April 26, 2024, 09:41:55 PM

Author Topic: Team must improve on the THIS to accomplish the GOAL  (Read 2000 times)

Offline raj

Team must improve on the THIS to accomplish the GOAL
« on: June 10, 2005, 09:54:30 AM »
What do you think we need to better to make it to Germany?

GK- Better ball distribution is needed from the GK. We also needed Jack to marshal the defense and communicate more with defense. Less punchout and more catching of crosses. Staying on the line vs coming out. Better coverage of the opponents free kicks and corners

Defense- Overall good and compact but not really able to link with the midfielders and forwards. Defenders could send more occasional balls to our forwards on the wings. Not really using the wing space at all. The goals came b/c 1) the right back was out of position and 2) the GK parry an easy ball. Some might say that I endorsing the long ball .... once in a while to unnerve the opposition.

Midfield- We did better here at winning back possession from Mex but it seem that we could'nt really launch wicked counter attacks that seemed practiced when we had the ball. You could have all the possession but it means nothing if you doh try the goal. Whenever we try the Mex goals the Mex defenders were confused and off balance. Knock on the door and yuh bound to get an answer.
The midfielders did a better job helping the defense than linking with the offense.

Forwards: A forwards back to the goal mean a creation of a chance for midfielders- didnt see that. Fwds did not have plenty unobstructed views of the goal. The Mex defs was shutting we down too quick. Doh forget FWDs have to out pressure on the opponents defense- did not see that.

STERN JOHN- This man was/may be is a boss forward. Teams from allover Europe wanted this man when he was leaving the MLS. Now he going down and he must do something to stop the downward spiral.

STERN POSITIVES - The Stern turn, great keeper of the ball, great with both legs- wicked shooting ( hard and low). Know how to use space. Know how to create space. Good header of the ball. SPEED. Running with ball shooting top level.

STERN NEGATIVES- The new face of Stern John- hand on de hip, deriding junior players, vex at getting subbed, attitude like he doh make mistake. Stand up and watch men tackle.

Stern has tremendous potential and he have to realise that he stock dropping. His attitide will determine his altititude. He is a role model for teammates whether he like it or not. Only Stern can return to the basics habits that get him to Europe--- in his hands lies his destiny. Remember YOU ARE A PRO......

I am not a Stern basher but without Stern we may not make it. He is the leading scorer for us since 2000. I know we have faith in Stern , SO JUST MAKE IT HAPPEN and PEAK NOW.

In ending we need to work on
1)using Tallman for corners,
2) utilising the long throw as a corner
3)Better crosses with pinpoint acc
4)Free kick practice- identify somebody in practice with the highest %
5)  Better Shot selection and more shots.

Laterz

Re: Team must improve on the THIS to accomplish the GOAL
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2005, 09:58:47 AM »
Hey Raj...
Where yuh was hiding boy.. I aint see you around here in ages...

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2005, 12:00:16 PM »
I agree

Offline raj

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2005, 04:17:12 PM »
Hey Samo,

Just been taking it easy and watching the posts. I see you and meh boy VB always busy. Yuh remember the good old days with Purcell site back in 2000.

RAJ

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2005, 04:32:26 PM »
I agree with you raj...a goal scoring stern will guarantee qualification, without him scoring goals for us, it becomes a bit more difficult

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2005, 04:57:54 PM »
In ending we need to work on
1)using Tallman for corners,
2) utilising the long throw as a corner
3)Better crosses with pinpoint acc
4)Free kick practice- identify somebody in practice with the highest %
5)  Better Shot selection and more shots.

1. Not only Lawrence, but we need tuh target Dog, Yorke and Kenwyne Jones on headers. Dem is de best headers (attacking) we have. Of course, we need good men tuh take de corners.

2. De only person who does make long throws is Anton Pierre, but he on de bench. Remember when Brian Williams use tuh make dem long ass throws?

3. Ah cyar remember de last time we had anybody on de team who could consistenly deliver accurate crosses from either flank. De crosses not only need tuh be accurate, but dey need tuh cause some panic in de defense. Dey cyar jes float through de air. Dey need tuh curl, dip and have some pace.

4. Again, when is de last time we had anybody dat could be considered a dead ball specialist? In recent years, Eve score a couple of free kicks, but in general there was no consistency. De ball could easily end up in de VIP box or in de goal. When we get ah free kick jes outside de area (18-25 yds), how many of allyuh does genuinely feel "aha boy we could score from here"? Dwarika use tuh try ah ting. Even Latas use tuh fail. It doh even look like we does have any tactics when it come tuh free kicks. Hopefully we will soon make progress in dis area.

5. I wouldn't even mention shot selection because we does hardly ever shoot. We does watch de opposition bussing shot in we ass and we doh leggo none of we fire power. Gone are de days when men ripping shots from outside de area. Every now and again, ah man might try ah ting, but it is de exception tuh de rule. In de game against Guatemala we was in dey penalty area so much times and we refuse tuh shoot. Is like we want tuh carry de ball tuh de goal line and roll it across wit we bamsee. Meanwhile, de opposition does be scoring wit some speculative shots. When we (Carlos Edwards) did shoot in dat game, we actually scored, when Rahim and Birchall shoot against Mexico it caused problems, so I eh know what dem fellas waiting on. Ah mean, I eh want dem men tuh jes be shooting wild wild all over de place, but oh gawd man, test de keeper, see what he have, he might be shakey, he might have butter fingers, de sun might be in he eye, de shot could get deflected and end up in de goal. Play yuhself.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2005, 07:51:10 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2005, 07:36:29 PM »
1. Not only Lawrence, but we need tuh target Dog, Yorke and Kenwyne Jones on headers. Dem is de best headers (attacking) we have. Of course, we need good men tuh take de corners.

4. Again, when is de last time we had anybody dat could be considered a dead ball specialist? ..........Hopefully we will soon make progress in dis area.

5. I wouldn't even mention shot selection because we does hardly ever shoot. We does watch de opposition bussing shot in we ass and we doh leggo none of we fire power.

Tallman - I agree with you 100%.  Our dead balls in the Mexico game was truly horrendous.  I could not believe that at one time in the first half we had three corners in a row and we never made contact with the ball on any of those occasions in the area.  I figure it was a case of nerves by Birchall.  Hopefully he shows us in future games what the coaches are seeing in practice to justify him standing over all of these dead balls.

As for taking shots at goal, I am waiting to see the day that our present players realize the successes that we have had in the past from taking shots from outside the area (Jamerson, Latapy, Angus Eve easily come to mind.).  We have scored great goals from outside the area but for some reason we insist on walking the ball into the goal.  This might be as a result of the folks in the forward line, specifically Stern.  Stern requires and demands service into the box.  The young guns (Cornell, Kenwynne and Sealy) are not about that they can come back into the middle third of the field and take the ball to goal.  Stern finds himself most times with his back to goal because of his position (Good luck with the Stern turn).  I am not preaching for dropping Stern (but then maybe I am) but more so giving these young guys a fair shake to make their mark.  I trust Beenie Man is seeing the same thing we are seeing. Having no allegiance to any player and with the ultimate goal of Germany 2006, Beenie Man will make adjustments in personnel and tactics.  I am sure that he will.  A man of his pedigree did not take this job for moral victories (2-0 losses to Mexico on the road).

Offline raj

« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2005, 09:11:11 AM »
Tallman

You jus make meh realize that when Brian Williams use to make them long throws we use to have opposition under REAL pressure. Defenses had to adjust. We need more players in the mold of greats like him.

Brian Williams was one of the greatest defs the caribbean ever see- prob never make it to Europe bc of the dreads.

Later

« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2005, 09:19:17 AM »
And to think if Bertille was coach, Brian Williams woulda never get a sweat for T&T

« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2005, 09:26:32 AM »
And to think if Bertille was coach, Brian Williams woulda never get a sweat for T&T

Oh Sh*t.. Ahahahahahahahaa