March 28, 2024, 06:18:52 AM

Author Topic: Shirt Exchange !  (Read 19722 times)

Re: Shirt Exchange !
« Reply #30 on: July 01, 2006, 06:55:39 PM »
I know Shaka Hislop got Sweden goalkeeper Rami Shaaban shirt.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #31 on: July 02, 2006, 03:20:39 AM »
I thought one of the TnT players went to swap shirts with Gerrard ad Gerrad turned him down so he could give his shirt to Birchill.

« Reply #32 on: July 02, 2006, 10:28:53 AM »
I thought one of the TnT players went to swap shirts with Gerrard ad Gerrad turned him down so he could give his shirt to Birchill.

Yeah, it was Cyd Gray who got blank.  I read that Birchall was also turned down because Gerrad wanted to give his jersey to his family.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2006, 10:31:12 AM by FireBrand »

« Reply #33 on: July 02, 2006, 10:54:29 AM »

Yeah, it was Cyd Gray who got blank.  I read that Birchall was also turned down because Gerrad wanted to give his jersey to his family.

Well these players have 2 jerseys for every game the same jersey they start the game in is not  what they finish the game with,at half time a new kit is waiting for every player in the dressing room,it's up to them, if they want, to change and most of the do.So if Gerrard blank Birchall he must be promised both jerseys to his family ...or he just eh wanted to exchange for no TnT shirt. 

« Reply #34 on: July 02, 2006, 12:52:23 PM »
lugen

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #35 on: July 02, 2006, 01:18:40 PM »
whats this guy saying about the english wouldnt wanna swap shirts with trinidiad? NO english player said that.. gerrard kept the same strip on and he wanted to give it to his family..so what it dont mean he dont respect trinidad.
i doubt trinidad would want germany shirts anyway if they gonna be like tht

« Reply #36 on: July 02, 2006, 01:22:36 PM »
whats this guy saying about the english wouldnt wanna swap shirts with trinidiad? NO english player said that.. gerrard kept the same strip on and he wanted to give it to his family..so what it dont mean he dont respect trinidad.
i doubt trinidad would want germany shirts anyway if they gonna be like tht

?? ?? ?? who said anything like dat

« Reply #37 on: July 02, 2006, 01:26:52 PM »
Berris doh warry Tallman cleaning up all de man post some guy say he from german been posting some hatry on de site.

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #38 on: July 02, 2006, 01:59:02 PM »
ah was gonna say... england said t&t were a great side with brilliant spirit..and this german guy says everyone laughed at that?!! ??? ???

« Reply #39 on: July 04, 2006, 07:50:41 AM »
Ah wonder who got Stern John shirt, might be John Terry after he saved that ball off de line.

Offline sprog

« Reply #40 on: July 04, 2006, 09:48:02 AM »
I feel latas wore dat inner piece cause he know he aint too cut out, and have a little punch :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #41 on: February 10, 2007, 04:50:56 PM »
That man who get Latapy shirt vs Paraguay real lucky. He dont know how lucky he is, that shirt might worth some dollars...

Offline black chinee

« Reply #42 on: February 10, 2007, 06:53:02 PM »
I have noticed that Sweden had the names of both teams printed on their jerseys for they match they were playing in.  I saw another country, cant remember who had both flags under the crest.  That makes for a really nice keepsake after the game.

I know for the friendly T&T vs C.Republic ....... the Czechs jersey had the T&T flag next to the Czech flag in the centre and above it was the date of the match ...... I'm not sure if they continued with that same style

England also does that... they have the name of the country the date and location of the match printed at the front of their shirt

Offline Daddyo

« Reply #43 on: February 11, 2007, 01:01:09 AM »
Fellas

The TV station after showing the game cuts the shirt exchange part ofter the game, anyone know who get who shirts over de years for T&T, not just in de world cup.

How does this work also, does the sponsors allow you to give away your shirts after each games ?

Dwight Yorke - David Beckham (TRI v ENG)
Carlos Edwards - Ashley Cole (TRI v ENG)
Carlos Edwards - Freddie Ljungberg (TRI v SWE)
Cornell Glen - Frank Lampard (TRI v ENG)
Cornell Glen - Teddy Lucic (TRI v SWE)
Shaka Hislop - Rami Shaaban (TRI v SWE)
Shaka Hislop - Paul Robinson (TRI v ENG)
Russell Latapy - Paulo Da Silva (TRI v PAR)
I dont know,but I DO know that is SOME woman in your signature pic!!!!!
If we had some bacon,we could have some bacon and eggs........................................................................................................................................................if we had some eggs.

« Reply #44 on: February 11, 2007, 09:13:45 AM »
fellas get a spanking new shirt every game is what i thought so big deal to exchange

Actually the players have a new kit waiting in de dressing room at half time,they don't come out with the same jersey they started the match with ,it eh like long time wey is one jersey for de whole game ).... so when dey exchange shirts at the end of de game they will still have one of their own,for ah souvenir or to give away or whatever....

men does exchange jerseys at half time and end of game now... is nuff kit in de dressing room...

« Reply #45 on: February 11, 2007, 10:24:18 AM »
The first impression may well be deceiving. There is a photo from 1976 in some of the books about the UEFA European Football Championships™ showing players in German shirts with the Federal Eagle in victorious pose. Consequently the first reaction of beholders could be to think that the German national team won the UEFA European Football Championship™ 1976. After all, Germany are the “record European champions”. But the truth hiding behind this photo is that this is a Trojan Horse, and there are no German players in the German shirts.

It was the players of Czechoslovakia who were wearing the shirts of Sepp Maier, Franz Beckenbauer, Berti Vogts, Uli Hoeness and Gerd Muller on the evening of June 20, 1976. After the exchange of shirts on the pitch, now forbidden, the players of the Czechoslovak team were celebrating their unexpected victory over the Germans -- the 1972 European and reigning 1974 FIFA World Cup™ champions.

The men from Prague and Bratislava regarded the white and black shirts as a major “scalp”, symbolising their outstanding success in the history of their Association at Stadium "Cverna zvezda”. Czechoslovakia had just gained their first major title. The Socialist Republic of Czechoslovakia, combining the Czech and Slovak Republics, had “stripped” Germany, so to speak. The score was 2-2 after 120 minutes, as it had been after 90 minutes. Czechoslovakia then triumphed 5-3 in the penalty shoot-out.

« Reply #46 on: May 25, 2007, 07:10:13 AM »
I update my list. Anybody know more....

« Reply #47 on: May 25, 2007, 09:44:25 AM »
Good Morning Guys,
                            I don't have anything new to add to this shirt exchange topic. I guess shirt excange has been going  on for  a long time now. I do not know  of any date when it started. But ever since Bobby Moore and Pele had that impromptu photo taken shaking hands and exchanging jerseys  in 1970 this phenomena just escalated into a 'must do' at the end of big international games. I think it is the best gesture in all of sports. I don't see it in any other sporting events. Cambia or exchange is a voluntary thing. If after a hard fought game the opposing playes can exchange their shirts in friendship, more power to the game of football. It just shows that this game do transcend hostility, even though some fans and some players bring plenty baggage and garbage to the game. I think this practice  should continue. It should remain voluntary. Leave it up to the players to exchange. That is my 2 sense.

« Reply #48 on: May 25, 2007, 09:56:42 AM »
I exchange after the paraguay and sweden game. Still have those shirts hanging up but I did wash them !

« Reply #49 on: May 25, 2007, 02:00:12 PM »
fellas get a spanking new shirt every game is what i thought so big deal to exchange

Actually the players have a new kit waiting in de dressing room at half time,they don't come out with the same jersey they started the match with ,it eh like long time wey is one jersey for de whole game ).... so when dey exchange shirts at the end of de game they will still have one of their own,for ah souvenir or to give away or whatever....

men does exchange jerseys at half time and end of game now... is nuff kit in de dressing room...

well actually, while we may all thing so, the commercial reality is different.

It may have been last season or the season before, but Nike/Arsenal Kit team  had asked Arsenal to cut down on the amount of games in which they exchanged shirts. Nike has a quota of t-shirts that they give to clubs , and contrary to popular belief, it's no unlimited. That year, they had been very quickly approaching that quota limit.

« Reply #50 on: May 25, 2007, 02:10:58 PM »

well actually, while we may all thing so, the commercial reality is different.

It may have been last season or the season before, but Nike/Arsenal Kit team  had asked Arsenal to cut down on the amount of games in which they exchanged shirts. Nike has a quota of t-shirts that they give to clubs , and contrary to popular belief, it's no unlimited. That year, they had been very quickly approaching that quota limit.

There is a massive markup on football shirts.

Although we might pay £40 ($480 TT) for a shirt, the reality is it only costs Nike (or Adidas. Puma etc...) about £1 to manufacture a shirt (that was the figure in the newspaper back in 2000....might be £2 now!)

So if players are giving away a few hundred, or even thousand, shirts a year, it really isn't hurting the shirt sponsors. If they really have limited the number, then it isn't for commercial reasons.

« Last Edit: May 25, 2007, 03:18:22 PM by Ryan »

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #51 on: May 25, 2007, 09:24:12 PM »
i once exchange a polo jersery with mukesh khan the pakistani player but i dont know if that counts ;D
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #52 on: September 24, 2008, 10:37:57 AM »
Anyone whats to add more exchanges ?

Touches, SM, Jahgol and Patriot have seen all of all last set of games allyuh should have seen something.

I would love to exchange shirts with kandi_tt.... or better yet, de Mohammed twins who play for T&T women's team....  :rotfl: ... even though redtrinigirl could take some picka too...  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: September 24, 2008, 10:54:51 AM by Sam »

« Reply #53 on: September 24, 2008, 10:57:41 AM »
I think Brent Sancho exchange shirts with de Paraguay coach, he scored a great header for them and they coach was a reveal man after the game.

« Reply #54 on: September 24, 2008, 11:02:41 AM »
I remember years back most players would actually put the opposing team's shirt on after the exchange...It would actually be kinda strange for big games seeing the winning team celebrating in the opposing team's shirt....Nowadays it seems like players just drape the exchanged shirt over their shoulder.....

Health/hygiene concerns perhaps?

« Reply #55 on: September 24, 2008, 11:21:45 AM »
After the WC game ah Englishman board meh for my shirt outside the stadium. He want to exchange. I had to blank him, fuss the shirt was given to me by ah pardnah and second ah English shirt on my back go give ah rash  ;D

Swapping shirts and anecdotes
« Reply #56 on: January 30, 2009, 06:02:55 AM »
Swapping shirts and anecdotes
FIFA.com

Don't talk to Graeme Murty about 19 January 2008. It is a day that will live long in the memory of the former Scotland international. Not only because of the defeat that his club, Reading, suffered at the hands of Manchester United, but also because the shirt that Cristiano Ronaldo gave him after the match mysteriously disappeared. "I went for a shower and when I got back, it had gone. Other players, youth players, club officials - I've got a list of suspects and if I find the guilty man it won't be pretty," said the full-back at the time.

His team-mates hunted high and low for the missing shirt, but striker Kevin Doyle suspected that it would soon be auctioned off somewhere. "One of the kids must have taken it. If I were Graeme, I'd check to see whether it's not on sale on the internet in a few days' time". A few hours later, Doyle's Ireland team-mate Stephen Hunt finally put Murty out of his misery and presented the captain with his precious shirt that had been hidden as a joke.

For over 50 years, swapping shirts at the end of the match has become an integral part of football. Here, FIFA.com looks back at some of the funnier moments that this tradition has thrown up.

The Pele phenomenon
On 2 May 1962, Benfica won their second European Cup in a row when they beat Real Madrid 5-3 at the Olympic Stadium in Amsterdam. A young Eusebio, who scored two of his team's goals, was hoisted aloft by fans at the end of the match, much to the Black Panther's chagrin, as he explains: "I had [Alfredo] Di Stefano's jersey in my shorts and I was afraid that someone would take it off me!"

The Mozambique-born Portugal legend managed to keep the precious memento, but Leigh Walker was not so lucky. On 24 January 2004, non-league Scarborough played Chelsea at home in the English FA Cup. After the final whistle, the two goalkeepers exchanged jerseys, with Carlo Cudicini even signing his with the message: "To Leigh, best of luck for the rest of the season".

Once Walker got home however, his mother found the shirt and since it was covered in mud, gave it a good wash before poor Leigh had had the chance to frame it... Leigh has since forgiven his mother her unfortunate mistake, but she still has pangs of guilt to this day. "I even thought of writing to Carlo to ask for a new signed jersey!" she laughs.

The North American Soccer League was the source of plenty of shirt-swapping anecdotes during its short-lived existence, particularly from 1975 to 1977 when, after 18 seasons at Santos, Pele signed for New York Cosmos. Everyone wanted to exchange jerseys with the legendary Brazilian, so much so that the club had to give each of their opponents a shirt after every match. "Pele was the main attraction," says Gordon Bradley, one of the club's coaches at the time. "Sometimes we had to take 25 or 30 shirts with us to a match - otherwise, we'd never have got out of the stadium alive."

Pele it was who, along with legendary England captain Bobby Moore, first brought shirt-swapping to the public's attention at the end of their FIFA World Cup™ match on 7 June 1970, but the first recorded incidence of it came 39 years earlier. On 14 May 1931, the French team asked to keep the jerseys of their English opponents to commemorate their historic 5-2 victory at Colombes. After that, the tradition first really began to pick up at the 1954 FIFA World Cup Switzerland.

Certain players collect these mementos, including US international Jeff Agoos who accumulated over 400 of them during his 14-year career. "I suppose it is strange to keep these souvenirs, but it commemorates a very special moment, particularly when you are playing against another country or a big club," he explains. "It's a gesture that should be seen as a mark of respect for the player and his team," adds Bolivian international Marco Etcheverry.

What is more surprising is the fact that certain players refuse to respect the tradition. "I don't remember ever asking someone to swap shirts after a domestic match," says former Manchester United and Republic of Ireland midfielder Roy Keane. "It looks plain ridiculous if you're an experienced player." And they say football is just a game...

« Reply #57 on: January 30, 2009, 08:13:08 AM »

Hopefully one day 'Jemmot' shirts go be in big demand

To pick chennette and wash the car with?!?!?

« Reply #58 on: May 05, 2009, 10:39:21 AM »
Any updates on this fellas ?

« Reply #59 on: June 15, 2009, 12:16:54 PM »
Looks like some T&T national team player is selling off his exchanged shirts from 2006 on e-bay. They are being sold from Kent so that gives you some idea who it might be:

There's a USA and a Mexico shirt. The descriptions say:

"which was given to a Trinidad player after a world cup qualifying game in 2006."