April 19, 2024, 11:12:10 AM

Author Topic: Griffith: No billion-dollar sports complex  (Read 4204 times)

Griffith: No billion-dollar sports complex
« on: June 13, 2005, 09:39:40 PM »
Griffith: No billion-dollar sports complex

...not when players have to dip in their pockets to represent T&T

BY Mark Pouchet

Tuesday, June 14th 2005

The recent announcement by Government of a $850 million national sports complex has sparked much public reaction as to the viabilty and wisdom of such a project at this time.

Among those voicing their opinion on the matter is Captain Gary Griffith, a former Trinidad and Tobago Hockey Board (T&THB) vice-president and national team manager (1998-2002).

In a letter to the Express, Griffith has lashed out at Government over the multi-million-dollar elite sports and training complex to be constructed at Tarouba, saying the money could be better spent by ensuring national athletes don't have to dip into their pockets to represent their country.

Griffith argued that Government neglected to conduct a Cost Benefit Analysis of the Tarouba facility, adding that the project is unlikely to be self-sufficient.

"The sudden, non-budgeted approval for a sports training facility that will eventually cost over $1 billion, or maybe even about the same cost as the much-talked about Piarco Airport, again shows the professionalism of our Banana Republic-styled way of thinking in politics," Griffith declared.

"It is quite obvious that absolutely no Cost Benefit Analysis or proper needs assessment was done to justify this facility by a Government that constantly criticised the construction of four stadiums (for the 2001 Under-17 World Cup) each at a cost of less than $100 million, yet they now find justification to construct a training facility to be built in a sparsely-populated area, inclusive of a 'practice' cricket facility with a seating capacity of over 20,000 that will never see a crowd of over 1,000 turning up there, as the only time you can get numbers in excess of 10,000 at a cricket game is at the One Day Internationals, and these games will still be played at the Queen's Park Oval," Griffith pointed out.

He stated Government is using the 2007 Cricket World Cup to attempt to justify the huge expenditure on the $265 million Brian Lara Stadium, a facility that will only be used for warm-up and first round matches in the World Cup.

Griffith believes athletes, who he said had to hold cake sales, raffles and go "begging" for money, will be better served by Government's funding of their national outings.

"We are still in a country where almost every amateur sporting discipline continues to be plagued with having to demand that our national players have to financially contribute to represent their country," he emphasised.

Griffith termed as "ridiculous" the practice of Government's small contributions and mandate to national bodies to pay the remainder.

"This mandatory financial contribution is then inevitably thrown on the players themselves, as in most cases amateur sporting disciplines are mostly coordinated by amateur sporting bodies, hence aspects such as self-sufficiency are out of the question, so the burden is placed on the poor national sportsman, who is now forced to pay his own way to represent his country, or stay at home," said Griffith.

He added that that undesirable situation-citing the example of the 2001 Pan Am World Cup Qualifying national indoor hockey team he managed-severely affects the morale and self-motivation of the players "as they spend their time wondering, sometimes up to 48 hours before departure, whether they are indeed travelling or not because of financial constraints".

Having stated his case, Griffith said he is not totally against the idea of the $850 million project-just not at this time.

"I am not saying that such a billion-dollar sport training facility is of no value to our nation, but we need to get our priorities straight," he argued.

"And if our nation is now so filthy rich that we can spend over $1,000 million for a sports facility that will be an inevitable white elephant, then we must ensure that our national sportsmen and women must NEVER be forced to put their hands in their pockets to represent us again."

That means, according to Griffith, providing them with stipend for travelling to games and training; providing them with suppliments and vitamins, medical insurance plans whilst training and at all tournaments; purchasing of uniforms; and, above all, "not having the least concern about financial shortfalls prior to an international tournament.

"This should cost the Government no more than $100 million per annum for all sporting disciplines," Griffith suggested, before concluding: "which is a drop in the bucket as compared to a billion-dollar stadium that will be empty most of the time".

Re: Griffith: No billion-dollar sports complex
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2005, 03:42:13 AM »
RE: Not when players have to dip in their pockets to represent T&T !!

So true.... and you will still vote for PNM nex election so take f**k now.

Most crime & kidnapping in our history was last year and this year and de year now start, our sports men and women suffering and Manning only studing how to win next election.

Manning spending $850 million on one stadium..... de kidnappers kidnapping de wrong set ah people, Manning loaded..... imagine if Panday did do that especially for a no cause. Corruption is de place, all them politicans is thief and smart men and de innocent does pay.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2005, 03:47:48 AM by Sam »

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2005, 09:31:51 AM »
I agree with the comment regarding athletes dipping in their own pocket in order to represent TNT.  That money should be spent on other areas in sports instead of that complex.  Another issue is the amount of officials we take to the Olympics and other Games so they can "gallery" instead of we taking more athletes or preventing athletes from coming out of pocket.

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2005, 11:07:09 AM »
Thats a whole lotta money for a complex, when there are indeed many other areas of the country that need fixing. Even if we were to focus on just sports and athletes alone: we are in need of more developmental programs for the youth that will recognize talent and nuture it.  The gov't should be actively involved from the early stages in a promising athletes development, not just sit back wait until they have secured their own scholarhsip, endured and financed their own training, then rely on their patriotism to bring them back to the fold to wear the Red, White and Black when we need to form a national team.  When you take a reactive approach like that you end up with athletes like Kerron Clement waving the US flag.
Wouldn't it be great if two football teams primary schoolers and high schoolers of the most promising ones in thse age groups attened summer soccer camps abroad (US and/or UK), competed in tournaments, developed fundamental skills and learned to play with each other from a young age.
It might be just me but that would set us up real good for the future.

Are honest hard working Teachers, and Protective servicemen paid enough?

CoP Griffith reopens $.8m Police football field
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2020, 09:40:42 PM »
CoP Griffith reopens $.8m Police football field
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Members of the T&T Police football team and its other sports teams will now have the use of an upgraded football field as they look ahead to competing in the top flight football and other sporting events.

This after the St James Police Barracks Training Ground football field was upgraded to the cost of $800,000 by the Superior Landscaping and General Contracting Company Limited over the last five months and was officially reopened by Commissioner of Police (CoP) Gary Griffith, yesterday.

The reopening of the football field marked the first time the venue has been upgraded thanks to the work of CoP Griffith since it first came into use back in 1965.

Speaking at the relaunch of the ground, a beaming Griffith said, “This can very well be a game-changer. This is arguably one of, if not the best football fields in the country at this time and the only way that could continue to be is a word that we seem to be lacking because we love to build things and not maintain, is maintenance.

"Maintenance is going to be critical to ensure that this remains a ground that can match with any ground in the world. I travel a lot and I can tell you that the best football field in the Premier League is at the best football club in Manchester United Old Trafford Ground, you will see it looks like it. This is world-class and I wish to commend the contractors on their excellent job done.

"As was earlier stated, years ago we played hockey here and winning the toss used to be very important because you had 'uphill' and 'downhill'. But with a ground like this, it is not just about football as we also have the cricket pitch on the inside which is undoubtedly one of the best in the country, and in a few months when we go to the south ground, we will also have one of the best hockey fields in the country and we are looking at putting in a 4G there as well."

Expecting some to criticise the venture, Griffith said, "Now the public will ask especially persons who have never kicked a lime in their life what is the reason for all of this. In this country, we try to look at sport as extra-curricular, but in Europe and other countries, the reason why they continue to step ahead of us is that they look at sport as core-curricular.

"And if it is we continue to speak about development, development for young persons, sport is an excellent avenue to change a young boy into a man, for you to be the best that you can be. Not everyone is going to be excellent or a professional in the sport that they play but if every young person plays a sport it can bring all of the character traits that can help you from being a young underdeveloped person into a man.

"The character traits that you get from sport in terms of leadership, tactics, punctuality, uniformity, team-work, getting the job done and not giving up, all of these things that you have from sport you can put that into you as a young man or woman into becoming a better person and to help our society.

"We intend to show that policing is much than what is know as primary crime prevention as it also has to do with the community aspect and working with the young persons and helping them turn away from a life of crime using sport as an avenue as we did with the help of national coach Terry Fenwick with the Commissioner's Cup where we had over 100 Youth Clubs involved, " said Griffith, an avid hockey player as well.

National football coach and former England World Cup defender Terry Fenwick also expressing his satisfaction with the new-look field.

A stunned Fenwick said, "I am a little unfamiliar with the ground at the moment because I had gotten used to the long slope with a big barren area and dust, but now I have to hold my hands out to the contractors as the venue now looks like Wembley or even better than Wembley.

Looking ahead, he said, "It's now about maintenance and keeping this field in the fantastic nick as it is at the moment."

Among the other guests in attendance were former national players and 2006 Germany FIFA World Cup duo, striker Stern John and defender Brent Sancho, senior national indoor men's hockey team coach Raphael Govia, ASP Bailey, chairman of the Police Football Division, and ASP Foncette, vice-chairman of the Police Football Division, Joshua Pierre, general secretary Police Sports Club, Neikesha Brathwaite, Events Manager Police Service.

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2020, 07:26:44 AM »
There are three sports field at the barracks. There is a football/cricket field inside the compound. And there is the field on Long Circular Rd near what used to be PSA. Which is it? Then there is the hockey field on Western Main Rd and Long Circular. Do they still play hockey there?

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2020, 07:41:58 AM »
This is the one up Long Circular Road I believe

« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2020, 08:19:41 AM »
There are three sports field at the barracks. There is a football/cricket field inside the compound. And there is the field on Long Circular Rd near what used to be PSA. Which is it? Then there is the hockey field on Western Main Rd and Long Circular. Do they still play hockey there?

« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2020, 10:11:42 AM »
Gary is friggin kiksman oui. Now, is this grass? Kind of look like synthetic. But it looks nice. Played there once or twice.

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2020, 10:22:48 AM »
Funny you ent see if opposition calling for grounds like that in Chaganus Siparia Debe and Caroni?

« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2020, 10:27:34 AM »
Kudos to the CoP. Working all sides of the divide, and getting the job done.

That 1.2 + b Toruba still eating plenty ppl doh. He tried to tell them.

« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2020, 06:15:49 PM »

Off and on when it's maintained.
Prior to the dry season it wasin pretty good condition.
and the work began on the main field and i guess the hockey field wasnt a priority. It was in pretty bad shape pre-covid

Before that the PFL team was training there as well

« Reply #13 on: May 11, 2020, 07:15:16 AM »

and the work began on the main field and i guess the hockey field wasnt a priority. It was in pretty bad shape pre-covid

Hockey and Rugby get the real shaft in TT. You mean to say they get set aside 2 grounds in the Savannah for  Rugby. I mean fenced around with stands and changing room. Can they not put a astro turf field for the hockey. Almost all the hockey teams in the north are in or around POS.

« Reply #14 on: May 11, 2020, 09:32:22 PM »

Hockey and Rugby get the real shaft in TT. You mean to say they get set aside 2 grounds in the Savannah for  Rugby. I mean fenced around with stands and changing room. Can they not put a astro turf field for the hockey. Almost all the hockey teams in the north are in or around POS.
As far as I remember, President's ground in St Anns where Rangers trained and played was always a main ruby field as well.

« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2020, 10:13:47 PM »

As far as I remember, President's ground in St Anns where Rangers trained and played was always a main ruby field as well.

I am not sure that is still in use. When the new PM house was built I thought some of the land was used. Correct me on that.