April 18, 2024, 12:30:00 AM

Author Topic: Germans coming for Carnival 2K7  (Read 1279 times)

Germans coming for Carnival 2K7
« on: June 30, 2006, 06:03:24 AM »
Germans coming for Carnival 2K7
By CECILY ASSON (TnT Mirror)

June 25, 2006

“We didn’t win the World Cup, but we won the world!”

That’s the sentiment expressed by Junia Regrello, member of the promotional team to Germany for World Cup 2006 following last Thursday night’s return to TnT aboard a chartered flight which also brought home the Soca Warriors and other members of the cultural contingent.

Regrello, captain of the popular San Fernando steelband TCL Skiffle Bunch and an events specialist, is now warning that because of the impact created by TnT at the World Cup Finals, Germans will be flooding the twin island state between December and March.

According to him, the business spin-off was tremendous.

“I witnessed a group of Germans, some 72 of them, businessmen included, booking flights to TnT.

“They are definitely coming to spend Christmas and Carnival in TnT and they are not the only ones coming; look out for the many more Germans between the months of December and March.

“TnT turned Germany upside down both on and off the field.

“The experience in Germany was definitely a moment to be proud of,” Regrello went on.

“Imagine walking into a train station, you alone wearing a red T-shirt, marked Trinidad and Tobago and getting a round of applause from those there.
“You had to be there to believe what I’m saying.”

He gave high praises to Culture Minister Joan Yuille-Williams for believing in her dream.

“She had a vision and she stuck her neck out for it,” he explained.

He said she felt culture was the way to go to show off TnT.

“The plan was well executed by her representatives and that’s why our mission became successful.”

He said a large contingent of over 150 artistes including folk characters and calypsonians represented TnT positively.

“It was not easy for the three weeks moving from city-to-city, invading their towns and making our presence felt.

“We got the job done and the world will never forget us.”

He further noted that while the minister was not in Germany, she was in touch with officials every day.

“Given the magnitude of the project, the minister must be applauded.”

Regrello also revealed that every Trinbagonian got involved whether or not they were part of the official contingent.

“For street parades, police officers like ex-Commissioner Everard Snaggs were there, regulating traffic and keeping order.

Regrello told TnT Mirror following last Tuesday’s loss over Paraguay there was still merriment.

“People were sad to see us leave; they followed us to the bus begging us to stay.

“The camaraderie between countries like Sweden, England and Paraguay and TnT was just great.”

He felt it was because of the way Trinis behaved.

“It’s the way we carried about ourselves which made those, especially supporters of the countries we competed against, end up liming with us.”

Regrello said he was extremely proud of the steelbands as “they really stood out.”

“We did ourselves proud,” he ended. 

Offline shivadee

• There is only ONE number 7. And its worn in Trini
Re: Germans coming for Carnival 2K7
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2006, 06:08:57 AM »
whey dem German easy to chain up boy  :D
Dah real good tho :)

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2006, 07:54:41 AM »
i smell some german breed mix up with some trini blood come Christmas and Carnival which could only mean one thing....

We bussing out like mampee on ah McDonald\'s burger come WC 2022

« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2006, 08:23:38 AM »
Germans real like brown sugar so expect an explosion of red childeren late next year  ;D.

« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2006, 08:27:56 AM »
Allyuh eh easy nah....we respendently showcase weself and getting tourist dollars as the ROI

man studyin how to blaze Heidi and Inga an dem

de people simply commin to reclaim dey promised land.......TOBAGO  ;)