December 04, 2023, 01:14:13 PM

Author Topic: Marvin Oliver Thread  (Read 47230 times)

Re: national team selection
« Reply #30 on: October 02, 2007, 12:12:33 PM »
I think olivers age is against him he is  about 31/32

remember when 5/6 yrs ago when he expressed a desire to play for T&T, yuh wanted to know who dat  lil A-League player thought he was ? He moved back to T&T to follow his dream, and has developed and demonstarted his craft yearly and now at the top of his game as well as the pro-league, yuh saying is ah age issue ?   ::)
Ah not surprise at all
ah nex man indicating he using, what?  performance enhancing foreign substances  :(...oh well..

Coach Rijsbergen was asked why Oliver wasn't being selected for the National team and his response was that as T&T were building towards 2010, any additions to his established team would be younger players.  If per chance an older player who was playing football at a high enough level were to come into the picture, he may consider them as well.

It might seem kinda harsh to some but that's the reality.  At 31, a player tends to be on the downswing of his professional playing career UNLESS he is playing at a level where he is playing top class football week in and week out.  Even then, 31 is still "old" in international football terms.

Yeah he'd have to be a Latapy or Yorke (meaning a clear cut above the rest) at his age to be part of a 3 year plan....

Re: Why has Marvin Oliver not been called up for training?
« Reply #31 on: October 02, 2007, 12:17:14 PM »
Well de coach being consistent.

Look at de Gold Cup squad.  Who on that team was over 30?  Trent Noel maybe?(me eh know)  MacFarlane?  

I never see Marvin Oliver play but always hear dat he have ability.  He obviously doin well in the PFL this season and kudos to him.  Sound like he doin all he can to stake his claim.  Hopefully it work out for him as far as his National team aspirations go.  

At the end of the day, the coach is the one who determines the kind of players he needs for his team.  What roles they will perform, what skill set they need to possess, what assets they bring to the team to help make the team better.  Maybe Marvin Oliver will fit that criteria for coach Rijsbergen one day.  Obviously at the moment he either doesn't or the coach feels there are other players who are more suitable because is not like de coach eh know who he is or never see him play.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2007, 12:18:49 PM by palos »

« Reply #32 on: October 02, 2007, 12:37:34 PM »

Does he play behind the forwards?

He seem to have a big presence in the final third...scred some headers too I think.  31 not too old for qualifiers...he seems more than fit in the highlight reals but I cah judge too good on that.

« Reply #33 on: October 02, 2007, 12:54:44 PM »
Well de coach being consistent.

Look at de Gold Cup squad.  Who on that team was over 30?  Trent Noel maybe?(me eh know)  MacFarlane? 

I never see Marvin Oliver play but always hear dat he have ability.  He obviously doin well in the PFL this season and kudos to him.  Sound like he doin all he can to stake his claim.  Hopefully it work out for him as far as his National team aspirations go. 

At the end of the day, the coach is the one who determines the kind of players he needs for his team.  What roles they will perform, what skill set they need to possess, what assets they bring to the team to help make the team better.  Maybe Marvin Oliver will fit that criteria for coach Rijsbergen one day.  Obviously at the moment he either doesn't or the coach feels there are other players who are more suitable because is not like de coach eh know who he is or never see him play.

In a way it is a good thing. We saying to the younger players that they should not waste their chances. Unfortunately a generation of players such as Jemmot, Oliver, Rahim etc. will be lost. But that IS the modern game. Sometimes players who don't make it could be a kind anti-inspiration too.

Well the coach knows best but when yuh watch Oliver play yuh really have to wonder....

« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2007, 01:29:39 PM »
Guys forgive me if you all find i'm sounding a bit harsh but Marvin Oliver is like a son to me,it's not the first time but every time his name comes up about being overlooked the same things are being said about him,can it be said may be he has changed his act a bit,for someone to be consistently playing the way he is there must be something right he is doing,not everybody know his background,where he is from,the life he lived,i personally that guy a lot of credit for what he have done and where he is today,it could have been worst,i check Marvin every time i'm home just to see how he is doing,i'm not saying he should make any national but if he is playing well he should be considered.

Coops yuh know ah have the utmost respect for yuh.  But really and truly I tired of the excuses about how men grow up and what circumstances etc.  There are many people who grow up in adverse situations.  Carlos Lee who played for Arima, went to Mt. Hope Jr. Sec and now the man have his PHd.  At some point in a "man's" life yuh have to stand up and take responsibility for yuh actions.  Marvin is a grown man and I don't really care what most people say, but if you have all the talent in the world as Marvin have and yuh still doh make it, it have reasons for that.  I may or may not know what they are but there are reasons why he not getting called into the squad.  Age could be true but I am positive there are other reasons. 

I knew Marvin as a kid and from what I hear it's much the same.  However, from what I am hearing lately, it seems as though he has matured a bit.  If in fact this is true, I see no problem playing a 31 year old on the squad.  But I must state, the coach may see that a bit differently.

« Reply #35 on: October 02, 2007, 01:43:18 PM »

remember when 5/6 yrs ago when he expressed a desire to play for T&T, yuh wanted to know who dat  lil A-League player thought he was ?

i think he was playing in the bronx

« Reply #36 on: October 02, 2007, 03:08:30 PM »

remember when 5/6 yrs ago when he expressed a desire to play for T&T, yuh wanted to know who dat  lil A-League player thought he was ?

i think he was playing in the bronx
He was playing for the Staten Island Vipers in the A-League.

« Reply #37 on: October 02, 2007, 03:42:46 PM »
any link on the players called up ?

« Reply #38 on: October 02, 2007, 04:35:51 PM »
they should at least give the man a sweat age or no age he deserve that he if playing good.

Offline black chinee

« Reply #39 on: October 02, 2007, 05:40:33 PM »
even if the coach is building a team for the future, I would think it will be a good idea to have some older more experienced guys to help guide the youngsters , No?????????

« Reply #40 on: October 02, 2007, 05:45:03 PM »
even if the coach is building a team for the future, I would think it will be a good idea to have some older more experienced guys to help guide the youngsters , No?????????

That would be entirely appropriate.  Except Oliver is NOT experienced at that level.

« Reply #41 on: October 02, 2007, 06:02:49 PM »
so hear nah ? If we have ah man playing better than anybody else now, and we have game now ... we not picking him because a younger fella and/or less skilled fella may play better and/or last longer than him in 2010....ah doh agree buh lewwe say is so, if is so ppl sayin...in the meanwhile, how we getting past 2007,8 and 9...even if yuh call the man to use as practice fodder, since he ON right now, and the young fella would be practicing with the best, and then when game time come, yuh make yuh choice...buh if not even that, ah have to think is more than age, an more ah thought process issue...maybe he not bright enuff, or mannerly enuff or too bad or not bad enuff...or bad area or whatever...buh seems many ppl capable of working with him now....
me cyah say wheter the guy should or should not be on the team...but judging from his last couple years performance,( as well as others who have had opportunity, not being let go by his employers etc.)  ah don't see why he shouldn't have a chance, since is primarily football we chossing ppl for...or is diplomatic possibilties and potentials we picking team on ?  add: or how he was when he was ah kid ?

« Reply #42 on: October 02, 2007, 06:44:48 PM »
so hear nah ? If we have ah man playing better than anybody else now, and we have game now ... we not picking him because a younger fella and/or less skilled fella may play better and/or last longer than him in 2010....ah doh agree buh lewwe say is so, if is so ppl sayin...in the meanwhile, how we getting past 2007,8 and 9...even if yuh call the man to use as practice fodder, since he ON right now, and the young fella would be practicing with the best, and then when game time come, yuh make yuh choice...buh if not even that, ah have to think is more than age, an more ah thought process issue...maybe he not bright enuff, or mannerly enuff or too bad or not bad enuff...or bad area or whatever...buh seems many ppl capable of working with him now....
me cyah say wheter the guy should or should not be on the team...but judging from his last couple years performance,( as well as others who have had opportunity, not being let go by his employers etc.)  ah don't see why he shouldn't have a chance, since is primarily football we chossing ppl for...or is diplomatic possibilties and potentials we picking team on ?  add: or how he was when he was ah kid ?

Now look whey u gone.  You a coach.  U ever been in a situation where u DIDN'T select a player with better ability than his peers....for whatever reason?

See yuh on de weekend...if allyuh arong.

« Reply #43 on: October 02, 2007, 07:14:41 PM »
Wha is de purpose of picking he apart from all de sentimental reasons all yuh giving?  Really, who cares if yuh know him?  When we have the full pool to choose from, he only going on trip for free room and board.  All de scouts who plucking talent and sending all dem young local players for Trial in Europe bypass he.  Dem wrong too?

« Reply #44 on: October 02, 2007, 07:25:30 PM »
Wha is de purpose of picking he apart from all de sentimental reasons all yuh giving?  Really, who cares if yuh know him?  When we have the full pool to choose from, he only going on trip for free room and board.  All de scouts who plucking talent and sending all dem young local players for Trial in Europe bypass he.  Dem wrong too?
Flawed argument....

...or is it floored floured ???

« Reply #45 on: October 02, 2007, 07:28:19 PM »
Flawed argument....

Allyuh doh like nobody at all sah... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #46 on: October 02, 2007, 07:34:11 PM »
Flawed argument....

Allyuh doh like nobody at all sah... :rotfl: :rotfl:

oh gawd...I cyah remember. 

Juss now Bally coming and tell yuh yuh cyackling like ah blasted 'oman, watch.

« Reply #47 on: October 02, 2007, 07:46:07 PM »

Now look whey u gone.  You a coach.  U ever been in a situation where u DIDN'T select a player with better ability than his peers....for whatever reason?

See yuh on de weekend...if allyuh arong.
Unfortunately (or unfortunately) I have never had that opportunity. I always selected the best players, unless that supposedly better player omitted himself from selection for personal reasons etc..etc..I did at one point have some young (and I don't mean aspiring) gangsters on my team, yet respect flowed both ways, and they were selected based on ability, and they conducted themselves  admirably, around me and the rest of the team...but of course I would not dare compare my experience to a National Team selection...though given such opportunity, everybody would have an equal chance...
ps: We here for sure...TG turKee bought an ready

« Reply #48 on: October 03, 2007, 06:41:28 AM »
 De coach is ah genius and nobody should question his selections.

« Reply #49 on: October 03, 2007, 08:52:52 AM »
De coach is ah genius and nobody should question his selections.
just u  lol

Offline okaki

• Go! Silvio!
« Reply #50 on: October 03, 2007, 09:13:17 AM »
Did you read TT ProLeague Magazine Issue No.9?
It picked up Marvin Oliver.

"Why he was not on the Gold cup team?"

He talked.

« Reply #51 on: October 03, 2007, 10:42:46 AM »
and said ?

« Reply #52 on: October 03, 2007, 10:59:47 AM »

« Reply #53 on: October 03, 2007, 12:13:46 PM »
単語    ???

Caledonia's dreadlocked genius confuses Wim.
« Reply #54 on: October 04, 2007, 05:39:35 AM »
Caledonia's dreadlocked genius confuses Wim.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Mystical Marvin.

His long spindly legs give him the look of a basketballer. His long mane is more the rave at dancehall concerts than in sporting arenas. He wears the number 10, is used like a number nine and plays like neither. His name is Marvin Oliver and he is the captain of the Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA football team.
It can be hard to decipher whether he is a midfielder or striker and exactly what his job entails from one minute to the next. Only one thing is certain. Whatever Oliver does, he does it very well indeed and Caledonia look like winning their first national league title as a result.
In an unofficial list of "Man of the Match" winners, Oliver tops the Pro League with seven awards-five more than the next best Trinidad and Tobago playmaker, United Petrotrin and national under-23 midfielder Keon Daniel.
So why has he been routinely overlooked by national senior team coach and former Holland World Cup defender Wim Rijsbergen? Rijsbergen barely hides his contempt for local football thinkers and certainly considers himself to be above fielding questions from the press-or this writer, at least.
But if he did tell Caledonia fans that Oliver was overlooked because of his age, 32, and a supposed inability to dominate games-and a Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) source suggested that it truly was the Dutchman's belief-then Rijsbergen's silence was indeed golden.
Not when the "Soca Warriors", who performed so creditably in Germany a year ago, showed the benefit of experience with more than half the team already over 30 years of age including 37-year-old goalkeeper Shaka Hislop and three of his starting four defenders for Trinidad and Tobago's historic goalless draw against Sweden. Who can mock the contribution of 37-year-old icon Russell Latapy? To most critics, the veteran was underutilised.
This is not necessarily "third world" thinking either. Former German coach Berti Vogts, as he sought to replace his squad of pensioners after the 1994 World Cup, gave midfielder Dieter Eilts his international senior debut at the supposedly ripe age of 31. No one was laughing, a year later, when Eilts was a key player in Germany 's successful 1996 European Championship.
Besides, CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh midfielder Trent Noel is 31 and deservedly among the list of invitees for Rijsbergen's next international assignment. Perhaps, more weight should be placed on Oliver's second supposed misdemeanor which is his perceived inability to dominate games. Oliver is admittedly no Aurtis Whitley.
Whitley, Vibe CT 105 W. Connection's new midfield recruit, is blessed with eye catching dribbling skill and a booming shot to go with his work rate and tactical awareness. He is your classic all-action star.
Of course, Whitley, one of 16 World Cup players who have legally challenged the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) over bonuses, is not in Rijsbergen's team either but I digress. The Dutchman is clearly unimpressed with Oliver's more subtle offerings. He prefers "Shoot Em Up" to "Sixth Sense".
And, considering that Rijsbergen infamously asked 41 players to try out for his 2007 Caribbean Cup team, a player must be without either a Trinidad and Tobago passport or a decent pair of boots to be omitted from his training camp. Oliver has both and then some.
He does not seem to touch the ball enough but, most times, he does not have to. His ability to turn up at the right place at precisely the right time suggests his inherent football intelligence. Oliver's clever use of the ball when he does have it and shadow runs when he does not, is an education in movement. Personally, I too would love to see more of him on the ball; to squeeze more enjoyment out of his silky touch.
But Oliver, who would be the country's first Rastafarian international player since "Strike Squad" defender and Petrotrin coach Brian Williams, is not for show and tell. He is for winning matches and Caledonia's performances this season-they are first in the league and play for the First Citizens Bank Cup tomorrow-testify to his value. He is neither orthodox midfielder nor striker but he is a damn good footballer all the same.
Rijsbergen should be thrilled at the opportunity to get a closer look at him. He should be seen, like maverick midfielder Kerwin "Hardest" Jemmott, to be a worthy and possibly rewarding challenge of his coaching ability.
But the European, who ex-national captain and Caribbean "Footballer of the Year" David Nakhid once accused of close mindedness, just will not bite-even when he is banned from selecting most of his top overseas players.
It must be a source of embarrassment for Caledonia midfielder Stephan David and attacker Conrad Smith to turn up for national training knowing that their skipper was bizarrely ruled to be unworthy of even a training bib.
Rijsbergen's predecessor and compatriot, Leo Beenhakker, remains Trinidad and Tobago 's most successful coach after leading the Warriors into the 2006 World Cup and he will be remembered fondly for spearheading their courageous performances in Germany . Perhaps Beenhakker's sole blot was his inability to find room for the gifted Latapy in his team, which was built more on effort than enterprise.
Rijsbergen, thus far, has offered little to savour as head coach. Trinidad and Tobago do not celebrate second place in the 2007 Caribbean Cup, particularly when Jamaica were not invited, while the blacklist was his only feasible excuse after a hapless first round exit from June's CONCACAF Gold Cup. In the midst of an uneventful international spell, up stepped the gangly Oliver. No one else does a better job of showing the effectiveness of marrying individual ability with team ethos. Rijsbergen has so far chosen to look the other way.

In spite of his club Caledonia AIA going under 2-0 to eventual First Citizens Cup winners W Connection in the final of the competition, midfielder Marvin Oliver was unanimously voted as the MVP of the month long knockout tournament.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2007, 06:11:14 PM by Flex »

Re: Caledonia's dreadlocked genius confuses Wim.
« Reply #55 on: October 04, 2007, 07:04:02 AM »
More and more it comin to de light how good this player really is. For all who claim de never see de man play... trust meh de man can really ball. In de game where Cali lose 2 nil to Joe public in a match that saw Jagdeosingh, Kerry Baptiste and others.... It is only Oliver and Dawrika who showed that ability that can be clearly defined as a notch above the rest. Dawrika however is now a PFL player who seems resigned to just that. Oliver on the other hand, apart from his constant bickering with his players (which might be deemed inspiratory) Oliver is a National and International baller in the making. De fact dat Lasana write it dont make it no better because de powers dat be dont like he. Wim is in every game. He was in de Cali vs Petrotrin double header and he was also present in a empty marvin lee stadium ironically enough caught reading a TTpro magazine on guess who??? Oliver. So its really mind boggling to understand but I have made up my mind to de next time I see him in de stands I will go and directly a question. Stay tuned....  Marvin oliver deserves a call up if even to be dismissed because he cant cut it at that level per say but he definetly deserves a call up.

« Reply #56 on: October 04, 2007, 07:15:21 AM »
More and more it comin to de light how good this player really is. For all who claim de never see de man play... trust meh de man can really ball. In de game where Cali lose 2 nil to Joe public in a match that saw Jagdeosingh, Kerry Baptiste and others.... It is only Oliver and Dawrika who showed that ability that can be clearly defined as a notch above the rest. Dawrika however is now a PFL player who seems resigned to just that. Oliver on the other hand, apart from his constant bickering with his players (which might be deemed inspiratory) Oliver is a National and International baller in the making. De fact dat Lasana write it dont make it no better because de powers dat be dont like he. Wim is in every game. He was in de Cali vs Petrotrin double header and he was also present in a empty marvin lee stadium ironically enough caught reading a TTpro magazine on guess who??? Oliver. So its really mind boggling to understand but I have made up my mind to de next time I see him in de stands I will go and directly a question. Stay tuned.... Marvin oliver deserves a call up if even to be dismissed because he cant cut it at that level per say but he definetly deserves a call up.

breddah, this is why some people have stressed the need for a local coach, now SH is a man i strongly believe will look at players like marvin and a few others and give them a chance, sometimes i feel outside coaches reserve themselves from selecting the best players for a team bc they know the potential of the country they are coaching, fight down comes in diff ways breddah... hence dwarika never making de WC squad, latas benching, hardest not being called up prior to qualification... 2 many questions on player selection...especially the most talented of our players also, if it was mediocre players, yea then thats fine, but these fellahs are the most talented...

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #57 on: October 04, 2007, 07:27:53 AM »
More and more it comin to de light how good this player really is. For all who claim de never see de man play... trust meh de man can really ball. In de game where Cali lose 2 nil to Joe public in a match that saw Jagdeosingh, Kerry Baptiste and others.... It is only Oliver and Dawrika who showed that ability that can be clearly defined as a notch above the rest. Dawrika however is now a PFL player who seems resigned to just that. Oliver on the other hand, apart from his constant bickering with his players (which might be deemed inspiratory) Oliver is a National and International baller in the making. De fact dat Lasana write it dont make it no better because de powers dat be dont like he. Wim is in every game. He was in de Cali vs Petrotrin double header and he was also present in a empty marvin lee stadium ironically enough caught reading a TTpro magazine on guess who??? Oliver. So its really mind boggling to understand but I have made up my mind to de next time I see him in de stands I will go and directly a question. Stay tuned.... Marvin oliver deserves a call up if even to be dismissed because he cant cut it at that level per say but he definetly deserves a call up.

breddah, this is why some people have stressed the need for a local coach
Bertille woulda pick him?

« Reply #58 on: October 04, 2007, 07:30:12 AM »

breddah, this is why some people have stressed the need for a local coach
Bertille woulda pick him?

i said SH not bertille....

« Reply #59 on: October 04, 2007, 07:33:28 AM »

breddah, this is why some people have stressed the need for a local coach, now SH is a man i strongly believe will look at players like marvin and a few others and give them a chance, sometimes i feel outside coaches reserve themselves from selecting the best players for a team bc they know the potential of the country they are coaching, fight down comes in diff ways breddah... hence dwarika never making de WC squad, latas benching, hardest not being called up prior to qualification... 2 many questions on player selection...especially the most talented of our players also, if it was mediocre players, yea then thats fine, but these fellahs are the most talented...

God is de BOSS....

The man good granted ...... i've seen him play on to many occassions to wonder why he's not even given a call up .......however TI ...wha makes you feel SH will pick him either. I see you calling for a local coach ....but SH is not a local coach bredda. He local born but International through and through with an international mindset.