April 25, 2024, 09:58:39 PM

Author Topic: Views on the T&T vs Mexico game.  (Read 5723 times)

Views on the T&T vs Mexico game.
« on: June 09, 2005, 06:30:51 PM »
On de road we goin Germany.

Just touching on a few pointers here, after yesterdays performance in Mexico I believe we can qualify for Germany. I would even go as far as saying with a little luck we could claim 3rd spot, 4th for the least. For instance, two wins (Guatemala & Panama) two draws (Costa Rica & USA) and one loss (Mexico) could take us there.

I have not seen the Warriors in action since head coach Leo Beenhakker took over the team and, I must admit that I was truly impressed to see a difference in the T&T team, a well improved one. I never thought changes could come in such a short space of time since Mr. Leo Beenhakker and his Staff took over.

I based my view on a team like Mexico who is rated in the top 10 in the world and has an almost 100% home record, a team that is technically gifted and a great balance of players. Before, I couldn’t judge T&T because of the opponents we faced (Bermuda and Panama) to name a few, but now seeing them on the world stage I feel confident in their ability and our coaching staff. Even though Panama was a good test, they didn’t have a plan they were lacking technically.

Kelvin Jack: As Andre Samuel pointed out in a previous report, I concur that Jack needs to be more demanding in his area, he did make a telling one hand save in the second half, however I believe he could have stopped the second goal. Nonetheless he did ok. Ince may still be around and having two good keepers on the team will only bring out the best in either one.

David Atiba Charles: Did his job well, a player who has been on the up, his pace and over lapping skills makes him special, he did his job against Mexico, stayed with his man and distributed the ball to midfield in a timely manner.

Marvin Andrews: Hold the central defense well and played with true heart, won some important air balls, both him and Lawrence combined well.

Dennis Lawrence: No doubt Lawrence has improved, he seems confident, willing to take on players and joined the attack if needed. His die-hard approach is turning him into a main stay on the T&T team, he also made some un-seen foul on Borgetti that saved us.

Avery John: My man of the match, it still puzzle me to know why he wasn’t considered under our former coach Bertille St Clair in any of our qualifiers. Avery saved us from conceding an early goal after Jack was beaten and Mexican striker (Jared Borgetti) took an instep shot on goal only for Avery John to come up big and blocked the ball from going in. He made some excellent stops, he stayed with his man and he has the speed to recovery.

Carlos Edwards: Did good, but I believe he has lost a little of his crossing ability, and he takes forever to close down his man. His escorting players tactics cost us the first goal after failing to tackle a Mexican player in the box. He is still a great player and might be our best bet on the right, but work must be done.

Chris “Beckham” Birchall: Had a quiet 20 minutes in the first half, but came into the game and fought hard, he made some passing errors (very few times) one that almost cost us (thank God it didn’t) because it might have affected him mentally, knowing the fact that he’s inexperience, but he did great with tackles and tracking back, he even had a shot blocked and Stern John was un-able to tap in the rebound. He is definitely a main stay on the T&T team, he his growing in experience and his attitude is very likeable, he does the simple things, knowing the fundamentals is very important and he seems to have that down-pack.

Aurtis Whitley: I was expecting a little more, I think he takes to long to settle in, maybe its because of his in-experience at this level, or because of the injury he sustained. At times there was little miscommunication which resulted in very little movement off the ball but the few touches he had looked great.

Densill Theobald: Waste on the left wing, he should have been subbed earlier or moved to the center of midfield. Still not a bad player and made a crucial tackle one time in the game that could have lead to a goal for Mexico.

Dwight Yorke: His attitude and his work rate is very high at the moment, he shows true leadership qualities, made some telling passes, I would still like to see him up-front with players like Jones maybe Glen as his style will be enhanced by both Glen and Jones style and could bring out the Dwight we all know, I am sure he has not lost his clinical finishing and, please, please leave the free kicks to Beckham, but Dwight deserve to be captain and still have a touch of class.

Stern John: Made one, possibly two good pass for the whole game, I am shocked and amazed how he was once such a talented striker and dubbed one of the deadliest finisher in concacaf, Stern has lost it totally, in his defense, I hope it his fitness and not his natural ability, why do we wait so long to shot the dam ball. Playing a tactical game is one thing, but if you cant create the offensive opportunities then as you can see the end result. Kenwyne Jones was missed both Jones and Glen would have light up Mexico as subs.

Brent Rahim: Came on and did very well, had a nice shot on goal that almost took a deflection and went in, our new coach is brining out the best in some players. We have to face USA at the UCONN field in Connecticut a place where Brent made his name, lets hope he gets his chance to bring back some of his old time days. I hope he’s not suspended for that game as he received a yellow yesterday along with Dennis, Avery and Aurtis.

Hector Sam and Gary Glasgow did ok, but I cant say much as both players came in a little to late. I think Beenhakker made two good subs just the timing was a little off as both Sam and Glasgow should have came in earlier seeing that Beenhakker was trying to score and get back into the game. Birchall looked tired but he should not have been subbed as he was still doing good on the field, Stern John should have been subbed instead.

According to what Patriot post earlier on saying that Lincoln Phillips says we need a fast forward and a defensive midfielder then I would try Leslie Fitzpatrick and Anthony Rougier in that position, Glen and Sealy might help up front. I am sure if Rougier gets regular playing time he might get back to his best, he’s not that old and should get a looked at again. Maybe Collin Samuel can help us on the left wing. Silvio Spann I would not play as a defensive midfielder, he seems a more center midfielder like Theobald, in the Costa Rica game Spann did make some important tackles but the few through ball passes he made almost lead us to score. I might even touch on saying that Angus Eve and Arnold Dwarika should be involved in some part of the team, maybe for the Gold Cup, their experience and style is remarkable, good players to have on the bench.

Cheers.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2005, 07:36:45 PM by Flex »

Re: Views on the T&T vs Mexico game.
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2005, 07:01:42 PM »
Good summary Flex,I agree totally with the players who should be looked at.What ever happen to Kevin Austin in England.he was a left back who committed to us,got injured in a Cayman Is  camp just before the Jamaica game,then we ain't here about him again.

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2005, 07:17:05 PM »
Kevin Austin plays for Swansea City, however despite being a regular for them I cant see him making the current T&T team.

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2005, 07:18:18 PM »
Good roundup Flex...just goes to show the fellas on this site light years ahead of the reporters in T&T. Just now yuh go see paragraphs and phrases taken off this site and quoted in the papers (probably without credit).

On the freekicks...it baffles me how we can't produce a specialist. Ah real freekick specialist. Is like we need ah coach just fuh dat ???

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2005, 07:25:51 PM »
Very positive vibes Flex. Good run down bro.

You cracking me up Trinimassive....

« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2005, 07:53:06 PM »
Positive vibes Fllex. Keep up the informative reports.

Offline whayuhsay

« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2005, 08:29:23 PM »
Nice summary man!

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2005, 08:53:36 PM »
Beaten...but not humiliated.

I finally saw a tiny bright light on the horizon..a light that beacons, signals and defines our twin island country for the brilliance that we are capable off.  I saw the semblance of genius, which we have always been able to command as individuals but have never been able to emulate or achieve as a country, on the world stage.  Finally, I am inspired, if only for a minute segment in time, to “Stand up for Dem” because I love and believe in T&T. 

Thank you my people; the players, the coach, the administration, the forumites and supporters for making just one evening of football a joy to watch.

I got a glimpse of what Trinidad and Tobago is capable off within the framework of the world.  We were beaten, yes, but held our own, never to be disheartened or humiliated! 

Continue to plan and prepare in the true spirit of our current undertaking.  We are finally doing the right things, which I can only summarise and/or deduce, would support doing things right.

Whether we make it to Germany or not would never shake my belief that sooner than later, we as a country, can and will make a difference in the overall scheme of life!

Luv U T&T!
« Last Edit: June 10, 2005, 07:14:58 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2005, 12:50:25 AM »
Something I don't think we have been utilising properly is Andrews firepower in the air on corners.  I know he goes up but the corner-kickers not findin him. 

Man if he get his head on a good corner is trouble.  A time I see in the Scottish league a man breaks from his header on goal.

Someone made the comment that we need a free-kick taker.  That same man should send in the corners for Dog.  If we could find such a man.

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2005, 01:53:28 AM »
Good lyrics Flex.

And yes I'm MYSTIFIED how we could train for a month.

And in A WC QUALIFIER. not hve a better FK specialist.

It's embarassing. It's like we giving back the FK to the opposition and saying no thanks.

Perhaps Dwar. and Spann could help out here.

Peace,

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2005, 06:49:05 AM »
flex, nice round up, and it seemed a most honest and realistic assumption that we still have a wonderfull chance to qualify.

our problems are on de left wing (samuels would have been a nice try-out but i eh see him on de goal cup roster) and in the middle behind the two strikers.

I agree that birchall must play, he didnt have a good game by the standards he has set in the other games but i think it more has to with whiltley's inablilty to get in the game a little more!

Up front (touches and patriot might kill me for this but..) i still thknk we need stern.  ninety minutes might be too much but he is still a deadly player!

Even though he missing, it amazes me to note that he still finds himself in position to have all those chances.  I hope that he works on his fitness and loses that 10 pounds he seems to have in excess!

Sam (who is meh player) looked good, yesterday and i tell you he is a great asset to have on de bench! strangely enough, he does not play well when he starts but he must be an automatic 65-70 minute substitute!

Avery JOhn was de man last night. nuff respect!! i just shows how stupid bertile was !!

Ah hope spann and samuels get into this team!

« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2005, 07:20:11 AM »
Camps: Poor refereeing robbed us once again.
By Walter Alibey.

Refereeing has always been a problem for Trinidad and Tobago in World Cup qualifiers and Wednesday night’s loss to Mexico was another statistic of that.
The Warriors conceded a 63rd minute off-side goal that secured the win for the home team, well before the final whistle had gone.
Coach Leo Beenhakker was seen probably fisting the atmosphere around him, as the Mexican players as well as the fans could have hardly believed, not only the luck of that goal, but the audacity of the referee to allow it.
Mexican striker Jared Borgetti stood almost rooted to the ground when an earlier shot by Ramon Morales came off goalkeeper Kelvin Jack and unto his boot.
Well he could have blown on the ball and it would have scored, so close was he to the goal line, but chose to go for safety.
The Dutch-born coach employed a few tactics thereafter, with the use of strikers Hector Sam and Gary Glasgow in an all out attack for an equalising goal. The Warriors’ attempt to silence the home crowd could well have come when Brent Rahim, who was introduced for Autis Whitley in the midfield, fired a low grounder which goalkeeper Oswaldo Sanchez pushed wide of a post, diving to his right.
Trinidad and Tobago’s Football Federation (TTFF) president Oliver Camps said he was totally dissatisfied with the level of refereeing but noted sadly it always happens to this country. He said, "From where we were sitting, it was a plain off-side goal but as usual the referee allowed it to the home team."
The local football boss added that the game against the Panamanians here at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Sunday last was even more dissatisfying, as the Jamaican-born referee Peter Pendergast allowed a number of fouls and other bookable offences to go past him.
In 1973 a star-studded Trinidad and Tobago team including football icons Leroy Deleon, Everald "Gally" Cummings and Steve David hammered six goals past Haiti but was robbed of the chance to go to World Cup ’74 finals in Germany by Canadian officials who waived off five and Haiti scored late through Sanon to win 2-1.
Camps lamented we have not been very lucky with referees during World Cup qualifying matches and noted, it has been that way for a long time now.
He, however, said hats-off to the local team which did a good job, this despite the final result.
He made it clear that the team would have to make up the lost points in other matches.
Camps said the team has improved a lot, which is reflective of the work that they have put in, in such a short space of time.
He said with more improvement, the team is almost certain to secure a place in the World Cup finals for the first time in our history.

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2005, 07:26:17 AM »
Well he could have blown on the ball and it would have scored, so close was he to the goal line, but chose to go for safety.

Did Alibey really say this??  How ironic is that?

Offline xangosi

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2005, 07:38:53 AM »
Good roundup Flex...just goes to show the fellas on this site light years ahead of the reporters in T&T. Just now yuh go see paragraphs and phrases taken off this site and quoted in the papers (probably without credit).

On the freekicks...it baffles me how we can't produce a specialist. Ah real freekick specialist. Is like we need ah coach just fuh dat ???

Its true Trinimassive. I do not post much, but have been following this site for some time now.  It just occurred to me that I have almost 30 football websites bookmarked, but I come here first (and sometimes only) when I want updates, info, and entertainment.  Wifey cyah understand how I could be laughing so much on a soccer site.  Big Ups to Tallman and Flex in particular.  Much respect for the knowledge and research.  Going to the Panama and Colombia games in the Orange Bowl, July 9 and 11.  Hope to meet others from this website at the games.

« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2005, 07:39:56 AM »
For real, that first goal Mexico score looked off-side. I have to watch that game again.

Offline gohb

« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2005, 08:12:22 AM »
Hi, this is Peter Goldstein, the CONCACAF reporter from Planet World Cup (www.planetworldcup.com). As some of you know, I'm a big fan of this site. My piece on the Hexagonal rounds 4-5 won't be up for another week or so, but I just wanted to say how very impressed I was with T&T's performance against Mexico. For the first time in a long time, I saw a T&T that's really ready to compete for a World Cup berth. Like I said, my column will be up in about a week.

« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2005, 08:23:04 AM »
Hi, this is Peter Goldstein, the CONCACAF reporter from Planet World Cup (www.planetworldcup.com). As some of you know, I'm a big fan of this site. My piece on the Hexagonal rounds 4-5 won't be up for another week or so, but I just wanted to say how very impressed I was with T&T's performance against Mexico. For the first time in a long time, I saw a T&T that's really ready to compete for a World Cup berth. Like I said, my column will be up in about a week.

many thanks on behalf of all. I must give you some props for your honest assessment and articles on Planet. Good job keep it up.

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2005, 08:41:26 AM »
Mr Peter Goldstein.

Thanks for the kind words, you do good write up, it will be interesting to see what you may write up on T&T this time.  :D

Dont forget to big us up here us well, because you know you get alot of info right here.

Leh we know when yuh done.

Offline slates

• Big-up L'Anse Mitan Carenage
« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2005, 09:10:39 AM »
On the "free-kick" issue, we do need a coach for that. At the very least, we need one or two players to train specifically for that, among other aspects of the game of course. A man won't just walk up to a ball in the middle of a game and consistently produce threatening free-kicks without spending nuff time dedicated to perfecting his kicks. I am sure David Beckham and Roberto Carlos didn't just turn out to be good free-kick takers by chance. They had to work on it.

I remember years back, with a WC approaching (Mexico, I think), hearing that Brazil had a player who trains by himself, only taking free-kicks (don't know if that was indeed true). But lo and behold, come the WC, a fella named Eder emerged. Who remembers the thundering goal he scored against Rudssia in that WC, to bring Brazil back from 1 - 0 down to eventually win 2 - 1?
« Last Edit: June 10, 2005, 09:12:32 AM by slates »
Toujour Pret!

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2005, 05:11:50 PM »
flex, you hit the nail on the head with those assessments.

mr. goldstein, your reports are good, you do your homework well

« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2005, 07:16:16 AM »
Something I don't think we have been utilising properly is Andrews firepower in the air on corners.  I know he goes up but the corner-kickers not findin him. 

Man if he get his head on a good corner is trouble.  A time I see in the Scottish league a man breaks from his header on goal.

Someone made the comment that we need a free-kick taker.  That same man should send in the corners for Dog.  If we could find such a man.

Very good point. Andrews could be secret weapon, but must be covered well in the fast counter attack

Offline Benjie

« Reply #21 on: June 12, 2005, 08:38:49 AM »
First not Maurice Alibey, Walter is younger former player of the QRC with Hector Sam and Jeremy Short.

Second, Spann is good on Free Kicks and Birchall isn't bad either. The fact is we trained for a month but the primary headers were not here. They had limited practices on corner play.

One of the problems is that we do not have central Midfielders but two converted players. Part of the problem is that Birchall is more accustomed to playing on the Right wing and drifts over there a lot. Whitley is still learning his position and sometimes gets lost so maybe we need a little more communication in the middle. I know that it will soon come good but they are still learning their game. For carlos I do not think he has lost it but rather the team needs to train those situations more for him to get the pace of their runs and the angles that they take. In time that will come. We do need a left midfielder or to change the system  into a 433 but we are very imbalanced on the left hand side. Mexico exploited the right bias of the team to create space by pulling players here and there and then running through the revealed channels.

I cannot select the first Eleven because there re so many that can start I an for once satisfied but we have to resolve the left sided issue. The others will work out themselves with time.

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #22 on: June 12, 2005, 03:17:37 PM »

Can TnT really make it to Germany without a striker?  We are all optimistic, some believe and some can't believe so yet.

Beenhakker needs to do an intense search for the best combination of strikers.  It is time to drop Stern John.  Kevin Nelson should be inlcuded in the search as well as strikers from the pro-league teams.

« Reply #23 on: June 13, 2005, 11:12:42 AM »
Storebay  you is ah mad man oui. You drinking too much ah babash. Wey all yuh  does from ! Who agreeing with de limer?

« Reply #24 on: June 13, 2005, 11:15:03 AM »
How dey go drop stern ? Oh God man crazy in dis place oui !

Offline phantomtrini

« Reply #25 on: June 13, 2005, 01:21:51 PM »
This Trini Warrior was truly impressed by the leaps and bounds improvement of attitude, (not skill because it was laways there) and committment by the Guys. I already have my money put aside for Germany!

Next game in Trinidad i have another special costume. Come to the game and you will see!

Laterz

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #26 on: June 13, 2005, 08:42:46 PM »
How dey go drop stern ? Oh God man crazy in dis place oui !

Have you seen Stern play lately?  In the USA game, the ball was delivered to his chest, all he had to do was head it into the goal, or trap and blast it into goal. What did he do? Touch the ball with his upper arm.  He was offside three or four times in the USA game.
IN the game against Mexico, look at his wasted shot after some nice work by Yorke.  Yorke fended off one defender, dribbled pass another and  in the classic scenario drew the other defender towards him, then pass the ball --at a good pace-- between defenders to Stern. You know the rest of the story: Stern almost predictably could not find the back of the net.  In the game against Guatemala he was a non-factor.  See the other match reports.  If Stern is on the squad, all one can do is to hope (and hope against the evidence) that he regains his form.

Offline rocwell

« Reply #27 on: June 13, 2005, 09:37:30 PM »
Have you seen Stern play lately? In the USA game, the ball was delivered to his chest, all he had to do was head it into the goal, or trap and blast it into goal. What did he do? Touch the ball with his upper arm. He was offside three or four times in the USA game.
IN the game against Mexico, look at his wasted shot after some nice work by Yorke. Yorke fended off one defender, dribbled pass another and in the classic scenario drew the other defender towards him, then pass the ball --at a good pace-- between defenders to Stern. You know the rest of the story: Stern almost predictably could not find the back of the net. In the game against Guatemala he was a non-factor. See the other match reports. If Stern is on the squad, all one can do is to hope (and hope against the evidence) that he regains his form.

Didn't Stern just score against Panama?

« Reply #28 on: June 14, 2005, 04:32:18 AM »
Jack could ah save both goals, he need to grab de dam ball and not punch it away so much,,, de first goal I believe we defenders mess him up a little, but de second one was stopable,,,, but he did try his best and made one or two great saves.

We defence hold good, Avery made that defence better, but all 4 men did a good job, two lapse in defence and 2 goals was scored, Leo need to help them players keep concentrated throughtout the game.

We 4 midfielders did good to, more of the attack was from the right, with Yorke, Birchall, Charles running up and Edwards mainly. Birchall when he settle in he looked good, I still think the best is yet to come from Whitley also, he seems a class player, but both Whitley and Brichall is to inexperience midfielders and it shows, lets hope they get their chance for the gold cup so they can gain some exposure. Theobald had sputs in and out, but not to good on the left wing, I would love to see him more center.

Yorke dont look like he has that killer striking instinct up front anymore, but he has a major part in midfield, he made some class passes and worked hard, he also help tackle.

Stern John, lard hav his mercy, de man could whine like a ball ah twine. Stern !!! this is not Man-U or Real Madrid, you have to work for your ball, we dont have a Beckham or Zidane to place ball on yuh head everytime, even though Edwards did put de ball on yuh head once and it went wide and when yuh miss is complaining !! what de hell is that man... catch back yuhself and become de Stern John we all know once.... de man who use to shoot from anyway on de field, de man who coulda light up defenders ?? come on Stern T&T needs you. Rahim came on and had more shots on goal than Stern did whole game, Bennie shoulda put Stern in left wing, put Theobald center and put Rahim up front with Sam.

Bennie Man had de team playing good, but a few fine tune is needed, they look good on de right midfield, de left was a dead link most of de times. We need fire coming off de bench.

I believe we woulda score if we wasn't playing in Mexico, our team was playing cautious.

We need some creativity in our midfield and this is why Dwarika should be considered or move Whitley up more. Something like this.

Jack                 
Charles     Andrews      Lawrence      Avery
Birchall                Whitley                Edwards
                          Yorke                         
                   John          Jones

Dwarika or Eve for Yorke
Theobald for Birchall
Glasgow or Tiger for Edwards
Rahim for Whitley
Glen for John
Sam for Jones
« Last Edit: June 14, 2005, 04:44:49 AM by Flex »

« Reply #29 on: June 14, 2005, 05:26:25 AM »
Allyuh keep dissing Stern but once again he was the only striker with any real attempts at goal.
How many shots did Dwight take whole game?  And I not counting that free kick which wouldn't even have scored in a rugby post.  He did set Stern up a couple times but he needs to shoot more.

ps I looked at the match again and the very close header that bounced near the post just before Mex score was Stern not Dwight, in fact from a deflected Birchall free kick the ball flew over Dwight's head and Stern was right behind him to meet it.  The commentators were confused too and then they showed a close up of Dwight holding his head in disbelief, which is why many on this forum felt it was Dwight that had it.