even after the massive fault from their keeper in the last game he didn't change his posture. smart I think.

Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

Offline shivadee

• There is only ONE number 7. And its worn in Trini
« Reply #11 on: June 24, 2006, 06:19:06 AM »
wah bout if you eat an aloopie AND/OR doubles BEFORE the penalty. ???