April 25, 2024, 04:01:03 PM

Author Topic: WC worst player and or most disappointing player ?  (Read 18619 times)

Offline dutchman

WC worst player and or most disappointing player ?
« on: June 28, 2006, 05:25:55 PM »
I mean level that we're glad its gone home.

For me the Keeper from Saudi Arabia when he fell or ''slipped-dived" before the ball even arrived.
( this after an whole set of other bad moves )

second all his other moves 
I think that was one of WC worst players.
What you all think ?

« Last Edit: June 28, 2006, 05:40:39 PM by dutchman »
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.

Re: WC worst player ?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2006, 05:29:52 PM »
maybe you could reword it to say "worst" in de aspect of the one player ppl expected much more from but play level tata

for me it is michael owen

Re: WC worst player and or most disappointing player ?
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2006, 05:36:28 PM »
honestly so far for me its ronaldiniho..and dais jus caus eof the hype..but ..he great so give him time...and most dissapointin eh not worse..lol
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2006, 05:51:11 PM »
Stern John.

Talk done.
-be the change you wish to see-

« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2006, 05:53:22 PM »
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2006, 06:00:03 PM »
Stern John.

Talk done.

de man beat disgruntled to it... :o

« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2006, 06:02:32 PM »
Stern John.

Talk done.

sin is a womanlol

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2006, 06:03:29 PM »
Stern John.

Talk done.

I'm a FEMALE. And I never jump on the anti-stern bandwagon, but T&T had only SEVEN shots on goal for the whole world cup - a couple from glen, and oh look, a buncha offsides...
-be the change you wish to see-

« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2006, 06:05:14 PM »
she right stern only had one....and that came of his shoulder though it almost scored..it didnt

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2006, 06:22:37 PM »
To be fair Sin...Stern eh exactly get the kinda service he does thrive on because of de way we play.  Of course....if he did try to put heself in positions to get service like run into a few channels....create some movement etc...then he mighta get some service....but Stern has never been that kind of striker.  De man is a in de box finisher....and we eh really create too much chances IN DE BOX in de 3 games.

« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2006, 06:26:50 PM »
Stern John.

Talk done.

I'm a FEMALE. And I never jump on the anti-stern bandwagon, but T&T had only SEVEN shots on goal for the whole world cup - a couple from glen, and oh look, a buncha offsides...

Sorry darling. Will you let me make up for my absolute lack of tact and discernment by having the honour of buying you a drink? ;)

I agree that Stern was disappointing, but knowing the kind of player he is and having seen the matches, I'm no surprised. He's no Henry (who by the way hasn't done terribly well either), no Rooner, no Sheva.

If I had to compare him to any striker from the top rated nations (before the cup) in his gameplay, I'd say he plays like a much shorter Koller. That said, I also saw the statistics on the number of passes he played and for a pointman its impressive. what it basically means he was getting more balls to hold up the defense and feedback to the midfielders, 2nd striker for long shots and runs into space (very rare) than exploitable balls not obliging him to put his back to goal.

That said , i really hope he rediscovers the Stern Turn before the end of his career...a large part of his attacking arsenal has gone MIA since he lost it.

« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2006, 06:40:12 PM »
That said , i really hope he rediscovers the Stern Turn before the end of his career...a large part of his attacking arsenal has gone MIA since he lost it.

Since his knee injury shortly after getting to England....and subsequent knee worries, he doesn't have the sharpness to beat his defender with that move again.  He did it once and scored when he was with Birmingham in the EPL and the newspapers raved how it was reminiscent of Cryuff but alas....that proved to be an anomaly.

« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2006, 07:21:13 PM »
To be fair Sin...Stern eh exactly get the kinda service he does thrive on because of de way we play.  Of course....if he did try to put heself in positions to get service like run into a few channels....create some movement etc...then he mighta get some service....but Stern has never been that kind of striker.  De man is a in de box finisher....and we eh really create too much chances IN DE BOX in de 3 games.

I'm reading and waiting for you say he's not a world class striker period,and never will be. 

« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2006, 07:23:32 PM »
I wouldn't say he's the worst player because he getting real chances but Lampard need to fix his compass.  Dat man throw way more than anybody else I see so far.

« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2006, 07:45:18 PM »

me too :devil:

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #15 on: June 28, 2006, 07:52:04 PM »
yeah but we had more shots that the Unit :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:ed States
All American

« Reply #16 on: June 28, 2006, 08:03:49 PM »
yeah but we had more shots that the Unit :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:ed States

Yeah, they only had four.

Offline skatetackle

« Reply #17 on: June 28, 2006, 08:19:58 PM »
I would agree that the keeper for Saudi was not up to par with the other Goalies we've seen on WC '06 stage. Funny enough I was telling someone that a few days ago.

« Reply #18 on: June 28, 2006, 08:33:01 PM »
My list of disapointments includes any player who dive, head butt, grab dey face when the other player eh come close to touchng his face etc. .  That is one aspect of the game we could do without.

« Reply #19 on: June 28, 2006, 08:36:00 PM »
Is every topic it have all yuh does twist into ah Stern John post....we Trini really good oui!!!  outta all de hundred n sumtin players in de WC de only man all yuh cud come up wid is TnT leading goal scorer,yuh eh see all yuh only hatin all yuh self ....ah guess becuz crouch 'score' ah goal he was'nt one ah de 'worst' players or most 'dissappointing' in de WC........

........we still pelting kick at we own stones !!!! :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:

« Reply #20 on: June 28, 2006, 09:21:14 PM »
micheal owen is my pick.......he was awful in those 2 games he played.

« Reply #21 on: June 28, 2006, 09:26:35 PM »
I would go with DeMarcus Beasely from the USA... (In Fact the Whole USA team ;D)

I hope fifa aint look the USA performance and take back concacaf 3.5 places next time

« Reply #22 on: June 28, 2006, 09:46:02 PM »
I hope fifa aint look the USA performance and take back concacaf 3.5 places next time

de only ting FIFA will have to do with de states is revise de whole ranking ting.

by de way big dawg, what allyuh do after de paraguay game?

« Reply #23 on: June 28, 2006, 10:49:18 PM »
Landon Donovan - well...not really disappointing..he was always overrated by the yanks

Ronaldinho....SO FAR.  Nowhere close to his ability thus far

Zlatan Ibrahimovich......when he ON....he is one of the best striekrs in the world...other than a glimpse here and there..he was pretty woeful this tournament.

Michael Owen......nuff said already

Frank Lampard thus far......cyah shoot straight at all

Roque Santa Cruz.....did NADAS for the tournament despite his star billing

Pavel Nedved.....sorry Pavel....but like yuh gone thru..ah know yuh did retire, dey beg yuh to come back and yuh bow to de pressha...but based on wha u didn't do in dis tournament...bess yuh did stay retired.

SO....outta all a dem.....

WORST PLAYER.....tie wit Michael Owen & Landon Donovan

MOST DISAPPOINTING PLAYER TO DATE......Ronaldinho wit Zlatan as runner up.

« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2006, 10:51:44 PM »
the man ask who is the worse or most disappointing player

Stern would be a foregone conclusion I know it would ah be shit from jumpstreet I eh know why Big Mag and dem thought otherwise. He eh the worse or most diappointing he was jes being Stern.
*I should ah bet him that case ah beers*
Matter of fact I now see the criminal. I went meh sister graduation in Crown Plaza and I see him walk in with ah smile on he face like he do something good. Then again he is a millionaire so why not smile.

yet a next man trying to justify Sperm and he shit

« Reply #25 on: June 28, 2006, 11:00:44 PM »
Stern John.

Talk done.

unfortuately shes right..

« Reply #26 on: June 28, 2006, 11:10:41 PM »
Landon Donovan- magazines Soccer America, Espn and FSN, rated him as a great young world class striker, who chose to stay in the US because de MlS is one of de best leagues in de world.  Before de US first game everytime you saw de US team in Mags, Ads Joga Bonito ads etc. You see Donovan scoring ah goal.

When I look at de games, I was whey de dey on de field. I keep double checking.

and de whole Facking Spanish team and dey racist Coach.

Offline SweetParkie

« Reply #27 on: June 28, 2006, 11:38:09 PM »
Most disappointing...

Landon Donovan - waste of time, and not even good eye candy.

KELLER Kasey - from the pre games complaints about the new balls to his performance during the matches

Ronaldinho - where him on the field? - I might see him next game...

Frank Lampard - how much shots yuh could have on goal and still not score! Laud farder!

Stern John - forever waiting in an off-side position and when good freaking balls come to yuh, cyar even knock it in (last match only)

Rooney - haven't seen what all the hype is about yet - maybe next game!

'
The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy!

Trinidadians unite and respect each other!!!

Offline UK_Soca_warrior

« Reply #28 on: June 29, 2006, 01:17:50 AM »
There have been many disappointing players including:
Ronaldhino,
The entire England midfield,
Landon Donavan (Landon who  ???) and Demacus Beasley,
Zlatan
Raul (when he played)
Zizou, Henry, to name a few.

But as a Trini, truth be known, Stern was very disappointing to me. Not the worst, just disappointing.Now I know this site have lots of Stern John supporters. Let me just say I am not hater, just calling what I observe. Whether he be in de box, out de box, target man, down de channel man or whatever, he didnt perform as I thought.

But I personally dont think Stern will be a starter come 2010. To me we looked far more dangerous when Glen came on, because he had speed, and was running at defenders. Thats what Rooney does, Sheva, Henry and its suitable to this level of football.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2006, 01:30:21 AM by UK_Soca_warrior »

Offline dutchman

« Reply #29 on: June 29, 2006, 01:55:27 AM »
I don't think Stern is great myself.
But he has a tremendous good thing. ( I think)
POSSESION
He can receive a ball and not get it stolen or lost for at least 10-20 seconds.
This even with 3 or 2 top English defenders around !
Taking out the pace of the game and giving a moment of peace to the defense.
I think he did his role quite well , of course if would have been better if he scored.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2006, 03:35:13 AM by dutchman »
Rumor has it that every other thing you read or hear is just a rumor.