March 28, 2024, 12:43:19 PM

Author Topic: Bruce Arena: Australia & T&T are the two weakest teams in the 2006 WC.  (Read 33784 times)

Offline sprog

Re: Bruce Arena: Australia & T&T are the two weakest teams in the 2006 WC.
« Reply #180 on: July 20, 2006, 01:09:21 PM »
just goes to prove what an arse he is

« Reply #181 on: March 04, 2007, 06:10:35 AM »
I wonder what Bruce Arena is up to now.... he paid for his big mouth....

What was the USA record at the 2006 world cup I forgot can anyone remind me....

« Reply #182 on: March 04, 2007, 10:21:05 AM »

He is the coach of the NY/NJ Red Bulls in the MLS
USA record at the WC was 0-3  ;D I know that was a rhetorical question

And since you open back up the can of worms you should go back and read what he really said. This long thread was a result of ignorance and dislike of US soccer. Fact is Bruce Arena said there are no weak teams in WC2006. He said if you look at the field you would think that T&T and Australia were the weakest teams because of their lack of experience at the WC. But T&T has Dwight Yorke who was once arguably the best striker in the world and the practically the entire Australian team plays in the EPL. So they are both dangerous. I obviously am not quoting his exact words, but that is the gist of it. Of course the tabloids like bachanal and their headlines read that Arena say T&T and Australia were the weakest. Sine then a transcript and online video of what he actually said surfaced and this should be dead and buried.

But his mouth real big and his arrogance was astounding. Nobody really like him so noone cares  :D his mouth did cost him his job, but only because he stood up against the USSF and their bull. If we had a coach he stood up against the TTFF and he got fired..he would be a hero. So I actually give him some props for that.

« Reply #183 on: March 04, 2007, 10:25:08 AM »

USA record at the WC was 0-3   ;D I know that was a rhetorical question

it was actually 0-2-1 (W-L-D)

« Reply #184 on: March 04, 2007, 12:20:01 PM »

oh yeah..they did tie against Italy

« Reply #185 on: March 05, 2007, 06:58:29 AM »

USA record at the WC was 0-3  ;D I know that was a rhetorical question

And since you open back up the can of worms you should go back and read what he really said. This long thread was a result of ignorance and dislike of US soccer. Fact is Bruce Arena said there are no weak teams in WC2006. He said if you look at the field you would think that T&T and Australia were the weakest teams because of their lack of experience at the WC. But T&T has Dwight Yorke who was once arguably the best striker in the world and the practically the entire Australian team plays in the EPL. So they are both dangerous. I obviously am not quoting his exact words, but that is the gist of it. Of course the tabloids like bachanal and their headlines read that Arena say T&T and Australia were the weakest. Sine then a transcript and online video of what he actually said surfaced and this should be dead and buried.

But his mouth real big and his arrogance was astounding. Nobody really like him so noone cares  :D his mouth did cost him his job, but only because he stood up against the USSF and their bull. If we had a coach he stood up against the TTFF and he got fired..he would be a hero. So I actually give him some props for that.

But seriously though Filho, even based on what he did actually say, shouldn't have bruce arena been wise enough and media-savvy enough to know that somebody somewhere would take what he said out of context and, to avoid any controversy, just simply declare something along the lines of "....there are no weak teams in a World Cup.  Everybody that makes it there deserves to be there...." kinda ting,....and leave it at that?  Maybe (again) I am being a little too ideal in my views, but bruce and the USA (regardless of their result against Italy) could hardly have looked at their group going into the WC and really expected to do all that well.  I woulda tell them/that reporter "....I have my own tough group to worry about , blah, blah, blah" and leave it at dat.  Maybe that is asking too much of his level of arrogance in truth.

Offline TRUwarrior

« Reply #186 on: March 05, 2007, 09:34:11 AM »
Arena is ah real C.U.Next.Tuesday!!!!!

« Reply #187 on: March 05, 2007, 09:42:20 AM »

Well they did not score, it was an own goal

« Reply #188 on: March 05, 2007, 09:48:00 AM »

Does that mean they lost?

« Reply #189 on: March 05, 2007, 09:49:21 AM »

all goals count. but if you want to go there....they scored against Ghana. so the US scored at least 1 'legit' goal.

« Reply #190 on: March 05, 2007, 10:06:06 AM »
   But seriously though Filho, even based on what he did actually say, shouldn't have bruce arena been wise enough and media-savvy enough to know that somebody somewhere would take what he said out of context and, to avoid any controversy, just simply declare something along the lines of "....there are no weak teams in a World Cup.  Everybody that makes it there deserves to be there...." kinda ting,....and leave it at that?  Maybe (again) I am being a little too ideal in my views, but bruce and the USA (regardless of their result against Italy) could hardly have looked at their group going into the WC and really expected to do all that well.  I woulda tell them/that reporter "....I have my own tough group to worry about , blah, blah, blah" and leave it at dat.  Maybe that is asking too much of his level of arrogance in truth.

Yeah Chow u have a good point. Wasn't the wisest way to answer the question. I still don't think there was anything mean-spirited behind his statement. But he was a kind of idiot when he was ready, so no surprise that people easily believed he said that. It was inkeeping with his public persona

« Reply #191 on: March 05, 2007, 10:35:05 AM »

Yeah Chow u have a good point. Wasn't the wisest way to answer the question. I still don't think there was anything mean-spirited behind his statement. But he was a kind of idiot when he was ready, so no surprise that people easily believed he said that. It was inkeeping with his public persona

Man, we are always taught, and end up learning many times over,that you should not judge a book by its cover, but if it's one person you could look at and instantly tell is a imps....is he.  :devil:  I think he most times, just couldn't help himself.

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #192 on: March 05, 2007, 07:59:46 PM »
f**k arena and that shit ass us team :devil:
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #193 on: November 22, 2016, 03:42:30 PM »
Will Bruce is back as US coach.

« Reply #194 on: November 22, 2016, 07:13:14 PM »
I forgot about this thread....hoping we can beat them in June just for his comments :praying:

« Reply #195 on: November 22, 2016, 11:05:13 PM »
Well with Bruce Arena back at the helm there is no chance for T+T to qualify for WC 2018.
The eventual results of the Hex would be as follows:

Costa Rica
USA
Mexico
Panama
Trinidad and Tobago
Honduras

Sorry fans it's over.

« Reply #196 on: November 23, 2016, 05:41:09 AM »
Well with Bruce Arena back at the helm there is no chance for T+T to qualify for WC 2018.
The eventual results of the Hex would be as follows:

Costa Rica
USA
Mexico
Panama
Trinidad and Tobago
Honduras

Sorry fans it's over.

Respectfully, disagree. Not out of emotion. Time to teach surly Bruce Arena a lesson. And I am not convinced by Panama's endurance. Long journey.

« Reply #197 on: November 23, 2016, 09:37:43 AM »
2 games in and you're already throwing in the towel? Yes it's a bad start and there might be conflict in the office as well but we still have a long way to go and plenty of room to improve. We can do this!

The team arena had back then was alot better than the current team now.

« Reply #198 on: November 23, 2016, 10:53:52 AM »
What some folks seem to realize about the modern game is that it's modern.  Nothing is what is used to be.  Yanks are still gonna struggle.  Hopefully we can do enough but as we've shown in the past.  We can play with CR, Mexico and the USA. 

« Reply #199 on: November 23, 2016, 05:17:28 PM »
We will qualify as long as David stays out of our coaching and team selection.. he is the reason we are losing..

« Reply #200 on: November 23, 2016, 08:07:37 PM »
the bully football is back, and that's what works best for them. these boys could not play klinsman system, it was too high for their little minds to comprehend, it's like feeding sponge cake to hogs.

now watch those hogs roll over every body, hard luck T&T, qatar here we come???  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #201 on: October 11, 2017, 08:11:57 AM »
Bruce Arena

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #202 on: October 11, 2017, 08:12:55 AM »
A little respect in the Caribbean.
A good day for Caribbean football

Haiti ties Asian soccer power house, world cup bound Japan 3-3 in Japan (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2jkm9CGmvTk)

Curacao beats Qatar 2-1 in Qatar (by the way Qatar recently defeated Russia 2-1)(Both, future host of the next world cups )

Trinidad eliminates USA 2-1 for the 2018 world cup.

« Last Edit: October 11, 2017, 08:17:36 AM by truehaitian »