April 16, 2024, 05:05:46 AM

Author Topic: Petition to avoid the September 6th clash between the Warriors and the Princesse  (Read 2139 times)

I may be jumping the gun a bit, but I thought it might make sense to get this out as early a spossible. Any modifications/suggestions are welcome. Can the Warrior Nation endorse it? I apologise if not and promise to modify it to suit..

To whom it may concern

All conscientious fans of football in this country would join me in saying that Trinidad and Tobago’s qualification for the World Cup should also signal the start of a new era in how the sport is administered in this country.

However, recent news seems to indicate that this new hope seems to be nothing more than an illusion. Recently we were informed that Trinidad and Tobago would play host the Caribbean Women’s Final Round Qualification for the Womens Gold Cup from the 6th to the 10 of September. Almost simultaneously we were relayed the happy news of the officialisation of a high calibre friendly involving the men’s national team on September 6th against our eternal rivals, the Reggae Boyz of Jamaica.

What a feast of football on that day – Jamaica’s women take on their Bermudan counterparts at 5 pm followed by the Soca Princesses against the Surinam women’s team at 7 pm and to crown it off The Soca Warriors vs the Reggae Boyz.

Good news you say? Of course, but for one small thing. The women’s matches are being played in the Manny Ramjohn stadium while the ‘big match’ is going to be played in Port of Spain.

Now the time of the Soca Warrior’s match has not yet been clarified, but logic would dictate that’s such a high profile match as Trinidad and Tobago-Jamaica will take place after working hours.

How do I as a die hard supporter of ALL Trini football organise myself to see both matches? The simple answer is I don’t. I choose, and unless I live (or work) in south and the hassle of getting to the National Stadium is just too much, I’m hardly likely to choose T&T-Surinam over T&T-Jamaica.

The supporters club of all Trinbago football, the Warrior Nation, would like to call on all fans to appeal for the Trinidad and Tobago women’s match to be played as part of a double header with the Soca Warrior’s match so as to allow the National Women’s team to display their worth in front of crowds they are unlikely to encounter before actually qualifying for the Gold Cup. If this is not possible, at least the powers that be can have the date of one of the matches changed so as not to rob the women’s team of the chance of being supported by a decent sized crowd.

Yours in Trinbago Football
« Last Edit: July 27, 2006, 03:03:14 PM by Midknight »

ah support yuh brother. what u saying meking sense

Brilliant- Great post- People's power and good sense and logic.
 Blessings

Offline dyansie

Go which ever one you want to go, some world cup games were held at the same time and we could not go all, I would prfer see the women play anyday right now, to give them some encouragement.

midnight   9 pm kick off for tnt v JA will never work......

let the JA bermuda womens game play in a diff stadium at 5pm.... and let the princesses v suriname play at 5pm in the hasely crawford followed by TnT v JA at 7pm

an observation....too many times in the letter Trinidad is used. It is Trinidad and Tobago people and not only Trinidad. When these things are done, you have to write thinking people dont know.....Trinbago is better than jes plain ole Trini....we slighting the people from Tobago.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2006, 12:35:49 PM by Tongue »

3 Games one after the other is not a good idea, if it rains the pitch will be destroyed by the time the 3 match comes along.

the idea to play the first match some where else is a good idea.

Also remember the womens match is a competitive match so there might be some Fifa limitation on what can be changed.

I support the playing on different days. something's gotta give. if the warriors is a friendly, there may be more flexibility. let the women get some crowd support too. so the WN can get to support the 'princesses' and the warriors too. 8)

Offline joadav

• Tortola BVI here I come!
I agree with your post in terms of the distance and the low probability of people attending the women's match while the senior national team is playing in POS... two matches can be played on one day at the same venue and the other one another day also as a double header, this could be used as a maketing tool to increase support for the games 8).
*ht007

midnight   9 pm kick off for tnt v JA will never work......

let the JA bermuda womens game play in a diff stadium at 5pm.... and let the princesses v suriname play at 5pm in the hasely crawford followed by TnT v JA at 7pm

Small's thats exactly what I had in mind, I wasn't suggesting either a triple header or a 9 o clock showdown with the Reggae Britz...

Tongue I hear you, I tried to take care at the beginning but it was late and I started getting tired. The right modifications will be made, though when I say Trini (adjective), I mean Trinbagonian...as far as i'm concerned Dwight is as Trini as anyone of us.

I thought about the competetive match point KND, which is why i cautiously said ONE of the games. That said, i'm being realistic. there's more chance of getting the venue or the time of the women's match moved...especially if the 6th is an official FIFA date...
« Last Edit: July 27, 2006, 02:35:07 PM by Midknight »

Offline Padams

• Great are the Warriors///We shall Prevail!!!!
I agree with your post...let the Princesses play at the Hasley Crawford along with the Warriors..
Iz not Pre-Marital Sex, if yuh have no intention 2 geh Married..........