April 26, 2024, 06:53:30 PM

Author Topic: Portugal - Most Entertaining Team of World Cup 2006  (Read 3745 times)

Portugal - Most Entertaining Team of World Cup 2006
« on: July 10, 2006, 12:36:35 PM »
as selected by the fans. WTF?

i select germany.

http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/met.html

Re: Portugal - Most Entertaining Team of World Cup 2006
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2006, 01:11:51 PM »
Interesting. I would have voted for Germany or Argentina

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2006, 01:15:03 PM »
Come now, Portugal easily had the best acting show for the WC.

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2006, 01:16:27 PM »
Come now, Portugal easily had the best acting show for the WC.
agreed....that was the most entertaining thing about them....for entertaining football i wud have gone with argentina or germany
« Last Edit: July 10, 2006, 01:32:09 PM by NYtriniwhiteboy.. »

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2006, 01:21:21 PM »
Argentina, Ghana, Germany

« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2006, 01:55:34 PM »
PORTUGAL - ENTERTAINING :o NA

GHANA, FRANCE, GERMANY ARGENTINA, TRINI, BUT NOT PORTUGAL

Offline Pompey

« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2006, 02:28:23 PM »
when they mean entertaining, do they mean comedy value? I certainly had a few good laughs at their dieing swan shows.

« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2006, 02:34:14 PM »
Portugal played some really nice football. Ghana & Germany ? hmmmm I guess to each his own but I think that People are being ifluenced by the bitter British media who have labelled them a bunch of divers in jealousy (buncha crybabies....it wouldn't do the Brits any good to dive in the box because they couldn't convert a penalty kick to save their lives anyway).......

Portugal's football was more polished than Ghana, and if you look at the game they played against Germany- they were much smoother looking with the ball than the Germans..........

and Portugal didn't dive that much more than anyone else......at least not more than Italy or France.

The difference between Portugal winning the cup and finishing where they did was a good finisher..other than that, I think their football was nice to look at.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2006, 02:41:50 PM by kicker »

Offline skatetackle

« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2006, 02:57:02 PM »
Portugal is the European version of Mexico

Offline Pompey

« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2006, 03:02:34 PM »
Portugal played some really nice football. Ghana & Germany ? hmmmm I guess to each his own but I think that People are being ifluenced by the bitter British media who have labelled them a bunch of divers in jealousy (buncha crybabies....it wouldn't do the Brits any good to dive in the box because they couldn't convert a penalty kick to save their lives anyway).......

Portugal's football was more polished than Ghana, and if you look at the game they played against Germany- they were much smoother looking with the ball than the Germans..........

and Portugal didn't dive that much more than anyone else......at least not more than Italy or France.

The difference between Portugal winning the cup and finishing where they did was a good finisher..other than that, I think their football was nice to look at.

:rotfl: very true.

I've told people this before, DON'T BELIEVE, DON'T EVEN BOTHER READING, THE ENGLISH PRESS. :beermug:

« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2006, 05:45:11 PM »
i guess it was the olympics freestyle diving events that them ppl thought portugal entered.....friggin aquatic specialists...though  i woulda perfer them than italy to win. italy eh do nuttin to win dis cup get ah cheat as spenalty agaisnt de socceroos... any way jah doh sleep..i jus vex i hadda listen to dem next set ah divers for 4 fukin yrs
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2006, 08:01:40 PM »

:rotfl: very true.

I've told people this before, DON'T BELIEVE, DON'T EVEN BOTHER READING, THE ENGLISH PRESS. :beermug:

damn straight
if yuh read that they go have yuh believing that Beckham better than Maradona and the English side is the best 11 ever put together and they going to win everything.

« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2006, 08:26:33 PM »
Why would it be a surprise?  Scolari is an accomplished coach from Brazil who believes in the beautiful game.  Allyuh English stooges could say whatever allyuh want.  Considering the schedule they had, they did well.  The movement was good.  Dey had to play, Holland, England, France and Germany.  I would say they held their own. 

The thing about Scolari's teams, they are very quick to get from de back and out to midfield...very smooth and quick transition.  I saw this with Brazil previously and I saw this with Portugal.  Yeah they didn't score any big set of fancy goals but neither did Colombia with Valderrama and Freddie Rincon and dem fellas who won a similar vote but went home early and ah man get shoot for all de exciting team dat dey was. 

Anyway, how could Deco, Ronaldo, Figo and meh boy Miguel be boring?  Dat blasted France Italy Final was boring.  Argentina was not exciting vs Germany, Mexico or even the Ivory Coast.  France was boring de whole Group Stage.  Italy was boring except for de German game.  Ghana had some excitement vs the Czechs and U.S..  Where is de excitement is losing overall 5-0 to Italy and Brazil?  Me eh care wha nobody say Cameroon woulda do better.  All dem chances dey created, dey was missing ah E'to.

If I had to vote, I would go for de Germans but Portugal definitely in de Top 5.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2006, 11:32:27 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #13 on: July 10, 2006, 08:35:59 PM »
Well I eh know bout that one..........I go say the Germans cuse they was looking good from game #1. I honestly did not think they woulda make it so far......

Only reason I could see Portugal get that is cause realllllllllllllllll women must a vote . And most a dem women vote on one thing "Looks"  ??? Wah they just loved the way Cristiano dived as if he was diving for them !!

Tha was like asking who is the more entertainng female Tennis player...I doh even needto think and the answer is Anna and that is still after I know she aint playing..Just to show my theory is two sided  ;D..and I appreciate good looking women  :beermug:

Well thas my 2 cents

« Reply #14 on: July 11, 2006, 07:48:12 PM »

PLUS
the fact that Deco is real mess

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #15 on: July 11, 2006, 08:26:49 PM »
I really enjoyed watching  the ivory coast team i would say that they were the most entertaining