April 23, 2024, 12:33:08 AM

Author Topic: WC worst player and or most disappointing player ?  (Read 18605 times)

Offline sin

• wordspinner
  • red GIRL from sando, kairi
Re: WC worst player and or most disappointing player ?
« Reply #30 on: June 29, 2006, 02:01:35 AM »

Sorry darling. Will you let me make up for my absolute lack of tact and discernment by having the honour of buying you a drink? ;)

Tu t'es passés trop de temps avec les français monsieur Midknight ;p

Is every topic it have all yuh does twist into ah Stern John post....we Trini really good oui!!!  outta all de hundred n sumtin players in de WC de only man all yuh cud come up wid is TnT leading goal scorer,yuh eh see all yuh only hatin all yuh self ....ah guess becuz crouch 'score' ah goal he was'nt one ah de 'worst' players or most 'dissappointing' in de WC........

........we still pelting kick at we own stones !!!! :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:

And no, Berris, it is not "every topic" that I look to twist into a Stern John post. This is the first time I've really criticised John (or any player, other than Kelvin Jack...) on this forum. John was my most disappointing player. I was banging my head too at all them offsides, at his loafing, at his blasted stupid grin when he threw away opportunities. He might be our leading goal scorer, but he did nothing for three games to deserve my praise or my admiration. Is he the best we have to offer to the world? Will he lead us to goal-scoring glory in 2010? I doubt.
That is not self-hatred. That is a rational appraisal of the facts.
-be the change you wish to see-

« Reply #31 on: June 29, 2006, 04:13:59 AM »
My picks...

De whole friggin US team!!!....

De whole English team....(ah yell out in de stadium how england need ah injured man to help dem (when de Uk fans was calling out fuh Rooney) and ah English man in front mih hit mih one cut eye...)...mih eh know why some team eh hurry up and put dem  out de damn tournament!!!

Ronaldinho....so far...

Ibramovich....

And ah going to say it.......friggin STERN JOHN.....de only time we attack look potent was when Glenn was on de field....dat Stern boy hopeless....and ah thank him for all dem 60 something goal he score before de tournament start but he eh score when in de big dance so there....vex nah mih eh care!!!

« Reply #32 on: June 29, 2006, 05:26:40 AM »
I don't think Stern is great myself.
But he has a tremendous good thing. ( I think)
POSSESION
He can receive a ball and not get it stolen or lost for at least 10-20 seconds.
This even with 3 or 2 top English defenders around !
Taking out the pace of the game and giving a moment of peace to the defense.
I think he did his role quite well , of course if would have been better if he scored.

yes i noticed that... his chest control in particular is excellent.

« Reply #33 on: June 29, 2006, 06:40:48 AM »
Remember dear forumites..

A ship cannot sail on yesterdays wind...

Berris take note.

« Reply #34 on: June 29, 2006, 06:45:05 AM »
the most disappointing was the head butt from Figo- who woulda think a man with his experience would do something so low???
that game disintegrated into a farce
I saw in an article that Becks and the english are looking forward to a 'physical' game against Portugal- hope it doesn't turn into a brawl...

« Reply #35 on: June 29, 2006, 06:46:16 AM »
Clayton Ince.

Offline Swomp

« Reply #36 on: June 29, 2006, 07:52:15 AM »
Is every topic it have all yuh does twist into ah Stern John post....we Trini really good oui!!!  outta all de hundred n sumtin players in de WC de only man all yuh cud come up wid is TnT leading goal scorer,yuh eh see all yuh only hatin all yuh self ....ah guess becuz crouch 'score' ah goal he was'nt one ah de 'worst' players or most 'dissappointing' in de WC........

........we still pelting kick at we own stones !!!! :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :cheers:

« Reply #37 on: June 29, 2006, 07:57:04 AM »
Man saying Ronaldinho is d worst player in dis cup so far...
Real ppl eh know nuttin bout football i realize

« Reply #38 on: June 29, 2006, 08:06:21 AM »

Ah tink whoever say dat...must be mean most disspointed in his performance thus far

we want to see de big teet man air spanner 3 defender and flick some activator off he pony tail into de keeper eye before scoring

yuh cyah deny he has been quiet

« Reply #39 on: June 29, 2006, 08:13:51 AM »

Ah tink whoever say dat...must be mean most disspointed in his performance thus far

we want to see de big teet man air spanner 3 defender and flick some activator off he pony tail into de keeper eye before scoring

yuh cyah deny he has been quiet

I don't think he was quiet against Japan, he controlled that game

« Reply #40 on: June 29, 2006, 08:37:26 AM »
Landon Donovan...what ah non-performance at this WC, perhaps he can make ammends in 2010.

« Reply #41 on: June 29, 2006, 08:39:03 AM »
Is every topic it have all yuh does twist into ah Stern John post....we Trini really good oui!!!  outta all de hundred n sumtin players in de WC de only man all yuh cud come up wid is TnT leading goal scorer,yuh eh see all yuh only hatin all yuh self ....ah guess becuz crouch 'score' ah goal he was'nt one ah de 'worst' players or most 'dissappointing' in de WC........

well said Berris :applause: :applause:

« Reply #42 on: June 29, 2006, 08:41:36 AM »
Landon Donovan - well...not really disappointing..he was always overrated by the yanks

Ronaldinho....SO FAR.  Nowhere close to his ability thus far

Zlatan Ibrahimovich......when he ON....he is one of the best striekrs in the world...other than a glimpse here and there..he was pretty woeful this tournament.

Michael Owen......nuff said already

Frank Lampard thus far......cyah shoot straight at all

Roque Santa Cruz.....did NADAS for the tournament despite his star billing

Pavel Nedved.....sorry Pavel....but like yuh gone thru..ah know yuh did retire, dey beg yuh to come back and yuh bow to de pressha...but based on wha u didn't do in dis tournament...bess yuh did stay retired.

SO....outta all a dem.....

WORST PLAYER.....tie wit Michael Owen & Landon Donovan

MOST DISAPPOINTING PLAYER TO DATE......Ronaldinho wit Zlatan as runner up.

Palos ah have to strongly disagree wid dis one. AH find Pavel played his heart out juss couldn't do it all, plus wid Koller out he/they were handicapped.

« Reply #43 on: June 29, 2006, 08:43:38 AM »
On a team full of stars there is no need for ronaldinho to be doing anything except his role.....anybody at anytime can take over the game..ronaldo, kaka, anybody..is not like barcelona where he have to take the game into his hands..that said you will see the true character once the games get closer

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #44 on: June 29, 2006, 08:50:15 AM »
ha arrow Lampard dont need a compass, he need a GPS. ;D ;D ;D. Seriously Stern played in the top leagues EPL and should know, if you that if you are not getting balls through the space to ran onto, lay the ball off to the midfielder who will ran into those spaces. Drop off to the midfield pickup the ball and ran at defenders. just my two cents.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

Offline Pompey

« Reply #45 on: June 29, 2006, 08:51:18 AM »
Landon Donovan- magazines Soccer America, Espn and FSN, rated him as a great young world class striker, who chose to stay in the US because de MlS is one of de best leagues in de world
Not because no one in Europe wanted him then  ::)

Ronaldo disappoints me, but he has still scored a hat full of goals.

John Terry has made mistakes and John Terry never makes mistakes, same applies to Paul Robinson. (In fact the same applies to the whole England team)

Can we include Sven, he is just an all round failure and the sooner he is gone the better

Thierry Henry for his reaction to the foul, why did he make out the guy caught him in the face? not like him at all.

The player who had a great tournament (Apart form a couple of costly mistakes) was Yoshikatchu Kowaguchi, the Japanese goalkeeper. When he played for Pompey he started well and made a few mistake which cost him his confidence. The way he conducted him self was an example to all professionals and I am glad to see him doing well.

« Reply #46 on: June 29, 2006, 08:56:57 AM »
Landon Donovan- magazines Soccer America, Espn and FSN, rated him as a great young world class striker, who chose to stay in the US because de MlS is one of de best leagues in de world

John Terry has made mistakes and John Terry never makes mistakes, same applies to Paul Robinson. (In fact the same applies to the whole England team)

Can we include Sven, he is just an all round failure and the sooner he is gone the better

Thierry Henry for his reaction to the foul, why did he make out the guy caught him in the face? not like him at all.

The player who had a great tournament (Apart form a couple of costly mistakes) was Yoshikatchu Kowaguchi, the Japanese goalkeeper. When he played for Pompey he started well and made a few mistake which cost him his confidence. The way he conducted him self was an example to all professionals and I am glad to see him doing well.

Terry save allyuh from an embarassment of historical proportions(goal line clearence). Imagine T&T going up 1 nil on the "mighty" English football team ::)

Offline Pompey

« Reply #47 on: June 29, 2006, 08:59:30 AM »

Terry save allyuh from an embarassment of historical proportions(goal line clearence). Imagine T&T going up 1 nil on the "mighty" English football team ::)

San Marino scored a goal against england after 32 seconds once, although we did go on to beat them about 9-1.

Offline sprog

« Reply #48 on: June 29, 2006, 09:00:12 AM »
Ronaldinho for sure and maybe lampard, both are capable of so much more, and de best, Ronaldo who every body was bad talking proving everyone wrong

« Reply #49 on: June 29, 2006, 09:16:41 AM »
Brazil and Barcelona are 2 different teams with different head coaches and different tactics  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
A quote from Ronaldinho himself courtesy of fifa.com

"I'm playing more centrally and deeper so it means I have less impact in the final third," he admits. "At Barcelona I can go by one man and have a chance to shoot but in my position for Brazil beating two or even three players does not automatically mean I have a sight of goal." With Adriano as well as Ronaldo up front, it means the player from Porto Alegre must fill the space further behind. "The coach has told me that my role is to get the team playing and to manage more the rhthym of play," he explains. "It's something I'm learning and I'm happy to do it because there are 11 stars on the field and nobody thinks of individual glory. I'm not the only one playing in a different role."

« Reply #50 on: June 29, 2006, 09:23:59 AM »

San Marino scored a goal against england after 32 seconds once, although we did go on to beat them about 9-1.
:rotfl: I can assure you that would NEVER happen to Trinidad and Tobago. Not from England, Brazil, Germany, Argentina(especially Argentina) ....nobody!!

Offline sinned

« Reply #51 on: June 29, 2006, 09:27:41 AM »

Read the subject of the thread..we not only talking about worst players --we are talking about most disappointing players. We arent saying Ronaldinho is bad -- we're just pointing out how disappointing he has been in living up to the hype

« Reply #52 on: June 29, 2006, 10:11:41 AM »
Sorry darling. Will you let me make up for my absolute lack of tact and discernment by having the honour of buying you a drink? ;)
Tu t'es passés trop de temps avec les français monsieur Midknight ;p

Well Sparrow say one million frenchmen can't be wrong... Thats a yes?  ;D

« Reply #53 on: June 29, 2006, 11:06:24 AM »

stewpssssss ENT. the man stretch so far to save it he end up hurtin heself.

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #54 on: June 29, 2006, 11:08:17 AM »
Michael owen had only had 5 hours of football all year..u cant blame him for being bad..and only 2 games that is hard 2 judge. I think thats harsh he may have improved in the other games.

Personally i think Frank lampard. he has the ability but he is not finishing..however dont rule him out.once he gets one he will get alot he do that for chelsea all de time. he just needs a goal for confidence. I think he feeling a bit in stevie g shadow at de moment.

Also ronaldinhio has been disapointing. henry has beeen fairly bad. He kept diving in some games .. and he always complains about foreign players diving.

Offline jub02

« Reply #55 on: June 29, 2006, 11:15:46 AM »

U cud say de same about nerly every keeper. Lehman makes mistakes every game but ppl jus laugh it up!
Why u always say sarcastic stuff like " the mighty english" . what is wrong with u . u sound bitter. its realy disrespectful to do dat to any team for me. sweden were more disrespectful to us with ther excuses after the match.

as for the MLS being one of the best leuages in the world.. i cant take that serious . i thought it was the worst

« Reply #56 on: June 29, 2006, 11:22:36 AM »

U cud say de same about nerly every keeper. Lehman makes mistakes every game but ppl jus laugh it up!
Why u always say sarcastic stuff like " the mighty english" . what is wrong with u . u sound bitter. its realy disrespectful to do dat to any team for me. sweden were more disrespectful to us with ther excuses after the match.

as for the MLS being one of the best leuages in the world.. i cant take that serious . i thought it was the worst

The reason for the quote "Mighty English" is because of all the negative press T&T's team received from your English media who thought that with their star-studded team they could beat T&T by 5 or 6 goals to nothing. Perhaps the 6-0 nil defeat of Jamaica got to their collective heads. We showed the world that we are not mere pushovers and that the English team are not so Mighty.

Offline jub02

« Reply #57 on: June 29, 2006, 11:25:38 AM »

The reason for the quote "Mighty English" is because of all the negative press T&T's team received from your English media who thought that with their star-studded team they could beat T&T by 5 or 6 goals to nothing. Perhaps the 6-0 nil defeat of Jamaica got to their collective heads. We showed the world that we are not mere pushovers and that the English team are not so Mighty.

See dis is wot im talking about. the english press did NOT say anything negative about the T&t team and if there was the slightest thing it certainly does not reflect the england team. Nobody said england wud beat t&t by 5 or 6 goals. The english player continually say that " we know trinidad are a stong team and we must not underestimate them ". But wen beckham say that u guys percieved it as " beckham and rooney scared of us" . how can u win without somone changing how it is said.

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #58 on: June 29, 2006, 11:27:37 AM »
the man ask who is the worse or most disappointing player

Stern would be a foregone conclusion I know it would ah be shit from jumpstreet I eh know why Big Mag and dem thought otherwise. He eh the worse or most diappointing he was jes being Stern.
*I should ah bet him that case ah beers*
Matter of fact I now see the criminal. I went meh sister graduation in Crown Plaza and I see him walk in with ah smile on he face like he do something good. Then again he is a millionaire so why not smile.

To be fair Sin...Stern eh exactly get the kinda service he does thrive on because of de way we play.  Of course....if he did try to put heself in positions to get service like run into a few channels....create some movement etc...then he mighta get some service....but Stern has never been that kind of striker.  De man is a in de box finisher....and we eh really create too much chances IN DE BOX in de 3 games.

yet a next man trying to justify Sperm and he shit

SPERM  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:  :rotfl:

I can't even say the man name either. But that real funny.

But I shouldn't laugh he have a million of my tax dollars and he still go cuss we.   :'(  >:(

Offline UK_Soca_warrior

« Reply #59 on: June 29, 2006, 11:36:35 AM »
the man ask who is the worse or most disappointing player

Stern would be a foregone conclusion I know it would ah be shit from jumpstreet I eh know why Big Mag and dem thought otherwise. He eh the worse or most diappointing he was jes being Stern.
*I should ah bet him that case ah beers*
Matter of fact I now see the criminal. I went meh sister graduation in Crown Plaza and I see him walk in with ah smile on he face like he do something good. Then again he is a millionaire so why not smile.

To be fair Sin...Stern eh exactly get the kinda service he does thrive on because of de way we play.  Of course....if he did try to put heself in positions to get service like run into a few channels....create some movement etc...then he mighta get some service....but Stern has never been that kind of striker.  De man is a in de box finisher....and we eh really create too much chances IN DE BOX in de 3 games.

yet a next man trying to justify Sperm and he shit

:rotfl: Atleast sperm does wriggle free from de pack, find space and bury de opportunity! Stern Dont!  :rotfl: