April 27, 2024, 10:12:47 AM

Author Topic: Yorke looks like he has another 2 years with the National team..  (Read 5124 times)

from the express report, it looks like yorke will be playing for another 2 years with the team, maybe until he cant run with the youths no more he will retire, it will serve the team well if he can stay on and help the youths, we need that leadership, plus yorke is in extremely fit and can run with the best still, so why not, ah think latas will coach more than anything, guide the youths, yorke however will play against japan and the other friendlies for the next 2 years I believe. :beermug:

Re: Yorke looks like he has another 2 years with the National team..
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2006, 08:21:41 AM »
good news

yorke is experience...even if he is on the bench he will calm the nerves of the younger 1's

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2006, 08:27:42 AM »
Great news!! If he feel he is up to it by all means let him play, YORKE is the man and he can run with the best!

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2006, 08:28:55 AM »
Yorke boy...lookin like yuh wha go to the 2008 Olympics in Beijing...
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2006, 08:44:24 AM »
yorke will represent TNT in 2010 world cup trus mi... If mr DeMaurier (latas) could play at 37 Yorke does only drink he drinks so he should be ready and fit to go to South Afria come 2010..
warmonga

« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2006, 08:46:25 AM »
yorke will represent TNT in 2010 world cup trus mi... If mr DeMaurier (latas) could play at 37 Yorke does only drink he drinks so he should be ready and fit to go to South Afria come 2010..
warmonga

good point bredda :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2006, 09:39:32 AM »
Why alyuh cyar let the men ride orf into the sunset and retire in peace.

These old men on the side only taking up space that younger promising youths could earn.

When you retire you must go out on Top...you must not embarrass yourself.

Everyone had their time and all the senior players should be applauded for dey contribution and put to pasture.

How all other countries could do it but we looking to hold orn and milk the last once of energy from a spent battery...instead of gettin a new battery.

Develop the younger player....even if he not as good, he go be faster and fitter.

Fitness and Speed is what the game today is about.

2 years with the national team serving no purpose...the chemistry that could be created for WC qualifiers and the Next WC is what has to be developed....you have to have long term plans in mind.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2006, 09:41:45 AM by Touches »

« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2006, 10:00:56 AM »
ever the optomist eh touches

whihc youths yuh like to control dat middle

i really think a silvio aurtis midfield or a aurtis birchall middle go be nice

i choose silvio cuz he is one man i trust with poise on the ball and i think he can develop a good attacking instinct

the birchall whitley middle will be hard to break tru but wont necessarily add that attacking imputtus

« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2006, 10:05:37 AM »
who taking free kicks after yorke gone?  ???

« Reply #9 on: July 12, 2006, 10:16:28 AM »

doh matter, we never score the ones he take anyway

Jones looks like our free-kick specialist - at least when in range to have a crack at goal.
He scored the one against Peru and then Beenie brought him off the bench in the 31st minute against Paraguay to take a free kick from just outside the box

« Reply #10 on: July 12, 2006, 10:21:02 AM »

Jones looks like our free-kick specialist - at least when in range to have a crack at goal.
He scored the one against Peru and then Beenie brought him off the bench in the 31st minute against Paraguay to take a free kick from just outside the box

and Stern block de man shot with a greedy move.... that was sure goal!  :P

« Reply #11 on: July 12, 2006, 10:28:49 AM »

and Stern block de man shot with a greedy move.... that was sure goal! :P

stern aint block it

he try to move out the way but when he recognize he was to late he try to redirect it and it alost worked as far as i recall

PRESIDENT OF THE STERN FOR GOALS COMITTEE

« Reply #12 on: July 12, 2006, 10:57:09 AM »

He's a little old for that (U-23) but if he stays on we should see him in the Gold Cup at least and the beginning of qualifiers maybe

Offline sinned

« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2006, 11:01:11 AM »

He's a little old for that (U-23) but if he stays on we should see him in the Gold Cup at least and the beginning of qualifiers maybe

He could be one of the 2 guest overage players

« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2006, 11:58:44 AM »
I think it would be good if Yorke steps aside so that we have 2 yrs b4 the WCQ start in which to try out and groom his replacement(s).  We need to get accustomed to not having Yorke in the team.  He's a great leader but if it is unsure that he will be in for the next campaign, then it might be better for the next set of fellas to get his place in the team from all now.

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
« Reply #15 on: July 12, 2006, 12:29:24 PM »
I agree that we need to make room for fresh blood, but at the same time we need the guys coming in to have a leader like Yorke who can give advice and mentor them properly on and off the field..I think he should stay on at least until the Gold Cup and then ride out into the sunset... :beermug:
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........

« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2006, 01:03:59 PM »
I agree that we need to make room for fresh blood, but at the same time we need the guys coming in to have a leader like Yorke who can give advice and mentor them properly on and off the field..I think he should stay on at least until the Gold Cup and then ride out into the sunset... :beermug:

That sounds better. 

The younger players should be developed in the U-23 team and the best of that lot in the Senior Team.
Have a transition period and let the young players get a chance to train with him.

In any case he won't be back for all our games and didn't play in the last Gold Cup or Digicel Cup.

« Reply #17 on: July 12, 2006, 02:56:24 PM »
If Yorke mentors the new midfield generals without taking away from their playing time that would be great.  But if he takes up a spot that he won't be filling himself in the next campaign then it will only us in the long run.  The sooner we get those fellas out there the better. 

« Reply #18 on: July 12, 2006, 04:35:12 PM »
Birchall , Jones

personally i think that Birchall should have been the designated free kick taker/.corner kick taker during the WC to float it on to a yorke or lawrence header..........along with Jones for a shot on goal option

« Reply #19 on: July 12, 2006, 04:55:32 PM »

The thing is.. If he has a successful Gold Cup followed by a successful beginning of qualifiers.. the staff and the fans might encourage him to stay till 2010...

Not sure if Dwight want to be 38 years and playing still.... but he's fit and of he can stay fit and stay healthy..who knows what can happen....

But we could definatley use him for the next couple years to inspire and encourage the younger players...especially since I cannot pinpoint the next skipper just yet..

« Last Edit: July 12, 2006, 04:57:25 PM by big dawg »

« Reply #20 on: July 12, 2006, 05:21:13 PM »
Best dead ball kickers on the side are Birchall and Spann.

We still looking for a midfield general to play center mid. I not sure if Whitley, Birchall or Spann quite fit that bill.
Whitley looks like the most likely, but he is 28 or 29 I think.

« Reply #21 on: July 12, 2006, 05:44:05 PM »
Yorke maybe 35 but his fitness probably leaves him somewhere around 29.

« Reply #22 on: July 13, 2006, 06:14:20 AM »
A typical Trinidad mentality- Who we go put. We have to start building and if you are looking for experience then Stern John is the man.
 Honestly, as the coach I would be looking for young , speedy and athletic players who can read the game and has the basics like trapping, good first touch, etc.

« Reply #23 on: July 13, 2006, 06:33:30 AM »
A typical Trinidad mentality- Who we go put. We have to start building and if you are looking for experience then Stern John is the man.
 Honestly, as the coach I would be looking for young , speedy and athletic players who can read the game and has the basics like trapping, good first touch, etc.

Well said bro.
Checkout the play makers in the pro league (not dwarika or hardest) and pick them now so they could be part of the system and get the experience early.
Leave Yorke in the team as long as he wants with the understanding that he just there to pass on the experience and positive vibes.

Offline sprog

« Reply #24 on: July 13, 2006, 12:15:25 PM »
Why alyuh cyar let the men ride orf into the sunset and retire in peace.

These old men on the side only taking up space that younger promising youths could earn.

When you retire you must go out on Top...you must not embarrass yourself.

Everyone had their time and all the senior players should be applauded for dey contribution and put to pasture.

How all other countries could do it but we looking to hold orn and milk the last once of energy from a spent battery...instead of gettin a new battery.

Develop the younger player....even if he not as good, he go be faster and fitter.

Fitness and Speed is what the game today is about.

2 years with the national team serving no purpose...the chemistry that could be created for WC qualifiers and the Next WC is what has to be developed....you have to have long term plans in mind.

I understand what you saying but we cant just abandon the youths like that, i think two more years of a player of his stature leading the team we'll be fine.

Offline paddy

« Reply #25 on: July 13, 2006, 04:05:11 PM »
Yorkie out ran Rooney to the ball in the England game..'nuff said

« Reply #26 on: July 13, 2006, 05:24:12 PM »
I would luv to see him apart of the Olympic Team

« Reply #27 on: July 13, 2006, 06:22:25 PM »

I could probably outrun Ato if a madman like Rooney behind me looking to stamp on my balls

« Reply #28 on: July 13, 2006, 06:31:08 PM »

I could probably outrun Ato if a madman like Rooney behind me looking to stamp on my balls

hahahahahaha

oh gorm man...yuh eh care about meh dinner? :rotfl: