March 28, 2024, 12:42:14 PM

Author Topic: England vs Portugal  (Read 57256 times)

Re: England vs Portugal
« Reply #210 on: July 02, 2006, 11:41:45 AM »
All the talk about Ronaldo running over.
If that was a game in the savannah, it woulda end in big fight right there. You cyah step on a man balls and then act like yuh vex. of course teammates running over, in fact I find ronaldo show real restraint, because he eh even look at Rooney, he went straight to the ref.

If Rooney had bend down one time and say "oh shims, sorry man, yuh ok?" then I woulda buy the whole he eh meant it ting, but the vex look...well... leh we just say, he woulda have a buss head in most other parks in this world.

Offline Liver-Munich FC

« Reply #211 on: July 02, 2006, 11:43:24 AM »
not in germany rooney was to shocked to ronaldo the cheat is ronaldo

« Reply #212 on: July 02, 2006, 11:54:02 AM »
How the hell Ronaldo is the cheat? Man, hear what, you done decide that Ronaldo is a cheat. So that is your opinion.
You going to tell us that when Boulahrouz kick the man, he was faking the bruise too.

Offline Trinione

« Reply #213 on: July 02, 2006, 11:57:05 AM »
not in germany rooney was to shocked to ronaldo the cheat is ronaldo

Rooney stamp on a man balls but the cheat is Ronaldo???.. what sh*t you talking?

Everyone seems to admit Rooney deserves a red card but England fans seem upset that Rooney did not get away with it.
So they are upset they were not allowed to cheat (again).
Justice was served.. Red card for a red card offence. End of story.

Offline Liver-Munich FC

« Reply #214 on: July 02, 2006, 11:57:56 AM »
the english fan in germany say it should be red card they jus think ronaldo shouldnt do that. but german fans think not red card ronadlo cheat

Offline Trinione

« Reply #215 on: July 02, 2006, 12:07:48 PM »
the english fan in germany say it should be red card they jus think ronaldo shouldnt do that. but german fans think not red card ronadlo cheat

With all due respect I think you only talking for ONE german fan.. clearly. Either that or the whole of Germany need glasses!

« Reply #216 on: July 02, 2006, 01:00:29 PM »
When did they laugh. I can't remember that I read the news I listen the radio. I can't remember that tell me Please. Give it up express your oppionion with out attacking a nations pride. We have had numerous PPL from other countries on this site and you have made a mocory of yourself and your country by the way you act on this site.

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #217 on: July 02, 2006, 01:09:40 PM »
well u didnt hear more than 100,000 people laughing

« Reply #218 on: July 02, 2006, 01:11:39 PM »
well u didnt hear more than 100,000 people laughing
???

Offline jub02

« Reply #219 on: July 02, 2006, 01:17:24 PM »
i never typed that. ??? ???

« Reply #220 on: July 02, 2006, 01:39:51 PM »
i never typed that. ??? ???

That Liver-Munich FC guy hacked into ur PC!! He had a post up before saying 'he knew he cud hack into someone's pc'  :-\ He deleted it!
Daz not cool !

Offline jub02

« Reply #221 on: July 02, 2006, 01:57:46 PM »
Oh great...
thanks for telling me
Coinsidence how the german guy picks out the english supporter

Rooney's Left Foot, Not Right, Shapes England's Fate
« Reply #222 on: July 02, 2006, 09:40:59 PM »
Gotta love the irony of this headline:

Rooney's Left Foot, Not Right, Shapes England's Fate (Update1)

July 3 (Bloomberg) -- Wayne Rooney, whose recovery from a broken right foot was viewed by coach Sven-Goran Eriksson as key to England's World Cup chances, made his most significant contribution with his left foot.

The 20-year-old, renowned for his match-winning skills as well as his temper, got a red card from Argentine referee Horatio Elizondo for stamping on Portugal defender Ricardo Carvalho's groin. England held on for almost an hour to draw 0-0 before losing a penalty shootout 3-1 in Gelsenkirchen, Germany.

Carvalho's Chelsea teammate Paulo Ferreira made the challenge in April that damaged Rooney's right foot. Carvalho felt the force of the striker's left shoe in the July 1 quarterfinal as Rooney reacted to a series of tackles. In 252 minutes in Germany, Rooney failed to score or get an assist.

``He was sent off for a bit of stupidity,'' former England coach Bobby Robson, who led England to the 1990 semifinals, told the British Broadcasting Corp. ``I feel he has to apologize to the manager and the rest of the players. He has to learn the art of good behavior on the playing field at international level.''

Rooney's injury prompted weeks of speculation about whether he would play, a spat between United and England, and a bill of more than $300,000 for bookmakers who offered odds on his recuperation.

He became the third England player dismissed at a World Cup after Ray Wilkins in 1986 and David Beckham in 1998. Beckham kicked out at Argentina's Diego Simeone before a quarterfinal shootout defeat and was vilified by media and fans, some of whom burnt his effigy. Beckham quit as captain yesterday.

`No Complaints'

Eriksson, who had ``no complaints'' about the dismissal, said the striker will rally as Beckham did and urged the media to go easy on the Liverpool-born player.

``I am absolutely 200 percent sure that Rooney will come back from this,'' Eriksson, who is quitting as coach, told reporters. ``He is the golden boy of English football. Don't kill him, I beg you, because you need him.''

Yesterday's News of the World tabloid ran the headline: ``Tears...and a Clown. It's Deja-Roo as England Lose Shoot Out Again.'' That was a reference to a 1990 headline on Paul Gascoigne, the most gifted England player of the 1990s who shed tears in a World Cup semifinal defeat. The Sunday Mirror led yesterday with ``Our Dreams in Rooins.''

It was Rooney's third red card in four seasons following dismissals at United and former team Everton. His temper was evident when Eriksson replaced him 42 minutes into an exhibition game against Spain in 2004 after Rooney had already received a yellow card and continued to make physical challenges.

`Should Know Better'

``Obviously he should know better anyway and we all felt Wayne had passed that test,'' Wilkins said. ``But World Cups are a difficult situation because the tension is there.''

Rooney scored four goals in Euro 2004 as an 18-year-old, prompting Eriksson to compare his impact to Pele's at the 1958 World Cup. England's youngest scorer, he got a hat-trick in his first United game in the European Champions League after joining for a fee that may reach 30 million pounds ($55 million).

England players supported Rooney after the game and rounded on fellow United player Cristiano Ronaldo, who urged the referee to dismiss him after the incident. Rooney pushed Ronaldo in the chest before the referee issued a red card.

``Wayne Rooney is not getting any blame from me because I love him and he's done so much for this team over the years,'' England midfielder Steven Gerrard said. ``I've seen Ronaldo going over and giving the card signal. If it was one of my teammates, I'd be absolutely disgusted.''

`Wild Dream'

Rooney broke a metatarsal bone in his right foot on April 29 and his rehabilitation dominated U.K. newspapers, with England's odds to win the title for the first time since 1966 fluctuating according to progress reports.

The injury caused friction between the English Football Association and United, whose coach Alex Ferguson initially said it was a ``wild dream'' to expect Rooney to play. United fired the doctor in charge of Rooney's recovery and, according to the Sun, told the F.A. it would sue if Rooney returned injured. United at the time declined to comment on the report.

Rooney was officially cleared to play June 15, the day of England's second game against Trinidad & Tobago. Introduced as a substitute at 0-0, he helped England recover to win 2-0. He started England's next three games and was deployed as a lone striker for the final two after Michael Owen suffered knee ligament damage and flew home.

Often chasing long passes to the corner of the field with few teammates to support him, Rooney showed only glimpses of the ability that made fellow professionals vote him England's young player of the year the past two seasons, Eriksson said.

``He missed some of the golden touches because he had not played for a while,'' Eriksson added. ``I always told him he would score the winning goal in the World Cup final but unfortunately we are not there.''

To contact the reporter on this story:
Sam Sheringham in Germany on  ssheringham@bloomberg.net.

« Reply #223 on: July 03, 2006, 02:39:58 AM »
Very impressive e-man. An entire article on the Rooney incident without mentioning Cristiane Ronaldo's name  :D .

It's almost as if at least 1 person is suggesting that Rooney himself was entirely to blame.  ::)

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
Ok, just this morning my co-workers telling me I should be a betting person. Ah vex, cause ah coulda win big time since this bloody world cup start.

First, I said T&T would draw with Sweden. Everybody ask me what we would do, I say draw with Sweden (to much laughter and patronizing comments), lose to England and Paraguay up for grabs. Dat was de first loss-of-opportunity-to-collect-betting-money dat hurt meh.

Then I said England eh going past the quarters. Dat one is not so much of a stretch. After all, they are the international choke specialists….lol By the way, anybody knows how many times they have actually gone past the quarters? I can only remember it as once.

Karma is a byatch. De same Rooney that allyuh clamouring for, dat allyuh had to include in the squad even with a break foot, dat allyuh defying doctors to put on de field….is de same Rooney dat cost allyuh de match. Oh gaad oy! Ah love it! De only thing better would have been for Crouch to get sent off, as delayed penalty for that foul (yes I said it, foul!) against Sancho. To all those who opposed my observations earlier on why England will never win the WC, I was not wrong. Time has proven me correct. Let’s hope their new coach thinks with his footie tactical brain and not with advertisers’ money when picking the next team. Eleven superstars does not a team make. Let’s hope this habit of picking the highest paid premiership footballers to put on the team is broken. Otherwise, chokeville, here they come again.

But then, as recently as last week, I said in a post here that I like Brazil, Argentina and Germany, but that France was starting to come through, so they could contend. And then they beat Brazil, via Henry. I know that Henry does not ever do for France what he does back at Arsenal. But once he is on fire, France going to be hard to beat. And to make it even better you’ve got Henry, Zidane & Viera all playing really good football. Not to mention that Ribery is hot as hell. Hmmmm…..I always liked France (from the Platini days) but because of their mediocre performances of late, I didn’t pick them as a contender.

But people, wouldn’t it be great if Zidane can retire from international football with the WC trophy in hand?
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

LOL another england thread on this forum, well it is a footballl forum. sorry I couldn't help myself.

Hope Germany or France wins the WC anyway.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2006, 05:12:44 AM by Carib-briton(aka Futbol) »

« Reply #226 on: July 03, 2006, 05:20:45 AM »
England simply were no shows at this WC along with Brazil and they should count themselves as fortunate to get to the quarterfinals.
how were those 2 teams fortunate?
with the groups they were drawn in, a quarterfinal was the least they were expected to do.

ah know Rooney is a thug, has no behaviour and gets frustrated easily..but me ent so sure bout the deliberate balls stamping thing..if yuh look at his eyes he was trying to backheel the ball lol
is all in he eyes..allyuh remeber that elbow Bergkamp rest on Lee Bowyer a few seasons back?
looks like Ronaldo trying to do damage control for his drama queen actions too lol

Uuummm....I think Brazil (of the 2) reeaalll fortunate Ghana eh have qualitiy finishers or that killer instinct infront of goal (and Ghana was unlucky too....cuz ah remember de ball just coming off Dida foot on de line)....to put ball in de back ah de net cuz dey did gone home long, long time....

As for all de debate over Rooney/Ronaldo, as far as I could see from reading these posts, de English fans are sore losers....dey let de hype before de tournament get to dey heads and now dey cyar take dey licks like big hard back adults and let it be....the fact is England play real tata in dis tournament and amen dey gone home...

so you got the Paraguay result wrong and you didnt pick France as a contender  ;D
I dont think you should become a betting person

Offline Pompey

« Reply #228 on: July 03, 2006, 05:50:00 AM »
England simply were no shows at this WC along with Brazil and they should count themselves as fortunate to get to the quarterfinals.
with the groups they were drawn in, a quarterfinal was the least they were expected to do.

ah know Rooney is a thug, has no behaviour and gets frustrated easily..but me ent so sure bout the deliberate balls stamping thing..if yuh look at his eyes he was trying to backheel the ball lol
is all in he eyes..allyuh remeber that elbow Bergkamp rest on Lee Bowyer a few seasons back?
looks like Ronaldo trying to do damage control for his drama queen actions too lol

Uuummm....I think Brazil (of the 2) reeaalll fortunate Ghana eh have qualitiy finishers or that killer instinct infront of goal (and Ghana was unlucky too....cuz ah remember de ball just coming off Dida foot on de line)....to put ball in de back ah de net cuz dey did gone home long, long time....

As for all de debate over Rooney/Ronaldo, as far as I could see from reading these posts, de English fans are sore losers....dey let de hype before de tournament get to dey heads and now dey cyar take dey licks like big hard back adults and let it be....the fact is England play real tata in dis tournament and amen dey gone home...

So the death threats against Crouch make Trini's good losers do they?

Rooney deserved to get sent off, although not for stamping, for shoving. The foot in the nads was an accident, Rooney did not mean to do that.

Shocing Ronaldo, whilst probably deserved, was not prefessional and Rooney got sent off for it. We lost on penalties, end of story.

Paulo Ferrera and Carvalho did the decent thing and shared symapthy with teh team mates. Ronaldo just took delight in getting his team mate sent off.

tell me, after the pictures of Ronaldo going ot the bench and winking, how is he supposed to go back to United?

Offline Trinione

« Reply #229 on: July 03, 2006, 06:15:59 AM »

So the death threats against Crouch make Trini's good losers do they?

Rooney deserved to get sent off, although not for stamping, for shoving. The foot in the nads was an accident, Rooney did not mean to do that.

Shocing Ronaldo, whilst probably deserved, was not prefessional and Rooney got sent off for it. We lost on penalties, end of story.

Paulo Ferrera and Carvalho did the decent thing and shared symapthy with teh team mates. Ronaldo just took delight in getting his team mate sent off.

tell me, after the pictures of Ronaldo going ot the bench and winking, how is he supposed to go back to United?

Delusional!!!

1. Crouch cheated.. we actually have a reason to be upset... England does not
2. Rooney did stamp him intentionally. Maybe not to hit him in the balls, but it was definately an intentional stamping.
3. The referee himself said that he saw Rooney stamp the man and sent him off for that. 
4. Ronaldo never once gestured for a card... you are making speculations about what he said.
5. Let someone stamp on Beckhams precious jewels... how you think the great heroic English players will react?? I suppose you think they will smile and laugh it off over a pint or 2???!!!

Bottom line... you lost becuase you were not good enough.
Rooney got sent off because he is a thug, not because of anything Ronaldo did.
You need to accept responsibilty and stop looking for scape goats.

« Reply #230 on: July 03, 2006, 06:47:08 AM »

Pompey, I still don't see how u can say shoving a man like Rooney did is the red cardable offence and stamping a man's stones isn't.  Based on ur logic, real man was to get red cards EVERY game in football, because ANYTIME there's any little altercation, people push and shove each other. Heck men does hit hard body checks when they screening men off the ball, but they don't get sent off, much less called for a offence, Y, because most times it isn't.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #231 on: July 03, 2006, 06:48:24 AM »
delusional my arse.

Take your anti English specs off and see it as it was.

Portugal were no better than us, neither team really deserved to go through, I thought we were both poor.

As it turned out, the only difference is that the Portugese can take penalties and have a keeper who is good at saving them.

I can accept that. Rooney deserved to go off, I can accept that too.

What I cannot accept is that spoilt baby faced little squinny getting his colleague sent off. Although, I did laugh when two minutes after the incident, Ronaldo dived and let out a squeal like a pig. The ref was not impressed and ignored it. In fact, I think the ref did well in the game.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #232 on: July 03, 2006, 06:50:50 AM »

Pompey, I still don't see how u can say shoving a man like Rooney did is the red cardable offence and stamping a man's stones isn't.  Based on ur logic, real man was to get red cards EVERY game in football, because ANYTIME there's any little altercation, people push and shove each other. Heck men does hit hard body checks when they screening men off the ball, but they don't get sent off, much less called for a offence, Y, because most times it isn't.

In the EPL you probably wouldn;t get sent off for that, but in this world cup you seem to be carded for the slightest thing.

I'm not saying stamping on a blokes nads is not a sending off, of course it is. But I don't think Rooney meant to do it. but as I say, I can see why people would think he did.

incidentally, what did you think about John Terry's yellow?

« Reply #233 on: July 03, 2006, 06:58:05 AM »

In the EPL you probably wouldn;t get sent off for that, but in this world cup you seem to be carded for the slightest thing.

I'm not saying stamping on a blokes nads is not a sending off, of course it is. But I don't think Rooney meant to do it. but as I say, I can see why people would think he did.

incidentally, what did you think about John Terry's yellow?

It wasn't a yellow, but if u want to go through the world cup, we cud be here ALL year debating the cards tnt got also in the England game from the Japanese referee, among a WHOLE HOST of others.

But we're talking about the sequence of Rooney's positive actions  in getting himself sent off. If there was a push and then a stamp, I might even consider your point, but it was the violent stamp that came 1st & in my mind warranted an automatic red card,  followed by the rather innocuous shove

« Reply #234 on: July 03, 2006, 07:00:56 AM »

Portugal were no better than us, neither team really deserved to go through, I thought we were both poor.

As it turned out, the only difference is that the Portugese can take penalties and have a keeper who is good at saving them.

What I cannot accept is that spoilt baby faced little squinny getting his colleague sent off. Although, I did laugh when two minutes after the incident, Ronaldo dived and let out a squeal like a pig. The ref was not impressed and ignored it. In fact, I think the ref did well in the game.

I also wholeheartedly agree with the 1st 3 things u've said here, the last is unstubtantiated by the lack of conclusive evidence that there was any correlation between Ronaldo's actions and the referee's decision.  :beermug:

« Reply #235 on: July 03, 2006, 07:24:38 AM »
delusional my arse.

Pompey why don't you take off your Pro-England glasses and see it for what it is.....England eh in de tournament no more because they were shitty.....if Portugal didn't beat them, another team would have....all yuh didn't deserve to win this World Cup....(an aside GO GERMANY!!)...

When yuh done take off yuh glasses, log off from here and go and meet the other blinded England fans in a nearby pub and cry in yuh beer.....

SORE LOSERS....!!!

Offline shivadee

• There is only ONE number 7. And its worn in Trini
« Reply #236 on: July 03, 2006, 07:38:32 AM »
REALLY?
Portugal PROVE to England and the WORLD they have more stamina than England team in those penalties. I feel for Gerard and Ferdinand, but i giving credit where credit was due. Portugal hold they own WITHOUT Deco, and Pauleta was nowhere to be seen in that match so they sub him. Portugal deserve that win

« Reply #237 on: July 03, 2006, 07:41:00 AM »
The thing is, even without the red card, the result would have been the same....except Rooney would have been on the list of missed penalty kicks

Offline Pompey

« Reply #238 on: July 03, 2006, 08:44:03 AM »
REALLY?
Portugal PROVE to England and the WORLD they have more stamina than England team in those penalties. I feel for Gerard and Ferdinand, but i giving credit where credit was due. Portugal hold they own WITHOUT Deco, and Pauleta was nowhere to be seen in that match so they sub him. Portugal deserve that win

Portugal have abetter manager than England had. Thank god that useless money grabbibg git is no longer our manager.

Don;t forget, we also lost Beckham and Owen had already gone home, so these things even them selves out. Portugal also had Figo who did not deserve to be there after butting a Dutch player.

but, the Portugese held their nerve and won it on penalties. Ronaldo scored the final one but no one has a problem with that. Like no one had a problem with Carvalho or Ferera who both behaved like true professionals. Unlike Rooney and Ronaldo.

we were very poor throughout the world cup, which I blame on the manager. The English FA also need to look at themselves for our exit as well. Considering the players we have, this has been a poor world cup for us.

Offline jub02

« Reply #239 on: July 03, 2006, 10:10:39 AM »
delusional my arse.

Pompey why don't you take off your Pro-England glasses and see it for what it is.....England eh in de tournament no more because they were shitty.....if Portugal didn't beat them, another team would have....all yuh didn't deserve to win this World Cup....(an aside GO GERMANY!!)...

When yuh done take off yuh glasses, log off from here and go and meet the other blinded England fans in a nearby pub and cry in yuh beer.....

SORE LOSERS....!!!

Nobody is being a sore loser. England accept dey lost and all they have done is apologise for it. But allyuh keep saying u aint anti-english when u are. if u was neutral u wud not be calling pompey sore loser and u wud not be making stupid points.
Nobody on here who didnt support t&t whether english, german, spanish whatever..nobody has criticised trinidad and tobago..nobody has complained about fouls and which i find suprising nobody seems to know that dwight yorke has a son that he never visits..i know its off topic but i dont get it . anyway.
Pompey is correct .
England and Portugal both put on poor performances..overall in the game i think england were closer to winning.
However Portugal did hold ther nerve and they won on pens..with ther great keeper. i dunno how he does it.
But theres no need for sly comments like go and weep with the other english players. Nobody did it to t&t so have some respect