March 29, 2024, 09:48:28 AM

Author Topic: Best ever T&T XI  (Read 16100 times)

Re: Best ever T&T XI
« Reply #30 on: May 19, 2006, 11:21:33 AM »
                                       Joey Gonzales- Pat Gomez- Lincoln Phillips

Tyrone Delabastide         turton Bros          Spooner

Gally Cummings   De Leon    Sedley Joseph     Shay Semour  A Casual man who use to sring up Milo man Burnett.

Horace Lovelace Matthew Nunes  Carlton Franco  Alvin Corneal   Len Leggard.

« Reply #31 on: May 19, 2006, 11:30:12 AM »
Since The Strike Squad- Lets narrow it down.

Earl Carter

Williams          Andrews     Morris      Faustin

Latapy   Whitley    Jamerson    Leonson Lewis   Evan Wise                 YOrke                               

« Reply #32 on: May 19, 2006, 11:41:18 AM »
Since The Strike Squad- Lets narrow it down.

Earl Carter

Williams          Andrews     Morris      Faustin

Latapy   Whitley    Jamerson    Leonson Lewis   Evan Wise                 YOrke                               

Injunchile... ah like de team.... but I would take out wise...

Beat this side

------------------------Earl Carter------------------------

Williams-------Andrews-------Morris------------Faustin

------------------Jamerson-----Nakhid---------------------
Yorke------------------------------------------------Nixon
---------------------------Latapy---------------------------
--------------------------Leonson-------------------------

« Reply #33 on: May 19, 2006, 11:55:22 AM »
ronnie mauge..that is the funniest thing i see in a while....this is a difficult topic because I heard a lot of great things about players like BobbY sookram, Lincoln Phillips, Jan Steadman, Leroy DeLeon, Steve David, Warren Archibald, Alvin Corneal, etc...but I have never seen them play..so me picking a best XI would be pointless...I am looking forward to posters like Coops and the other forumites who have actually seen these guys play and probably played against them....In the past 20 years, probably only Yorke and Latapy will make the best XI.

This is the hardest thing to do,anybody who can come up with a best T&T X1 that will satisfy everybody i'll give them the Humming Bird medal,the reason it's so difficult for most is they came around in different times.
          I know i've played and seen a lot and there were players before that i heard off but did not see,i'm not even going to attempt to name a team because it hurts to leave out such good players.
           It's a good Topic though,from the teams selected you get an idea of who now start looking at Football and who watching it long time,who played the game and who did not,who like quality players and who like dandy men,who could be a good Coach and who can't.
           What i'm trying to say is when people look at players they all see something different,that's the reason for all these different teams being posted here but i like that,you can see from this how difficult a Coach's job is.

« Reply #34 on: May 19, 2006, 01:52:26 PM »
I eh see enough of the old timers...but certainly...Corneal, Gally, De Leon, Spann, Lellwyn, Pat Gomez and Tiger Phillips deserve consideration.

How many of you have heard of Babsie Daniel AKA "Dribbling Jesus." or Roy Seon....legends from the 1940s who ppl were still writing about up to the 80s and 90s.

Anyway from the last 25 years.

Shaka

B. Williams                           Dog ....  Whitley                Ainsley Weekes

Angus Eve                           Nakhid.......Latas                 L. Lewis

Yorke/Stern(the 1999 version)

Subs: John Granville, Ince

Marvin Faustin
Hutson Charles
Clayton Morris
White boy
Terry St. Louis
Clint Marcelle
Ron La Forest
M. Alibey (doh laugh)

Anybody who see Eve in his younger days would understand why he dey. Back in the 2001 qualifiers...he had Mex looking sorf as hell, as he constantly just ghosted past them.

The problem with the wingers is that they were poor crossers, this is why I started with Eve ahead of Marcelle. I was tempted to put Yorke as left winger, but how can you ignore what he did with MU as a striker.

Truth is if I had this team I could mix and match...but this is just fantasy anyway.

Remeber this is just form the last 25 yrs.

Offline chunk-a-loonks

« Reply #35 on: May 19, 2006, 07:29:10 PM »
vb...interesting you call Roy Seon. He was way way before my time but I met him about 20 years ago in England. My parents and some ole timers can stop talking about him as probably the best dribbler of all time from TnT.

« Reply #36 on: May 19, 2006, 11:39:43 PM »
I eh see enough of the old timers...but certainly...Corneal, Gally, De Leon, Spann, Lellwyn, Pat Gomez and Tiger Phillips deserve consideration.

How many of you have heard of Babsie Daniel AKA "Dribbling Jesus." or Roy Seon....legends from the 1940s who ppl were still writing about up to the 80s and 90s.

Shaka

B. Williams                           Dog ....  Whitley                Ainsley Weekes

Marvin Faustin
Hutson Charles
Clayton Morris
White boy
Terry St. Louis
Clint Marcelle
Ron La Forest
M. Alibey (doh laugh)

Anybody who see Eve in his younger days would understand why he dey. Back in the 2001 qualifiers...he had Mex looking sorf as hell, as he constantly just ghosted past them.

The problem with the wingers is that they were poor crossers, this is why I started with Eve ahead of Marcelle. I was tempted to put Yorke as left winger, but how can you ignore what he did with MU as a striker.

Truth is if I had this team I could mix and match...but this is just fantasy anyway.

I was reading the list and preparing to ask onn my post about  Ron La but dis man here beat meh to it.  Wait nuh, dize Len leggard I see a man put dey?!? Lenny from de Vale?  Who went QRC?   What about Bert Neptune? anybody agree that maybe he should be mentioned?

« Reply #37 on: May 20, 2006, 03:27:30 AM »

I was reading the list and preparing to ask onn my post about  Ron La but dis man here beat meh to it.  Wait nuh, dize Len leggard I see a man put dey?!? Lenny from de Vale?  Who went QRC?   What about Bert Neptune? anybody agree that maybe he should be mentioned?
        I can't say if Bert should be mentioned or not but will say he is the best dribbler of the ball i've seen in T&T.

Offline Benjie

« Reply #38 on: May 20, 2006, 04:22:32 AM »
For me

Lincoln Phillips
Brian Williams Dexter Francis Carlton Franco Marvin Faustin
Gally Cummings Kerry Jamerson Leroy de Leon
Russell Latapy Dwight Yorke Warren Archibald

Noel Llewellyn
Steve David
Leonson Lewis
Tyrone De La Bastide
Wilfred Cave
Charlie Spooner
Carlton Hinds
Earl Carter

« Reply #39 on: May 20, 2006, 07:11:17 AM »
No room for Bert Grell?

« Reply #40 on: May 21, 2006, 03:57:30 PM »

Shaka

Marvin Faustin
Hutson Charles
Clayton Morris
White boy
Terry St. Louis
Clint Marcelle
Ron La Forest
M. Alibey (doh laugh)

Imagine I forget about J. Nixon :o

« Reply #41 on: May 21, 2006, 07:10:30 PM »
All yuh memory so short.  How could you have a best TT XI without Everard "Gally" Cummings.  Well to each his own!

« Reply #42 on: May 21, 2006, 07:15:22 PM »
Storeboy,

pay attention to the posts nah.

Some of us chose only from the last 25 years.

It real easy just to throw in one name.

Try picking a team, with subs..see who you would leave out. It's not that mundane.

« Reply #43 on: May 22, 2006, 04:18:00 AM »
              Gerald Figeroa....Shaka Hislop

Brian Williams  Russell Teashera  Marvin Andrews  Clayton Morris

Gally Cummings  Russell latapy   Leory Deleon  Leory Spann

Warren Archiebald   Dwight Yorke

Subs
Sammmy
LaForest
Buggy Haynes
Leon Carpet

« Reply #44 on: May 22, 2006, 06:05:02 AM »
              Gerald Figeroa....Shaka Hislop

Brian Williams  Russell Teashera  Marvin Andrews  Clayton Morris

Gally Cummings  Russell latapy   Leory Deleon  Leory Spann

Warren Archiebald   Dwight Yorke

Subs
Sammmy
LaForest
Buggy Haynes
Leon Carpet

Well, I eh go lie.

Yuh have a wicked side dey.

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #45 on: May 22, 2006, 08:13:19 AM »
What I will like to know is who you guys think are the three best T&T defensive midfielders ever-  :beermug:

« Reply #46 on: May 22, 2006, 09:51:20 AM »
Ah see men picking side, with players they never see play, so I decide to join de fantasy too.

Tiger Phillips

B. Williams                          Dog/Garnette Craig                 A. Weekes

Latas/Nakhid

L. Lewis                                                                         L. DeLeon

Yorke/Gally

Subs
Joey Gonsalves
Shaka
Bert Grell
C. Morris
Skinner?? from Trinity College
Leroy Spann
Marcelle
Birchall
J. Nixon
Alvin Corneal
Steve David
Ron La forest

I honestly think Bomber Theodore and Rougier should be considered. Roug was the perfect utility man...defense, midfld or even up front...and speed to boot.

I've heard a lot about Tesheira, Archibald and some of the other oldsters, but just don't enough to rate them. On my first side up on top, I totally forgot about Craig, Skinner and Nixon for a squad of the last 25 years.

Trinidad fantasy team
« Reply #47 on: July 15, 2006, 11:16:04 PM »
Pick your all time fantasy team. It must mostly comprise of pass players but can also include a couple current players (preferable no more than 3). If you would like, name your subs as well.

3-5-2 formation

Lincoln Phillips

Clayton Morris

Richard Theodore - Dick Furlonge     

Dom Basil Matthews

Terry St. Louis - Clint Marcelle - David Nakhid - Leonson Lewis

Ian Clauzel - Dwight Yorke

Subs

Earl Carter
Leroy DeLeon
Warren Archibald
Sedley Joseph
Carlton Franco
Russel Latapy (I giving him a beenie)  ;D
Brent Sancho

Flex, I want to hear your squad now. I have a bomb squad here (with real depth)  :D

« Last Edit: July 15, 2006, 11:27:05 PM by kingman »

Re: Trinidad fantasy team
« Reply #48 on: July 16, 2006, 01:37:49 AM »
 Shit side.

Where Gally ?
 Where Steve David ?
 Where Russel Tesheira ?
 Where Alvin Corneal ?
 Where de tank?
 Latas on the bench .

Like yuh make up that team to cause argument or what ?

Offline Trinione

« Reply #49 on: July 16, 2006, 04:02:21 AM »
Latas on de BENCH!!!  ??? ??? ???

« Reply #50 on: July 16, 2006, 06:28:33 AM »
latas on the bench and st louis startin?

« Reply #51 on: July 16, 2006, 08:18:48 AM »
Shit side.

Where Gally ?
 Where Steve David ?
 Where Russel Tesheira ?
 Where Alvin Corneal ?
 Where de tank?
 Latas on the bench .

Like yuh make up that team to cause argument or what ?

:rotfl: So because I don't have these guys on my team my team is shit?  :rotfl: Pick your side pal and bring your best game forward. I am waiting. This is MY team  ;D

Duscam and Trinione, so because Latas on my bench my team is shit? I is the coach and I have real tactics up these sleeves  :D  Is Italy team shit? Is France team shit? Is Argentina team shit? Is Mexico team shit? Watch the players they had coming off the bench in the world cup. That is the key to any great team; a lot of depth and tactical moves.

« Last Edit: July 16, 2006, 08:33:20 AM by kingman »

Offline ANC2

« Reply #52 on: July 16, 2006, 08:59:27 AM »
This is always difficult especially since it don't have that many old heads here.

I mean a best ever T&T team without mention of Carlton Franco, Dilbert Charlo, Raymond Maraldo etc.
Man talking about Tiger Phillips a man who was good yes but gave up some 12 goals in 6 games for T&T in Qualification?????. What about Shaka Hislop, Kelvin Barclay. Nakid before, Aleong, Leon Carpett or Tony Douglas, Wendell Moore was a better player than Nakid. No mention of Bert Neptune. I could go on but once I see names like Clauzel I have to bow out.

« Reply #53 on: July 16, 2006, 09:04:57 AM »
                                                     SHAKA

(capt)
BRIAN WILLIAMS               SELWYN MURREN            JB MORRIS     'BEE' PHILLIPS

GALLY      LATAPY    DE LEON    LEROY SPANN

DWIGHT  STERN JOHN

SUBS --   Spiderman Carter
              Kelvin Barclay
             Theshera
             Sedley Joseph
             Arab
             Fuastin
             V.Skinner
             Tony Douglas
             Carlos Edwards
             Carpette
             Steve David
             Sammy
             Archibald (both ah dem)
             Ron La (once he eh touchin)

P.S Before al yuh crticize meh for picking Stern John,yuh cyar have yuh best ever TnT 11 and leave out yuh all time leading goal scorer ! ;)                          

« Reply #54 on: July 16, 2006, 09:07:44 AM »
This is based only on players I have seen either first hand or on video and in posistions I find they have or would have given their best performances for T&T. Many others could be included based on what I have read, namely Warren Archibald, Lincoln Phillips, Bert Grell etc but, never saw them play so..here goes:

Hislop

Carlos Edwards....Brian Williams....Marvin Andrews....Marvin Faustin

Dwight Yorke

Leonson Lewis..... Russel Latapy....Leroy DeLeon

'Gally' Cummings

Steve David.....Stern John

Subs.
Earl Carter (sorry I always preferred Carter to Maurice)
Dexter Francis
Jan Steadman
Clayton Morris (as Def Mid only!)
Evans Wise (when not too over indulgent with the dribbling)
Leroy Spann
Clint Marcelle   

« Reply #55 on: July 16, 2006, 09:11:40 AM »
I'm not sure why some fellas leaving out Selywn Murren.. He'll be the captain if you ask me..

This is the kinda thread that can go go on and on and on......

« Reply #56 on: July 16, 2006, 09:20:22 AM »
I'm not sure why some fellas leaving out Selywn Murren.. He'll be the captain if you ask me..

check my 11

« Reply #57 on: July 16, 2006, 09:38:35 AM »
                                       Joey Gonzales- Pat Gomez- Lincoln Phillips

Tyrone Delabastide         turton Bros          Spooner

Gally Cummings   De Leon    Sedley Joseph     Shay Semour  A Casual man who use to sring up Milo man Burnett.

Horace Lovelace Matthew Nunes  Carlton Franco  Alvin Corneal   Len Leggard.

Spooner dread !!! de next side go geh bout 10 penalty dah man cudda play stink  :rotfl:....and is right back he used tuh play.

« Reply #58 on: July 16, 2006, 09:48:10 AM »

check my 11

I was not refering to you bredda....

« Reply #59 on: July 16, 2006, 12:22:30 PM »
Stern John cannot make no side before Leonson Lewis... ;D