April 28, 2024, 02:25:42 PM

Author Topic: Italy vs France  (Read 32011 times)

Re: Italy vs France
« Reply #150 on: July 09, 2006, 06:43:12 PM »
Like I said...Italy had destiny on their side...they make the WC final every 12 years (since 1970) and win every other one

1970 - Lost to Brazil 1-4
1982 - Beat Germany 3-1
1994 - Lost to Brazil on penalties (2-3); 0-0 final score
2006 - Beat France on penalties (5-3); 1-1 final score

I guess they can now look forward to losing the 2018 final ;)
« Last Edit: July 10, 2006, 10:01:05 AM by Filho »

Offline Augi

« Reply #151 on: July 09, 2006, 06:59:09 PM »
One thing we can thank France for...

Now the US can't keep claiming they scored the only goal against Italy this World Cup!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

true but they will claim they drew with the world champions while playing with 9 men.
Example:
http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=101245&page=233

"The US tied the World Cup champions, down a man in the whole second half. Hell should have beat them."
::)

Offline Rymizx

• It's a small world ! - No Really...

« Reply #153 on: July 10, 2006, 12:06:19 AM »
Italy boring.  Me eh care who say what.  Dat is my opinion and I sticking to my guns.  Trust meh, I eh looking for agreement on this one.  The 3rd place play off was more exciting to watch.  Apart from de Germany match, I'd say dey have found an effective cure for insomnia.  Dey are divers and hollywood actors as well...making a meal out of every foul. 
« Last Edit: July 10, 2006, 12:09:52 AM by Savannah boy »

Offline Augi

educate me on italy
« Reply #155 on: July 10, 2006, 05:42:51 PM »
why does italy wear blue when there flag colours r red green and white?

« Reply #156 on: July 10, 2006, 05:50:33 PM »

maybe same reason, holland wear ORANGE, Australia wear gold and green, Germany wear white...and the list goes on, even though that colour is not part of their flag...but my short answer is...ah doh know!  ;D

Re: educate me on italy
« Reply #157 on: July 10, 2006, 06:31:21 PM »

This is what I've heard...correct me if I'm wrong

The Italian national team wears blue because it is the colour of "Savoia"- the ruling house of Italy from 1861 to 1946. Until the end of the second world war, the Italian flag used to have the Savoy coat of arms in the middle.........

After the family was overthrown, the Italian Republic was established in 1946.....and red, white & green was adopted as the national flag

« Reply #158 on: July 10, 2006, 07:15:39 PM »

This is what I've heard...correct me if I'm wrong

The Italian national team wears blue because it is the colour of "Savoia"- the ruling house of Italy from 1861 to 1946. Until the end of the second world war, the Italian flag used to have the Savoy coat of arms in the middle.........

After the family was overthrown, the Italian Republic was established in 1946.....and red, white & green was adopted as the national flag

sorry for going off topic but what about japan? why do they wear blue?

« Reply #159 on: July 10, 2006, 07:42:50 PM »

sorry for going off topic but what about japan? why do they wear blue?

haha..sorry don't have any suggestions there

« Reply #160 on: July 10, 2006, 08:21:38 PM »
Holland:

The colour comes from the House of Orange-Nassau, an aristocratic family that is often assocaited with the founding of a independent Dutch state and to which the current Dutch royal family are a part of. Orange was of course the colour of their household, and is hence the colour of the royal family.

Italy:

as mentioned to honour their last king, Vittorio Emanuele II, and blue is the color of the house of Savoy

Australia:

Australia’s official National Colours are green and gold. These were formally established in a proclamation by the Governor-General, Sir Ninian Stevens, dated 19 April 1984
more - http://www.worldwidewattle.com/infogallery/symbolic/nationalcolours.php

Offline football prof

YOU CANT SCORE AGAINST ITALY!
« Reply #161 on: July 12, 2006, 07:44:59 PM »
I heard that if you play for an Italian club, and you play against Italy, you are not allowed to score against them. Just think, Veira (Juventus) suddenly pulls up?  There is no doubt that Veira would have been taking a penalty.Trezeguet (Juventus) missed penalty? And of course 2002 the Korean player. Does anyone know anything about this?

Offline sinned

Re: YOU CANT SCORE AGAINST ITALY!
« Reply #162 on: July 12, 2006, 08:10:09 PM »
Nonsense..You feel  Trezeuguet holding loyalty to Juve which going down division this year?? Nonsense..
Plus Zaccardo score ah own goal :rotfl: (joking on that one)

« Reply #163 on: July 12, 2006, 08:36:15 PM »
this iste have more conspiracy theories than who kill Kennedy. According to andre I luv it

Offline football prof

« Reply #164 on: July 12, 2006, 09:16:41 PM »
Conspiracy! I know, It was something I read. It is a good way to look at it though. I just wanted to see if anyone else heard the same thing.

Offline skatetackle

« Reply #165 on: July 12, 2006, 10:10:13 PM »
We only palying devil's advocate, DT shouldn't have missed that penality, he pulled a French version of Baggio.

« Reply #166 on: July 12, 2006, 10:15:18 PM »
It something like that...though not as extreme. A korean player scored on italy last world cup and got real problems when he went back to his club. I cant remember the name offhand....buh i remember hearing about it.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #167 on: July 13, 2006, 08:09:54 AM »
Actually, for a team that does not concede many goals in the WC...a few of their tormentors play or played in Italy. These are some of the Italian-based players who have scored on Italy in the WC since 1982...(I did not include any who may have scored in the PK shootouts that Italy have been involved in).

Falcao (Roma) - 1982
Maradona (Napoli), Platini (Juventus) - 1986
Canniggia (Atalanta) 1990
Milan Rapaic and Ahn Jung-Hwan (Perugia) 2002

Worse yet...Platini is of Italian origin (his grandfather moved to France in search of work), and many others like Socrates, Salas and Passarella were bought by Italian clubs after scoring on them in the WC. The treatment of Ahn was an anomoly...the president of Perugia at that time was a crazy fascist idiot. Most famous though, is Juve buyingTrexeguet after he poisoned them in Euro 2000

« Reply #168 on: July 31, 2006, 12:24:57 AM »

Ato, no hard luck for Henry boy. I still wonder how people don't recognize him as one of the biggest goats/chokers of all time.

No comment........check my posts.

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug: