April 19, 2024, 12:18:20 PM

Author Topic: Lack of TT Shirts In UK  (Read 5109 times)

Offline ndookie

Lack of TT Shirts In UK
« on: May 31, 2006, 03:11:15 PM »
LONDON - When one of our readers Chris Balodis complained he was finding it impossible to find a Trinidad and Tobago replica shirt, we decided to find out why.

Chris wrote:

After months of hard searching, I cannot (I repeat CANNOT) purchase a Trinidad & Tobago world cup top online or in the stores! If it weren't for our Carnival style, we would officially be the most anonymous group of supporters in any World Cup. I'm actually amazed noone is complaining.

We can reveal that there is indeed a severe shortage of T&T shirts in the UK - and it's mainly down to the Scots.

Stacy-Marie Ishmael, spokeswoman for the Soca Warriors Supporters' Club says it's because no fewer than six of the Trinidad and Tobago squad are playing their club football in Scotland.

The fact that St Johnstone striker Jason Scotland (no surprises that official replicas of his jersey have been selling like hot cakes) is one of them, and the fortuitous acronym of T&T, means they have a wide following among Scottish fans.
Nothing of course to do with the fact the Soca Warriors have been drawn against England in Group B...

Stacy-Marie told me: "To a certain extent we have the old rivalry between England and Scotland - but I don't think they would support us so ardently if so many of our players weren't playing in Scotland.

"There are also lots of fans in the UK trying to get shirts and lots of people who have adopted Trinidad and Tobago as the underdog in the World Cup."

Exceptionally high demand has been compounded by problems with supply, she says, with deliveries from Adidas to their Oxford Circus store pushed back until early June and major website suppliers currently sold out.

Many dedicated Warriors fans have called on friends or family in the Caribbean to raid their wardrobes for any old T&T shirts or supporters' T-shirts they can find and send them over to Europe in time for the tournament.

As Stacy-Marie puts it in her blog: "A Trini named Scotland playing for the Scots against the English. Now that's globalisation."

Incidentally, you can play with our T&T squad selector here (there's one for each of the 32 World Cup teams in fact).

-------------------------------------------------------------
Who is Stacie-Marie ?
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Re: Lack of TT Shirts In UK
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2006, 03:11:48 PM »
isnt that sin ;D

I saw this article ealier on another site.

Offline ndookie

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2006, 03:14:13 PM »
lol , jefferz , yuh could sell some tt shirts for a lil 100 Pounds an thing , make back some money on yuh trip..
Glory Glory Man Utd !

« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2006, 03:15:20 PM »
isnt that sin ;D

I saw this article ealier on another site.

One and the same

« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2006, 03:22:33 PM »

Yea, that's sin,, stacy-marie  she's the PR Officer for the UK Branch of the WN. That was an interview with BBC Online done today.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2006, 03:24:33 PM by FLi ! »

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2006, 04:15:19 PM »
Who is Stacie-Marie ?

I don't know who 'stacie-marie' is, but I'm stacy-marie  ::)
-be the change you wish to see-

Offline sin

• wordspinner
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2006, 04:26:56 PM »

Doing more WN work than revision ;) Oops.

« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2006, 04:41:03 PM »
Who is Stacie-Marie ?
I don't know who 'stacie-marie' is, but I'm stacy-marie  ::)
Futbol, doh do Stacy like dat...ya see her name spell right in de article an ya still spell it wrong come close   she very particular about the spellin eh ;D ;D ;D ;D
check her Blog   http://trinidadtobago.worldcupblog.org/

anyway how is our radio friend in London these days ;) ;)

LOL hes fine.

mms://media.gnxnetwork.com/lynx <<<< the link to Socapros station btw but they playing reggae now and im not in a reggae mood.

and some pics & a video from Luton Carnival(a small minor carnival held the last bank holiday of may)
which was on monday http://www.trinisinlondon.com/lutoncarnival2006/index.html theres a picture of our friend in there ;D
http://www.trinisinlondon.com/luton%20ck6%202.mp4 (use real player)  in the video its our friend shouting over the mic, I better stop now just in case hes looking at this lol ;D
« Last Edit: May 31, 2006, 04:43:28 PM by Carib-briton(aka Futbol) »

« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2006, 04:44:23 PM »
Horse..............that is the Only place outside a Trinidad that actually selling the JUzzy

I had to order my juzzy from Subside in the UK. They were the only ones that had it ( no pre order bullshit). So count yourslef luck u in UK and not in North America cause it real salt over here...........

If I did no jump on it , I would be Juzzy less............I wearing MINes in wuk on Friday wowwwwwww

u should change the thread to "I stick on getting the juzzy and I from the UK"

cause it have real men who stick..not me bredda :beermug:.I sure u could find one still

Good luck

« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2006, 04:44:40 PM »
our names go get mentioned  on-air AGAIN ???
 ;D ;D ;D ;D
NOPE, thank the lord! ;D but he cuss on mass designer on air the other day he was dissing other mas bands via a certain public forum ;D, the mas designer was outta of order though!

« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2006, 06:57:30 PM »
It looking like some of allyuh go eh end up in Germany wit de Thai Special.

« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2006, 07:55:25 PM »
It looking like some of allyuh go eh end up in Germany wit de Thai Special.

dat eh no joke nah! Ah man was kinda hype about getting the jersey....going against meh morals tuh pay dah kinda money for ah shutt and after sizing up de shutt say NAH! I kyah buy dah piece ah shit!.....As ah adidas man me eh know what dem was tinkin when dey give we dat.....de jersey doh have anything to it...de material lighter than the other jerseys but it eh sayin nutten...nada! I goin an see if I could find de Finta or organize de retro jersey subside and dem selling we!...... long flikkin steuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuupes for adidas.

« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2006, 04:33:51 AM »
Horse..............that is the Only place outside a Trinidad that actually selling the JUzzy

I had to order my juzzy from Subside in the UK. They were the only ones that had it ( no pre order bullshit). So count yourslef luck u in UK and not in North America cause it real salt over here...........

If I did no jump on it , I would be Juzzy less............I wearing MINes in wuk on Friday wowwwwwww

u should change the thread to "I stick on getting the juzzy and I from the UK"

cause it have real men who stick..not me bredda :beermug:.I sure u could find one still

Good luck

Subside UK are SOLD OUT.

Offline sin

• wordspinner
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2006, 06:19:57 AM »

Subside UK are SOLD OUT

I just got my Strike Squad kit this morning. Still no sign of my Warriors away kit though :(
« Last Edit: June 01, 2006, 07:22:42 AM by sin »

« Reply #14 on: June 01, 2006, 06:26:04 AM »
Quote from: Rastaman link=topic=16118.msg167096#msg167096

Subside UK are SOLD OUT.
[quote

I just got my Strike Squad kit this morning. Still no sign of my Warriors away kit though :(
I just realised my payment has not gone through.....Just called them and they do not have any. Say that they are comming from germany in a few days. Ah vex no ras....

Offline Kenny

• T&TSC, Tartan Army branch
    • Raskol Records
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2006, 07:15:53 AM »
To a certain extent we have the old rivalry between England and Scotland - but I don't think they would support us so ardently if so many of our players weren't playing in Scotland.

Totally true. I've said it a million times already, but it's not just about playing England - if it was, we'd all be supporting Sweden and Paraguay just as much. But no one is. (Though obviously a lot of Celtic fans will be rooting for Sweden because of the Larsson connection.)

« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2006, 04:34:13 AM »
I just saw this on Subside Sports.....could our complaints have been heard?

« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2006, 04:37:26 AM »
I just saw this on Subside Sports.....could our complaints have been heard?

Look at the badge they fixed that up themseleves  :rotfl:

« Reply #18 on: June 03, 2006, 05:38:08 AM »
Folks, I dont speak german (e-man, maybe u cud translate?), but this site looks like it has stock... UK folks u might wanna give them a shout.

http://www.karstadt.de/produktAnzeigen.do?pid=2911250

« Last Edit: June 03, 2006, 07:53:23 AM by Ryan »

« Reply #19 on: June 03, 2006, 06:13:33 AM »
Yes, it says "sofort liefbar" which means for immediate delivery.

If you are going to be in Germany this is a major department store chain and you can maybe find the shirts in the stores. Especially in our match cities. Here is the page with their stores:

in the Dortmund are (Nord Rhein-Westfalen):
http://www.karstadt.de/kategorieAnzeigen.do?pfad=421602&kid=684197

in Bavaria
http://www.karstadt.de/kategorieAnzeigen.do?kid=684207

and by Kaiserslautern:
http://www.karstadt.de/kategorieAnzeigen.do?kid=684202

Offline teddy bear

Shirts available in Iford UK
« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2006, 03:19:37 AM »
just found a store in Ilford that has the T&T shirts. Only small and medium left though. Don't have a website but here's a number 0208 478 7516. Hurry while stocks last. Also checked Sports World as they were the biggest retailer adidas sent them to and the a**holes in the head office said they didn't  think they would have any demand in England so they sent all to Scotland hence no availability down here. Also soccer scene in covent gardens has 3 large left, phone # 0207 240 4070.

I got my authentic TnT Jersey today
« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2006, 11:51:10 AM »
Finally, for month ive be trying. Huge big-up to subside sports in the UK for the delivery

Offline marcpurcell

« Reply #22 on: June 24, 2006, 05:21:42 PM »
If you are still in Germany the Adiddas store in Frankfurt both has the away and home jerseys for 65.00 euros.
Born in Montreal
Living in Toronto
But still a Barataria boy at heart

Offline mr.talented

« Reply #23 on: June 24, 2006, 06:54:20 PM »
francis fashions need to open up a website...

"you could change your religion,your sex and everything else but not your football club"