Is Zidane to blame for France's loss?

Yes
22 (24.4%)
No
68 (75.6%)

Total Members Voted: 88

Voting closed: July 11, 2006, 03:06:20 PM

Author Topic: Zidane  (Read 42862 times)

Offline 1989

Zidane
« on: July 09, 2006, 03:06:20 PM »
I think so.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

Re: Zidane
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2006, 03:08:18 PM »
Can't blame him fully....but he surely didn't do their cause any favors.

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2006, 03:10:03 PM »
No need to look far for a scape goat.  This game looked like it was heading to Penalties anyway and it was a forward who missed France's penalty.

Sad to see a great career end on that note.

Blessings
« Last Edit: July 09, 2006, 03:15:51 PM by Lower St. John »

« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2006, 03:10:42 PM »
No need to look far for a scape goat. 

Exactly, allow dem England traits.

« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2006, 03:12:35 PM »
Hero to Zero boy

I really am beginning to wonder if Materazzi tell him something to provoke the head butt...i see they were exchanging words but then Zidane like he changed his mind, WALK BACK and butt him out of de blue

neverrtheless i hope he is not remembered for this stain in his otherwise great career once it all blows off
« Last Edit: July 09, 2006, 03:14:24 PM by Grande man »

Offline Rymizx

• It's a small world ! - No Really...
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2006, 03:15:16 PM »
as captain he has a responsibility to lead. This he failed to do in extra time at 110mins. That there was where he lost out on ah fairy tale ending.

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2006, 03:15:21 PM »
His sending off was close to end, it did not matter....

France played well, but penalties are are game of chance.... like rolling a dice

Who knows whether or not Zidane would have converted a spot kick...

Who knows whether or not someone else would have missed, every action affects the other....

France did not lose the football game, they lost the penalty kicks....

I think it was a very even game, Italy played well in the first and France pressured in the second....

Would like to know what the hell Materazzi said to Zidane

Offline 1989

« Reply #7 on: July 09, 2006, 03:18:08 PM »

Blessings

No scape goat hunt here.   If Zidane took the penalty instead of Trezeguet, he would have scored.
Soca Warriors!  All the rest are joker warriors!

« Reply #8 on: July 09, 2006, 03:20:42 PM »

Blessings

No scape goat hunt here.   If Zidane took the penalty instead of Trezeguet, he would have scored.

not necessarily man

Zidane's last two penalties weren't that convincing nah....in the semis it was almost saved and the final both Trezeguet and Zidane's PK's hit the post, only difference was Zidane went in and Trez didn't both by a NARROW-ass margin

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #9 on: July 09, 2006, 03:21:18 PM »
What make me sad is everytime i see it i start to dislike zidane. i cant help it.

« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2006, 03:21:29 PM »

Blessings

Yuh cah convince me that Trezeguet would not have been one of the five taking penalties.  If a defender stepped forward and missed during the penalties then yuh argument might be stronger!!  Point the fingure in the right direction bredo.

Blessings.

« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2006, 03:26:27 PM »

Blessings

No scape goat hunt here.   If Zidane took the penalty instead of Trezeguet, he would have scored.

How do you know for sure that Zidane would have scored?

Offline firebun

« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2006, 03:27:31 PM »
Not sure if the answer is yes, or no but one thing for sure, when you act like an ass you will get treated like one.  

big up Soca Warriors for always maintaining discipline throughout the world cup, we certainly showed the world that we have moire class than dem big team.

Congrats Italy! better you than France! :beermug:

Ah cyar wait for the next set ah qualifiers.  Big up to the Pro League!

Offline jose

« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2006, 03:33:50 PM »
materazzi said"i f**ked your wife last night,bare back.

Offline Bob

« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2006, 03:41:37 PM »
Don't try tuh butter up wat he do nah. He's de captain and he lose he cool jes so off ah some words. He's ah mature grown ass player that shouldn't have happened man, leave that type ah attitude fuh Rooney. Sad thing is that this will be wat ppl will remember de most about him. It rell unfortunate.

« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2006, 03:43:51 PM »
No.

« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2006, 03:46:34 PM »

???

Didn't think Zidane understood that much Italian...or did Materazzi say this in French?

Either way...wey you hear dah from?

« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2006, 03:47:21 PM »

He said figlio di putana (which is translated to mean son of a bitch) and then while Zidane was running off Materazzi told him about his mother. I am not saying Zidane is right for head butting Materazzi but those Italians are dirty, cheap, play-acting players and for that matter, should be treated for the type of players they are.

Look how he fly down on the ground quick quick when it happen. All that was not even necessary.

ps: - Toppa, Zidane played in Italy from 1996-2001 with Juventus. He speaks Italian very well. As for where I heard this from....this came across BBC breaking news as a rumor.

« Last Edit: July 09, 2006, 03:55:51 PM by kingman »

« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2006, 03:51:08 PM »
seeing that is not the first time zidane do that kind of crap in a high profile match i won't go and put the blame on the italians. While it is obvious that materazzi said somehting to provoke him that was a pretty awful headbutt. Is not like he put his face up against the other guy and he pretend to fall down. A lash like that when you not expecting it woulf make even goliath fall down....

« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2006, 03:51:24 PM »

He said figlio di putana (which is translated to mean son of a bitch) and then while Zidane was running off Materazzi told him about his mother. I am not saying Zidane is right for head butting Materazzi but those Italians are dirty, cheap, play-acting players and for that matter, should be treated for the type of players they are.

Look how he fly down on the ground quick quick when it happen. All that was not even necessary.

ps: - Toppa, Zidane played in Italy from 1996-2001 with Juventus. He speaks Italian very well. As for where I heard this from....he came across BBC breaking news as a rumor.

kingman i would like your source for this breds, thanks  :beermug:

« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2006, 03:51:55 PM »
does not matter what Materazzi said .. I am sure French players have made similar comments

he left France one man short and was not therre for the penalty shots

We will never know if Zidance would have converted hi shot.

What we do know is that HE WAS NOT THERE TO TAKE A SHOT -and that my friends is a guarantee not to score.

He has to shouldera large part of the responsibility.

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2006, 03:52:56 PM »
take that down na ..it sad to watch da end of a career hapenin over and over wit stupidness on his part.... :-[.........as a youth man i am disapointed as i se this from  aman i look up to in footbal and worse off as captain i the final.....i was inspired whn i saw him do da becknbauer heroics and then dejected watchin him do tht act.

Offline jub02

« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2006, 04:19:37 PM »

ps: - Toppa, Zidane played in Italy from 1996-2001 with Juventus. He speaks Italian very well. As for where I heard this from....he came across BBC breaking news as a rumor.

kingman i would like your source for this breds, thanks  :beermug:

What did he say about his mother?

« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2006, 04:23:53 PM »
regardless of what was said..Zidane was wrong, plain and simple..as for what was said, there will be rumors..I am sure Zidane and Materazzi will have different versions of what was said.

Offline jub02

« Reply #24 on: July 09, 2006, 04:24:56 PM »
regardless of what was said..Zidane was wrong, plain and simple..as for what was said, there will be rumors..I am sure Zidane and Materazzi will have different versions of what was said.

yeah we all know it wrong..but i wanna no what he said..it might make me like zidane a bit more agian

Offline sinned

« Reply #25 on: July 09, 2006, 04:51:31 PM »

yeah we all know it wrong..but i wanna no what he said..it might make me like zidane a bit more agian

if it was ah english player got headbutt you woulda care what the englishman say? or if it was we trini get headbutt like that allyuh would be complaining? no. plain and simple - that is a red card if i ever see one

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2006, 04:52:51 PM »

You know what I am not a french supporter or a big Zidane fan, but I was supporting France over Italy.....

WHEN I SAW THE FOUL I REALISE SOMETHING NASTY HAD TO BE SAID!!!

AND I LIKED HOW ZIDANE REACTED, FOR THAT I RESPECT HIM!!!!

SOMETIMES CERTAIN THINGS IN LIFE MUST BE PERSERVED, CHERISHED AND PROTECTED

WHEN ANOTHER TRAMPLES ON THOSE THINGS, INSTINCT SURFACES.....

SOME THINGS ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN WINNING..... I SAW A MAN PROTECTING HIS IDEALS!

« Reply #27 on: July 09, 2006, 04:55:44 PM »
I don't think the French ppl (those who know football) will blame Zidane though, and far less Trezeguet. Midknight, what's the general mood regarding this over there?

« Reply #28 on: July 09, 2006, 05:01:40 PM »

You know what I am not a french supporter or a big Zidane fan, but I was supporting France over Italy.....

WHEN I SAW THE FOUL I REALISE SOMETHING NASTY HAD TO BE SAID!!!

AND I LIKED HOW ZIDANE REACTED, FOR THAT I RESPECT HIM!!!!

SOMETIMES CERTAIN THINGS IN LIFE MUST BE PERSERVED, CHERISHED AND PROTECTED

WHEN ANOTHER TRAMPLES ON THOSE THINGS, INSTINCT SURFACES.....

SOME THINGS ARE MORE IMPORTANT THAN WINNING..... I SAW A MAN PROTECTING HIS IDEALS!

protecting his ideals?..so basically yuh saying it is right to resort to violence when offended.

instinct..after the lil tussle..Zidane ran past de man, stoped..turned around..faced him..they had an exchange of words then head butt..that doh look like instinct to me....so if yuh respect him for head butting ah man that is ur choice..i respect him for being a great footballer...i respect him for leading france to WC final at age 34.

You are correct that some things are more important than winning but that is not a good justification for his actions.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #29 on: July 09, 2006, 05:07:37 PM »
racist Italian must have said something. Zizou doh do dem things. I bet him say something racist