April 19, 2024, 10:57:42 PM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors in Time Magazine  (Read 2275 times)

MickeyRat

Soca Warriors in Time Magazine
« on: June 23, 2006, 01:27:23 PM »
Our boys got some well deserved notoriety in Time Magazine this week (pg. 3).

WELL Done Fellas  :applause:

Offline sinned

Re: Soca Warriors in Time Magazine
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2006, 01:38:48 PM »
tell we what dey say nah. i dunno if i have access to a Time magazine

MickeyRat

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2006, 01:46:06 PM »
It was a brief insert with a picture of Cyd Gray flexing (I guess he was jumping over a ball or a player) and mention of our match against Sweden, and that we are the smallest nation to ever qualify for the WC.

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2006, 01:50:44 PM »
do u know what section? and what was the cover of the magazine?
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

MickeyRat

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2006, 01:52:28 PM »
do u know what section? and what was the cover of the magazine?

Yuh cah read or wha...Page 3 (might be pg. 4).  I left the mag. in work.

Offline monty

« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2006, 01:59:22 PM »
Yea i read it yesterday too. Is a nice pic too...

Time Story

And it's the most wunderbar time of the year for soccer fans as the World Cup rolls on in Germany. The action isn't just on the field. The world's biggest sporting event boasts plenty of spectacle off the field too--and much of it fits right in with this year's warm, fuzzy and oh-so-sporting theme: "A Time to Make Friends."

DO THE CROUCH The robot is back, thanks to England striker Peter Crouch's goofy moves, which have spawned an army of imitators in the stands.

GO, WARRIORS! Fans love a long shot. The top underdog this year: Trinidad and Tobago, the smallest nation to qualify, whose gutsy Soca Warriors earned a surprising tie against Sweden.

COUCH CUP Want to see the U.S. beat Brazil, be instrumental in the victory and make friends? Play FIFA 06: Road to FIFA World Cup online with gamers around the world.

FAN FESTS All 12 host cities are having nonstop parties, so soccer lovers can experience the Cup even without tickets to a match. Key ingredients: big screens and beer.

SOUNDS LIKE CUP SPIRIT No World Cup is complete without a cheesy theme tune to bring the crowd together. For Germany '06, it's R&B diva Toni Braxton and quartet Il Divo's sticky-sweet Time of Our Lives. Get out your lighters!

NOT JUST LION AROUND The self-declared King of Parties and beasts, mascot Goleo VI--why a lion? we don't know--wants you to have a ball.

« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2006, 02:03:40 PM »
In researching that, I also found this - nb T&T was on the map already

http://www.time.com/time/asia/magazine/article/0,13673,501060130-1151833,00.html

From the Jan. 30, 2006 issue of TIME Asia Magazine

TIME Global Adviser
Sheer Pandemonium
The birthplace of calypso heats up with the mother of all steel-band fetes 
BY MICHELLE PATIENT

Sunday, Jan. 22, 2006
Locals in Trinidad and Tobago call it "the big lime"—Caribbean slang for a serious shindig. But the national semifinals of Panorama, an annual music festival that this year takes place on Feb. 12, serve up something headier than fruit juice. The exuberant competition pits around 30 professional steel bands of 60 to 120 members against each other in front of a crowd of 15,000. Fans sing, cheer their favorite bands, and catch up with friends and neighbors while picnicking on pelau (a rice and peas mixture), macaroni pie, souse (a spicy soup made from either pigs' or chickens' feet), jerk chicken and plenty of local beer and rum drinks.

On Show: The Human Parade 
 Grapevine: Bordeaux Festival 
 Tech: Gorgeous Body, Smart Mind 
 Food: A Tasty Way to Travel

The musicians—who all play their instruments by ear—have eight minutes to impress the eight judges seated in the main Grand Stand. The "engine room," or rhythm section of each steel band, includes at least one conventional drum kit, tumba drums, maracas and "irons"—scrapped car-brake drums hit with metal rods. The engine room sets the tempo, the panmen follow, thumping and reverberating, and the North Stand, a rather rickety structure of standing-room-only bleachers erected especially for the competition, explodes with energy—the wooden planks bow precariously as they're rhythmically pounded in unison by the feet of thousands of people, jumping and singing in the sweltering heat.

The islands of Trinidad and Tobago, the birthplace of calypso, take their steel bands, or "pan," very seriously. The first pans, or steel drums, were fashioned out of biscuit tins and garbage-can lids by street musicians in the 1930s. They were later made of steel 55-gallon oil drums left behind by the U.S. military during World War II. Pan evolved into Trinidad's musical pride and signature sound after the first Panorama competition was held in 1963. The Panorama finals competition is for serious calypso purists, and takes place on the Queen's Park Savannah in the capital, Port of Spain, on the Saturday night prior to Carnival Monday (it's Feb. 27 this year). But the semifinals are where the real action is.

"The semifinals are great food, great drinks, great company—paradise on earth. If the world only knew—we islanders have kept it a secret," laughs Stephen Choo Quan, 32, an expat Trini living in the U.S., who tries to get home every year to attend. Anthony McQuilkin, 63, has played the bass pan in Desperadoes for over 40 years. Desperadoes is a 120-member steel band that was formed in the 1940s, and has won Panorama 10 times since the competition's inception. "The musical arrangements are very intricate," he says. "Every player has been practicing this tune for up to eight weeks. Just to get on that stage to perform it to all those people, you're totally into the music and transported." It's definitely one of the most ecstatic—and sweatiest—musical gigs I've ever been to. The competition kicks off at 11 a.m. and lasts until sometime around midnight. tel: (1-868) 623-4486/6831; www. pantrinbago.co.tt