April 16, 2024, 09:36:22 AM

Author Topic: Italy vs France  (Read 31905 times)

Offline ANC2

Italy vs France
« on: July 05, 2006, 02:57:05 PM »
I saying it fuss. No wat that French team could beat Italy, especially if henry play. he doing nothing he not even looking like he want to play.
Italy 3 france -0

Offline Ronaldo

• WWE Rush
Re: Italy vs France
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 03:29:46 PM »
No way did you see how they played Portugal the only reason why the score was bullshit, if they werent given the goal they would've never reached Portugal's net. Italy has this in the bag hands down.

Offline UK_Soca_warrior

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2006, 03:41:11 PM »
2-0 Italy, the Azzurri gonna take this. Its their year, and they looked like champs last night. France I'm afraid didnt tonight  :-\

Offline trini_chris

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2006, 07:21:37 PM »
FORZA ITALIA... FORZA GLI AZZURRI...GO ITALY
d original WARRIOR PRINCESS. win or lose i am a FIGHTER.

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2006, 07:29:29 PM »
I HATE Italy with a passion!!! Equal to Argentina......BUT....I must admit that they backline reaaall impressing mi this rounds.

Likewise, people don't seem to realize that France's backline is also formidable. I cyar even begin to predict this one. Except that the longer it goes tied, the better chance Italy have (unless is penalties). They probably have more gas. Other than that, toss up.

« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2006, 07:35:18 PM »
I HATE Italy with a passion!!! Equal to Argentina......BUT....I must admit that they backline reaaall impressing mi this rounds.

Likewise, people don't seem to realize that France's backline is also formidable. I cyar even begin to predict this one. Except that the longer it goes tied, the better chance Italy have (unless is penalties). They probably have more gas. Other than that, toss up.

I agree with you on the points of both defenses, hence I think it's going to be a boring final.

Offline LICKS4SO

« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2006, 08:04:43 PM »
It really is amazing to me that very few is giving the French any credit. The mostly black team of France is going to win the WC. And I am very happy for them.

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2006, 08:30:05 PM »
For Italy to win:

1. As much as I despise this type of football, they need to play Catenaccio. I think they will, because usually they revert to type whenever they play a big team. A match like Euro 2000 final would suit them. If they risk a open game, they dead.
2. They need to use Luca Toni. Hard to stop a big, strong, fit, fast man like he.
3. Stop Zidane. If is any team that can neutralize him, is Italy. Marcello Lippi knows him inside out, from their time together at Juve.

For France to win:

1.They need to finish their chances. Buffon is in form, Henry cyar be missing or they in trouble.
2. Makalele and Viera need to boss the midfield. Right now, Pirlo needs to be neutralized. He makes it happen for Italy
3. Play Trezeguet at sometime in de game ;D

Ketch footballitis

« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2006, 08:42:09 PM »
For Italy to win:

1. As much as I despise this type of football, they need to play Catenaccio. I think they will, because usually they revert to type whenever they play a big team. A match like Euro 2000 final would suit them. If they risk a open game, they dead.
2. They need to use Luca Toni. Hard to stop a big, strong, fit, fast man like he.
3. Stop Zidane. If is any team that can neutralize him, is Italy. Marcello Lippi knows him inside out, from their time together at Juve.

For France to win:

1.They need to finish their chances. Buffon is in form, Henry cyar be missing or they in trouble.
2. Makalele and Viera need to boss the midfield. Right now, Pirlo needs to be neutralized. He makes it happen for Italy
3. Play Trezeguet at sometime in de game ;D

trezeguet should get some playing time.

one question though. de yellow that saha get today. is that he second yellow? i think i remember him getting a yellow in one a them games.

« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2006, 09:07:45 PM »
I saying it fuss. No wat that French team could beat Italy, especially if henry play. he doing nothing he not even looking like he want to play.
Italy 3 france -0

Quote from: ANC2
Glad for henry! As I said in one of my post if Frnce won today they will win it all, I stand by that

fellaz, look and learn how to hedge yuh bets, so come sunday night you could boast - I TOLD YOU SO!!!!.  ;)
« Last Edit: July 05, 2006, 11:14:36 PM by bounty killer »

Offline ANC2

« Reply #10 on: July 06, 2006, 06:41:41 AM »
True. I was so vex of the shit they played against Portugal, especially Henry. I had to say somthing  ;D

« Reply #11 on: July 06, 2006, 08:08:19 AM »
I like France and Italy is looking more like the Italy of old. I not trying to predict this one, either of those teams would be worthy of the cup. I am just going to sit back and enjoy this one!! It is going to be very exciting I know. :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

France, Italy and history......peter goldstein
« Reply #12 on: July 06, 2006, 08:53:47 AM »
My favorite World Cup stat involves participants and results in the semifinals. It’s been mentioned a few times before in this space, but in case you missed it, here’s the updated version. In World Cup history, there have been 16 semifinals (including the de facto semifinals of 1974) which matched a team that had been to the Final before against a team that had yet to reach its first Final. How many of those games have the pedigreed teams won? Answer: 14. The only two exceptions: 1958, where Sweden, playing at home, beat West Germany, and 1974, where Holland beat Brazil. All the others, 14 out of 16, were won by the team that had been to a Final before.

The most recent example was last night, where France, with history on their side, beat Portugal. To be honest, there was little else to separate the teams. Compared to Germany-Italy, this was like a playoff for a second promotion place, with the league leader some 20 points ahead. Portugal again showed ability but little cutting edge; France, with Thierry Henry again as lone ranger, not much more. Both teams were trying to score (in the first half, anyway), but seemed unlikely to do so. France got a soft but legitimate penalty, then turned it over to Vieira, Makelele, and Thuram. We waited all night for the inevitable Fabian Barthez gaffe, and it was a beauty: a caber toss that may very well get him named an honorary Scotsman. But Figo headed over the bar, and France were in the Final.

It was a disappointing finish for Portugal. Over six games they were never less than lively, but their failures in attack did them in. Cristiano Ronaldo has plenty of flash, but he’s really a solo act, who seems lost when he actually has to combine with players wearing the same colors. Figo has the team concept down, but no longer has the skills. As for Pauleta, he might as well have taken the tournament off. Overall Scolari did a good job: past Portugal sides would never have survived the cauldron against the Netherlands. They showed a bit more steel than we’ve seen before. Unfortunately, their petulance was as disagreeable as ever. Against France, Cristiano Ronaldo’s swan dive was a classic, but the most characteristic moment came when Pauleta, expecting a return pass from Miguel, turned, saw him on the ground, and went bananas over a supposed foul that he could not possibly have seen. Fittingly, the replay showed that Miguel had gone down without contact.

As for France, they have to be one of the most surprising finalists ever. They have only one top-class player in his prime, Thierry Henry, and he’s largely wasted by Domenech’s tactics. But after a dreadful group stage, somehow the oldsters and journeymen raised their game. Spain, Brazil, and Portugal are by any standard a formidable set of opponents, and France beat them all legitimately.

The big story is, of course, Zinedine Zidane. The famous number 10 is in his best form in ages, intelligent, smooth, a true leader. And although against Portugal he didn’t create much from open play, he was the one who stepped to the spot against Ricardo, and he was the one who put it where the keeper couldn’t get it. Penalty kicks rarely get the acclaim, but that was a magnificent specimen, well worthy to send a team to the Final.

If we’re talking history, France’s progress is most reminiscent of Italy 1982, who managed three lifeless draws in the group stage before sweeping all before them. But it’s hard to see this team defeating the 2006 azzurri. Look at Franck Ribery: he’s always working, always on the verge of doing something remarkable, but doesn’t quite have the talent to pull it off. Then there’s the old Zidane-Henry chemistry problem: two great talents who just don’t fit together. At one point in the first half Zidane had the ball and Henry was back to goal; each man was visibly waiting for the other to do something. Right now, Italy have more quality and better tactical coordination.

But if we look at the past instead, the signs are much more promising. This France side is surprisingly similar to that of 1998. They don’t have much striking power, but they’re excellent in defense and have a quality playmaker. They’re also the underdogs in the Final, against a team with superior World Cup pedigree. We know what happened in 1998: two goals from Zidane, a comprehensive victory, a title. I admit I’ll be shocked if France win it again in 2006. But if somehow they raise the trophy on Sunday, blame it on history, which in the World Cup as elsewhere, inevitably will out.

www.planetworldcup.com

Re: France, Italy and history......peter goldstein
« Reply #13 on: July 06, 2006, 09:31:32 AM »
this guy is good.

Italy have 10 different scorers for the 11 goals they have scored. That for me is an amazing fact and one that can be difference come Sunday. France have found football viagra in Thuram, Makelele, Viera, Bartez (yes he too) and Zidane. They have lifted the supporting cast and made believers of themselves and one cannot help but feel Henry will explode at some point. Actually some of his better games were against the Italians as he always feels he has something to prove for the manner he was treated in his short spell there.
I get the feeling this will either be a classic final or a repeat of the World Cup final in 1990. Lets hope its a classic. Italy seems to be already celebrating, it will serev them well to remember the last time they did that in the Euro only to be heart broken. Lippi is a sly fox and I suspect will not allow that to happen. Give him credit he has put togehter an exciting Italian side. One that served notice with convincing pre WC games versus Holland and Germany.

My money is on -------------------- Lets wait till Sunday after the game :D

« Reply #14 on: July 06, 2006, 10:47:30 AM »
head 2 head from the FIFA archives.

France (FRA) 2:1 a.e.t. (1:1,0:0)  Italy (ITA) 

UEFA EURO 2000  ROTTERDAM NETHERLANDS - 02.07.2000 

Italy (ITA) 0:0 a.e.t. 3:4PSO  France (FRA) 

1998 FIFA World Cup France (TM)  SAINT-DENIS FRANCE - 03.07.1998 

France (FRA) 2:2 (1:0)  Italy (ITA) 

Friendly 1997  PARIS FRANCE - 11.06.1997 

Italy (ITA) 0:1 (0:1)  France (FRA) 

Friendly 1994  NAPLES ITALY - 16.02.1994 

Italy (ITA) 0:2 (0:1)  France (FRA) 

1986 FIFA World Cup Mexico (TM)  MEXICO CITY MEXICO - 17.06.1986 

Italy (ITA) 2:1 (1:1)  France (FRA) 

1978 FIFA World Cup Argentina (TM)  MAR DEL PLATA ARGENTINA - 02.06.1978 

Italy (ITA) 3:1 (1:1)  France (FRA) 

1938 FIFA World Cup France (TM)  COLOMBES-PARIS FRANCE - 12.06.1938

Offline sinned

« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2006, 02:21:16 PM »
We all know is Les Bleus vs the Azzurri so who wearing BLUE??

Well the answer is Italy - FIFA announced today that Italy will be wearing their home color and France will once again play in white.
I dont think either side will mind because Italy loves its blue and even though France loves blue also they have beaten Spain, Brazil and Portufal with white.

« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2006, 02:45:38 PM »
I back them in 86, was not around in 90 or 94....Celebarted in a Brazil Bar when they won, was crestfallen for 2002 and now 8 years later they back in the Final

As you can see, when i backing you.....I backing you. I eh partial is FRANCE in alll the wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

ZIZOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
4 pREZ

« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2006, 02:49:11 PM »
:yawning:
France winning easy easy

Offline sinned

« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2006, 03:47:19 PM »
France winning easy easy

Nice.. you come to blight France with your goat mouth -- Italy all the way

« Reply #19 on: July 06, 2006, 03:51:57 PM »
France winning easy easy

Nice.. you come to blight France with your goat mouth -- Italy all the way
france all de way.

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #20 on: July 06, 2006, 04:02:30 PM »
before this w.c ..iinfact before the italy germany game i wasnt so into italy..i jus always thought..italy is jus divers. but in the germany game i notice the players tryin to get rid of that reputation and they play some real good football. totti was the only italian diving so much

if italy dont dive thru the game..im with them..i say they deserve it
but then again..u dunno wot to expect from france..or henry

« Reply #21 on: July 06, 2006, 04:16:17 PM »
Dread.........if Italy win I go be on the first flight outta Toronto......cause they go get on............wid all they FORZA.....4 like a week.........I wid me Frenchies, people write them off after 2002, but just like the Warriors they go rise to the ocassion...........The Master will have a Grand exit.

From tomorrow Is only French wine and food for moi.......Oui. I have to cleanse the body of all pasta in my system  ;D

Zizouuuuuuuuuuu I know u go shine...let we do it again  :beermug:

« Reply #22 on: July 06, 2006, 04:23:34 PM »
I going wid France oui, they have African, White, Arab, Indian, Latin on dey team. Dat could be ah Trini team dey.
« Last Edit: July 06, 2006, 04:25:13 PM by Pointman »

« Reply #23 on: July 06, 2006, 04:37:02 PM »
France winning easy easy

well yes italy winning for sure now  ;D

WTD is de biggest goat mought in de world... :rotfl:

Brazil Germany final fuh sure  :whistling:

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #24 on: July 06, 2006, 07:52:30 PM »
FORZA ITALIA!!!![/color][/size]

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #25 on: July 06, 2006, 08:03:14 PM »
Last swansong for Zizou.
Has always had a sense of occasion.
Look for a spectacular game from the French maestro

Comme on dites : Zidane- Genial!

Allez les Bleus!
Ketch footballitis

Re: France, Italy and history......peter goldstein
« Reply #26 on: July 07, 2006, 01:17:07 AM »
 Against France, Cristiano Ronaldo’s swan dive was a classic, but the most characteristic moment came when Pauleta, expecting a return pass from Miguel, turned, saw him on the ground, and went bananas over a supposed foul that he could not possibly have seen. Fittingly, the replay showed that Miguel had gone down without contact.

I wonder if you're talking about the injury that Miguel sustained when he landed awkwardly and injured himself and subsequently had to be substituted because he could not continue playing..........It seems as though you're implying that Miguel may have "dived", and, if so, I think you're being a little hard on him.  He was one of Portugal's better players throughout the tournament and it seems as though he really messed himself up on that play and he was not trying to gat a "foul" called from the referee as he was clearly in a great deal of discomfort when he signalled to his coaching staff to be taken off.  Portugal lost a major threat up the right side when he came off and I don't believe he would do that to his team just to feign injury.

« Reply #27 on: July 07, 2006, 01:22:54 AM »
Mango Chow I agree with you.  Miguel was truly hurt and de ref did not stop de game.  I would be pissed like Pauleta too.

Anyway, dem Italian say dey have players who could stop Zidane.  Steups.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/world_cup_2006/teams/italy/5152726.stm
« Last Edit: July 07, 2006, 01:24:46 AM by Savannah boy »

Offline croc

« Reply #28 on: July 07, 2006, 01:49:33 AM »
France all the way!!!!!  reasons why 1.They rob Australia 2.I dont like their racist attitude towards the black players playing in their country 3.More than half the French team BLACK
    P.S.Ah hope they kick dey A**

« Reply #29 on: July 07, 2006, 07:31:51 AM »
Mango Chow i think he was more talking about pauleta. Who quite clearly did not see what happened and turn thinking his mate was fouled and the ref eh call it, went ballistic. So is Pauleta he dealing with not Miguel.