March 28, 2024, 12:21:22 PM

Author Topic: Newton gets 7-month ban for cocaine use  (Read 4111 times)

Newton gets 7-month ban for cocaine use
« on: July 19, 2006, 09:47:13 AM »
West Ham winger Shaun Newton has been banned for seven months by the Football Association after testing positive for cocaine.

The 30-year-old provided the positive test following the FA Cup semi-final against Middlesbrough on April 23.

The ban started on May 20, the date the former Charlton and Wolves player was suspended by his club.

The ban applies to matches but not training and other football activities.

The FA also confirmed Newton will be target tested throughout the period of his suspension.

Newton did not travel with the club when they left for a pre-season tour of Sweden.

Offline Pompey

Re: Newton gets 7-month ban for cocaine use
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2006, 09:53:05 AM »
he takes cocaine and will miss two months of the season. Not much of a punishment in my opinion.

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2006, 09:54:36 AM »
I never understood how the penalty for failing the test is 7 months and Rio get 8 months for missing the test.

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2006, 11:04:13 AM »
Hope he gets his act together and get the necessary help.

With 7 months of more free time on he hand...ah hope he ent let temptation get the better of him. 

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2006, 12:20:06 PM »
i see a future for newton as a jockey...riding the white horse.

« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2006, 12:26:18 PM »
I never understood how the penalty for failing the test is 7 months and Rio get 8 months for missing the test.
cause he didnt want to take de test.....remeber de whole drama
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2006, 12:36:08 PM »
No he say he was moving house and he forget.. but i cant see rio taking any big drugs..if he did i guessin grass.

« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2006, 02:03:55 PM »

I remember the drama, but it just seem kinda funny that the punishment for missing the test should be more harsh than for failing it.

« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2006, 02:32:37 PM »

I remember the drama, but it just seem kinda funny that the punishment for missing the test should be more harsh than for failing it.
Mutu got 6 month, so the punishment varies.

Offline sprog

« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2006, 01:43:46 PM »
what a jack arse

Offline jub02

« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2006, 01:45:17 PM »

Mutu got 6 month, so the punishment varies.

but he also was sacked.

« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2006, 06:05:44 AM »
Rio was smoking weed the night before. The penalty does vary, but it's just like the crminal justice system where you get leniency for pleading guilty to the crime; Newton took the test knowing the result and that he would be responsible for his actions.. Rio avoided the test altogether, FA don't like that. Also, although I don't condone use of hard drugs like cocaine  there were apparently mitigating circumstances, such as his mother is supposed to be very sick and he was depressed and this is why the club has decided to stand by him. 

I mean look what a similar circumstance made zidane do  :devil:
« Last Edit: July 21, 2006, 06:07:38 AM by FLi ! »

« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2006, 07:06:35 AM »
The man should get a prize ! playing the next day after the come down what a champion  ;D

Offline jub02

« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2006, 07:45:35 AM »
Rio was smoking weed the night before. The penalty does vary, but it's just like the crminal justice system where you get leniency for pleading guilty to the crime; Newton took the test knowing the result and that he would be responsible for his actions.. Rio avoided the test altogether, FA don't like that. Also, although I don't condone use of hard drugs like cocaine  there were apparently mitigating circumstances, such as his mother is supposed to be very sick and he was depressed and this is why the club has decided to stand by him. 

I mean look what a similar circumstance made zidane do  :devil:

I knew it wud b weed . How do u actually no that tho ?