March 28, 2024, 03:15:39 AM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors Online Exclusive Interview Cornell Glen  (Read 7914 times)

Soca Warriors Online Exclusive Interview Cornell Glen
« on: July 05, 2006, 06:12:08 PM »
Exclusive Interview with Cornell Glen.
Interview Conducted By Collin 'Mr Mc' McFarlane.

On his way back to LA after reprsenting the Soca Warriors in Germany, #13 took some time out to answer a few questions for socawarriors.net.

SocaWarriors.net:  Congratulations on a job well done in the World Cup, first question.  How extensive is the injury? And, when will you be back on the field playing?

Cornell Glenn:  it’s a knee injury, I am not exactly sure of the diagnosis, it was done in German and they sent it to translate, and we have not gotten it back as of yet.  I have to do a scan sometime soon to find out exactly what it is so I can make a decision if to have surgery or not.

SW:  So how does it feel to you, you are up and about walking?
CG:  It feels good I am walking without my knee brace now; I don’t have the crutches I had for the first few days so it feels good.

SW:  Can you describe what it was like taking the field for the first time?

CG:  Unbelievable, it was a dream come through, it was one of those things you sit at home as a kid dreaming about, at the same time you have a job to do, so you have to put all the behind you and go out there and fight hard for your country.

SW:  Going in you guys trained, you prepared for all the teams.  What exactly were the team’s tactics going in?

CG:  Basically not to concede goals in the first 20 25 minutes.  As you see from our warm up games that was our downfall, conceding early goals and our heads drop and we get two, three after that. So we think that if we can hold these teams for the first 20 minutes then we are definitely in with a chance, and we did exactly that against Sweden, and we did a great job against England unfortunately it did not work out, that’s basically it, just hold and after that we start going?

SW: So what were your instructions going in, at one point you came in when we had lost a defender, so what were your instructions when he put you into the game?

CG:  Just to go out there and basically use my speed to take on players, nothing much, a few defensive responsibilities, but not a whole lot

SW:  One of the hottest topics coming out of this world cup was Latapy and his playing time.  If you were coach would you have played him more?

CG:  If I was coach, probably yes, probably no, the first two games were real fast for a guy 37 years old, you have to understand what the coach is thinking and where he is coming from and what he is thinking.  I definitely thought he could have gotten some more time in the Paraguay game, seeing as how that game was much slower than the first two games.

SW:  How are things with you and the coach, you guys have a good relationship?

CG:  yeah yeah we have a good relationship, we had a few problems during the Gold Cup that’s why I was not on the team for a while, he called me back for the Bahrain game, and we had a meeting we sat down and talked and worked everything out.  I thanked him for opportunity he gave me, because a lot of folks wasn’t really looking out for me to go out and play and perform as I did.

SW:  Were you able to exchange jerseys with any of the other players? Who with?

CG:  I got a chance to exchange in the Sweden and the England game.  I exchanged with the defender Lucic from Sweden and Lampard from England.

SW:  Apart from the 3 games you played in Germany you guys been together for about 6 week, what that experience like the different countries, being with the team?

CG:  Good, good, as I told some reporters over there, it’s the best dressing room you could ever be in.  A great bunch of guys. A whole lot of fun.

SW:  What are the future plans for Cornell Glen?  Hoping to move to another league? Any interested parties as of yet?  Where would you like to go (League or Team)?

CG:  right now the future plans are to go back to LA, work on my knee and try to recover as soon as possible. Offers, you know will be coming, after performing this good on a world cup stage, they will be coming. But I am contracted with LA and thats my first priority right now is to try and get back to the club and try and get fit.

SW:  How have they been doing in your absence, I know they had a few guys out for the World Cup?
CG:  Not too good not too good, they had 3 guys, myself Landon and Chris Albright.  The last game they won was the last game I played so they lost like 7 or 8 straight, so not too well.

SW:  What do you think about the future of Trinidad football for 2010?  Would you like Beenhacker to stay?

CG:  Definitely, we have a bunch of good youths. Myself, Spann, Chris Birchall, I can good on and one, and its looking even better now that it looks like the coach will be back.

SW:  Who was your favorite team growing up, who are you backing now in the World Cup? Who do you think will win?

CG:  When I was younger I backed who was winning, so Chelsea was my team.  For this World Cup I think Germany can win it all.

SW:  OK last question, If you were not playing professional football what would you be doing?

CG:  I have always been interested in art, so I would probably be an artist.

Thank You...
Cornell Glen.

Note: On behalf of the Soca Warriors Online I just what to say Thank You to Mr. Cornell Glen for taking the time to do this interview for us. Please keep up the great work you are doing and we all wish you all the best for the future of T&T football...

05-Jul-2006.

Steve Shand of SoccerWorld and Cornell Glen #13

Special Thanks to Steve Shand of SoccerWorld for putting the meeting together.

Re: Soca Warriors Online Exclusive Interview Cornell Glen
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 06:17:11 PM »
Good interview.  I hope they not stikking as far as tending to his injury, especially since its been 2 weeks and they waiting for a translation.

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2006, 06:22:19 PM »
Good going Collin and thanks to Steve Shand also for organising :)
Hope Cornell is back in action in the near future.

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2006, 06:37:12 PM »
thanks MC  :beermug:

good to hear Glen doing well and looking to de future

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2006, 06:57:39 PM »
great interview. thanks boss

« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2006, 11:00:39 PM »
Great job Mr. Mc.......Thanks for the interview...

« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2006, 02:57:13 AM »
sweet interview!

« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2006, 05:30:55 AM »
Great interview,I wish cornell all the best,and hope he has a bright future with lots of success. 

« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2006, 05:56:58 AM »
Nice work.. !!!

Thanx Glen, Steve and Mr Mc...

« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2006, 07:27:35 AM »
Nice Interview...
Thanx Mr MC Cornell and Mr Shand...
Cornell is defintely one of those for 2010....

« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2006, 08:13:47 AM »
Nothing but respect for Cornell :notworthy: :notworthy: He is the future and will be our next great World Class striker

Offline whistler91

• Love, Respect, Honor
« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2006, 08:49:13 AM »
Niceness, as i said before, I like the follow ups that we have been getting.

Great interview  :thumbsup:
“There is no force like success, and that is why the individual makes all effort to surround himself throughout life with the evidence of it; as of the individual, so should it be of the nation.”

« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2006, 11:38:45 AM »
Nothing but respect for Cornell :notworthy: :notworthy: He is the future and will be our next great World Class striker

yeh rite..

well done though

« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2006, 11:48:22 AM »

As long as he stay off the injured list... He could very well be our star player in S.Africa..... ;)

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2006, 01:00:32 PM »
jus a random thing..chelsea jus started winin again.. dey never used to win it allll the time

« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2006, 01:42:48 PM »
jus a random thing..chelsea jus started winin again.. dey never used to win it allll the time

exactly!

cornell boy lol   unless yuh was young in 1951 yuh didnt see chelsea win neting major till 02'

« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2006, 01:47:03 PM »

Men does get carried away bad on this site

« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2006, 01:49:20 PM »

LOL you give me joke Triniman.

« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2006, 01:59:02 PM »

LOL you give me joke Triniman.

it eh no joking matter

« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2006, 06:52:52 PM »
Good article big up Cornell 2010 we coming 4 them

« Reply #20 on: July 06, 2006, 07:07:16 PM »
Big up Cornell Glen, and ah like de 3 names he call in de interview... (Spaan, Birchall)   WC 2010 here we come.

Big upself  Steve Shand & Family... Wha yuh sayin Steve, big up Vince to for I-man.   + Jason, suppa

« Reply #21 on: July 07, 2006, 11:59:43 AM »
Good article big up Cornell 2010 we coming 4 them

Watch the next slogan already "2010 we coming for them"
let me copywrite that one time and start selling Tshirts

« Reply #22 on: July 07, 2006, 01:20:10 PM »

Who was our best striker at the WC?

« Reply #23 on: July 07, 2006, 04:51:44 PM »
Well if Glen is not our next big striker (all things being equal), then who is?

Offline #8

« Reply #24 on: July 08, 2006, 07:45:11 PM »

:whistling: :whistling: :whistling: :whistling:

#8..President Of De Glen For Goals Committe