April 28, 2024, 07:58:42 AM

Author Topic: War in Lebanon (Escape from Lebanon)  (Read 106605 times)

War in Lebanon (Escape from Lebanon)
« on: July 18, 2006, 09:57:29 PM »
Govt moves to evacuate 30 Trinis trapped in war-torn nation
Louis B Homer South Bureau
Wednesday, July 19th 2006

Some 30 Trinidadians of Lebanese descent, including the Lebanese Honorary Consul in Trinidad, Ameer Haidar, were yesterday trying to get out of war-torn Lebanon.

Haidar, 38, his wife Gina, 40, and their four children-Jessica, George, Peter and Jenifer-arrived in Lebanon on July 8, for a one-month holiday.

The Haidars were forced to cut short their vacation because of Israel's bombing of Lebanon over the past week to get at Hezbollah militants.

Haidar spoke yesterday to a relative in Trinidad, saying that the bombing had subsided and he was making arrangements to return to Trinidad.

Thousands of people from other countries were also fleeing Lebanon.

David Nahous, a friend of the Haidars, said there were other families who would like to return to Trinidad but he was not in a position to give details of their whereabouts in Lebanon.

Albert Hadeed, former honorary counsul for Syria in Trinidad, said he had made arrangements for another Trinidadian, Amal Mansoor, who was trying to get out of Lebanon.

Hadeed said: "I advised him to go to Syria right away because Syria has opened its borders to all those trying to get out of Lebanon."

Hadeed said from conversations he had with a brother living in Lebanon, he was told that the situation was "very bad".

He added: "Most of those people from Trinidad who had gone across heard of the problems and many of them got out of the country before the bombing escalated."

Other Trinidadians said to be trying to get out of Lebanon were Nina and Natasha Tommy who live in Beirut, Margo Aboud of Bayshore, Port of Spain, Claudette, Alfred and Donald Fakoury, also of Bayshore.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs said it had mobilised Trinidad's High Commissioner in London, Glenda Morean-Phillip, who was said to be in contact with Haidar's brother Jean in an attempt to co-ordinate efforts to locate and evacuate Trinidad and Tobago nationals who wanted to leave Lebanon.

The ministry said it was "aware of three nationals who wish to be evacuated and every attempt is being made to find other nationals who wish to leave".

Several countries including the United States have been evacuating their nationals from Lebanon.

Thousands have been moved through Cyprus since the Israeli attacks began.

Former national footballer David Nakhid, in a telephone interview with the Express from Lebanon, said that he had not yet heard about the ministry's efforts to evacuate citizens from the country but predicted that it would be done through the British Consul.

Nakhid reported that he and his family were currently living at their second home atop a mountain.

He said that though they were confined, they were trying to make the best of it.

He noted that most areas around his location had been hit by the random bombings.

"There's nowhere peaceful for the moment," he said.

On the prospect of returning to Trinidad, Nakhid said that like everyone else, he would like to go somewhere that had no bombing.

He expressed hope that in the next couple of days there would be a cease-fire or that the attacks of the Israelis would be repelled by the Lebanese army or Hezbollah fighters.

Re: ESCAPE FROM LEBANON
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2006, 10:09:02 PM »
all that stuff going on is just terrible....

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2006, 12:00:05 AM »

Some 30 Trinidadians of Lebanese descent, including the Lebanese Honorary Consul in Trinidad, Ameer Haidar, were yesterday trying to get out of war-torn Lebanon.

Haidar, 38, his wife Gina, 40, and their four children-Jessica, George, Peter and Jenifer-arrived in Lebanon on July 8, for a one-month holiday.

The Haidars were forced to cut short their vacation because of Israel's bombing of Lebanon over the past week to get at Hezbollah militants.

Haidar spoke yesterday to a relative in Trinidad, saying that the bombing had subsided and he was making arrangements to return to Trinidad.

David Nahous, a friend of the Haidars, said there were other families who would like to return to Trinidad but he was not in a position to give details of their whereabouts in Lebanon.

Albert Hadeed, former honorary counsul for Syria in Trinidad, said he had made arrangements for another Trinidadian, Amal Mansoor, who was trying to get out of Lebanon.

Hadeed said: "I advised him to go to Syria right away because Syria has opened its borders to all those trying to get out of Lebanon."

Hadeed said from conversations he had with a brother living in Lebanon, he was told that the situation was "very bad".

He added: "Most of those people from Trinidad who had gone across heard of the problems and many of them got out of the country before the bombing escalated."

Other Trinidadians said to be trying to get out of Lebanon were Nina and Natasha Tommy who live in Beirut, Margo Aboud of Bayshore, Port of Spain, Claudette, Alfred and Donald Fakoury, also of Bayshore.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs said it had mobilised Trinidad's High Commissioner in London, Glenda Morean-Phillip, who was said to be in contact with Haidar's brother Jean in an attempt to co-ordinate efforts to locate and evacuate Trinidad and Tobago nationals who wanted to leave Lebanon.

The ministry said it was "aware of three nationals who wish to be evacuated and every attempt is being made to find other nationals who wish to leave".

Several countries including the United States have been evacuating their nationals from Lebanon.

Former national footballer David Nakhid, in a telephone interview with the Express from Lebanon, said that he had not yet heard about the ministry's efforts to evacuate citizens from the country but predicted that it would be done through the British Consul.

Nakhid reported that he and his family were currently living at their second home atop a mountain.

He said that though they were confined, they were trying to make the best of it.

He noted that most areas around his location had been hit by the random bombings.

On the prospect of returning to Trinidad, Nakhid said that like everyone else, he would like to go somewhere that had no bombing.

He expressed hope that in the next couple of days there would be a cease-fire or that the attacks of the Israelis would be repelled by the Lebanese army or Hezbollah fighters.

The man take the whole family leave Trinidad for ah vacation in Lebanon ???....hmmm hope he make it back safe

Offline michimausi

• myspace
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2006, 02:11:03 AM »
Horrible, all this...
I have Lebanese relatives who live there and can't afford to leave the country...my Lebanese aunt lives here in Germany...we're all very concerned and worried...not only about our relatives, but for all who are affected.  I hope from the bottom of my heart that everybody who wants to leave the country makes it out safe and that God is on the side of all who can't flee...
When will people finally learn that this terror nonsense just isn't worth it?!?!?

"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
-- Bertrand Russell
« Last Edit: July 19, 2006, 05:57:24 AM by michimausi »
“Being happy doesn't mean that everything is perfect. It means that you've decided to look beyond the imperfections.”

Offline Pompey

« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2006, 04:38:44 AM »
The Royal navy has sent several ships to help evacuate British nationals trapped there, I hope that this also applies to those commonwealth countries who do not have the means to help their own citizens. Times like this are when an organisation like the commonwealth should act in a united manner as along with the British Navy, the Australian and Canadian's are there as well.

This is a terrible situation and I really hope that no more innocent people are caught up in it.

« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2006, 05:51:20 AM »

F@#K the Hezbollah

« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2006, 06:25:15 AM »
So all this is Hezbollah's fault ?

« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2006, 06:31:12 AM »
oh oh..  :o.ah was waitin for somebody to toss a counter position

ok wait ...ah goin an get some popcorn...rebuttals could start in 2 minutes

« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2006, 06:57:57 AM »
oh oh..  :o.ah was waitin for somebody to toss a counter position

ok wait ...ah goin an get some popcorn...rebuttals could start in 2 minutes

I was waiting for someone to say someting too....I go watch and see how dis ting pan out   :whistling:

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2006, 07:02:22 AM »
I have two views on this, with no one more right than the other.

First you have the Israelis, or the "white Jews" as some call them. First off, they are not Israelis, as in the people in the bible. They are european people who practice the jewish religion, and were "given" a country by the brits and allieds after world war 2, in light of their presecution by the Nazis.

Because of this, you can kind of understand the arab views on them. They are not one of us, never tried to blend in or make friends. Just come in, and displace people who were living in the state of Israel (land anyway) for hundreds of years, all because they had the backing of the americans and brits, etc.

Then add to that the very aggressive and often violent Israeli reaction to every thing done to them. If you had neighbours, who for every inch, they take a yard, would you be able to live in peace with them? The Israelis are just as aggressive and warmongering as their enemies. Their access to advanced weaponry only add to the problem. It's like rocks and grenades versus fighter jets and guided missiles.

Now ask yourself this: if this were any other country, especially a non-first world country, who invaded and started bombing up their neighbours, wouldn't america and britain and NATO have already stepped by now and dealt with it? Makes one wonder. Because Iraq invaded Kuwait, america went to war. Yet the Israelis constantly bomb and invade and occupy their neighbours at will, and no one says boo.

Then on the other hand you have the Palestinians/Lebanese or active terrorist networks. Everybody talks about the suicide bombings and how bad they are to be waging this war on Israel.

Let me ask you this: if your country, or what has been your people's home for hundreds of years, is suddenly occupied by some foreigners, who then make you a second (or even third) class citizen in your own land, make it almost impossible for you to get a good paying job, and then displace you to where ever they feel, bomb you left and right for every protest or act of defiance, what would you do? Would you fight back?

How would you fight back? You don't have any great supply of money to buy weapons. There is an economic embargo on you and your people, because everyone it seems is supporting your occupier in their bid to rid you from the land. What are your options of resistance?

It is a very sad situation, created by the allieds who put europeans in a land that they had no rights too, and displaced a people who are from a culture where they never give up and will fight to the death.

Result? This is never going to stop. The war will rage on. And it will escalate, because the arab community will not stand for seeing their brethren victimized by Israel.

I cannot say one side is right. They are both victims, they are both committing unforgiveable violence because they believe they are right.

Lord help us.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2006, 07:23:45 AM »
I have two views on this, with no one more right than the other.

First you have the Israelis, or the "white Jews" as some call them. First off, they are not Israelis, as in the people in the bible. They are european people who practice the jewish religion, and were "given" a country by the brits and allieds after world war 2, in light of their presecution by the Nazis.

Because of this, you can kind of understand the arab views on them. They are not one of us, never tried to blend in or make friends. Just come in, and displace people who were living in the state of Israel (land anyway) for hundreds of years, all because they had the backing of the americans and brits, etc.

Then add to that the very aggressive and often violent Israeli reaction to every thing done to them. If you had neighbours, who for every inch, they take a yard, would you be able to live in peace with them? The Israelis are just as aggressive and warmongering as their enemies. Their access to advanced weaponry only add to the problem. It's like rocks and grenades versus fighter jets and guided missiles.

Now ask yourself this: if this were any other country, especially a non-first world country, who invaded and started bombing up their neighbours, wouldn't america and britain and NATO have already stepped by now and dealt with it? Makes one wonder. Because Iraq invaded Kuwait, america went to war. Yet the Israelis constantly bomb and invade and occupy their neighbours at will, and no one says boo.

Then on the other hand you have the Palestinians/Lebanese or active terrorist networks. Everybody talks about the suicide bombings and how bad they are to be waging this war on Israel.

Let me ask you this: if your country, or what has been your people's home for hundreds of years, is suddenly occupied by some foreigners, who then make you a second (or even third) class citizen in your own land, make it almost impossible for you to get a good paying job, and then displace you to where ever they feel, bomb you left and right for every protest or act of defiance, what would you do? Would you fight back?

How would you fight back? You don't have any great supply of money to buy weapons. There is an economic embargo on you and your people, because everyone it seems is supporting your occupier in their bid to rid you from the land. What are your options of resistance?

It is a very sad situation, created by the allieds who put europeans in a land that they had no rights too, and displaced a people who are from a culture where they never give up and will fight to the death.

Result? This is never going to stop. The war will rage on. And it will escalate, because the arab community will not stand for seeing their brethren victimized by Israel.

I cannot say one side is right. They are both victims, they are both committing unforgiveable violence because they believe they are right.

Lord help us.

question.

do you hate everyone that is white, everyone that is British, or only white British people?

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2006, 07:32:45 AM »
:applause: :applause: :applause:. My biggest hear is that, if it escalates to Syria and Iran start supplying them with missiles. If Israel back is against the wall they'll go nuke. US may wont to deploy troops to save Israel ass. I have already spoke out at my unit that I am not fighting no war for Israel. Been to Kuwait and Iraq but hell go freeze over before I go defend Israel.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2006, 07:33:20 AM »

question.

do you hate everyone that is white, everyone that is British, or only white British people?

There was nothing in her post that implied that she hated white people...where is that question coming from ?

Offline Pompey

« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2006, 07:39:14 AM »

question.

There was nothing in her post that implied that she hated white people...where is that question coming from ?

I'm probably being over sensitive, but the reference to the fact that Israel was set up by Britain and other allies, why name Britain specifically.

Also, the Israelis known as White Jews, are they? is there a difference between white and "Non-White" jews? when I was there, it was hard to tell the difference between the jews, the Palestinians and the Beduins by simply looking at them (With obvious exceptions).

« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2006, 07:44:24 AM »

I'm probably being over sensitive, but the reference to the fact that Israel was set up by Britain and other allies, why name Britain specifically.

Also, the Israelis known as White Jews, are they? is there a difference between white and "Non-White" jews? when I was there, it was hard to tell the difference between the jews, the Palestinians and the Beduins by simply looking at them (With obvious exceptions).

I don't have much to say there. Ask a jewish person if he/she sees a difference between white jews and non-white jews.....then ask him or her to be honest  ;D

There are differing opinions on Israeli occupation in Palestine. Redtinigirl's opinion is a common one, and not only common to those who "hate" white people.....

Offline Slade

« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2006, 07:46:29 AM »
How can you blame the Hezbollah they are just standing up for the Palistine people, remember they have been displaced since 1948 when the Jews came back to claim their land, their is a beginning and an end to everything, something got to happen this time.

« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2006, 07:48:28 AM »
*finishin up first bag of popcorn,,,,going to get some corn chips*

Offline Pompey

« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2006, 07:51:23 AM »
I've said in discussions here, that this is the equivalent to Britain bombing the roads, petrol stations and bridges in Dublin every time the IRA bomb London.

I fail to see how anyone (Except Bush and Blair, who's responses have been little more than pathetic) can justify bombing innocent people, resulting in hundreds of civilian casualties, because two soldiers get kidnapped.

the only thing the Pelestinians have done wrong, is not supply tens of millions of dollars into American political party funds ::)

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2006, 07:59:12 AM »
did you see the CNN exclusive from inside Lebanon where the reporter was shown around by a member of the Hezbollah...they were showing all the hits....they were all civilian buildings...resturants, apt buidlings, shoes stores....
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2006, 08:02:18 AM »
this has a more recent history. when israel pulled out of lebanon, alot in israel thought it was a strategic error - that they should have held the territory. it's difficult to say if this is true: if they had held the territory they could have prevented the buildup of short-range rockets that hezbollah has but syria would never have left lebanon. now it looks like israel are going to take it back. they are preparing a land invasion already.

Offline Israel

« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2006, 08:17:10 AM »
Although i dont agree with Israel's bullying tactics against Palestine in the West Bank and Gaza, what is wrong with fighting to get back 2 soldiers? Hezbollah kidnapped their soldiers and they shouldn't retaliate? If this was the Hamas then i would understand but did Israel have any recent conflicts with Lebanon to warrant Hezbollah's reaction? But to be honest I don't think this is going to cool down anytime soon.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2006, 08:23:25 AM »

question.

Babes, you're being over sensitive. I do not have anything against white people in general, but rather the foreign policies and hypocrisy of the so-called first world. My grandmother and a few other relatives are white. So no, there's nothing personal there.

Further more, because of my upbringing, I have always been fascinated by the book of Revelations. As a result, I have been more than a little curious about things regarding Israel and the middle east. I gues I'm looking to see if any of the signs in the bible are happening.

Anyways, it is a historical fact that the push for the creation of the Israeli state in 1948 was done by the british, and british zionist in particular. The allied forces backed the move eventually.

So I am not singling out britain. Just relating some relevant history. I thought it was common knowledge.

gives Love.

« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2006, 08:25:56 AM »
This going and calm down real soon.

The US and Britain supply Israel with so many weapons that all the middle east countries combined couldnt beat Isreal before...it ended in a few days.  Isreal will kill a few more hundred people then the situation will slowly stop. Israel been waiting for an excuse to do this that is why they going nuts and blaming the situation on kidnapping soldiers.

This can't last even 2 months. Israel will run out of things to bomb.

What ah Holy Land eh ::)

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2006, 08:30:46 AM »
That's not funny.

People dying for what? Because they living in the wrong place at the wrong time? Or because some boleface people want the land they happen to be on?

Life sucks sometimes. :-\

gives Love.

« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2006, 08:38:53 AM »
That's not funny.

People dying for what? Because they living in the wrong place at the wrong time? Or because some boleface people want the land they happen to be on?

Life sucks sometimes. :-\

Ah hope yuh eh think ah was being funny when ah say they will run out of things to bomb. That is the reality of the situation.  That is why troops are entering the country because after ah while that is the the natural process of war.  Yuh think the US want troops in Iraq....they bomb everything they could already...when only houses left troops follow...and that is where the advantage is lost.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #25 on: July 19, 2006, 08:39:37 AM »

question.

Babes, you're being over sensitive. I do not have anything against white people in general, but rather the foreign policies and hypocrisy of the so-called first world. My grandmother and a few other relatives are white. So no, there's nothing personal there.

Further more, because of my upbringing, I have always been fascinated by the book of Revelations. As a result, I have been more than a little curious about things regarding Israel and the middle east. I gues I'm looking to see if any of the signs in the bible are happening.

Anyways, it is a historical fact that the push for the creation of the Israeli state in 1948 was done by the british, and british zionist in particular. The allied forces backed the move eventually.

So I am not singling out britain. Just relating some relevant history. I thought it was common knowledge.

someones been watching Big Brother, Babes ;)

you are right, it was a British solution to the Jewish "Problem" to create a jewish homeland in the middle east. I don't think anyone could have foreseen the Israeli army turnng into an instrument similar to Hitler's reich of the 1930's though.

Offline JabJab

« Reply #26 on: July 19, 2006, 08:41:03 AM »
Israel supposed to sit back and let terrorists[Hezbollah] , that's right TERRORISTS, just bomb them at will kidnap 2 soldiers and kill another 6 or so in an ambush on ISARAELI soil. Hezbollah operate in a civilian area in southern Lebanon which makes it difficult to get to them [they not dotish]. They hide their rockets and other weapons in peoples houses etc and use them as needed. The Lebanese govt is weak and unable to disarm them [a requirement of the United Nations]. Israel is bombing strategic targets like airports and roads to Syria etc to prevent more weapons from reaching the terrorists. They are also trying to use pinpoint stikrs withn southern lebanon. It is very unfortunate and sad that innocent people are dying but keep in ind Hezbollah are not trying to limit civilian casualties they are actively firing rockets into northern israel with the intention of trying to kill as many civilians as possible. Man give me a break somebody need to take a firm stance against terrorism and it's supporters! BTW there are also a large contingent of 'black' jews from Ethiopia  that some call the 'Lost tribe' I think. I eh no historian.

Offline Pompey

« Reply #27 on: July 19, 2006, 08:52:32 AM »
Israel supposed to sit back and let terrorists[Hezbollah] , that's right TERRORISTS, just bomb them at will kidnap 2 soldiers and kill another 6 or so in an ambush on ISARAELI soil. Hezbollah operate in a civilian area in southern Lebanon which makes it difficult to get to them [they not dotish]. They hide their rockets and other weapons in peoples houses etc and use them as needed. The Lebanese govt is weak and unable to disarm them [a requirement of the United Nations]. Israel is bombing strategic targets like airports and roads to Syria etc to prevent more weapons from reaching the terrorists. They are also trying to use pinpoint stikrs withn southern lebanon. It is very unfortunate and sad that innocent people are dying but keep in ind Hezbollah are not trying to limit civilian casualties they are actively firing rockets into northern israel with the intention of trying to kill as many civilians as possible. Man give me a break somebody need to take a firm stance against terrorism and it's supporters! BTW there are also a large contingent of 'black' jews from Ethiopia  that some call the 'Lost tribe' I think. I eh no historian.

if the Lebonese army is weak, then Israel should be helping them sort out the problem, not attacking them. If it's needed, then the UN should assist, but Israel have gone over the top this time.

Every bomb that kills a father or mother, creates another supporter for Hezbollah.

Offline Israel

« Reply #28 on: July 19, 2006, 09:31:05 AM »
So Pompey, you are my neighbour and you have no control over your son and he want to come over in my house and disrespect me and my family and the police (UN) not doing a damn thing. What amI supposed to do?
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #29 on: July 19, 2006, 09:35:22 AM »
israel is responsible for israel. lebanon is responsible for lebanon. if lebanon cyah (or doh want to) stop hezbollah, then lebanon deserve to be occupied.