April 29, 2024, 06:43:43 AM

What shall we call our beloved T&T team ?

Soca Warriors
29 (72.5%)
Warriors
3 (7.5%)
Mighty Warriors
4 (10%)
Red Warriors
2 (5%)
Fighting Warriors
0 (0%)
Other
2 (5%)

Total Members Voted: 40

Author Topic: Name Change ?  (Read 6325 times)

Name Change ?
« on: June 10, 2005, 05:53:30 PM »
« Last Edit: June 10, 2005, 05:57:28 PM by Flex »

Re: Name Change ?
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2005, 06:01:54 PM »
Warriors could come from any country in the world.

The Soca can only come from Trinidad and Tobago.

Besides the Kenyan team also nicknamed the warriors

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2005, 06:07:11 PM »
What about Trinidad and Tobago "Warrior Kings"  that sound like a legacy.  Everybody talking bout the days of the Warrior Kings....
my 5 cents :)

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2005, 06:09:49 PM »
Warrior Kings ? thats a shitf**kin name.

More like King Warriors.  8)

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2005, 06:25:23 PM »
Personally, I feel we should jes stick wit Soca Warriors.

Besides the Kenyan team also nicknamed the warriors
Is Zimbabwe, not Kenya.

What about Trinidad and Tobago "Warrior Kings"  that sound like a legacy.  Everybody talking bout the days of the Warrior Kings....
Coming from de Caribbean, people go feel we affiliated wit Warrior King de Jamaican reggae singer.

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2005, 06:37:10 PM »
Whatever the name is....Soca have to be in it.

It aint too much T&T could claim as ours...Soca is one thing...No point giving that up.

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2005, 06:54:04 PM »
Soca Warriors good too...Sam Warriors Kings better than Kings Warriors boy :) phoniclly

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2005, 06:55:17 PM »
I am for Soca Warriors.  I was surprised that we dropped the only thing that identified the team with Trinbago. 

Anybody ever hear of any damn Warriors running around in Trinidad.  Seriously.

Soca is Trinidad and Tobago.  Plain and simple.

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2005, 06:57:57 PM »
Then just bring back TNT Strike Squad that is a good name...interesting and does sound good when you braggin........The only thing is that so far nobody strikin:)

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2005, 07:35:55 PM »

What allyuh talking about....the name is still the Soca Warriors.
How yuh go hve Bunji and dem remix dey song den change the name right after....steupse.
fuhget TTFF....if we say is Soca Warriors den that is the name.
Punto Final

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2005, 07:49:33 PM »
I disagree with the name change, and I will always call them the Soca Warriors.  'Soca' identifies the team as being from Trinbago, and does not express gaiety as Mr. Warner believes.

« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2005, 08:00:34 PM »
Dat is Bas talking not Jack. ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2005, 08:11:51 PM »
Socawarriors all de way !

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2005, 08:25:30 PM »
Stupes, I dunno what weed jackass warner was smoking.... Soca Warriors forever... And If the name change, why my Band Says SOCA WARRIORS.. hmmmm. The TTFF sanctioned band.... the one for $25 bucks....

Offline Strip

« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2005, 08:42:44 PM »
socawarriors

done talk.

« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2005, 03:57:38 AM »
Changing our name is out of the question,Socawarriors identifies with everything in our country,people,sports ,culture etc it's a unique name we are Warriors,is just that we have to play like worriors.   

« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2005, 04:54:31 AM »
Well with all this talk they change the namne already. After they print the bands with SocaWarriors on it. What they have to do we put bad the Soca in the Warriors. Jasck talking bout people have to take the team seriously and that the Soca implies we only up to partying.

How come nobody ain't talk bout the reggae in ReggaeBoyz. Reggae synonymous with Jamaica just as Soca is for T&T. But this also shows the lack of respect we have for our own culture. Like Jack and the TTFF ashamed of the Soca or something. If them fellas cyar wine ... the wider community shouldn't have to pay for that.

SocaWarrior till i die !!

« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2005, 06:10:49 AM »
SOOOOOOOOOCAAAAAAAAAWAAAAAAARRIORS

« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2005, 08:35:32 AM »
de team should be renamed soca warriors. full stop!!

changing de name was one of de most dottish decisions that jack warner ever make!

« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2005, 08:44:41 AM »
Please update me,has someone changed the name,if so what is it?

« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2005, 09:22:26 AM »
The change of name is the last of our worries.  Why draw the fous away on how we are playing to worry about a name change? Everyone ought to be focussing on  improving and playing at a level to get us through.

The focus ought to be on the style, discipline, attack and the defensive side of our game.

'A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME IS STILL A ROSE'
« Last Edit: June 11, 2005, 09:56:43 PM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #21 on: June 11, 2005, 11:41:38 AM »
Alberta well said,there is no better way to say it.ha!ha!ha!

« Reply #22 on: June 12, 2005, 02:03:09 PM »
OkOk I am rethinking this name thing: It seems like for every WCQ campaign we trying on new foreign coaches so I am going to propose a name( remember dis is all in jest) which can be adapted to the nationality of  any foreign coach.

Now Nigeria goes by the Flying Eagles ; I say we go for the Flying Soca Corbeaus

Except for the Flying this ought to be totally original!!!!!!!!!!!!

This can be easily adapted to coaches' nationalities as per translation:

Translations for:
Raven (English)

The noun raven has one meaning:

Meaning #1: large black bird with a straight bill and long wedge-shaped tail
  Synonym: Corvus corax

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The verb raven has 4 meanings:

Meaning #1: obtain or seize by violence

Meaning #2: prey on or hunt for
  Synonyms: prey, predate

Meaning #3: eat greedily
  Synonyms: devour, gulp, guttle, pig

Meaning #4: feed greedily

Now dem is Fighting words; now check out the synonyms in different languages:

Nederlands (Dutch)
raaf, glimmend zwart, plunderen, prooi/schat najagen, verorberen

Français (French)
corbeau

Deutsch (German)
n. - Rabe
adj. - rabenschwarz
v. - plündern, gierig fressen

Ελληνική (Greek)
n. (ορνιθ.) κοράκι, κόρακας v. λεηλατώ, καταβροχθίζω adj. κατάμαυρος, κορακίσιος

Italiano (Italian)
corvo

Português (Portuguese)
n. - corvo (m)
v. - pilhar
adj. - brilhante, de cor negra lustrosa

Русский (Russian)
ворон

Español (Spanish)
n. - cuervo
adj. - negro y brillante
v. intr. - ir en busca de presa o botín
v. tr. - devorar vorazmente

Svenska (Swedish)
n. - korp
v. - äta glupsk, plundra
adj. - korpsvart

中国话 (Simplified Chinese)
n. - 大乌鸦
adj. - 乌黑的
v. tr. - 狼吞虎咽地吃, 攫取, 掠夺
v. intr. - 吞食, 狼吞虎咽, 寻机攫取, 空腹觅食

中國話 (Traditional Chinese)
n. - 大烏鴉
adj. - 烏黑的
v. tr. - 狼吞虎嚥地吃, 攫取, 掠奪
v. intr. - 吞食, 狼吞虎嚥, 尋機攫取, 空腹覓食

日本語 (Japanese)
n. - ワタリガラス
v. - 略奪する

العربيه (Arabic)
‏(الاسم) غراب اسود (الغداف) (فعل) يلتهم بشره (صفه) اسحم, غدافي‏

עברית‬ (Hebrew)
n. - ‮עורב‬
adj. - ‮שחור-מבריק‬
v. intr. - ‮שיחר לטרף‬
v. tr. - ‮טרף, זלל‬

After all this, yuh know yuh cyar  change the stripes on a tiger so is Soca Warriors we are and Soca Warriors we will be. If the name would  help us tuh the World cup that would be something else but  at least we eh the soca tanties so leh we  concentrate on the ball and leh the name be.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2005, 08:37:20 PM by AlbertaTrini »

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #23 on: June 12, 2005, 02:46:32 PM »
How about

Men-of-the-steelband        
which can be shortened to
  Men-of-Steel   .   
.  The steelband is as authentic as calypso and there is no name change on the horizon.  The name ``soca''  could change in two years, and change to its rightfull name  ``    .''

A more kicksy one, and for locals only,  is ``Tabanca Boyz''   because if one loves to win in soccer,  these guys can induce Tabanca.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2005, 02:51:55 PM by StoreBayLimer »

Offline Solo

« Reply #24 on: June 12, 2005, 03:13:54 PM »
'SOCA WARRIORS' - for when we playing outside North America

and

'SOCCER WARRIORS' when we playing in North America

the words 'soca' and 'soccer' are not so far apart in pronounciation if you from deep dirty south of the USA.

« Reply #25 on: June 12, 2005, 04:47:35 PM »
On ah serious note forumites....Can anyone validate that they changed the name of our national football team?  If that is true then Warner and he boys have nuttin to do with dey time. LAAAARRRRDD!

This is my take..... There are many warriors in the world, but there is only one Soca Warrior team. As mentioned above, Soca in our name distinguishes us from all other soccer teams in the world. Soca is Trinidad and Tobago (doh dig no horraz my peeps from de other islands)!

If Jack is concerned that "Soca" in the name is gaily, then what about "Warrior"? Is that gaily too? "Warrior" describes how we play on the field, while "Soca" is indicative of where we are from. Maybe with all de international diplomacy Jack forget were he come from. 

According to Jack, should we also believe that "reggae"  in Jamaica's Reggae Boys mean that all ah dem on de team smoke weed? Come on man, stop de nonsense and focus on what really matters...supporting and developing our current national team....de true Soca Warriors

To shy away from the use of Soca in our soccer team's name is to shy away from our identity. Here it is I thought we were making progress...

« Reply #26 on: June 12, 2005, 05:19:47 PM »
On ah serious note forumites....Can anyone validate that they changed the name of our national football team?

Read dis article: More Warriors, less Soca

« Reply #27 on: June 12, 2005, 07:52:02 PM »
The Will of the People SHALL NOT be broken.. We want it to stay SOCAWARRIORS, and it shall remain soca warriors. Jack and dem could say all kinda thing, It will always remain Soca Warriors

VIVA la Soca Warriors.!!

« Reply #28 on: June 12, 2005, 08:07:33 PM »
The Will of the People SHALL NOT be broken.. We want it to stay SOCAWARRIORS, and it shall remain soca warriors. Jack and dem could say all kinda thing, It will always remain Soca Warriors

VIVA la Soca Warriors.!!

Well said, talk done.

« Reply #29 on: June 12, 2005, 08:30:40 PM »
From the Trinidad Express:  "Warner was speaking at a news conference at which Telecommunication Services of Trinidad and Tobago (TSTT) handed out 30 cell phones to the team and announced the setting up of an interactive website dedicated to the team's progress to Germany. "

Thanx Tallman... There is truth to de madness. Anybody ever stopped to think that the name change could have been due to TSTT launching their own Warrior website? Since socawarriors.net run tingz on de web and socawarriors.com is taken, they probably had no other recourse but to change the name.

Man if that is true dem fellas real low yes! If they launch another website that will be very counterproductive. Based on all the interaction I have observed on SW.net it is plain to see that they command a large number of the T&T soocer supporters. If TSTT were to lend their support to SW.net instead of forming their own website that would be more valuable to the whole "Journey to Germany" effort.