March 28, 2024, 02:17:27 PM

Author Topic: Cristiano Ronaldo Thread.  (Read 127735 times)

Offline MarylandTrini

Re: Its official - Ronaldo heads to Real Madrid!!
« Reply #720 on: June 11, 2009, 08:52:51 AM »
would love to know where these sides gettin all this money from jus so in this present economy??
and the majority of these sides in debt before anyway!!
side like Madrid and Chelsea reporting losses...i tink down to Man Utd and all!

'000's a millions too
wtf!
but big up Real...like yaself

i wanna see all d bandwaggonists flock to La Liga now..Barca and now Real with all these signings...and possibly David Villa next!!
we gonna see REAL plenty Madrid and Barca shirts in trini
LOL

ManU and Chelsea's debt could be as high as 700 Million.
Liverpool are paying about 45 Mil a year in interest alone.
Arsenal's stadium debt is around 250 Million but that is at a fixed rate long term. And their plan is to clear that when the Highbury apartment homes are sold.

« Reply #721 on: June 11, 2009, 08:53:58 AM »
Does that mean Tevez stayin?

« Reply #722 on: June 11, 2009, 08:57:22 AM »
all i can say is. manu if allyuh win a trophy next season i rate allyuh. and

BRING ON THE EL CLASSICO :challenge:

Offline MarylandTrini

« Reply #723 on: June 11, 2009, 09:00:31 AM »
Now I have a difficult choice to make ...

Chelsea vs AC Milan
OR
Real Madrid vs DC United

The way it looking, Milan might not have a full squad to choose from for that game next month  :devil:

« Reply #724 on: June 11, 2009, 09:06:23 AM »
would love to know where these sides gettin all this money from jus so in this present economy??
and the majority of these sides in debt before anyway!!
side like Madrid and Chelsea reporting losses...i tink down to Man Utd and all!

'000's a millions too
wtf!
but big up Real...like yaself

i wanna see all d bandwaggonists flock to La Liga now..Barca and now Real with all these signings...and possibly David Villa next!!
we gonna see REAL plenty Madrid and Barca shirts in trini
LOL

yuh see Barca new shirt? lol - I now see it in the Eurosport catalogue - it have little white lines that will look real boss under the black light in Zen. hahahahaha

« Reply #725 on: June 11, 2009, 09:13:05 AM »

Tevez and he agent done have one setta badmind towards Man U hierarchy, since they didn't want to pay him the money, and tell him he could ride if he want.

Imagine if Man U come back and say, "ok - now we willing to pay what allyuh was asking in the first place" - If I was Tevez and Kia, I would ask for 20M more, a bronze statue of Tevez for SAF to kiss everytime he walk in the stadium, a curfew 4 hours after everybody else, strip steak on request, and four front row cushioned stadium seats to every event at Old Trafford.

Small Mag .... how dat "foursome" signature at the bottom of yuh profile doing? LOL.

« Reply #726 on: June 11, 2009, 09:15:29 AM »

Tevez and he agent done have one setta badmind towards Man U hierarchy, since they didn't want to pay him the money, and tell him he could ride if he want.

Imagine if Man U come back and say, "ok - now we willing to pay what allyuh was asking in the first place" - If I was Tevez and Kia, I would ask for 20M more, a bronze statue of Tevez for SAF to kiss everytime he walk in the stadium, a curfew 4 hours after everybody else, strip steak on request, and four front row cushioned stadium seats to every event at Old Trafford.

Small Mag .... how dat "foursome" signature at the bottom of yuh profile doing? LOL.

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #727 on: June 11, 2009, 09:16:20 AM »

They agreed a fee with Joorabchian last week.

Keep up.

When Tevez comes back from Argentina, he'll have to decide whether he wants to stay.

« Reply #728 on: June 11, 2009, 09:41:52 AM »
Thanks for the great years at the club.... massive 3 seasons from 06-09...got us back to the top

but we cant deny him his dream any longer.. thanks for the 80 million and good luck at Madrid

Viva Ronaldo
« Last Edit: June 11, 2009, 01:49:42 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #729 on: June 11, 2009, 09:44:10 AM »

... to go to Real Madrid.

« Reply #730 on: June 11, 2009, 09:48:47 AM »
Real plan this summer is to do 5 or 6 years of Galacticos project, which was one big name a year in one summer.

They have a huge set of money from a new TV deal and they basically borrowing against future money.

After Kaka and Ronaldo is Ribery (40-50M) then Villa (40 M).

Most of the Dutch contingent will be gone. Sneijder, Van Der Vaart, Drenthe and Robben gone for sure. Ruud and Huntelaar should stay.

But Real problem will be getting a team like that to gel. Will be interesting to see ROnaldo's attitude and if he puts away the histrionics. It is a real test for the player and he will have more pressure to mature as a player. Hopefully he does.

It was a good 6 years with him at United, thankfully they get a real decent fee for him.

As far as replacements, Ferguson really likes Valencia. Decent player who could look real good in a better team. they will probably charge real money for him now though. The rest of the money probably going to pay off debt unfortunately.

I most vex for the Fantasy League. Real men does decimate they side to chook in Ronaldo and I was committed to going without him this year.

« Reply #731 on: June 11, 2009, 10:08:08 AM »

How can Real Madrid afford Ronaldo?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8094864.stm

by Bill Wilson
Business reporter, BBC News

From Puskas and Di Stefano to Zidane and Beckham, Spanish football giant Real Madrid have aspired to acquire some of the most talented and glamorous names in world football.

Now, in the latest chapter they have swooped in a matter of days for two of the biggest names in world football, Kaka and Ronaldo.

The signing strategy is being led by the returning president of the club, construction magnate Florentino Perez, who previously led the Spanish team from 2000 to 2006 - during its famous "galacticos" era.

It was under Mr Perez's first reign that the club initially aimed at becoming the world's richest and best known football brand.

REAL MADRID REVENUES 2007/08
Increased by 4% to £290m
Driven by increased commercial revenues
Commercial revenues accounted for 35% of income
Broadcasting income accounted for 37%
Matchday accounted for 28%
Source: Deloitte

But how can they afford to pay the reported £56m for Kaka and offer a world-record £80m for Cristiano Ronaldo - existing as they do without the deep pockets of a billionaire benefactor?

Growing match-day revenues, increasingly shrewd and global marketing, healthy commercial income, and a ground-breaking domestic TV deal, have all catapulted the club to the peak of the Deloitte's Football Money League this year.

They have topped it for the past four straight years, despite being overshadowed in the Champions League by their bitter rivals Barcelona.

"Remarkable Growth"

According to those most recent figures, for 2007/08, the club saw its revenue hit £290m during that season.

Whilst Real Madrid's 4% revenue growth in 2007/08 was more modest than in preceding years, it meant that across a six year period the club had doubled its annual revenues since 2002.
Cristiano Ronaldo in action for Manchester United
Real Madrid has a history of buying the world's best players

Perhaps crucially, it also gave the club a revenue lead of 41m euros (£32.5m) over Manchester United, in second place.

"The engine driving Real's remarkable revenue growth, and its ascent to the top of the money league, has been the club's ability to increase commercial revenue," said Dan Jones, author of the Deloitte report, when it was issued in February.

Matchday revenue has also increased significantly in the past couple of years thanks to the reconfiguring of areas of the club's stadium to increase corporate hospitality capacity and hence revenues.

Average attendances at their home ground - the 80,354-capacity Santiago Bernabéu football stadium - are the third-highest in Europe.

Emerging markets

After the purchase of David Beckham from Manchester United in 2003, Real Madrid cleverly projected their brand into East Asia, on the back of the England star's appeal.

"That was all about the race by the big European clubs to crack the East Asian, Indian and other emerging markets first, and the race is still going on," says Nigel Currie, of marketing and sponsorship giants Brand Rapport.

There will be massive TV deals coming up for them [Real Madrid] overseas in the next few years
Nigel Currie, Brand Rapport

"However good the Premier League and Spain's La Liga are, there is an elite breaking away, led by the likes of Real Madrid."

He added: "What they are doing is partly a response to Barcelona's success, but these signings are them putting down a marker to be the top club and football brand in the world."

Mr Currie said Real were targeting the world's best players - who were also the world's most marketable players.

'Fickle allegiance'

That, Mr Currie added, meant that in emerging markets fans may swap allegiance, from - for example - Manchester United to Real Madrid, simply because they preferred to support star players rather than clubs.

"They are far more fickle in terms of allegiance," he said. "But it is not about Real looking to sell more merchandising in places like China, in fact they would not make a great deal from doing that.
Kaka is noted for his spectacular goals for club and country
Real Madrid will look to attract Kaka fans to their brand

"They are looking to make money from these signings by maximising their future overseas TV rights," says Mr Currie.

"There will be massive TV deals coming up for them overseas in the next few years, that is the big carrot.

"With the developments this week Real Madrid will already have restored their profile and status to number one in these emerging markets.

"And the team that has the most marketable players, and the most supporters, will get the best TV deals."

'Important role'

The television money, both overseas and at home, is crucial to Real's surge in income in recent years.

Since 1997 Spanish clubs have sold their own rights individually.

Real Madrid signed its latest deal in 2006 - for a reported record 1.1bn euros - with Spanish film and TV company Mediapro for seven seasons of broadcast rights.

That works out at a huge 150m euros a year.

"Spanish television rights have increased significantly in the past three years, and would no doubt play an important role in these large Real Madrid transfers," says James Pickles, editor of industry journal TV Sports Markets.

Big name sponsors

But overseas merchandising, domestic and TV rights, and matchday earnings are not Real's only income streams.

It also has a number of high profile sponsorship partners - Bwin.com, Adidas, Coca-Cola, Audi, and Spanish beer brand Mahou.

An image rights deal with Adidas alone in early 2007 garnered them 762m euros.
Perez (left) is taking his second stint at the club helm
Real Madrid president Florentino Perez (l) with former glamour player Alfredo Di Stefano

Another benefit, one that helps attract top name players, is the fact that tax legislation allows their foreign players to pay tax at about 23% for the first five years that they are in the country.

It also helps that Real - from before the 1950s heyday of Di Stefano - is considered the "establishment team" and can call on close links with the government or city authorities when cash is tight.

Last but by no means least is the fact that Real, like Barcelona, are exempt from demands imposed on the majority of Spanish football clubs to become publicly listed companies.

Unlike the majority of European football clubs, Real Madrid are owned by its thousands of members, known as "socios", who elect the president.

That leaves it free of all the ramifications for takeovers and potential debt issues that being a listed company could involve.

In its report Deloitte said it would be difficult to see anyone topping Real Madrid at the top of the money league next year, but added "it will be interesting to see how the club copes with the loss of the Brand Beckham effect."

It appears Real are now answering that question by plugging that gap with the purchase of Kaka, and proposed purchase of Ronaldo.

« Reply #732 on: June 11, 2009, 10:40:40 AM »
Real Madrid making a serious leap forward.  When yuh have a squad like dat, it eh hard for de club to attract other players.  Is real people go want to play for dem now.  Man U supporters cyah be happy about this at all.

« Reply #733 on: June 11, 2009, 11:48:59 AM »
Real Madrid making a serious leap forward.  When yuh have a squad like dat, it eh hard for de club to attract other players.  Is real people go want to play for dem now.  Man U supporters cyah be happy about this at all.
yuh mad or wha...what star will go there and want to be on de bench?????????

« Reply #734 on: June 11, 2009, 12:10:27 PM »
yuh mad or wha...what star will go there and want to be on de bench?????????

Nah man. Big stars could help attract players...including other stars. Especially true for the positions that need strengthening. So it's not always a case of worrying whether you will be on the bench. The arrival of Kaka and C Ronaldo might make it easier to attract a world class central defender, or left back. Even so, big teams always end up with a few big players on the bench, because most top players are ambitious enough to take the chance that they can surpass the incumbents. Some younger up and coming stars too just want to be at a big club, learn from the best and take their chances when they come...

« Reply #735 on: June 11, 2009, 12:14:27 PM »
well it doesn't matter who they sign.. whether or not they go and buy ribery, villa, terry, gerrard, eto'o and messi...

IMO, their signing of the season is actually Manuel Pellegrini.

« Reply #736 on: June 11, 2009, 12:21:15 PM »
well it doesn't matter who they sign.. whether or not they go and buy ribery, villa, terry, gerrard, eto'o and messi...

IMO, their signing of the season is actually Manuel Pellegrini.

Very confident that Pellegrini will bring a nice flowing and balanced brand of football back to the Bernabeu- of the three major signings so far, that's the one I'm most excited about. 

Welcome to the Pelligrini Appreciation Society..heheh

The only thing you have to worry about is his ability to handle egos. At Villa he was able to build a fine squad without any reknowned primadonnas. Except Riquelme who he dealt with his way cuz he had the backing of the board. let's pray the RM board back him when he let them know he has no room for Raul in his side. He will bring a beautiful brand to the Bernabeu if he is given the chance.

« Reply #737 on: June 11, 2009, 12:54:39 PM »
Thanks for the great years at the club.... massive 3 seasons from 06-09...got us back to the top

but we cant deny him his dream any longer.. thanks for the 80 million and good luck at Madrid

Viva Ronaldo

Wait forgive my naivety, don't top players dream of playing at the top clubs? So if the "top" player dreaming of playing at Real Madrid then Real is a bigger club than Man United?

Told y'all as long as Man United did not win CL, he gone.

« Reply #738 on: June 11, 2009, 01:09:50 PM »

Viva Ronaldo

Wait forgive my naivety, don't top players dream of playing at the top clubs? So if the "top" player dreaming of playing at Real Madrid then Real is a bigger club than Man United?

If you move from Utd to a circus club like Real it is a step down.. actually from United to any club is a step down...

But he's always wanted this move.. he's portugese..Spain is very similar..his family is closer and his Family are huge madrid fans

I'm not upset because I knew it was coming...I'm just angry because Madrid are buying all the f**king replacements

Also Elan...why arent Madrid targeting your (Chelski's) players?  oh .. cuz they are shite

« Reply #739 on: June 11, 2009, 01:11:54 PM »
Manchester United = Feeder club for bigger and better teams   ;)

« Reply #740 on: June 11, 2009, 01:20:10 PM »

Manchester United = Selling players for massive amounts..rebuilding and gaining success while big spenders flop

f**k off
« Last Edit: June 11, 2009, 01:49:19 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #741 on: June 11, 2009, 01:32:16 PM »

If you move from Utd to a circus club like Real it is a step down.. actually from United to any club is a step down...

You could talk all the circus club shit now because you're too young to have any perspective.  In the grand scheme of things, historically (as in of all time past through present) Madrid is arguably the biggest, most successful and most prestigious football club in the World...
« Last Edit: June 11, 2009, 01:33:56 PM by kicker »

« Reply #742 on: June 11, 2009, 01:45:05 PM »
dis club football ting is real mafia oui. whey d france dese clubs does get all dis money?

« Reply #743 on: June 11, 2009, 01:50:29 PM »

Viva Ronaldo

But he's always wanted this move.. he's portugese..Spain is very similar..his family is closer and his Family are huge madrid fans

I'm not upset because I knew it was coming...I'm just angry because Madrid are buying all the f**king replacements

Also Elan...why arent Madrid targeting your (Chelski's) players?  oh .. cuz they are shite

Small Mag...Real Madrid is just a bigger club than ManU. If they want a (non-English) ManU player, they will take him. If you are honest with yourself, you'll realize that ManU just can't attract the kind of players that Real Madrid can. Every non-British ManU player would jump ship to RM if Perez only look their way...Berbatov, Tevez, Evra, the da Silva brothers, Macheda...you name them. So doh take too much comfort in the fact that Real hasn't won anything in Europe for a while. Their overall history speaks for itself. ManU and Liverpool went through long periods of winning nothing domestically and/or in Europe and they still remained the biggest clubs in England even during their droughts. Dat is what RM is like in Europe for everyone outside of the UK and Scandinavia. A 5 or 6 years without European success is just a blip. I'm a Barca fan so I take my small pleasure when dey get salt..but I eh fooling myself. dat is still de biggest side on the continent in terms of its allure to the biggest players on the planet.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2009, 02:59:31 PM by Filho »

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

« Reply #744 on: June 11, 2009, 02:29:31 PM »

Does that mean that Chelsea are microscopic in size? I ask because a small club like Manchester United seem to have a knack of finishing above them these days. Or are you supporting someone else these days...

Heinze and Van Nistelrooy were already transfer listed before Real stepped in to sign them.

Ronaldo is the first instance of a player who actually wanted out of Old Trafford to solely play for Madrid.

Hows things at Chelsea btw? I hear Deco has spoken about his desire to leave and Bayern are weighing up a bid for Bosingwa.

« Reply #745 on: June 11, 2009, 03:00:44 PM »
All I have to say is that Manu got their money's worth big time. It is time to move on. He has nothing to prove to any body. Thanks for the trophies!!!!

« Reply #746 on: June 11, 2009, 04:03:26 PM »
so let me ask the question now: Is the ex-ManU 80M quid man a diver?

I can't wait to see Man U vs. Real in 2010 ... you KNOW that Platini will blight Real and Man U for this deal, and ensure they meet up in CL.

« Reply #747 on: June 11, 2009, 04:10:55 PM »
Hows things at Chelsea btw? I hear Deco has spoken about his desire to leave and Bayern are weighing up a bid for Bosingwa.

blimey chap! Things are quite well I reckon in West London .. given that we ended the season toasting Guus with the FA Cup trophy.

On the other hand, now that you've lost the CL Trophy in an embarassing and woeful performance, and lost out on your best player to a superior side in Europe with more history than you can ever dream of ... how are things in sunny, warm Manchester?

As I recall, the mighty Barcelona could only muster two draws with small side Chelsea.

« Reply #748 on: June 11, 2009, 05:53:06 PM »
Well, I for one am a ManU fan who is not concerned in the least. As far as I concerned is "So long, good luck, and thanks for the trophies!". Now is to see what Fergie does with the money. And to those of you who feel ManU go suddenly disappear off de radar because Ronaldo gone, well, ah guess we go have to wait fuh next season to see what happen. I, fuh one, not worried.
:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #749 on: June 11, 2009, 06:03:37 PM »
wish de man all de best until we meet in de future.