April 20, 2024, 07:42:06 AM

Author Topic: Larsson calls it quits  (Read 3004 times)

Larsson calls it quits
« on: July 18, 2006, 06:12:11 AM »
Sweden's Larsson retires from international stage

STOCKHOLM, July 17 (Reuters) - Sweden striker Henrik Larsson called time on his international career on Monday.
"I'm quitting now. It feels right. I've done my time for the national side," the former Barcelona and Celtic striker told Canal Plus on Monday.
Larsson made his international debut in 1993, earning 93 caps and scoring 36 goals. He scored his final goal for Sweden in the 2-2 draw against England in the group stage of the World Cup.
Sweden lost 2-0 to hosts Germany in the second round of the World Cup. Larsson failed to convert a penalty during the match.
The 34-year-old Swede played 13 years abroad and wrapped up a final season with Barcelona by setting up both goals in the Catalan club's 2-1 win over Arsenal in the Champions League final.
He returned to his home-town club Helsingborg this season after 13 years abroad.

Re: Larsson calls it quits
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2006, 06:23:04 AM »
Much respect to Larrson

A technically superb player and the ultimate Celtic legend.

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2006, 06:40:10 AM »
One of my fav players...

« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2006, 06:44:01 AM »
Larson and Brolin were my favorite Swede players. Sunset falls on all the greats eventually and they should leave the game with respect. A younger Larsson could have destroyed us at the WC

« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2006, 06:57:52 AM »
Nice career.. always one of my favourite player... I needed to hate him for only one day in June though...

All great players must retire..... who's next?

« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2006, 07:19:06 AM »
One of the players who you can learn the position from by watching.

He played out of the text book........and he was deadly in front of goal......

good luck to him in the rest of his domestic career.

« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2006, 07:35:35 AM »
this is the second time he retiring from sweden's national side right?

« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2006, 07:45:51 AM »
this is the second time he retiring from sweden's national side right?

yep

« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2006, 07:48:07 AM »
He should grow back d ras now.

« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2006, 01:03:34 PM »
Thanks 4 the memories and not scoring on us and big up as your last goal was against England.

« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2006, 01:07:49 PM »
It wasn't Zlatan or Jjungberg I was worried about, it was Larsson. Another big player hanging up his boots. One wonders why he had initially retired so early after a great 2002 tourament and Euro cup. I remember reading in an interview that the best player he played against in Scotland was Russell Latapy. Big up for that.

good luck to him in Sweden  :beermug:

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2006, 01:09:37 PM »
Thanks 4 the memories and not scoring on us and big up as your last goal was against England.

Thats why he retire ;)

« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2006, 01:24:59 PM »
He should grow back d ras now.

lol........ah love it!!

he is truly one of the ambassadors of the game, i am sure he will make a very good coach one day if he decides to!!

Offline Trini/Sverige

« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2006, 04:56:19 PM »
i live in sweden and did not hear about that yet hmmmm heard that he was unsure but like certain rushing the brush well wait till me or swede inform allyuh yea blesss up

« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2006, 07:06:30 PM »
If he eh score on TNT cause he retire another accomplishment 4 the soca warriors. We real good because I didn't know that to score on us was a certaainty

« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2006, 10:55:21 PM »
Larsson is a boss
his impact in the cl final was unreal