April 29, 2024, 03:34:58 AM

Author Topic: Under 20 Gold Cup  (Read 1154 times)

Under 20 Gold Cup
« on: June 13, 2005, 08:38:03 PM »
I was watching Fox soccer channel and the commentator said something I was asking myself for a long time why our federation does not have a youth cup maybe a under20 Gold Cup, while we at it add under17 and a Caribbean youth cup as well, this will expose our youth teams to international games, so when World Cup qualifiers come around their better prepared.   

Re: Under 20 Gold Cup
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2005, 09:45:01 PM »
Bally bredrin that is long over due but it should be ah under 18 cfu & gold cup yuh know to see the next batch of players to rep us at the next world youth cup.But look on the bright side there will be an under 15 cfu tournament in tnt august 2-15 or sumthing

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2005, 04:17:20 AM »
When I was a youth growing up in the 80s a CFU U-19 tournament was held annualy.

Dexter Skeene was on the 1981 side, Captained and V. Captained by Garth Pollanais and Ronnie Simmons respectively.

The 1984 squad had fellas like Leonson Lewis, lindley PRince, Marcelle, Fausting, Charles and Dexter Sandy.

Peace,

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2005, 08:48:10 AM »
yeah it used to be regular VB you right but then starting around late 80's every tournament was cancelled due to lack of funds and teams-some countries supposedly could not afford to send a team

and yeah it was always u-16 or u-20 when it shoulda been u-15 and u-18 so when concacaf or WC come the nucleus the same

another thing is when we play a senior team friendly why not ask tha same team to bring their u-17 or u-19 etc just wha 20 extra tickets 10 rooms and have a double header-think it is standard in Europe-youth teams play day b4 the sr team

no doubt high team we get this going cause tt youth teams does play an average of 1 game a yr