March 29, 2024, 07:44:33 AM

Author Topic: List Your Gold Cup Line-up for 2007?  (Read 6212 times)

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
Re: List Your Gold Cup Line-up for 2007?
« Reply #30 on: July 17, 2006, 07:07:05 AM »
I somehow doubt Birchall will be there. Given how much international commitments messed up his season, he will want to dig in and prove himself at home. Unless he goes to a club that won't mind the international commitments.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #31 on: July 17, 2006, 07:09:59 AM »
no1 hadda replace dog
he go be dey

wishfull thinking

« Reply #32 on: July 17, 2006, 07:10:52 AM »
I somehow doubt Birchall will be there. Given how much international commitments messed up his season, he will want to dig in and prove himself at home. Unless he goes to a club that won't mind the international commitments.

His club have to release him if the federation ask for him

« Reply #33 on: July 17, 2006, 07:41:57 AM »

Gold Cup will be during the summer when the UK leagues on break.
The most I think they would miss is maybe pre-season or time to rest for injuries.

« Reply #34 on: July 17, 2006, 07:53:41 AM »
STERN wearing the captain's armband.

« Reply #35 on: July 17, 2006, 07:56:27 AM »

Ah like how yuh thinking.

Buh wha dah mean , he go play midfield like Yorke ?

« Reply #36 on: July 17, 2006, 08:07:58 AM »

That funny... really funny.

« Reply #37 on: July 17, 2006, 09:49:15 AM »

what so funny bout dat ?

« Reply #38 on: July 17, 2006, 09:58:17 AM »

what so funny bout dat ?

Doh study it.. My sense of humour lil different.!  :beermug:

Offline Pasdah Beatz

• Spiritual Seal
  • I was born to die as a SoCa WaRrIoR
« Reply #39 on: July 17, 2006, 10:43:35 AM »
Well i cyar see no big settah replacement.

Sancho in fuh Dog
Spann in fuh Yorke

Other than that i see no big settah changes.
What ah will love tuh see is the Toussaint/Davis combination of W Connection get ah run.
Wolfe starting tuh play like he deserve tuh start so ah guess Stern position in limbo.

Stern fuh Captain.  ... Sorry eh Small Mags but ah have tuh do like OG and laugh at this notion

« Reply #40 on: July 17, 2006, 01:52:49 PM »
Stern's proven himself. High time to experiment with another striking style. I would like to see a Glen / Jones partnership or a Glen / Wolfe partnership. Collin Samuel on de left wing, or Whitley. Edwards on the right but since he may not be able to attend cuz he gettin a big contract , try Shakes again. I saw Scotty play as a right wing forward a couple times for Dundee utd, he look good. He could be what Collin Samuel is for us on de left. Give Tallest a break, check out Noreiga. Charles or Sancho for Dog.

Theobald as our creative midfielder does make men hold their breath but I say he have potential. Hope he gets games with Falkirk this season - after all, Latas have him under his wing. Still wondering if Birchall better suited to attacking/creative midfield or defensive mid.

Give j.m williams a try and call back Tony Warner. Ince and Jack thankfully find new clubs, dey doh want to jeopardize that with int'l duty too soon.

But at de end of the day, whoever performing best should get the job.

good post  :applause:

time to diversify the attack so that when stern purge, there's another option.

« Reply #41 on: July 17, 2006, 02:04:14 PM »

what so funny bout dat ?

Yuh could jump on meh all yuh want... but usually a captain is someone who carries the team work.

Stern is an effective opurtunist striker... he is not by any stretch of the imagination a work horse... hence... someone saying that he is going to wear the captain's armband is funny.

« Reply #42 on: July 17, 2006, 02:16:18 PM »
Who replacing Dog ?

Sancho...easily ;)

did you even miss Dog this past WC? Sancho stepped in and did a remarkable job.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2006, 02:38:35 PM by Pointman »

« Reply #43 on: July 17, 2006, 03:17:13 PM »
Ah cud come up with ah team, and many different players in their respective positions. However, ah must admit, I'm very concern about who is going to take dat creative midfielder position, now dat Latapy is gone. There have been a few names out there, but I'm not impressed at all. Just look at the difference, when Latapy returned tuh de team, fuh de world cup qualifiers, yuh saw a different Stern John and team. Dat is de only area, I'm very concerned wid, all de other positions, ah think we safe.

« Reply #44 on: July 17, 2006, 03:39:23 PM »
Ah cud come up with ah team, and many different players in their respective positions. However, ah must admit, I'm very concern about who is going to take dat creative midfielder position, now dat Latapy is gone. There have been a few names out there, but I'm not impressed at all. Just look at the difference, when Latapy returned tuh de team, fuh de world cup qualifiers, yuh saw a different Stern John and team. Dat is de only area, I'm very concerned wid, all de other positions, ah think we safe.

To play a lil devil's advocate.....de 2 games dat finally take we to de world cup i.e. de Bahrain games...Latas played terrible in de first one, and IN DE ONE WE ABSOLUTELY HAD TO MUS WIN....he eh play eedah until dong in de dregs when de goal did already score.

My personal opinion....we have to stop tryin to look fuh dis "creative midfielder" type.  Italy didn't have a classic "creative midfielder", Germany didn't have one (needah Pirlo nor Ballack is wha yuh would call a classic creative midfielder), Holland didn't have one, Portugal didn't have one....yuh get meh driff. 

Latas was a once in a lifetime player and he time come and gone.  Instead a lookin fuh de nex Latas...my opinion is we should try and concentrate on getting effective midfielders who could do de hard work required as well as have SOME creativity.

« Reply #45 on: July 17, 2006, 04:10:03 PM »
Latas was a once in a lifetime player and he time come and gone.  Instead a lookin fuh de nex Latas...my opinion is we should try and concentrate on getting effective midfielders who could do de hard work required as well as have SOME creativity.

Sound like a next man calling for Hardest

« Reply #46 on: July 17, 2006, 04:27:41 PM »

Sound like a next man calling for Hardest

Since when Hardest does do hard work?

« Reply #47 on: July 17, 2006, 05:14:21 PM »

what so funny bout dat ?

Yuh could jump on meh all yuh want... but usually a captain is someone who carries the team work.

Stern is an effective opurtunist striker... he is not by any stretch of the imagination a work horse... hence... someone saying that he is going to wear the captain's armband is funny.

I eh know partner. A captain is someone who can lead the team on and off the field. Someone who all the players respect. It is has nothing to do with being a work horse...That is why many goalies and even sweepers are captains, and they are not carrying the workload of the team.....creative geniuses like Zidane and Maradona, Platini, Socrates, Cruyff, Figo...legendary skippers not really known for hard graft...but they are all leaders. Forwards are hardly ever captains for 2 reasons...
1) they need to be absolutely selfish and focused on scoring goals. stereotypically the least teamwork-oriented of all the positions..many believe that the added pressure of captaincy will blunt the ability to buss the net...maybe more superstition than fact
2) communication with the rest of players is a little difficult from the front, and it is more difficult to read how the opposing team is developing play.....

but more and more strikers are leading teams from the front...
By your reasoning players like Gattuso, Makalele, Frings and co. should be skippers. Not that they wouldn't be good ones...anyhow, maybe I just misinterpreting what yuh mean by 'work horse'

« Reply #48 on: July 17, 2006, 05:40:50 PM »
Who do you think will start in this years Gold Cup for Trinidad and Tobago?

I think in all honesty it will be these players who make the 23 for the team in the Gold Cup....

keepers: jan michael williams, kelvin jack

defenders: carlos edwards, sancho, grey, atiba charles, avery john, tallman, makan hislop

midfielders: spann, samuel, theobald, whitley, birchall, jagdeosingh, touissant, Hardest  ;D

strikers: glenn, scotland, jones, johnson, noray, baptiste, wolfe

vibes it up
Trinidad will be lining up an all local squad come gold cup trus mi...
Birchal..yorke..Jack..Ince ..lawrence will not be available trus mi..  Big question though why is  williams still a top Keeper? is it because he is young?.. De man is not international caliber.. I really cya see him representing TNT National squad..
 I think TNT have a decent homgrown squad dat can compete in the gold cup though and no need to bring in those guys you mention
.. warmonga..

« Reply #49 on: July 17, 2006, 08:45:58 PM »

To play a lil devil's advocate.....de 2 games dat finally take we to de world cup i.e. de Bahrain games...Latas played terrible in de first one, and IN DE ONE WE ABSOLUTELY HAD TO MUS WIN....he eh play eedah until dong in de dregs when de goal did already score.

My personal opinion....we have to stop tryin to look fuh dis "creative midfielder" type.  Italy didn't have a classic "creative midfielder", Germany didn't have one (needah Pirlo nor Ballack is wha yuh would call a classic creative midfielder), Holland didn't have one, Portugal didn't have one....yuh get meh driff. 

Palos yuh know what, ah agree wid you fully on dat comment. De only answer without dat type of player, ah guess is to play as ah total team, where by attacking as ah team and defending as ah team. Which ah think Leo have already put in place.

« Reply #50 on: July 17, 2006, 09:27:29 PM »
Palos yuh know what, ah agree wid you fully on dat comment. De only answer without dat type of player, ah guess is to play as ah total team, where by attacking as ah team and defending as ah team. Which ah think Leo have already put in place.

Ah kinda agree wit yuh statement.  Except....it is a fact that prior to Latas arrival on de team...we had little offensive punch.  We had little offensive punch without him in the World Cup too.  I think Don Leo did lay a certain foundation in that he built from the back come forward.  Offensive creativity sacrificed to some extent for discipline and organization.  Necessary in my opinion given the circumstances.

I don't believe we're quite at the point where we "attack as a team".  Forced to play without Carlos Edwards as an attacking force in the world cup, we lost what little thrust we had in the first place.  Remember Beenie sayin that Stern, Yorke and Carlos were his offensive "powers" in the team.  Playing Yorke as a holding midfielder meant we wouldn't be ding much "attacking as a team" in the world cup.  But that could change with a fit again Spann and some youngesters coming through the ranks.

It would be really interesting for me to see Kenwyne Jones in the "Yorke World Cup" role.  I'm still not convinced he is a striker but more a natural "Viera type".  But I eh no coach.

« Reply #51 on: July 17, 2006, 10:03:41 PM »
It would be really interesting for me to see Kenwyne Jones in the "Yorke World Cup" role.  I'm still not convinced he is a striker but more a natural "Viera type".  But I eh no coach.

Interesting in truth. In all de positions I consider Kenwyne to play in, I never considered that one. Someone a while back had propose him to play in defense - either as a central defender or a left back - based on the fact that Kenwyne has played in defense before.

Think of Lucio for Brazil, a player who has qualities similar to Kenwyne's - IF he played defense. Strong, lean and muscular, covers a lot of ground in a single pace. Loves to take on players and get forward. Wins aerial balls and also a good header of the ball. Good stamina and covers a lot of ground to get back in position after getting involved up front. Can't do that with Sancho or Dog.

I eh no coach either, but it is a position Kenwyne has played before and it should be considered again at least, not written off, esp since I also agree that he's not yet established as a striker.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2006, 10:05:25 PM by Grande man »

« Reply #52 on: July 17, 2006, 10:32:52 PM »

Interesting in truth. In all de positions I consider Kenwyne to play in, I never considered that one. Someone a while back had propose him to play in defense - either as a central defender or a left back - based on the fact that Kenwyne has played in defense before.

Think of Lucio for Brazil, a player who has qualities similar to Kenwyne's - IF he played defense. Strong, lean and muscular, covers a lot of ground in a single pace. Loves to take on players and get forward. Wins aerial balls and also a good header of the ball. Good stamina and covers a lot of ground to get back in position after getting involved up front. Can't do that with Sancho or Dog.

I eh no coach either, but it is a position Kenwyne has played before and it should be considered again at least, not written off, esp since I also agree that he's not yet established as a striker.

i was de one who suggested he play defender, he should play central defender and take over for lawrence bc of his height and jumping ability, he needs more dribbling skills and passing skills and he will be a star defender, put carlos at right back, sancho and jones, then gray or atiba, hopefully samuel if we can get him on the left bc we need a natural left footer, with makan coming off the bench

in the mid, spann, whitley, birchall, jagdeo, samuel

upfront, well for me its either glenn, scotland, wolfe, johnson or noray

« Reply #53 on: July 17, 2006, 10:48:09 PM »
i was de one who suggested he play defender, he should play central defender and take over for lawrence bc of his height and jumping ability, he needs more dribbling skills and passing skills and he will be a star defender, put carlos at right back, sancho and jones, then gray or atiba, hopefully samuel if we can get him on the left bc we need a natural left footer, with makan coming off the bench

in the mid, spann, whitley, birchall, jagdeo, samuel

upfront, well for me its either glenn, scotland, wolfe, johnson or noray

Ah tink SW.net message board history get create tonight wee.

Breds...u ok?

U call a T&T team and no mention a Hardest?  ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #54 on: July 18, 2006, 12:40:30 AM »
Palos like you eh read de man first post to start de thread? :rotfl: :rotfl: