April 19, 2024, 01:42:14 AM

Author Topic: what allyuh tink bout d local reggae?  (Read 3967 times)

what allyuh tink bout d local reggae?
« on: July 21, 2006, 10:26:08 PM »
i find d local reggae yutes mashin up d place fine, fine. i sasha an million voice have a song out dat just blowin up right now.

d reggae comin out a jamaica  right now is shit. sizzla gone thru, capleton gone (did neva like he)
everyting is a dance in jamaica now.

but what i really want to know, from allyuh who livin away is if dey does play we local reggae on d radio stations over dey.waiz d vibes we music gettin up there?

bless!!

Re: what allyuh tink bout d local reggae?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2006, 01:19:24 AM »
nothing nah but thanks fur ya input :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2006, 12:10:50 PM »
the only local reggae artist that to my knowledge has blown up internationally (by that i mean some place other than the us and canada) is queen omega.  the funny thing is that i hardly hear her tunes played in TnT and i listen to red 96 (and partyflava.com) every so often via internet..not even on the sunday culutre show on red 96  i hear them play one of her tunes and she is a deeply conscious artiste.  ireggae.com have a couple of her albums.  wack fm in sando does buss one of her tunes now and then.

about the other guys, again, isasha, million voice and dem cool, prophet benjamin cant really carry a note but hes ok. khari kill and mr king have some good tracks. levi myaz is a real roots man but again like radio dont like thinking man reggae, is only bun fire, smoke weed, praise selassie. perhaps they find he too 'preachy' .he has a track called 'time to live up', that tune to me is roots reggae at its best, good beat, nice vocals, strong message.

the reggae from JA is still blazing, jah cure has tracks for days, luciano is still doing it, gyptian have a nice style. i wayne has some good tracks too (even if he did make alleged comments about soca)

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2006, 08:10:13 PM »
i find d local reggae yutes mashin up d place fine, fine. i sasha an million voice have a song out dat just blowin up right now.

d reggae comin out a jamaica  right now is shit. sizzla gone thru, capleton gone (did neva like he)

but what i really want to know, from allyuh who livin away is if dey does play we local reggae on d radio stations over dey.waiz d vibes we music gettin up there?

bless!!

Reggae out of Trini is prety decent.. Trinidad  have one very very good artist and dat is Isasha de yute gwan good.. I think de raggasoca sounds a lot beter though. Also Reggae out of Jamaica is total Junk now.. Riddims like wipe out and Global riddims is peer junk ... It sounds more like techno to mi.. Mi tiad of de bullsh&t dat a come out of JA right now. This techno ting is Junk. I live in Chicago and I really do not listen to de radio so I cant tell what dey playing but I know in my car today (I went on a 8hr round trip) and was running some good raggasoca.. macheal.."amnesty"  big chune.. "do wap"  by Treason big chune.. "western Town"  by silent star big chune... .. De raggasoca sounds a lot better than reggae out of JA right now ..it jes needs to be market de right way..

war..

« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2006, 07:50:02 PM »

bless!!

My girl dey still beating ganja farmer up here, dat bad fuh years. There are 2 other songs ah heard recently from we local artists, but de singer and song didn't stick wid meh. Ah doh know if we listening tuh de same styles, but Sizzla, Capleton and de Bounty, still run things. And yuh have wicked conscious music from Jah Cure, de quickest one tuh meh mind. Ah doh know if ah spell he name correct, but dat is what it sounds like. Dat breddah (Jah Cure), have some ah de best in dat type ah music.

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2006, 07:16:01 PM »
ISASHA,MILLION VOICE and all others...Itz just great
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2006, 09:50:09 AM »

bless!!

ANY ONE HAVE A COPY OF THAT SONG
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2006, 02:19:23 PM »

bless!!

in toronto dey stil playing ganja farmer and isasha "don't you know".....nutting new yet though....

Organic yuh talking about "I love jah" by million voice and isasha....if so, it on limewire....i'll email yuh it later when i reach home if yuh cah find it  :beermug:....dat song is presssssah!
« Last Edit: August 21, 2006, 02:21:07 PM by lickslikefire »

Offline Benchwarmer

• Trini to the bone...Dutch till i die
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2006, 02:50:30 PM »

bless!!

in toronto dey stil playing ganja farmer and isasha "don't you know".....nutting new yet though....

Organic yuh talking about "I love jah" by million voice and isasha....if so, it on limewire....i'll email yuh it later when i reach home if yuh cah find it  :beermug:....dat song is presssssah!

if.... that and the one on the same riddim from Mr. king.. Borderline...

everyday i playing the songs.....
first time i hear them i went out and look for it..... i got them bout 3 weeks later.....big tunes.....

Offline ß!aCkÒuT

• Time To Play The Game
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2006, 06:06:45 PM »
"I know jah" an "Jah is with me"
If love were a flame, it has ignited my soul...my one spark has created the magnificent fire of true passion

".The Poet."

« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2006, 09:40:46 PM »
GANGA FARMER
The rest here isasha mr king ect

http://www.trinijunglejuice.com/reggaemusic.html
« Last Edit: August 22, 2006, 10:10:07 PM by Compre Version 2:0 »

« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2006, 12:14:10 PM »
i recently received a cd with all local reggae and was very impress with the music.

« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2006, 12:50:41 PM »
what I like most about T&T reggae is that it is conscious for the most part, as opposed to being about bad man business & slackness....

« Reply #13 on: September 14, 2006, 01:29:00 PM »
Anybody know where I can get my hands on a mix cd with these tunes?  Who could rip and upload to me??

« Reply #14 on: September 14, 2006, 08:11:01 PM »
peong if none of them men handle u, pm meh, i have one set of dem on the computer on work (to bless up the office nah)

the other day flava 107 in nyc play the tunes whole day, they even had some of the men in studio doing it extempore style, was real niceness, i sit down whole day listenin to it over the internet wishing i coulda go the dance (it had some trini reggae dance in brooklyn last saturday).  i wish i had recorded the live parts tho, them men come in the studio and SING...i say but wait nah, these men better rest they voice before the crowd pelt them.

the men and dem branchin out, it have a collabo with anthony b and levi myaz...'she's in love with a Rastaman!'  big tune sah, whole day i does b hummin it.  however, it have a new riddim, general grant on it, don't get me wrong, i admire grantie, the man give us real hard styles back in the nineties, but the man like he stuck there, the tune is dry as i dont know what.  but ill give him props for trying tho.

« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2006, 11:37:24 PM »
peong if none of them men handle u, pm meh, i have one set of dem on the computer on work (to bless up the office nah)

the other day flava 107 in nyc play the tunes whole day, they even had some of the men in studio doing it extempore style, was real niceness, i sit down whole day listenin to it over the internet wishing i coulda go the dance (it had some trini reggae dance in brooklyn last saturday).  i wish i had recorded the live parts tho, them men come in the studio and SING...i say but wait nah, these men better rest they voice before the crowd pelt them.

the men and dem branchin out, it have a collabo with anthony b and levi myaz...'she's in love with a Rastaman!'  big tune sah, whole day i does b hummin it.  however, it have a new riddim, general grant on it, don't get me wrong, i admire grantie, the man give us real hard styles back in the nineties, but the man like he stuck there, the tune is dry as i dont know what.  but ill give him props for trying tho.
daddy G a foundation artist.. large up de fadda.... good to hear he still voicing chune..

war..

« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2006, 03:51:04 PM »
it coming up, de artists are doin better now, so i guess de scene is growing? ???

« Reply #17 on: September 17, 2006, 03:53:17 PM »
The best local song right now is Ceiling by Issac Blckman.
Dont know if its soca or concious. sounds liek a nice fusion.
or gospel for that matter. de best tune for a while anywhere.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2006, 10:15:37 PM »

i really did hear so, if you have a copy of that boss link meh please  :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: September 17, 2006, 11:22:14 PM »

i really did hear so, if you have a copy of that boss link meh please  :beermug:
Go onto www.torontolime.com
Go to Music (Tab in yellow)
Then to Reggae (Picture of Buju)
Then to Trini Dub