April 29, 2024, 01:34:06 AM

Author Topic: Could Sir Alex be watching Carlos Edwards?  (Read 6331 times)

Could Sir Alex be watching Carlos Edwards?
« on: July 02, 2006, 08:10:59 AM »
Could Sir Alex be watching Carlos Edwards?
T&T Express Reports.

There have been speculative reports in the London Guardian that Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Carlos Edwards could be looked at by Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.
Columnist David Pleat, the former Tottenham Hotspur manager, rated Edwards as one of the top six contenders for the Premiership following their World Cup showing and has Edwards down as one for the future.
"Now apparently settled in the right-back position, his experience in this competition will have added massive confidence to his game," Pleat wrote.
"Against Paraguay, his second-half sorties showed intelligence, both in positioning himself to intercept and speed down the touchline as he saw space ahead and in giving the correct delivery. When the ball needed to be played to a colleague's feet on the edge of the box he passed it with care and when he got more advanced he crossed it with accuracy. It was unfortunate that his teammates could not capitalise on his efforts.
"One would need to watch a little closer to be more aware of his defensive qualities but the initial hybrid that emerged at Wrexham and briefly attracted Premiership scouts seems to have grown into a mature talent.
"In those North Wales days Sir Alex Ferguson paid several trips to Wrexham and it wasn't just to see his son Darren. He was attracted to Edwards' speed but at that stage the raw youngster might not have had the nous required for a move to Manchester United. Yet he has demonstrated in Germany that he may yet flourish on a bigger stage."
Edwards isn't fazed by the added attention on him both abroad and at home since his World Cup showing.
"You always want to be on the big stage and when the chance comes then you want to try to do your best. I think we all did ourselves proud, but it was disappointing that we didn't progress to the second stage. But at the same time we have a lot going for us at this stage and I hope we can all benefit as a nation, as a team and as individuals. I always have ambitions to move on to bigger things and if the opportunity comes along I am sure the right decision will be made," Edwards told Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) media officer Shaun Fuentes.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2006, 04:37:15 PM by Flex »

Offline mr.talented

Re: Could Sir Alex be watching Carlos Edwards?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2006, 08:25:55 AM »
carlos at manchester...wow...

dont think it would happen...but if it did...that would be...wow...

"you could change your religion,your sex and everything else but not your football club"

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2006, 08:28:15 AM »
Please Carlos....not Man Boo....go to a PROPER TEAM!!  ;D ;D
« Last Edit: July 02, 2006, 08:31:52 AM by palos »

Offline mr.talented

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2006, 08:37:02 AM »
Please Carlos....not Man Boo....go to a PROPER TEAM!!  ;D ;D

lol...hater...

"you could change your religion,your sex and everything else but not your football club"

Offline mr.talented

« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2006, 08:37:59 AM »
btw palos..what would be a proper team?...heheh

« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2006, 08:42:29 AM »

Any other team... ;D

« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2006, 09:10:11 AM »
Any team in the EPL would be a bonus!!!!!!!! Doh mind people and they favourite.

« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2006, 09:51:33 AM »
Any team in the prem were he'll get playing time

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2006, 11:17:20 AM »
It would be great for him to go there but it will also take a great effort for him to get into the starting line up

Offline mr.talented

« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2006, 11:19:32 AM »

Any other team... ;D

a wise (not evans) answer...lol

Offline sinned

« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2006, 11:23:38 AM »
It would be great for him to go there but it will also take a great effort for him to get into the starting line up

but with ronaldo on he way out..hmmm ;)

Offline mr.talented

« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2006, 11:27:30 AM »

but with ronaldo on he way out..hmmm ;)

lol...yuh think?
once world cup done the transfer market go be exciting though...

Offline paddy

« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2006, 04:11:28 PM »
Carlos Edwards 27
Trinidad and Tobago

Luton Town

The Luton player was a revelation. As everyone's favourite party poopers, Trinidad & Tobago almost succeeded in creating a major stir in these finals. Carlos Edwards showed that he can improve as a late developer.

Now apparently settled in the right-back position, his experience in this competition will have added massive confidence to his game. Against Paraguay his second-half sorties showed intelligence, both in positioning himself to intercept and speed down the touchline as he saw space ahead and in giving the correct delivery. When the ball needed to be played to a colleague's feet on the edge of the box he passed it with care and when he got more advanced he crossed it with accuracy. It was unfortunate that his team-mates could not capitalise on his efforts.

Slim of build with no stamina problems, he appears to have matured into a full-back of some quality. One would need to watch a little closer to be more aware of his defensive qualities but the initial hybrid that emerged at Wrexham and briefly attracted Premiership scouts seems to have grown into a mature talent. In those North Wales days Sir Alex Ferguson paid several trips to Wrexham and it wasn't just to see his son Darren. He was attracted to Edwards' speed but at that stage the raw youngster might not have had the nous required for a move to Manchester United. Yet he has demonstrated in Germany that he may yet flourish on a bigger stage.

« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2006, 04:53:37 PM »
i hope he doesnt go manu and sit ont he bench. if he plays regualrly then fine. i would perfer he go to play at a lesser rated team and be a regulat ro stater even than have to spend all season at manu and dat man they call ferguson
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline sweetjo

« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2006, 07:44:55 PM »
I'm all for it, once he's getting the opportunity to play and further develop his skills. Hey, we need in top form in 2010.

« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2006, 09:43:56 PM »
yawn... Ill believe when I see.  This sounds like an article from a tabloid magazine

« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2006, 09:50:48 PM »
Hopefully he can turn into our Ryan Giggs .

Remember u heard it here first
« Last Edit: July 02, 2006, 10:03:48 PM by Compre »

« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2006, 10:25:13 PM »
and Neville going and sit down.....yeah right