April 24, 2024, 11:51:51 AM

Author Topic: Evans Wise hands out his wealth.  (Read 8565 times)

Evans Wise hands out his wealth.
« on: July 10, 2006, 04:30:32 AM »
Evans Wise hands out his wealth.
By: Walter Alibey (Newsday).

Trinidad and Tobago midfielder Evans Wise has said he will give ten percent of the money received from Government for his World Cup exploits and another ten percent of his monthly salary to a Dibe Long Circular church, the Dibe community and to charity.
Wise who played left midfield for the Soca Warriors at the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany gave this promise to the community on Saturday when he spent some time with the young footballers in the district.
Although the Germany-based footballers did not reveal how much the money will amount to, he gave the assurance that it will be “a significant amount.”
Wise told reporters at the Long Circular Road Community Centre that he has already set aside the money that he will distribute.
He said he has always wanted to give back to the community where he grew up and felt it was the ideal time for him to do so.
Wise who plays for German Third Division club Waldhof Mannhein said he felt privileged to be a role model in the community.
“I remember going to church when I was a little boy and the role it played in my life was tremendous,” Wise said.
He said he also goes to a church in Germany when he gets the time, because it is where he gets his blessings from daily.
The talented left-footed former St Anthony College stand-out was among 24 players who received $750,000 in Unit Trust Corporation units and $250,000 in cash as well as the Chaconia Gold Medal from the government for their performances.
Trinidad and Tobago drew 0-0 with Sweden in their opening Group “B” match at the World Cup and produced equally impressive performances in their other two matches against England and Paraguay which they both lost 2-0.
Meanwhile Wise revealed that his performance at the World Cup has opened the door for offers from many clubs in Europe and elsewhere.
He said that there have been offers from first and second division clubs in Germany as well as teams in Greece and the United States. He said that his only problem is that he has another year remaining on his contract at Waldhof Mannhein and will have to complete it before he can move on.

Re: Evans Wise hands out his wealth.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2006, 07:05:45 AM »
It's amazing how the theads talking about goodwill and community upbringing are always bubbled down quickly where others 3 and 4 pages long.

:beermug: Wise

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2006, 07:27:52 AM »
Wise should try he best to sign with a better club while they want him, he not getting younger and by next year anything can happen, I am sure it have ways to terminate your contract.

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2006, 07:57:15 AM »
If all the footballers did the same, how much more communities across T and T will be better off. They should appreciate whatever they  get.($1 to $$$).
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

Offline whistler91

• Love, Respect, Honor
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2006, 08:01:04 AM »
Give thanx! I like to see stuff like this happening man.

Maybe more of our other heros might do the same.

Respect Wise.
There is no force like success, and that is why the individual makes all effort to surround himself throughout life with the evidence of it; as of the individual, so should it be of the nation.

Offline Johpants

« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2006, 08:26:58 AM »
Much respect and hopefully some emulation from the other warriors is due to Mr. Wise. Not only for talking the giving back talk but also the recognition that he is in partnership with a higher being and that this is the source of his blessings.

I see that there are other warriors who are doing the school circuit - at one such school visit David Atiba Charles also mentioned that his spiritual upbringing helped him personally and that many of the team's members had similar backgrounds and that that helped them thoughout the whole world cup experience. With this in mind maybe we will see more releases in this vein.

« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2006, 08:30:22 AM »
Dat real sweet. Big up Evans, cheers to you  :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2006, 08:34:57 AM »
well done! I will give him plenty points for that one.  :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2006, 09:03:43 AM »
well done evans looking out for yuh community

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2006, 09:29:34 AM »
Mr. Wise your generosity shown towards your community and by extension our sweet TNT is highly appreciated and reflects a character of christianity hardly seen in our society today, and if you should run for the prime ministership of TNT you can count on my vote,after all it would be nice to say for a change MY PRIME MINISTER 'WISE'...........

« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2006, 09:55:23 AM »
well done wise da says alot bout u

« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2006, 10:03:30 AM »
WELL DONE

« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2006, 10:05:04 AM »
blessings wise

so far u d only man to put yuh money where yuh mouth is

« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2006, 11:05:54 AM »
Nuff repsect  fuh Wise !!

2 Set of people need to stand upp now after this:

1. The other players and all who reveived rewards(give back to the community)
2. People on this board who not seeing this as a priority thread need to make so

« Reply #14 on: July 10, 2006, 11:19:59 AM »
blessings wise

that is not true... somebody else give they church...

« Reply #15 on: July 10, 2006, 11:24:52 AM »

« Reply #16 on: July 10, 2006, 11:30:47 AM »

Spann to share $$ with mom, church.

thanks, I was 99% sure, but i didn't want to risk calling wrong name  :o

« Reply #17 on: July 10, 2006, 01:27:53 PM »
well done Wise.

« Reply #18 on: July 10, 2006, 01:44:27 PM »
blessings wise

Not all of them would say publicly what they doing with it.
Ah mean who would be surprised if Marvin done donate money and just decide not to say anything.

« Reply #19 on: July 10, 2006, 01:50:40 PM »
blessings wise

Not all of them would say publicly what they doing with it.
Ah mean who would be surprised if Marvin done donate money and just decide not to say anything.

and Shotta, brudda... yuh done know Spann sharin he money wit he moms and he church... so yeah... that makes two of them... plus yuh never know... yuh might find soon more and more of them will come out to share theirs with charity.

« Reply #20 on: July 10, 2006, 01:52:47 PM »
Is the money dem fellas receiving tax free ???

« Reply #21 on: July 10, 2006, 02:10:12 PM »
Is the money dem fellas receiving tax free ???

hopefully.

« Reply #22 on: July 10, 2006, 02:31:57 PM »
Nice to see someone giving back to the community. Hopefully this can generate one more footballer from that community. Respect to wise.

« Reply #23 on: July 10, 2006, 04:05:13 PM »
Well fellas I know this area really needs some up liftment boy things real bad up ther no football at all the youths just kill when my generation left BelleVue the football stopped I mean we had a nice league men start to ban league with guns  real tough time for ballers  so any thing would help.

« Reply #24 on: July 10, 2006, 04:56:52 PM »
Thanks Mr Wise for your contribution to the team in Germany and now your contribution to your old community. You have made us proud in both areas.

P.S. People need to keep off the players. Let them do what they feel is right, after all it is their money. Be thankfull for Wise and Spann for doing what they did but don't make it seem that it is anyone's duty to reproduce this type of genoricity. Besides we do not know what some of them might have been doing all along.

« Reply #25 on: July 10, 2006, 06:01:26 PM »
i know ill take some heat for this because it sounds vicious but i wish he woulda handed out some better passes against paraguay though. The way he played and made the team, he should be forced to hand out his money. go ahead, rip away. deep down i know that he is doing a noble and worthy thing giving away his money, but im still bitter about his crosses is all.

« Reply #26 on: July 11, 2006, 05:23:50 AM »
blessings wise

Dat not true sah....Stern and LAtas been doing doing this long time now.

But great going by Wise....Keep up de good work.

« Reply #27 on: July 11, 2006, 12:03:08 PM »
well done evans!!

i am happy for the maturity that you are showing!

ps: just because it not in de news, does not mean that other players arent giving back to their comunities!!

ah love it again!!